loading spinner
22424
Botswana

The Best of Botswana: An In-Depth Safari Experience

Venture into the Botswanan wilderness to witness elephants, lions, leopards and more, as a local expert teaches you about Botswana’s four unique ecosystems and their cultures.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22424RJ
Length
14 days
Starts at
8,349
Flights start at
1,450
Botswana

The Best of Botswana: An In-Depth Safari Experience

Venture into the Botswanan wilderness to witness elephants, lions, leopards and more, as a local expert teaches you about Botswana’s four unique ecosystems and their cultures.
Length
14 days
Starts at
8,349
Flights start at
1,450
Program No. 22424 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 22 - Nov 4, 2021
Starting at
8,349
Itinerary Note

Pre-program extension #22430 “Extension: Victoria Falls” is offered in conjunction with this departure. At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Oct 30 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
8,349
Itinerary Note

At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Nov 4 - Nov 17, 2021
Starting at
8,349
Itinerary Note

Pre-program extension #22430 “Extension: Victoria Falls” is offered in conjunction with this departure. At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Nov 9 - Nov 22, 2021
Starting at
8,349
Itinerary Note

At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 22 - Nov 4, 2021
Starting at
9,429
Itinerary Note

Pre-program extension #22430 “Extension: Victoria Falls” is offered in conjunction with this departure. At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Oct 30 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
9,429
Itinerary Note

At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Nov 4 - Nov 17, 2021
Starting at
9,429
Itinerary Note

Pre-program extension #22430 “Extension: Victoria Falls” is offered in conjunction with this departure. At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

Nov 9 - Nov 22, 2021
Starting at
9,429
Itinerary Note

At Leroo La Tau, this departure has a good chance of seeing the zebra migration, which is the second largest zebra migration in the world.

At a Glance

Join Road Scholar experts to discover the extraordinary wildlife of Botswana in its four highly contrasting but equally stunning ecosystems — riverine, savanna, delta and desert. Home to the world’s largest concentration of elephant as well as many rare species like lions, leopards and wild dogs, Botswana is a safari paradise. Travel from the verdant Okavango Delta to the ancient Kalahari Desert and the famed Chobe National Park, where great rivers meet and elephants roam freely. When you’re not exploring the Botswanan wilderness, take excursions to local villages to learn firsthand about their fascinating cultural practices and remarkable survival skills.

Extend Your Adventure

This program offers an optional program extension.

Extension: Victoria Falls

Thrill in the beauty of Victoria Falls as you explore Southern Africa’s natural wonders. Gain insight into the work of Dr. David Livingstone, as well as the elephant species.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Minimal walking. Participants must be able to endure bumpy rides in four-wheel drive vehicles for up to four hours. Elevations up to 5,575 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • With expert naturalists, get up close to some of the most incredible creatures on the planet.
  • Explore the wonderfully diverse flora and fauna in Botswana’s four unique ecosystems.
  • Experience authentic Botswana culture on excursions to local villages to meet students and residents.

