loading spinner
22225
Alaska

Passport to Southeast Alaska: By Hiking Boot, Kayak & Boat

Alaska is one-fifth the size of all Lower 48 states combined but has a population smaller than Rhode Island. Come hike, kayak, learn about and explore this idyllic place.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22225RJ
Length
10 days
Starts at
4,799
Alaska

Passport to Southeast Alaska: By Hiking Boot, Kayak & Boat

Alaska is one-fifth the size of all Lower 48 states combined but has a population smaller than Rhode Island. Come hike, kayak, learn about and explore this idyllic place.
Length
10 days
Starts at
4,799
Program No. 22225 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 4 - Jun 13, 2021
Starting at
4,799
Jul 9 - Jul 18, 2021
Starting at
4,799
Jul 23 - Aug 1, 2021
Starting at
4,799
Aug 6 - Aug 15, 2021
Starting at
4,799
Jun 3 - Jun 12, 2022
Starting at
4,949
Jul 8 - Jul 17, 2022
Starting at
4,949
Aug 5 - Aug 14, 2022
Starting at
4,949
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 4 - Jun 13, 2021
Starting at
5,539
Jul 9 - Jul 18, 2021
Starting at
5,539
Jul 23 - Aug 1, 2021
Starting at
5,539
Aug 6 - Aug 15, 2021
Starting at
5,539
Jun 3 - Jun 12, 2022
Starting at
5,729
Jul 8 - Jul 17, 2022
Starting at
5,729
Aug 5 - Aug 14, 2022
Starting at
5,729

At a Glance

Southeast Alaska opens up to you on an extraordinary learning adventure in a land steeped in riveting lore, hardy culture and spirited days of up-close discovery by land and sea. Kayak in cold blue waters to one of Alaska’s most active feeding grounds for humpback whales. Hike in old-growth forest with views of towering mountains. Dine on native salmon. Be transformed in the wild outdoors and pure air of America’s 49th state.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Kayaking up to two hours at a time on mostly calm waters, hiking up to four miles over varied terrain over a period of two hours. Rafting on relatively flat waters.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Take a quiet float through a Bald Eagle Preserve to a Klukwan village to learn about the Tlingit culture.
  • Explore the beautiful wildness of Glacier Bay National Park by boat, on foot and by kayak!
  • Hike through the Tongass National Rainforest and watch out for whales, otters, schools of salmon, and eagles flying overhead as you kayak in the waters along the Pacific coastline.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Alaska: A History of the 49th State
by Claus Naske and Herman Slotnik
Claus-M. Naske is retired as Professor of History at the University of Alaska. A longtime resident of the state, he is the author of many works on Alaska history.
The Nature of Southeast Alaska
by Robert H. Armstrong, Rita M O'Clair & Richard Carstensen
Guide to the Birds of Alaska
by Robert Armstrong
This comprehensive guide provides the most current knowledge about the birds in Alaska.
All Robert Service Poetry
by Robert Service
Alaska's History: the People, Land and Events of the North Country
by Harry Ritter
This is a small, easily readable "digest" of Alaska's history. It is great for a quick overview and it is a good size for tucking into a suitcase or reading on a plane.
Roadside Geology of Alaska
by Cathy Conner and Daniel O'Haire
Tlingit Tales: Potlatch and Totem Pole
by Lorie K. Harris
Legends of the Tlingit people.
Guide to Marine Mammals of Alaska
by Kate Wynne
This book covers all 29 marine mammal species of Alaska. Each whale, porpoise, dolphin, seal, sea lion, walrus, sea otter, and polar bear is described and illustrated. Color photos and surface profile drawings show all Alaska marine mammals and compare similar species, and color range maps show distribution.
Travels in Alaska
by John Muir
Take a trip to last century's Alaska through Muir's clean, easy-going, enthusiastic prose. He wrote the way he took pictures, with insight, attention, care and genuine feeling.
Field Guide to Alaskan Flowers
by Verna Pratt
With 350 color illustrations, it's slim enough to slip into your pocket.
8 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I highly recommend this program. The physical activity is accurately described in the program materials and added to the enjoyment of the program. The visit to Glacier Bay is unforgettable; the guides are knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating; the planning is impeccable; and the participants become close friends.

(5)

Can’t think of a better way to see SE Alaska up close: hiking, kayaking, glaciers. Pack for all weather conditions: warm/sunny, rain, very cold/foggy and pack light and well organized for hotel changes and TSA checks. Be prepared for hiking with elevation changes in the lush forest and kayaking with sea otters, seals, and WHALES!!! Very active trip with a fun group. Was our first RS trip...looking forward to more.

(5)

Southeast AK by Kayak, Raft and Boot -- It was a great intro to this part of AK. Varied and fun activities, learned about the cultural, natural and historical past of this area....and had lots of fun along the way. Blessed with a fine group of fellow travelers and superb leader. Accommodations were fine, not plush, but didn't expect that. Food varied, some locations great, another OK. Would recommend this trip to folks who want an active intro to SE Alaska.

(5)

A great well balanced program. Kate provided excellent leadership. Being land based, we had a much more intimate relationship with the place and people than we would have had a part of a herd from a cruise ship.

(5)

A super-fab trip! You must be in shape, but the great thing, so are all the other participants and leaders. So much more to see and learn v. riding on a ship. Now that I'm home, Alaska seems like a dream I'll always remember, recalling the residents, the geography, culture, and history. My first, but not my last, Road Scholar trip!

(5)

This was our first Roadscholar trip and we very much enjoyed it. We wanted to see Alaska without going on a cruise and we think we made the right decision. The trip is centered in Southeast Alaska and included kayaking, hiking, museums, and several boat trips. We unequivocally recommend this trip.

(5)

This trip is a must for people who don't want to do an Alaskan cruise. We used so many modes of transportation that always included wildlife viewing and the time on the trail and water were unbeatable. While kayaking we saw hundreds of eagles and lots of whales nearby - a truly unique thrill. We learned about a culture we knew nothing about and again were amazed at how our country tried so hard to erase a vast tribe of spiritual, creative and self sufficient people. They still remain in villages and their artifacts and art are amazing. This trip had so many highlights!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a spirited 10 days of non-stop experiences. Our guide Kate Winslow was enthusiastic, organized and a wealth of information about the Last Frontier. Our local guides at each location were excellent and we felt comfortable challenging ourselves with sea kayaking, rafting and hiking. The trip gave us real insights into the Native American culture that is such a large part of the Alaska experience. I would recommend this trip to anyone with a sense of adventure and good physical health.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback