loading spinner
Croatia

Island Hopping in Magical Croatia

Program No. 22150RJ
The coast of Croatia is nearly 10% national park and boasts the most preserved fortification system in Europe. Come explore with the experts and during plenty of time on your own!
Length
11 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,899
Flights start at
1,100

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Protecting the Environment

Through Carbonfund.org, we offset a portion of the emissions created by your travel. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 5 - May 15, 2023
Starting at
2,899
May 12 - May 22, 2023
Starting at
3,099
May 19 - May 29, 2023
Starting at
2,999
Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2023
Starting at
3,249
Sep 22 - Oct 2, 2023
Starting at
3,149
Oct 6 - Oct 16, 2023
Starting at
2,899
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 5 - May 15, 2023
Starting at
3,379
May 12 - May 22, 2023
Starting at
3,649
May 19 - May 29, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2023
Starting at
3,899
Sep 22 - Oct 2, 2023
Starting at
3,729
Oct 6 - Oct 16, 2023
Starting at
3,379

At a Glance

Nestled along the waters of the Adriatic Sea, the coast of Croatia is home to historic fortresses, medieval architecture and colorful islands all waiting to be explored. Experience the beauty and culture of this Balkan nation as local experts introduce you to the Roman history of Split, the islands of Hvar, Korcula and Brac and the medieval and modern identity of Dubrovnik.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking 2-3 miles per day, some cobblestones and stairs. Use of public transportation, including ferries.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Receive expert insight into the preservation of Diocletian’s Palace as you explore this Roman fortress.
  • Discover the charming old towns and pristine turquoise waters of the islands.
  • Join an expert in Dubrovnik for an educational walk and exploration of the Rector's Palace, Franciscan Monastery, Onofrio Fountain and St. Blaise's Church.

General Notes

Program includes independent time to explore the city and several meals on your own. Group Leaders will provide directions for self-directed excursions. Suggestions for free-time activities provided in preparatory materials.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Balkans, A Short History
by Mark Mazower
With eloquence and clarity, Mazower addresses issues of geography, nationalism and nation in this indispensable survey.
The Islands of Croatia, 30 Walks on 14 Adriatic Islands
by Rudolf Abraham
A guidebook of coastal strolls and full-day climbs to mountain summits over the Dalmatian coast. Part of the widely used Cicerone Guide series on walking.
A Taste of Croatia
by Karen Evenden
This engaging memoir of a three-year sailing odyssey includes 100 enticing recipes.
Balkan Ghosts, A Journey through History
by Robert D. Kaplan
Kaplan interweaves history, art and culture with his travels through Yugoslavia, Bulgaria, Romania and Greece in this regional portrait.
Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of the Balkans
by Dennis Hupchick
The changing borders and complex history of the Balkans are clearly and concisely shown through 50 double-page maps and accompanying essays, organized chronologically.
Eyewitness Guide Croatia
by Eyewitness Guides
Gorgeously illustrated and filled with excellent maps, this compact book offers a thorough overview of Croatia's history, traditions, cultures and sights.
The Hired Man
by Aminatta Forna
When Duro Kolak encounters a strange car in his small Croatian village of Gost, he offers its British occupants assistance in setting up a summer cottage. But tensions soon develop between the village residents and the foreigners, as painful memories from the Croatian War of Independence are revived.
Dubrovnik, A History
by Robin Harris
Harris, a journalist who writes frequently on the Balkans, presents a comprehensive portrait of the historically important maritime city-state in this nicely illustrated, scholarly and readable history of Dubrovnik.
Lonely Planet Croatian Phrasebook
by Lonely Planet Publications
A handy, palm-sized guide to pronunciation, basic grammar and essential vocabulary for the traveler.
A Traveller's History of Croatia
by Benjamin Curtis
Curtis untangles with alacrity the complex history of this nation at the crossroads of Europe.
Zagreb Cowboy
by Alen Mattich
An exciting debut novel, brimming with black humor and sharp repartee. Secret policeman Marko Della Torre must flee from Croatia after a corrupt cop orders his murder. His trail leads to London where he’s forced to face his assassins.
Croatia Map, Istria Peninsula
by Freytag & Berndt
This detailed road map shows Istria and surroundings from Trieste and Rijeka south to Pula and Cres at a scale of 1:100,000.
Once upon a Yugoslavia, When the American Way Met Tito's Third Way
by Surya Green
Set against the backdrop of Tito's Yugoslavia, this first-person narrative was penned by an American woman who spent 1968 working at a film studio in Zagreb. Green reflects on the former nation-state, its everyday people, American versus communist values and the contemporary phenomenon of "Yugo-nostalgia."
How We Survived Communism and Even Laughed
by Slavenka Drakulic
These short essays capture the absurdity, struggle and day-to-day reality of being a woman in Yugoslavia under communism. Drakulic is an award-winning Croatian journalist and novelist.
12 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 1/05/2023

The leader was excellent. I did not find the other participants as friendly as I did with my trip to Scotland. There was too much alcohol. We were constantly being offered Croatian wine...several times a day.

(5) Review left 10/24/2022

This was our first Road Scholar program and we can highly recommend it and the tour guide Nisrim. We plan to look into other programs for next year.

(5) Review left 9/27/2022

Zoran was the best tour guide I have ever had.

(5) Review left 6/07/2022

"Island Hopping in Croatia" was an amazing experience. The islands and Adriatic Sea are beautiful. The Republic of Croatia is very proud of their country and all people were very welcoming. They have a lot to share with their stone mason school, olive oil making, wine making, sea food variety, etc. Citizens want to keep their country free from any more power struggles.

(5) Review left 5/31/2022

Croatia should be on the top of your must-see places to visit. Stunning vistas, turquoise, crystal clear waters, craggy mountains, combined with a welcoming people, unfailingly excellent food, and a clean environment--it's all there.

(5) Review left 5/25/2022

accurate and apropriate.

(5) Review left 5/25/2022

Few”rocks were left unturned”! And there were a lot of rocks. I found the citizens of Croatia to be friendly and eager to share their country

(5) Review left 5/17/2022

This trip is a great way to get a taste of the islands in coastal Croatia. It is a beautiful, friendly country that should not be missed. Spectacular scenery, wonderful food and wine, incredible cities and towns that "ooze" history, charm and character.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 6/18/2019

Definitely five stars. Our guide Dejan Rilak flawlessly executed the somewhat intricate program of this tour. Through various means of transportation (tour buses, public ferries, short walks, small boat trips, public buses) there was never a hitch. No one was lost and the scheduled transport was always there. Also, all scheduled lectures and local guided tours occurred on time, as planned. Skill in coordinating was not Dejan’s only virtue. He kept our group informed of what was planned for the current day and the next, and he had the good sense to repeat in the same communication the essential aspects what he had said (like when and where to meet), in case we might have missed it. He also had a very good style in managing the group—I think he might even be able to herd cats. He silently counted the group and knew who might be missing, yet never mentioned the latecomers by name. He only said things like “two more before we start.” In addition, he gave several informative informal talks during bus rides. Throughout he showed not only patience and sensitivity to personal issues but also a good sense of humor. We have not experienced a better guide in our five or six trips with Road Scholar. The itinerary of the tour was very well conceived. It provided a diversity of experiences, including not only guided tours of major tourist attractions, but also several stops and meals in local rural facilities (farms, including a mussel farm on the water). Lectures were uniformly informative and well presented by experts in non-technical language (all lecturers spoke clear English). The “flex” feature of the trip worked well for us. We were able to visit museums and other sites and to choose restaurants based on personal interests. Originally we were interested in the RS yacht trip of the islands, but given our experience with the Island Hopping Tour, we believe the greater freedom and range of experience was a better choice for us.

(5) Review left 6/11/2019

This was a great trip. We visited several agro-tourism/farm sites where we tasted locally produced wine, olive oils, liqueurs and foods, which we could not have visited as individual travelers, as well as places that I would not have chosen on my own but thoroughly enjoyed. Ferries were easy to use, accommodations were great, and the lectures were interesting. Croatia is a beautiful country with welcoming people, delicious cuisine and history at every turn. A nice combination of time and meals with the group, and time to explore on our own.

(5) Review left 6/09/2019

Amazing and lovely country where you can visit UNESCO historic sites as well learn local traditional industries in farming areas. Enjoy tasty Croatian food. Discover the islands on ferries, chartered boats and on foot. Walk on the Old City Wall in Dubrovnik, the second longest after the Great Wall of China, so it's said.

(5) Review left 6/07/2019

This was a wonderful trip led by Zoran, a wonderful guide. While Zoran was with us throughout, at each location we had local guides/experts as guest hosts/lecturers for museums, bus rides, tastings, castle tours and lectures. Having local guides gave that personal touch that brought each location to life. Not that it needed much help as the coastal islands and cities are vibrant and gorgeous. Our trip was in mid-May and at the start of the trip we had unusually cold and rainy weather. The upside is that we didn't battle the crowds that apparently show up in the heart of the summer. And the sun eventually did come out! I liked the mix of free time and structured group time on this trip and felt that Road Scholar did a great job of choosing a nice blend of standard must-do activities and activities that tourists on their own would never discover. Special thanks again to Zoran. We had some participants with special dietary needs and some people who caught a flu going around - and Zoran did his best to manage all of that plus keep to the itinerary. And he stayed positive throughout.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.