loading spinner
20297
South Dakota/Wyoming

On the Road: Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Explore the iconic monuments and national parks of South Dakota and Wyoming. From Mount Rushmore to Old Faithful, from herds of bison to Mammoth Site — this adventure is big!
Rating (4.96)
Program No. 20297RJ
Length
10 days
Starts at
2,479
South Dakota/Wyoming

On the Road: Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Explore the iconic monuments and national parks of South Dakota and Wyoming. From Mount Rushmore to Old Faithful, from herds of bison to Mammoth Site — this adventure is big!
Length
10 days
Starts at
2,479
Program No. 20297 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 9 - Jun 17, 2021
Starting at
2,479
Jun 14 - Jun 22, 2021
Starting at
2,479
Jun 22 - Jul 1, 2021
Starting at
2,849
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Jul 14 - Jul 22, 2021
Starting at
2,479
Aug 16 - Aug 24, 2021
Starting at
2,479
Aug 17 - Aug 26, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,399
Itinerary Note

Features a 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Aug 24 - Sep 2, 2021
Starting at
2,849
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Sep 1 - Sep 9, 2021
Starting at
2,479
Sep 7 - Sep 16, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,399
Itinerary Note

Features a 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Sep 10 - Sep 19, 2021
Starting at
2,849
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 9 - Jun 17, 2021
Starting at
3,419
Jun 14 - Jun 22, 2021
Starting at
3,419
Jun 22 - Jul 1, 2021
Starting at
3,809
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Jul 14 - Jul 22, 2021
Starting at
3,419
Aug 16 - Aug 24, 2021
Starting at
3,419
Aug 17 - Aug 26, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,399
Itinerary Note

Features a 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Aug 24 - Sep 2, 2021
Starting at
3,869
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Sep 1 - Sep 9, 2021
Starting at
3,419
Sep 7 - Sep 16, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,399
Itinerary Note

Features a 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

Sep 10 - Sep 19, 2021
Starting at
3,869
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site.

At a Glance

Travel from the beautiful Black Hills of Western South Dakota to Wyoming’s parks and monuments on this exceptional adventure. Be mesmerized by natural and manmade wonders at Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park and the Mammoth Site in South Dakota. Experience the mystique of Devils Tower Monument, see Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone National Park and take in the majesty of Grand Teton National Park and Jackson Hole.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking up to 2 miles a day. Getting in/out of motor coach frequently. Elevations of 3,400-7,731 feet.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • At Mount Rushmore, learn how the mountain was carved by sculptor Gutzon Borglum.
  • Experience the Buffalo Bill Historical Center in Cody, Wyo., the oldest and most comprehensive museum of the American West.
  • In Yellowstone National Park, view the waterfalls at the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and travel through Hayden Valley and hope to see herds of bison and other wildlife.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less. Select departures are 9 nights long and include Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Site. Small Group Departures also available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Joseph Singleton
Joseph is a ten-year resident of Colorado and has spent much of the past six years working at McMurdo Station in Antarctica and traveling around the world. He has also worked as an instructor and group leader in various capacities around the country. His master's is in music history, and he wrote his thesis on the music in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind," which was filmed at Devil's Tower, Wyoming.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Joseph Singleton
Joseph Singleton View biography
Joseph is a ten-year resident of Colorado and has spent much of the past six years working at McMurdo Station in Antarctica and traveling around the world. He has also worked as an instructor and group leader in various capacities around the country. His master's is in music history, and he wrote his thesis on the music in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind," which was filmed at Devil's Tower, Wyoming.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Carving of Mount Rushmore
by Rex Alan Smith
This work tells the story of the spectacular artistic and engineering project of carving the American presidents' portraits on Mount Rushmore. It describes how it was conceived and carried out. The author was brought up in sight of Mount Rushmore and witnessed the work in progress.
Standing Witness: Devils Tower National Monument, A History
by Jeanne Rogers
History of Grand Teton National Park
by Charles Craighead
The story of the people and culture that first shaped Jackson Hole is encompassed in this great guide. From American Indians to the first person to climb the Grand Teton, this guide has essentials you'll enjoy knowing. With historic photos and correlating map, you can't go wrong if you want to know about people and places in Grand Teton and Jackson Hole. Beautiful photos by nature photographer Henry Holdsworth.
Roadside History of Yellowstone National Park
by Winfred Blevins
The "Roadside History' series charts a course to the present through carefully selected and thoroughly researched stories relating what we see today with what happened before. Through vivid anecdotes, old photographs, and maps, the "Roadside History" guides provide entertaining insight into the states and/or regions they describe. The history of Yellowstone Park is rich with tales of the diverse people who have visited this natural wonderland along with a "road log" approach that helps place modern travelers in the past.
Black Elk Speaks
by John Neihardt
This book gives the reader a good background of the Northern Plains Indian Culture and Religion.
28 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.96 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

For years I have wanted to visit this part of the country and I was not disappointed as this trip covered all of the highlights of this area. We had a delightful group that made the trip even more special. The leader was amazing and kept us all on track and I saw more than I ever thought I would. As I usually like the more active trips, there was just enough bus riding with lots of chances to stretch your legs. I love Road Scholar and talk it up whenever I have the chance!!

