loading spinner
Nothing says Utah like rock spires and hoodoos. Come learn about these geological wonders from experts as you hike the stunning landscapes of Bryce and Zion National Parks.
Rating (4.89)
Program No. 7735RJ
Length
7 days
Starts at
2,149
Utah

Hiking Bryce and Zion National Parks

Nothing says Utah like rock spires and hoodoos. Come learn about these geological wonders from experts as you hike the stunning landscapes of Bryce and Zion National Parks.
Length
7 days
Starts at
2,149
Program No. 7735 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 3 - May 9, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

May 17 - May 23, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

May 24 - May 30, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 13 - Sep 19, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 20 - Sep 26, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 27 - Oct 3, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Oct 4 - Oct 10, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Oct 18 - Oct 24, 2021
Starting at
2,149
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 3 - May 9, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

May 17 - May 23, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

May 24 - May 30, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 13 - Sep 19, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 20 - Sep 26, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Sep 27 - Oct 3, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Oct 4 - Oct 10, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

Oct 18 - Oct 24, 2021
Starting at
2,519
Itinerary Note

Due to anticipated restrictions in Zion National Park for 2021, group size is limited to 14 participants on this date.

At a Glance

With red rock spires, chimneys and hoodoos, the landscape of Zion and Bryce National Parks create a showcase of geology that beckons to be discovered! Lace up your hiking shoes and venture into an environment a million years in the making and ideal for exploring on foot.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Hiking up to seven miles daily on mostly groomed trails, some uneven terrain. Elevations of 2,880-8,300 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Enjoy field excursions in Zion National Park to hike a variety of trails from Emerald Pools to the Virgin River trail.
  • Learn how the power of wind and water erosion works to create spectacular scenery in both Zion and Bryce.
  • Experience hiking among Bryce Canyon's spires, fins, arches & blazing colors.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Martin Tyner
At the age of 19, Martin Tyner was hired as curator of birds of prey at Busch Gardens, Calif., and was soon working in the movie industry as a trainer of big cats, elephants, primates, sea mammals and raptors. He is the founder of the Southwest Wildlife Foundation, a non-profit wildlife rescue and environmental education organization. With the help of his Golden Eagle, Bud, they received a donation of 22.6 acres of property for the development of a permanent wildlife rescue facility in Utah.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Wendy Walker
Wendy Walker View biography
Wendy Walker is an avid hiker, averaging six days a week. She has hiked the Grand Canyon rim to rim in a day four times and loves cork screw slot canyons, water hikes, climbing to the highest peaks and looking over the edge. When not hiking, Wendy loves to craft, scrapbook and take road trips to new places with her husband, Charlie. Her favorite quote is by John Muir — “of all the paths you take in life, be sure a few of them are dirt.”
Profile Image of Martin Tyner
Martin Tyner View biography
At the age of 19, Martin Tyner was hired as curator of birds of prey at Busch Gardens, Calif., and was soon working in the movie industry as a trainer of big cats, elephants, primates, sea mammals and raptors. He is the founder of the Southwest Wildlife Foundation, a non-profit wildlife rescue and environmental education organization. With the help of his Golden Eagle, Bud, they received a donation of 22.6 acres of property for the development of a permanent wildlife rescue facility in Utah.
Profile Image of Sherry Breitenbach
Sherry Breitenbach View biography
Sherry Breitenbach moved to the St. George area in 2006 and quickly became a hiking enthusiast. Following her passion for the outdoors and exploring, she signed on as a hiking instructor for two local businesses. Sherry now shares her passion of this part of the country with Road Scholar programs through Dixie State University. Before moving to St. George, Sherry worked in the field of laboratory testing for 26 years, and managed a now-consolidated branch laboratory of 14 employees.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Books about Native American / Prehistory
by See list below
Rock Art of Utah, Polly Schaafsma, 2002. Traces of Freemont: Society and Rock Art in Ancient Utah, Steven Simms, 2010. Archeology of the Southwest, Linda Cordell, 2012.
Books about Flora
by See list below
Wildflowers of Southwestern Utah, Hayle Buchanan. 1992. Text covers flowers, shrubs and trees in their various life zones from Zion, Bryce and Cedar Breaks. $7.95 Canyon Country Wildflowers, Damian Fagan. 1998. A field guide to common wildflowers, shrubs and trees. $19.95 Sagebrush Country a Wildflower Sanctuary, Ronald Taylor. 1992. A field guide to common wildflowers, grasses and shrubs of the Great Basin. $14.00 Wildflowers of the Desert Southwest, Meg Quinn. 2000. A field guide to common desert wildflowers. $9.95
Geology (specific)
by See list below
Ron Kay’s Guide to Zion National Park, Ron Kay, 1995 A complete guide of Zion National Park by one of Road Scholar’s own instructors. Shadows of Time: The Geology of Bryce Canyon National Park, Frank Decourten, 1994 A book with breathtaking photographs, well written on the geology of Bryce Canyon N. P. and surrounding high plateaus. Water, Rock, & Time: The Geologic Story of Zion National Park, Robert Eves, 2005. This book is so nice you may want to leave it on the coffee table. Zion National Park: Towers of Stone; by J.L. Crawford; Zion Natural History Association, Springdale, Utah, Fourth Edition 2002. Carving Grand Canyon, Wayne Ranney. 2005. A synopsis of ideas and theories that geologists have developed over time about the carving of the Grand Canyon. This story is told in an engaging style that non-scientists will find inviting. Canyonlands Country, Donald Baars, 1993. Geology of Canyonlands and Arches National Parks.
Geology
by See list below
Geology – a Golden Guide, by Frank H.T. Rhodes, 1991, St. Martin’s Press, N.Y. Geology of Utah’s Parks and Monuments, Sprinkel et. al. Utah Geological Association, 2000. Contains geology papers on 25 parks and monuments of Utah (644 pages). Written for a geologist. Utah‘s Spectacular Geology, Lehi Hintze, 2005 The geologic story of Utah’s landscapes and how they came to be. A Traveler's Guide to the Geology of the Colorado Plateau, Don Baars, 2002. A comprehensive guide to the Colorado Plateau. The Practical Geologist, Dougal Dixon, Raymond Bernor, 1992 This book is a great introductory guide to the basics of geology. Great diagrams, pictures and is well written. Geology Underfoot in Southern Utah, R. Orndorff, R. Wieder, D. Futey, 2006 A hands on book about getting out among the rocks. Explores 33 sites in Southern Utah. Tells of ancient eruptions, deserts, seas, swamps and movements of massive rock units over eons. Beyond the Visible Landscape, W. Kenneth Hamblin, 2004. A unique book that consists of a series of panoramic photographs taken from the air. Focuses on the fundamental features of the landscape. Contains excellent diagrams & descriptions of the geology in the photographs.
Books about History
by See list below
Heart of the Desert Wild, Greer Chesher, 2000. Award winning book about the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument (GSENM). It covers a variety of topics from geology to history. The photography and design of this book are outstanding and remains the definitive book on the GSENM. A Roadside History of Utah, Cynthia L. Bennett. 1999. Compelling stories of Utah’s exceptional people. Utah’s History, Richard D. Poll. 1989. A more in-depth and statewide focus on history. Hole-in-the-Rock, David E. Miller, 1995. If you want to learn more about one of the epic pioneer journeys in American History this is the book. It is area related and is a good read for those interested in history. Highway 12, Christian Probasco. 2005. Popular with travelers along Highway 12. It features a unique look at the history, people and their perspectives on this very special corridor. Outlaw Tales of Utah, Michael Rutter, 2002. True stores of Utah’s most famous robbers, rustlers and bandits.
20 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.89 Average
(5)

The Bryce/Zion trip was terrific. Leader was superb (Gary), driver was great (Harry), accommodations were good and those of us who wanted to do something more advanced, were allowed to do that. And when some of us indicated we wanted to rent equipment and walk the Narrows in the water, that was what happened. A terrific experience.

(5)

A wonderful experience hiking around southern Utah including Zion and Bryce Canyon. The Bryce hikes were my personal favorites although all were very rewarding. Great accommodations at Zion and Bryce (The University Inn in St. George is very basic but I knew that ahead of time). Hike difficulty was consistent with the RS rating and accommodations were made for those who chose not to do the more vigorous activities. Lots of good information provided by the group leaders and a fun group of participants. Perfect time of year from a weather perspective.

(5)

This was an exhilarating trip with extremely knowledgeable leaders!

(5)

This program is well worth doing. It was very well organized. I learnt a lot about the geology of the region,and the scenery is spectacular.

(5)

Terrific week of hiking in the Red Rock areas of Utah. Gary Goold and Kelly Cooper are excellent, experienced hosts who shared their knowledge and took extra special care of our congenial group of 13. Dixie State University RS programs are very well organized. The rear panel on their comfortable buses displays their motto " active learning, active life".

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Wonderful! It was beautiful and a good level of exercise, which I really enjoy. Highly recommend!

(5)

Great trip with wonderful sights. I completely enjoyed my week with the group. Be ready to hike and you will enjoy your week in UT.

(5)

Hiking guide Gary and bus driver Jerry provided extraordinary service to our group. Road scholar is lucky to have them. The hikes in Snow Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Zion and the Dixie National Forest were exhilarating and the scenery was beautiful.

(5)

I recently took the Hiking Bryce and Zion National Park tour and was very pleased with All of it! Great staff, great program, and overall challenging and educational for me. I highly recommend this for one who likes to her hike in nature’s beauty.

(5)

Bryce and Zion hiking trip was brilliant and awesome, trip of a lifetime

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I was a 1st time Road Scholar, this trip was all I expected and so much more. Our guides; George and Denise were fantastic. They each brought so much to the trip. George, being the Geologist gave us information that really helped explain how all these majestic canyons actually got here. Denise, was our leader and made sure that each of us felt included in all the adventures even if not everyone could do each hike. Harry was our driver as well as assisting us with hikes, his humor was great. The small group made it easy to get to know one another and we all seemed to get along. We had one group member suffer an accident but our group rallied around him and got him safely down to the bus. Friends were made and emails were exchanged. It was an awesome experience. The beauty of Zion and Bryce will be in my memory and the photos that we are sharing are only a small piece of the whole experience. Debby.

(5)

if you've never been on a Road Scholar trip, you should. I was concerned that it would be a "If it's Tuesday, this must be Belgium" experience. It wasn't. It was a really great experience. You do have to temper your need for independence and be able to go with the flow. Therefore people who dislike handing over control to others may not feel this is a good fit. Other than that, I can't wiat to sign up for another trip.

(5)

A great program in beautiful locations. The hiking was great and different levels of hiking were accommodated.

(5)

We had a great time and the leaders were wonderful. There was even a lecture on geology and a presentation on birds of prey in the deserts and mountains of Utah ....with real birds brought in cages that were taken out to show to us.

(4)

Great trip to two spectacular national parks and one state park (Snow Canyon). Trip leaders (Dan & Dixie) were delightful and very knowledgeable about the parks and geology, which kept things interesting. While we had some wonderful hikes, I wish that there had been more - one afternoon was spent riding a bus listening to a guest speaker drone on about Mormons, and another morning was kind of wasted. I encourage future trip organizers to ditch these segments and focus on what participants came here to do - hike. Another aspect of the trip that needs work is the food, which was universally poor, except for the final night when we had a delicious dinner. An example of the poor quality food was a night at Chuck-A-Rama, which provides an all-you-can-eat buffet for $11.95. That alone should tell you all you need to know about food quality. Other places were equally bad. I would encourage Road Scholar either to charge more and vastly upgrade food options, or to lower trip prices and allow participants to find their own food. Food aside, all in all this was an excellent trip! I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in seeing these two great parks. Just plan on finding your own food.

(5)

Zion and Bryce National Parks are wonderful to see with Road Scholar. We had 21 people in our group and 8 of us were solos. I learned a lot and challenged myself with the more difficult hikes in both parks.

(5)

This program is excellent! I enjoyed all aspects of this experience! This trip is for anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery!

(5)

What better way to explore new areas and meet new people with similar interests. Thank you Road Scholar!

(4)

Beautiful parks for experienced hikers.

(5)

Just completed hiking in St George, Zion and Bryce. This trip was FABulous!! More than imagined. Very active with hiking on high, well groomed trails and into canyons. Views to die for. Glorious. Accomodations fine and well located.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback