loading spinner
2801
Florida

Keys, Everglades & Dry Tortugas: Human History & Outdoor Study

Discover the Florida Keys with a master naturalist as you visit protected islands, explore coral reefs, taste local cuisine and enjoy lectures on shipwrecks, pirates and Native Peoples.
Program No. 2801RJ
Length
7 days
Starts at
2,299
Florida

Keys, Everglades & Dry Tortugas: Human History & Outdoor Study

Discover the Florida Keys with a master naturalist as you visit protected islands, explore coral reefs, taste local cuisine and enjoy lectures on shipwrecks, pirates and Native Peoples.
Length
7 days
Starts at
2,299
Program No. 2801 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
Activity Level: Keep the Pace (5)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 28 - Dec 4, 2021
Starting at
2,499
Itinerary Note

Hotel in Key West located in the Old Town

Jan 9 - Jan 15, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Jan 23 - Jan 29, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Feb 6 - Feb 12, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Nov 13 - Nov 19, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Activity Level: Keep the Pace (5)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 28 - Dec 4, 2021
Starting at
3,459
Itinerary Note

Hotel in Key West located in the Old Town

Jan 9 - Jan 15, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Jan 23 - Jan 29, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Feb 6 - Feb 12, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Nov 13 - Nov 19, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Activity Level: On Your Feet (8)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Dec 12 - Dec 18, 2021
Starting at
2,299
Jan 16 - Jan 22, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Jan 30 - Feb 5, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Feb 20 - Feb 26, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Feb 27 - Mar 5, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Mar 6 - Mar 12, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Mar 13 - Mar 19, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Dec 4 - Dec 10, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Activity Level: On Your Feet (8)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Dec 12 - Dec 18, 2021
Starting at
3,219
Jan 16 - Jan 22, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Jan 30 - Feb 5, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Feb 20 - Feb 26, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Feb 27 - Mar 5, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Mar 6 - Mar 12, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Mar 13 - Mar 19, 2022
Starting at
3,479
Dec 4 - Dec 10, 2022
Starting at
3,479

At a Glance

On an extraordinary adventure to Key West, discover the Florida Keys as you explore protected islands and coral reefs, taste local cuisine and learn about shipwrecks, pirates and native peoples. A local expert leads you on this journey through the Florida Keys’ natural history and cultural heritage. Examine environmental issues affecting the Everglades and coral reefs and hear the stories of Native Americans, shipwreck divers, industrialist Henry Flagler and others.
Activity Level
Varies by date
Varies by date. Must be able to swim for optional snorkeling activity. Snorkeling equipment provided; wetsuits unavailable. On Your Feet: Walking up to one mile. Keep the Pace: Walking up to 2 miles.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Learn about Florida Keys ecology as you explore Dry Tortugas National Park and two state parks.
  • Enjoy a special visit to Biscayne National Park.
  • Delve into evidence of 10,000 years of human history, from pirates and shipwrecks to farmers and presidents.

General Notes

Van transfer provided between Miami and Key Largo at the start and end of program. All transfers by van.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Aleksey Berzon
Aleksey Berzon is a Florida Master Naturalist. Born in Russia, he moved to Brooklyn at a young age, and later to Florida to study hospitality at the Rosen College of Hospitality Management. He continued his education at the International Tourism Management Institute to fulfill his dream of leading educational travel groups around the world. He has led groups throughout the United States, Canada, China and Ireland among other places. When he isn’t traveling, Aleksey enjoys coin collecting, photography and storytelling.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Aleksey Berzon
Aleksey Berzon View biography
Aleksey Berzon is a Florida Master Naturalist. Born in Russia, he moved to Brooklyn at a young age, and later to Florida to study hospitality at the Rosen College of Hospitality Management. He continued his education at the International Tourism Management Institute to fulfill his dream of leading educational travel groups around the world. He has led groups throughout the United States, Canada, China and Ireland among other places. When he isn’t traveling, Aleksey enjoys coin collecting, photography and storytelling.
Profile Image of Alberto J Melendez
Alberto J Melendez View biography
Alberto Melendez is a certified educational excursion, a certified Advance Open Water Scuba Diver and a Florida master naturalist. He has been leading kayak and snorkeling explorations in the Orlando area for over eight years. A 'tree-hugger' since the term became popular, he enjoys introducing folks to the inside story of the critters, salt marsh and history of the area.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
A Land Remembered
by Patrick Smith
Insiders Guide Florida Keys and Key West
by Victoria Shearer and Janet Ware
Hidden Florida Keys & Everglades
by Candace Leslie Ana Boese
Everglades Nat. Park & Surrounding
by Roger Hammer
National Audubon Field Guide to Florida
by Alden / Cech / Nelson
Eco-Touring the Florida Keys
by Matthew Landau Larry Gates
Key West
by Gerald Sprayregen
9 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

This was such a fun trip...Aleksy and Taylor are amazing leaders. They were totally dependable, completely knowledgeable, and fun to be with. The trip was very organized and meant three national parks in one swoop. The most unusual and exceptional one was the Dry Tortugas. We live in Florida but the thought of organizing a trip to this remote location for ourselves seemed just too daunting...Road Scholar's tour fit the bill. In addition, our fellow participants were very congenial. This was one of the best Road Scholar trips we have been on!!!

(5)

I may have been influenced by the fact that I was leaving 23 degrees and snow to come to the sub-tropics, but this was one of the best trips I have ever taken! Most of the credit goes to our two wonderful guides, Taylor Duck and Aleksey Berzon. I want to travel with them again!

(5)

This program is a nice getaway from cold weather up north. If you have Aleksey and Taylor as your leaders, then you are one lucky Road Scholar! They are so fun and made the week enjoyable. Visits to three National Parks makes the program unique. There is much history and beauty in the Keys. Accommodations and food were good. Would recommend to anyone wanting a respite from the cold.

(5)

Great - one of a kind subject matter. Well planned and executed.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Super trip. One advantage of the date was that the surf temperature at Fort Jefferson was 75 degrees making for pleasant snorkeling. Another pleasant surprise was that I only got one insect bite on the hole trip. The trip was well lead and provided a wonderful overview of the Keys' natural systems.

(5)

Escape from winter's cold for awhile and visit 3 sunny, warm National Parks in southern Florida to learn about the sub-tropical habitats there, Flagler's railroad, the forts that never saw action and the novelty of Key West.

(5)

This program provides a look into Florida's Everglades and reef parks, and a full description of their historic importance to the US.

(5)

My husband and I just completed our first Road Scholar program. It was to the Florida Everglades, Dry Tortugas and Key Biscayne. It was a very rewarding experience from all aspects and certainly good value. We are now researching our next Road Scholar experience.

(5)

This is a fun program and a good way to come out of your safe zone to speak. IT was very educational and interesting to learn about a part of the country I have never been to or know much about. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who is thinking about attending. The tour guides are amazing and really work together well.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.