General Notes

This program features an extension on select dates: "Extension: Victoria Falls" (#22430).
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Lisa Reed
Lisa Reed was born in Zimbabwe, spent her school years in South Africa, and now lives in Botswana. She has worked or visited most Southern and East African safari destinations, and has managed safari camps on her own and with others since being in Botswana. Lisa has a natural affinity with adults and children, and enjoys passing on her years of experience and knowledge to the next generation. She has been leading safaris for Road Scholar for more than 15 years.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Lisa Reed
Lisa Reed was born in Zimbabwe, spent her school years in South Africa, and now lives in Botswana. She has worked or visited most Southern and East African safari destinations, and has managed safari camps on her own and with others since being in Botswana. Lisa has a natural affinity with adults and children, and enjoys passing on her years of experience and knowledge to the next generation. She has been leading safaris for Road Scholar for more than 15 years.
Profile Image of Andre Joubert
Andre Joubert View biography
Andre Joubert has held numerous positions in managing and providing wildlife education throughout Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Zambia. This South African-born outdoorsman served as park warden of Skeleton Coast Park in Namibia and chief warden of Botswana’s Khama Rhino Sanctuary, whose objective was to save Botswana’s last remaining White Rhinoceros population. Andre shares a passion for working with people and instilling his strong wilderness ethics in public education.
Profile Image of Honest Siyawareva
Honest Siyawareva View biography
Growing up, Honest Siyawareva spent much of his life in close proximity to nature, thanks to his family’s passion. Fulfilling his family legacy — his father and uncle were both professional nature leaders — in 2014, Honest qualified as a professional nature leader in Zimbabwe, the only person to pass the extremely onerous examinations that year. Working for Wilderness Safaris in Zimbabwe, he has split his time between camps in Hwange National Park and Mana Pools National Park.
Profile Image of Keith Chisnall
Keith Chisnall View biography
A local of northern Zimbabwe, Keith Chisnall relishes in showing the bush culture to travelers from around the world. As a child, Keith learned the medicinal value of bush plants, how to track animals, tribal customs and the indigenous flora and fauna, and his knowledge has only grown since then. He’s worked as an engineer, salesman and detective, but his most meaningful work has been in leading educational adventures. After over 20 years of experience leading groups in “Big Five” territory, you can rely on Keith to explain every aspect and every detail of the wilderness!
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Botswana Map
by Reise Know How
A detailed map of Botswana at a scale of 1:1,000,000. Unfolded size: 27 x 39 inches.
Wildlife of Southern Africa
by Martin B. Withers
This Princeton Pocket Guide, featuring 400 color photographs by Withers and co-author David Hosking, covers all the birds, mammals, lizards and insects you are likely to encounter.
The Double Comfort Safari Club
by Alexander McCall Smith
Infinitely patient Precious Ramotswe and her prickly secretary (make that assistant detective!) Grace Makutsi, head to the Okavango Delta where there have been several unexplained and troubling events including the demise of one of the guests.
The Last Elephants
by Colin Bell & Don Pinnock
African savanna elephants--among the most magnificent and beloved of our fellow mammals--are an extraordinary, social, and intelligent species. The Last Elephants, an homage to these animals and a clarion call for their preservation, is based upon a shocking finding: savanna elephant populations across Africa are being decimated, with two to three murdered every hour for their ivory. Without action, these elephants soon will vanish from our world. They are a species in imminent danger of extinction, and it is up to us to save them.
Botswana, the Bradt Safari Guide
by Marcelle Bienvenu (Contributor), Chris McIntyre
With comprehensive coverage of history, flora, fauna and practicalities, this fourth edition presents Okavango, Chobe, the Kalahari and other popular destinations in detail.
Twenty Chickens for a Saddle
by Robyn Scott
Haphazardly schooled by her free-spirited mother and left to roam the bush, Scott writes with warmth and candor of her unconventional upbringing in Botswana, commenting on her Grandpa Ivor (personal pilot to the first president of Botswana), physician father's work, unfortunate pets, siblings and adventures.
Africa, a Biography of the Continent
by John Reader
With the ease of a practiced journalist, Reader weaves a masterful and lively tale of the continent, from ancient cultures to modern times. Both authoritative and informal, this is a splendid introduction to all of Africa.
Newman's Birds of Southern Africa
by Kenneth Newman
This commemorative 10th edition celebrates the late author with a fully revised and updated version. Edits were done by his daughter, Vanessa Newman, to reflect the latest research, taxonomy and common names.
A Natural History Guide to the Arid Kalahari
by Gus and Margie Mills
The landscapes and vegetation, the antelope, the hyenas, cats and other carnivores, the birds and the smaller creatures... all are included in this comprehensive guide. Plus: Tips and advice for getting the most out of your visit to the arid Kalahari. Not only is A Natural History Guide to the Arid Kalahari a wonderful guide to one of the most intriguing nature destinations in Africa, but you can read it like a book.
Whatever You Do, Don't Run
by Peter Allison
Allison spins captivating tales of wildlife, camps and the life of a safari guide into a hilarious, slyly informative introduction to Botswana.
Cry of the Kalahari, Seven Years in Africa's Last Great Wilderness
by Mark Owens, Delia Owens
The story of a family thrown out of Botswana for its stance on conservation. While their approach to conservation is controversial, there's no doubt that the Owens are dedicated to the wildlife of Southern Africa -- and are very good writers.
The Healing Land
by Rubert Isaacson
The author travels to the dry grasslands of southern Africa in search of the legendary Kalahari Bushmen and finds evidence of shamans, powerful religious rituals, tribal hunting practices, and much, much more.
14 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

Every aspect of this program was first rate. I cannot imagine anyone being a better guide than Honest. The depth and breadth of his knowledge was awesome. In addition to everything included in the program, there were delightful unexpected moments--such as encountering and conversing with a bushmen family walking along the trail, and the birds flying closely alongside our vehicle at eye level, snatching up insects stirred up by our vehicle. These are only two of many unexpected moments. If you have a desire to visit Africa and observe animals in their natural habitat, I don't think you can do any better than this.

(5)

Fabulous trip! This was a longtime dream come true - even better than hoped.