(5)

This trip was fabulous! We originally enrolled as a way to tour Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons while having someone else worry about the planning, driving, etc... but we were pleasantly surprised that this trip turned out to be so much more! All of it was great, but we especially loved Crazy Horse, the Badlands, the Buffalo Bill Museum, our stay at Jackson Lake Lodge (we took the dinner raft trip - fabulous!), and Devil's Tower. Everything was well thought out and organized. We greatly appreciated our program guide Joseph (awesome - knowledgeable with a great sense of humor), the various instructors (they shared their expertise without being boring), and our bus driver Mert (so friendly and attentive). The food and accommodations were great, and we were busy every day. Road Scholar thought of everything, down to the tiniest detail (snacks, rest stops, etc), to make our jam-packed trip enjoyable. There's no way we could have done it all on our own. This was our first Road Scholar experience, and we already have several trips saved on our Wish List... it'll be hard to choose what's next, but we can't wait!

(5)

Glad we had the hotel in the city. I saw the hotel in the outskirts and was not impressed.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

We saw so much in such a short time and the schedule was flawless. On board CDs highlighted the upcoming sites and there was a very collegial atmosphere on the bus created by the tour guide. Our every need was anticipated and the team representing Road Scholar did themselves proud. They were attentive to our every need providing quality service at each stop and excellent information throughout the trip..

(5)

The website clearly defined the tour! The daily activities are included but didn't prepare me for how wonderful, numerous and engaging they were for me.

(5)

For our first visit to the area, Road Scholar provide a very comprehensive program that was fun and easy to participate in. Our instructors were excellent and their energetic leadership and enthusiasm for the area was awesome.

(5)

An absolute must trip if you have not traveled to this area - the whole trip was well orchestrated by our tour guide and the program was excellent and well planned.

(5)

The On the Road program was terrific. Seeing Mount Rushmore, the Badlands, the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone was just amazing. Our group leaders, Candy and Markus added to the experience by being welcoming, accommodating, and so enthusiastic about the area. It was a wonderful experience for my husband and myself. I would highly recommend this program!

(5)

We just completed our “On The Road...” tour with Road Scholar. There is not a better way to see the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Mount Rushmore, Devil’s Tower, and Cody, Wyoming, to name a few points of interest. Our guide and driver were phenomenal experts about this area and the amenities were five-star! If you don’t have this trip on your bucket list, add it!

(5)

We thought the trip was AWESOME! We got to see many incredible places without having to worry about the logistics so we could focus on enjoying the sites. The other Road Scholar participants came from all over USA and we enjoyed meeting terrific people.

(5)

Every dance class, yoga class and Red Hat club in North San Diego county knows I am a fan....hope they enroll in one of your programs. Cheerios!

(5)

A great trip! One word of advice from an August 2019 participant: GO!!

(5)

Road Scholar is a well organized tour company with many interesting trips available. I would recommend anyone interested in traveling to contact them.

(5)

This excellent program checked off a number of must see destinations on our list in a pleasant, wide ranging, well paced, active, road trip format. It also provided an education not only about the places and attractions, but their associated people, cultures, and historical events. We also met delightful tour guides, a skilled bus driver, and a group of fascinatingly unique fellow program participants!

(5)

I can't say enough good things about our group leaders hard work, friendliness and preparation. I was also very impressed with our driver, who after 8 days, 1,600 miles and a bus load of people, remained jovial.

(5)

Can't say enough good things about the group leaders Dianne & Greg. They handled all the logistics and were always very upbeat while constantly answering questions or providing information. They were amazing! This is an excellent way to see the Badlands, Yellowstone & the Grand Tetons - plus lots of other bonus things along the way. Information was presented in a variety of formats - including videos on the bus, lots of museum and welcome center displays, handouts and narration by experts. Very enjoyable group of people and INCREDIBLE scenery with lots of opportunities to walk, take pictures and enjoy the beauty & history of the locations.

(5)

This trip is BEST for people who have never traveled to all the wonderful places that we did. They will receive an excellent dosage of so many places and events, which is helpful if they want to return and look deeper to learn more about what they saw.

(5)

A great trip and adventure. An amazing part of the United States.

(5)

This is a great tour. We travelled approximately 1600 miles in 9 days. The amount of distance travelled was not difficult because of the many stops and entertainment available along the way. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the Dakota-Wyoming area.

(5)

This tour is an incredibly full agenda of visiting national parks, a state park & many other venues. Every day was full, even if it was a long day on the bus. Still made stops & the scenery was always wonderful.

(5)

This was a very educational and beautiful trip. The Grand Tetons are especially beautiful and a place to go to for a relaxing time. The length of the trip was just right. Our tour directors were fabulous and saw to all our needs. I highly recommend this trip.

(4)

This is a wonderful tour, and I would recommend it for it’s broad scope of locations visited, and great in-depth information included at each venue.

(5)

On our Yellowstone/Grand Tetons trip, I felt like I was traveling inside a postcard. Just spectacular! This trip was perfect from all aspects and it certainly exceeded my expectations :)

(5)

This was a wonderful experience. The information was excellent and the group leaders were remarkable. Everyone on the trip seemed to get a lot out of it.

(5)

We’ve been on six RS trip to date and this, like the others, was excellent. We covered a lot of ground, sometimes the bus rides were long, but stories and history taught along the way made the experience a pleasant one. Plus we got to see the wide open landscape which was beautiful. Our host, Jennifer, is second to none. Here is video we made of the entire experience. Posted on YouTube https://youtu.be/UKQ-nGYgDyE.

(5)

If you need a rush of pride in this great country of ours, put this particular Road Scholar tour on your immediate list. It was our first experience with Road Scholar, but it won't be our last!

(5)

I would recommend tacking a trip with Road Scholar. You don't have to worry about anything everything is well planned and organized. You just go relax and have fun.

(5)

This trip was better than I imagined, and I was already imagining that it would be wonderful when I signed up for it. The program is particularly good for someone who wants to see the specific things this tour covers--I had not seen any of them, so it was a perfect tour for me.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback