loading spinner
Experience the best of Philadelphia’s history and landmarks, as you explore this vibrant city with local experts who provide an insider’s look at its present and past.
Rating (5)
Program No. 10238RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,499
Pennsylvania

Signature City Philadelphia

Experience the best of Philadelphia’s history and landmarks, as you explore this vibrant city with local experts who provide an insider’s look at its present and past.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,499
Program No. 10238 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 9 - May 14, 2021
Starting at
1,499
Jun 6 - Jun 11, 2021
Starting at
1,499
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
1,499
Oct 10 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
1,499
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
1,499
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 9 - May 14, 2021
Starting at
2,079
Jun 6 - Jun 11, 2021
Starting at
2,079
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
2,079
Oct 10 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
2,079
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
2,079

At a Glance

Philadelphia is America’s most remarkable hometown, enriched by centuries of history, heritage, culture and connections. Led by experts, experience its lively diversity as we explore neighborhoods such as Society Hill, Independence National Park, and elegant Rittenhouse Square. Learn about the role of civic institutions and architecture of different eras, and savor the flavor of a flourishing dining renaissance.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles. Standing on field trips and getting on/off buses and public transportation.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Retrace the footsteps of our Founding Fathers — and Mothers! — from William Penn to Ben Franklin and Betsy Ross as we walk to Olde City sites including Independence Hall and Elfreth’s Alley.
  • Marvel at distinctive architecture spanning three centuries of achievement on Society Hill, at City Hall and the Masonic Temple.
  • Experience the rich tradition of the arts and culture of Philadelphia at a public event.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Mitchell Kramer
Mitchell portrays Benjamin Franklin as a costumed historic interpreter in Old City Philadelphia. He has a bachelor’s in playwriting from Hampshire College and has written and produced plays for children and adults and a series of historically accurate stories about 18th century Philadelphia. Mitchell has also worked off-Broadway and in regional theater both on stage and in all areas of play development. He is a former host a satiric news program in Philadelphia and serves on the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Cemetery.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Mitchell Kramer
Mitchell Kramer View biography
Mitchell portrays Benjamin Franklin as a costumed historic interpreter in Old City Philadelphia. He has a bachelor’s in playwriting from Hampshire College and has written and produced plays for children and adults and a series of historically accurate stories about 18th century Philadelphia. Mitchell has also worked off-Broadway and in regional theater both on stage and in all areas of play development. He is a former host a satiric news program in Philadelphia and serves on the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Cemetery.
Profile Image of Warren Williams
Warren Williams View biography
Warren is a retired architect with over 30 years of experience. Much of his career was spent at the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority in Philadelphia. In his professional career, he has worked on several historic projects in the Philadelphia region. Warren is an avid photographer of historic buildings and urban streetscapes. He has led groups exploring Philadelphia’s historic architecture and city planning for over 25 years and occasionally lectures on Philadelphia’s historical development.
Profile Image of Nancy Webster
Nancy Webster View biography
Nancy Webster is a student and teacher of history. After receiving her B.A. magna cum laude from Radcliffe College of Harvard University, Nancy’s interest in early American history took her to William & Mary College where she received a double M.A. degree in American studies and museum curatorship. Today, she lectures and consults on planning, preservation and historical research. She is a member of the National Coalition of Independent Scholars, Fellows in American Studies, the Friend’s Historical Association, Women Historians of the Delaware Valley, and the Athenaeum of Philadelphia. Nancy is also curator and a board member of the Delaware Historical Society.
Profile Image of Tish Byrne
Tish Byrne View biography
An artist and historian, Tish Byrne is passionate about all aspects of her native city and its environment after having lived in and led explorations at the Physick House, which belongs to Philadelphia Landmarks. She is a graduate of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts later becoming an administrative assistant to the Director of the school. Presently, she leads excursions for the mural arts program, is a docent at Historic Christ Church and leads explorations of Philadelphia landmarks.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Philadelphia Then & Now
by Mauger, Edward Arthur
The Perennial Philadelphians
by Burt, Nathaniel
Autobiography
by Franklin, Benjamin
Philadelphia - Portrait of an American City
by Wolf, Edwin 2nd
William Penn's Holy Experiment
by Bronner, E.B.
15 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

If you like history, architecture, and/or good food, this is a trip for you. The field trips included take you to the iconic Philadelphia sites. The lectures set you up for what you will see and experience. And the hotel is right in the midst of it all.

(5)

I have never been very interested in history but this program brought it to life for me. And Philadelphia has so much more to offer in architecture, art, food and museums. The hotel, meals and logistics were top notch. Tish Byrne was a fabulous Group Leader and is a real ambassador for Philadelphia.

(5)

Decent website. But as most Road Scholar participants are senior citizens, use a larger font -- say, Georgia 16 point.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Good parts: hotel, restaurants, Ben Franklin character, destinations Bad Parts: Group leader spent too much time on architecture which didn't match description of program. It was missing a good background in local history. In one instance, bus pickup time was 30 minutes later than group leaders knew. Another instance, bus that picked us up at hotel was too small and some folks had to stand. We were rushed through the Liberty Bell exhibit. Too much time at the Constitution Center - 4 hours was at least 1 hour too much. A lot of confusion the last day - we were not told that the group leader was replaced. If this was my first program with Road Scholar, I don't think I would take another one.

(5)

Incredible program! Learned so much about Philadelphia and the founding of our country.

(5)

superbly prepared and administered. exceeded expectations. plan to participate again.

(5)

This was our first Road Scholar trip and we loved it! Tish was a fabulous guide and we had such a great time with her and with the other “Road Scholars” in our group of 14. We have been to Philadelphia several times in the past, but it was just for a day or two at a time. This program really tied it all together for us...the history, art, architecture and culture of the city.

(5)

This lived up to all my expectations of a Road Scholar tour. And then some. Great hotel, food, lectures, organization and fun people. Mitch was an incredible guide.

(5)

The Signature City Tour of Philadelphia is packed with the early history of Philadelphia and it's influence on the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the many "firsts" the city achieved along the way. The Museum of the American Revolution is one of the best I've been to -- enjoy!

(5)

Philadelphia was not on my list of places to visit but I am so glad I did. I learned so much and the city is wonderful. It was easy to get around, there were many wonderful places to dine, good museums and theaters and the history is vast. I would even return on my own just for a personal visit. Don't miss all the wonderful murals there.

(5)

This is a "must do" for American history buffs.

(5)

If you have never been to Philadelphia, take this trip. History comes alive and by understanding its origins, you are better to evaluate history today.

(5)

Signature Philadelphia was our first experience with Road Scholar and Trust me, it will not be our last!!!What a wonderful program and tour!!!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The hotel was comfortable and well located. The information was interesting and our coordinator and presenters were great. I enjoyed the dinners/lunches and appreciated some free time to explore and dine independently. The Philadelphia Symphony concert was really special both for the orchestra and beautiful hall. I liked the archeology and most of the refabricated historical landmarks.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

We enjoyed this trip very much. It was meaningful to be in the actual location where our country's most important history was made. Philadelphia is a great walking city with most everything that we wanted to see being within a reasonable distance. Mitchell, our tour leader, enhanced our enjoyment with his vast knowledge and "one-of-a-kind" Ben Franklin expertise.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback