loading spinner
21938
Minnesota

Off the Map: Voyageurs National Park & Canoe Country

Paddle and hike in one of the few places in the Lower 48 where nature’s vastness and grandeur can leave us in awe — Minnesota's famed boundary waters.
Rating (4.67)
Program No. 21938RJ
Length
8 days
Starts at
1,599
Minnesota

Off the Map: Voyageurs National Park & Canoe Country

Paddle and hike in one of the few places in the Lower 48 where nature’s vastness and grandeur can leave us in awe — Minnesota's famed boundary waters.
Length
8 days
Starts at
1,599
Program No. 21938 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 8 - Aug 15, 2021
Starting at
1,599
Aug 22 - Aug 29, 2021
Starting at
1,599
Jun 12 - Jun 19, 2022
Starting at
1,649
Aug 7 - Aug 14, 2022
Starting at
1,649
Aug 21 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
1,649
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 8 - Aug 15, 2021
Starting at
2,469
Aug 22 - Aug 29, 2021
Starting at
2,469
Jun 12 - Jun 19, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Aug 7 - Aug 14, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Aug 21 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
2,549

At a Glance

Beloved by generations of canoeists and wilderness enthusiasts, Minnesota's boundary waters is one of North America’s truly untouched places. Go off the map to discover the beauty of Minnesota's North Shore, Burntside Lake and Voyageurs National Park – the only water-based wilderness park in the U.S. Gain a deeper connection with nature as you leave modern technology at home and learn about the region's geology on hikes and canoe adventures through remote landscapes and to hidden waterfalls, ancient pine forests and legendary gold mines. Study the conservationists who are the heroes behind this unspoiled nook of North America as you immerse yourself in the beautiful land they’ve tried so hard to protect.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Walking 2-5 miles a day and canoeing for 1-2 hours on flat water.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Uncover the best of the Great North Woods as you’re led by celebrated author, musician and wilderness expert Douglas Wood, and join him in exploring the famed home of Sigurd Olson.
  • Explore Doug’s own Fawn Island on Rainy Lake, and the nearby Mallard Island of wilderness champion Ernest Oberholtzer.
  • Enjoy paddling outings on Burntside Lake and gorgeous Lake Kabetogama, and a day-long boat-adventure to Historic Kettle Falls, on the U.S-Canada border, accessible only by boat or plane.

General Notes

This program is part of our “Off the Map” series, exploring truly remote areas of the United States as a way to connect with local culture and landscapes, and disconnect with the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. Our goal is to bring you to places that have limited access to Wi-Fi, cell service and other technology so you can enjoy authentic learning experiences without modern distractions.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Douglas Wood
Douglas Wood has been called "Minnesota's Renaissance Man." An author, artist, naturalist, musician and wilderness leader, he is the creator of 38 books for adults and children, and the recipient of many honors and awards. As a group leader, he has led scores of trips from southern Minnesota's Bluff Country to the Northwest Territories, focusing not just on the natural world of geography and geology, flora and fauna, but on the timeless relationship between nature and the human spirit.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Douglas Wood
Douglas Wood View biography
Douglas Wood has been called "Minnesota's Renaissance Man." An author, artist, naturalist, musician and wilderness leader, he is the creator of 38 books for adults and children, and the recipient of many honors and awards. As a group leader, he has led scores of trips from southern Minnesota's Bluff Country to the Northwest Territories, focusing not just on the natural world of geography and geology, flora and fauna, but on the timeless relationship between nature and the human spirit.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Reflections of the North Country
by Sigurd Olson
Keeper of the Wild: The Life of Ernest Oberholtzer
by Joe Paddock
Of Time and Place
by Sigurd Olson
The Hidden Forest
by Sigurd Olson
Toward Magnetic North: The Oberholtzer-Magee 1912 Journey to Hudson Bay
by Ernest Oberholtzer
The Singing Wilderness
by Sigurd Olson
Listening Point
by Sigurd Olson
Wilderness Days
by Sigurd Olson
The Voyageur
by Grace Lee Nute
Runes of the North
by Sigurd Olson
A Wilderness Within: The Life of Sigurd F. Olson
by David Backes
The Lonely Land
by Sigurd Olson
Open Horizons
by Sigurd Olson
4 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.67 Average
(5)

This was truly a wonderful trip. The group was cohesive from the start and the glue was strengthened by our fearless leaders Doug and Elaine. Together we explored trails and waterfalls, learned about great wilderness conservationists and visited their idyllic homes. We learned about the strength of Lake Superior and the Canadian Shield and visited and canoed the lakes on the Canadian border. Visits to the Bear and Wolf Centers proved so much more interesting than I imagined they would be! And all this learning in such a relaxed atmosphere. There was always time for questions as well as time to just sit and appreciate the beauty of the area. So many morsels of knowledge were imparted about the flora and fauna, the geology, the history, the past and present culture and the foods of the area!! Who knew Frank LLoyd Wright designed a gas station in Cloquet? I honestly can't say enough good things about this trip. The only negative is that I have now have to diet off 5 pounds from the sit down, order from the menu meals we enjoyed nightly. But I'll never complain about good food. I hope our group can reunite on another Doug and Elaine trip!

(4)

Wilderness for the Golden Years, pretty much making the A List ...

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This trip was an outstanding experience. The group could not have had better leaders in Doug and Elaine. They made everything interesting, challenging when needed, educational and fun....lots of laughter. Anyone who takes this trip will fall in love with the North Woods, have greater appreciation of the natural world around us and understand our deep connectedness to it; most importantly, a call to all of us to protect it. The group was such a wonderful group of people and it is amazing how quickly a person can feel deeply bonded in such a short period of time. I would highly recommend this trip (or any other to that region) to anyone.

(5)

Wow what a great trip. I have been here before, but saw places I never knew existed. I really liked the canoeing and all helping portage the canoes to the lake.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.