(5)

I am late in providing this review because I have been afraid that I will not do the program justice in my write-up. THIS IS THE BEST TRIP EVER. My husband and I were new to Road Scholar, new to group travel, and new to Africa. I can say we chose well. The Best of Botswana was a wonderful introduction to the Best of Road Scholar. It was a great introduction to group travel. Sixteen people in the group was perfect. And, what a well matched group! We all became friends over the 11 day adventure. And, Africa. It was wonderful. I do not know what I expected but we got far - way far - more than I could ever have expected. We had a magnificent group leader in Sam. He was knowledgeable, funny, friendly, approachable at all times and personable. The Desert and Delta Safari group is top notch. The game drivers were like magicians. The lodge staffs were welcoming and extremely personable and so accommodating. Our whole group loved their singing and performances each night. The accommodations were spectacular. We wanted for nothing. We actually felt like we landed in the lap of luxury. My husband is gluten free. Every day in the bush he was provided homemade freshly baked GF breads and cakes. They were delicious and sought after by those of us who do not need to be GF. Laundry is done every day you wish and to perfection. Please believe Road Scholar when it tells you laundry services are available. It really makes packing easier! Botswana. It is a wonderful place. The people are welcoming. The beauty is certainly different from anything an East Coast American experiences. The animals are magnificent and beautiful - glossy and healthy and active. It was amazing to be riding out and have a heard of elephants walk by practically within reach. Riding through the bush and suddenly seeing giraffes reach over the top of the few trees to nosh was amazing. And, the dazzles of zebras were fabulous. You must go. It is THE BEST TRIP EVER

(5)

An unforgettable experience! From the up-close wildlife we saw thanks to Sam and the local guides, to the unique lodges and exceptionally friendly staff, to the wonderful Road Scholar travel mates, it was an outstanding program. For me, the trip of a lifetime.

(5)

Traveling to Botswana was a true joy, and I was able to see many wonderful wild animals, as well as to make many new friends on the trip! The accommodations were excellent and I would recommend this trip to everyone who loves wild animals!

(5)

This trip ranks among the best I have ever taken. We saw so many animals and birds. It was a thrilling experience.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

What is better than fantastic? I went 2 days early, to avoid bad weather here in Chicago. Lovely motel to stay in. Buffet breakfast was provided. They were serving a buffet dinner for an additional fee. I did not have to order out from a local place they had suggested, nor did I have to go by bus and driver to the local mall. All very easy and relaxing. Rest of trip was superb. Our resident guide, the drivers of all our vehicles, the staff at every camp were all very attentive. Every lodge was clean, quiet and exceedingly comfy. I wear hearing aids, and had difficulty hearing our afternoon lectures. Don't know if some kind of microphone/speaker is practical. I gleaned all information from my guide later. Also, any further information I needed, I was able to get from our drivers. I didn't miss out on anything. My guide was very gracious and understanding. Also, he began posting a handwritten schedule for the next days activities, so I/we were aware of changes. I came home exhausted, with wonderful memories and even more wonderful photos. Lenore Persky hupuplenore@comcast.net PS. I particularly liked not having phone service the whole time!!!!

(5)

The Best of Botswana safari experience fulfilled a life long dream and exceeded my expectations. It was everything I hoped for and more than I imagined.

(5)

I saw more animals than expected, and was delighted to see so many birds. Our guides and drivers were great at getting us in position to see and photograph an incredible number of animals. Our trip leader and the staff at various lodges provided wonderful educational content. I should point out that while the materials we received said that to avoid tsetse flies we should not wear black or blue, Botswana has eradicated tsetse flies, and those who ignored the color recommendations did fine. For many of us to adhere to this recommendation, a whole new wardrobe of drab colors needed to be purchased, and this expense turned out to be unnecessary. The visit to a farm near Leroo La Tau, raised the question of how to fill in the forms when returning to the US. This is an area classified as foot and mouth disease-free, but just in case I scrubbed the Keen sandals I wore that day to remove any trace of soil. No problem in drying them on our deck since it was very hot and dry in early to mid-November.

(5)

This was the trip of a life time! Botswana and it's people are beautiful! Everything about this trip was AMAZING!!

(5)

If you want to take the trip of a lifetime, sign up for the "Best of Botswana" and you won't be disappointed. From the beautifully appointed lodges to the expert guides and drivers, you will experience the best of the people, the culture, the land, and of course, the wildlife that Botswana has to offer.

(5)

This was a fun exciting trip. Botswana is a great country to visit. Everything about this trip was 5 STAR

(5)

This is a trip of a lifetime if you love animals. Each day is an adventure because you never know what animals you will encounter or what they will be doing.

(5)

What a wonderful trip. It was well organized and paced, the accommodations were great, and food good and plentiful. The guide Johann was superbly informed and the lodge guides were excellent as well. I saw more wildlife than I had hoped for and the safari experience (high tea, game drive refreshment stops, evening candle lit dinners, and staff entertainment) was very enjoyable. All the participants on the trip were very friendly and welcoming as well.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback