Getting on/off motorcoach. Walking and standing for periods of time at museums.
At the hotel, we will enjoy a breakfast buffet plus coffee, tea, juice, water; other non-alcoholic beverages available for purchase.
This morning we’ll head out for our full-day field trip in Pittsburgh, known in the 1800’s as the “Gateway of the American West” because it was a debarkation point for those heading westward. We will explore by motorcoach and by foot. Meriwether Lewis knew this city well and it was here that he began to plan the incredible journey he would undertake for President Thomas Jefferson. This is also “the city of steel,” and we will discover the legacies of men like Carnegie and Frick and the Gilded Age buildings they constructed. We will visit the Heinz History Museum for a docent-led tour followed by free time. We will be able to view exhibits about Lewis and Clark, the history of slavery, and local Pittsburgh history.
At the Heinz History Museum cafe, we will have sandwiches plus coffee, tea, water; other beverages available for purchase.
We will continue our time in Pittsburgh visiting the Clayton, home of industrialist and art collector, Henry Clay Frick. We will be guided by an expert and get a glimpse into family life in Pittsburgh during the Gilded Age. The Clayton Mansion began as an eleven-room, Italianate-style house purchased by the Fricks shortly after their marriage in 1881. The house was built in the 1860s, original architect unknown. After modifications by Pittsburgh architect Andrew Peebles, it was renamed "Clayton". Further remodeling of the house was done in 1892 by Pittsburgh architect Frederick J. Osterling. The Playhouse was constructed in 1897 to designs by architects Alden & Harlow. The house served as the Fricks' primary residence from 1883 to 1905. The Fricks moved to New York City in 1905, where they eventually established the Frick Collection, but in 1981 daughter Helen Clay Frick returned to Clayton, where she had previously spent part of each year, and remained there permanently until her death in 1984. Clayton opened to the public in 1990, and in 1997 the 1950s carriage house was enlarged to create the Car and Carriage Museum. We will then return to the hotel.
Plated meal at the hotel.