loading spinner
Costa Rica

Birding in Southern Costa Rica: Motmots to Quetzals

Program No. 20616RJ
Go where the birds are, not where the birders are, as you spot Scarlet Macaws at Carara, the Resplendent Quetzal in San Gerardo de Dota, Motmots in San Vito and much more.
Length
11 days
Rating (4.98)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,749
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
500

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Mar 14 - Mar 24, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
 
Apr 11 - Apr 21, 2023
Hotel 2,849
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 10 - May 20, 2023
Hotel 2,749
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the May 20 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Oct 31 - Nov 10, 2023
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 20 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Nov 11 - Nov 21, 2023
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Nov. 1 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Dec 11 - Dec 21, 2023
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 1 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Apr 7 - Apr 17, 2024
 
Standard 2,949
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Apr 27 - May 7, 2024
 
Standard 2,949
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 17 - May 27, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jul 17 - Jul 27, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Sep 14 - Sep 24, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Oct 18 - Oct 28, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Mar 14 - Mar 24, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,279
 
Apr 11 - Apr 21, 2023
Hotel 2,849
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 10 - May 20, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,749
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the May 20 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Oct 31 - Nov 10, 2023
Hotel 3,279
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 20 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Nov 11 - Nov 21, 2023
Hotel 3,279
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Nov. 1 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Dec 11 - Dec 21, 2023
Hotel 3,279
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 1 date of Program #22443- Birding in Northern Costa Rica: Tanagers to Toucans.

Jan 24 - Feb 3, 2024
SOLD OUT
 
Standard 3,379
Apr 7 - Apr 17, 2024
 
Standard 2,949
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Apr 27 - May 7, 2024
 
Standard 2,949
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 17 - May 27, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jul 17 - Jul 27, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Sep 14 - Sep 24, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Oct 18 - Oct 28, 2024
 
Standard 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

At a Glance

In this small-group adventure, go off-the-beaten path to explore some of the less-visited birding hot spots in Costa Rica. In a range of habitats — Pacific lowland rainforest, dry deciduous forest, primary premontane forest, oak woodlands, cloud forests and more — spot myriad rare and vibrant species. Each unique and beautiful location offers the chance to identify numerous intriguing endemic and migratory birds in one of the world’s great birding destinations.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Daily early morning birding activities. Walking up to three miles daily over varied terrain in tropical conditions and long periods standing. Elevations up to 11,000 feet.
Micro Group
Micro Group
These adventures feature our smallest group size, with 12 participants or fewer.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Observe brilliantly colored Resplendent Quetzals while they feed on the fruit of the aguacatillo tree.
  • Spot nocturnal birds and mammals, including owls, on nighttime hikes.
  • Look for water birds and shore birds during a boat ride along the mangrove-lined banks of the Tarcoles River.

General Notes

This is a Micro Group program, with 12 or fewer participants. All Road Scholar birding programs have a maximum participant-to-instructor ratio of 14:1 in the field. We adhere to the American Birding Association’s Code of Ethics. Learn more at www.aba.org/ethics.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Gilberth Molina
An early interest in plants led Gilberth Molina to work as a gardener for a rainforest lodge in Costa Rica's Caribbean lowlands. There he developed a deep appreciation for the animals and plants of the rainforest and found that he also enjoyed interacting with the lodge's international guests. After studying English and receiving training on the flora, fauna and birds of Costa Rica, Gilberth began leading groups of learners including many Road Scholar participants, sharing his enthusiasm for Costa Rica's natural treasures.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Gilberth Molina
Gilberth Molina View biography
An early interest in plants led Gilberth Molina to work as a gardener for a rainforest lodge in Costa Rica's Caribbean lowlands. There he developed a deep appreciation for the animals and plants of the rainforest and found that he also enjoyed interacting with the lodge's international guests. After studying English and receiving training on the flora, fauna and birds of Costa Rica, Gilberth began leading groups of learners including many Road Scholar participants, sharing his enthusiasm for Costa Rica's natural treasures.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Costa Rican Spanish
by Lonely Planet
A pocket guide to understanding idioms, slang and Spanish as it is spoken by the Ticos.
Costa Rica Birds
by James Kavanagh
A handy, laminated fold-up card with full-color illustrations of birds commonly found in Costa Rica. Great for kids, too.
The Wildlife of Costa Rica, A Field Guide
by Twan Leenders, Robert Dean, Jim Zook, Fiona Reid
This guide includes 450 of the most common, interesting and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and arthropods that you are likely to encounter. Each has exquisite full-color illustrations.
A Guide to the Birds of Costa Rica
by F. Gary Stiles, Alexander Skutch, Dana Gardner (Illustrator)
A masterfully researched and comprehensive field guide to the birds of Costa Rica, including an overview of geography, habitats and avifauna. Covers 800 species and features 52 color plates.
Neotropical Rainforest Mammals, A Field Guide
by L.H. Emmons
Compact enough to slip into your daypack, this field guide to the mammals of Central and South American features 29 color plates of more than 200 species.
Costa Rica, A Traveler's Literary Companion
by Barbara Ras
These 26 well-chosen stories by Costa Rican writers introduce the people, culture and land.
Nature of the Rainforest, Costa Rica and Beyond
by Adrian Forsyth, E.O. Wilson (Introduction), Michael Fogden (Photographer)
Our favorite biologist-writer returns to the Neotropics in this beautifully illustrated, oversized overview of the rainforest. With chapters on Monteverde and Guanacaste, plants, frogs and snakes, birds, monkeys and jaguars, the sloth, peculiar insects and biodioversity; A marvelous, anecdotal introduction to ecology, evolution and conservation.
Costa Rica Adventure Map
by National Geographic
A double-sided map at a scale of 1:500,000.
Culture Smart! Costa Rica
by Jane Koutnik
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Costa Rican customs, etiquette and culture.
National Geographic Costa Rica
by Christopher P. Baker
This stylish and informative travel resource features 200 photographs, many maps and good information on the country's history, nature and culture.
Wild Costa Rica
by Adrian Hepworth
This beautiful, informative survey of the habitats, wildlife and protected areas of Costa Rica features 200 color photographs and chapters on natural history and conservation.
Costa Rican Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
Put it in your pocket! This handy, fold-up card includes color illustrations of dozens of typical birds, mammals and reptiles. We also carry plastic cards for Costa Rica Birds (Item CRC56) and Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths (Item CRC57), $5.95 each.
Costa Rica Reader: History, Culture, Politics
by Steven Palmer (Editor), Ivan Molina (Editor)
A lively, literate sourcebook on the politics, economy and society of Costa Rica
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
Two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists offer a lucid portrait of the tropics through 17 marvelous essays that introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforests.
Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths
by James Kavanagh
A handy, laminated fold-up card with color illustrations of Costa Rica’s more visible species of butterflies and moths. Includes the distinguishing markings or behaviors of each species.
The Birds of Costa Rica
by Richard Garrigues, Robert Dean (Illustrator)
This new edition covers 903 species of birds with hundreds of new, supplemental or revised color illustrations by Robert Dean and revised color-coded range maps.
The Monkey's Bridge, Mysteries of Evolution in Central America
by David Rains Wallace
Opening this absorbing account of the history and biogeography of the Central American isthmus with the tale of Columbus, Wallace often weaves his own travels in the region with a crisp overview of exploration, nature and evolution. Natural history buffs and ecologically minded travelers will appreciate this valuable resource.
A Bird-Finding Guide to Costa Rica
by Barrett Lawson
With bird lists, directions, descriptions and lodges for 53 sites in Costa Rica.
Costa Rica, A Journey Through Nature
by Adrian Hepworth
Dividing the book by ecosystem and geographic area, BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year Hepworth's color photographs showcase the diversity of Costa Rica's wildlife and habitats.
Green Phoenix, Restoring Tropical Forests of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
by William Allen
The vivid tale of the creation of the Guanacaste Conservation Area in Northwest Costa Rica
50 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.98 Average
(5) Review left 2/03/2023

Highly recommended trip. Superb bird guide. Staying at the three eco lodges in the jungle was a thrill. Instructors greatly added to my knowledge of tropical birds. And, of course, we saw the Resplendent Quetzal.

(5) Review left 1/25/2023

Outstanding trip. Our guide Andrey Acosta is the BEST!

(5) Review left 12/22/2022

Great introduction to Costa Rica and rainforest birding from the coast to the mountains.

(5) Review left 11/29/2022

This birding trip was so inspiring, I plan to do another one.

(5) Review left 11/27/2022

Terrific, personable, and knowledgeable guide gave us the best opportunities to explore diverse habitat for a great variety of birds. Fun and rewarding experience with great people in our group of 10. Super bus driver, comfortable bus, terrific food, good accommodations. Daily opportunities to either rest or go explore on your own (many birds in the gardens and forest near rooms). I plan to return and do the northern program and/or repeat this one. I’m totally satisfied with the whole experience.

(5) Review left 11/19/2022

Fantastic guide, great accommodations would highly recommend. Beautiful birds! Came home and decided to book another trip!

(5) Review left 6/14/2022

Even though I did not know a lot about birds, their names, etc. I learned in a week everything about birds and more.

(5) Review left 5/27/2022

This adventure exceeded my expectations in every way! Our very energetic naturalist guide was extremely knowledgeable about birds (and plants and history), and did everything he could to create a quality experience for us, including making sure we saw many endemic bird species. Overall, the itinerary, accommodations, and food were excellent. I highly recommend!

(5) Review left 3/21/2022

Costa Rica offers an escape from the winter doldrums of North America. The flora and Fana of the area are breathtaking. The country is easy to navigate and its residents are friendly and helpful. The birding is superb and the birding guides are very talented and knowledgeable. What’s not to love?

(4) Review left 3/13/2022

This program is excellent for a birder with good eyesight and good hearing, & who is well prepared to find & identify (or photograph) birds on his/her own. Jungle trails are narrow and do not permit everyone to be near the guide/leader, so those most distant will likely not get a view of the bird. at issue.

(5) Review left 3/11/2022

Costa Rica is a world leader in conservation and has a wonderful diversity of habitats and wildlife. The visitor facilities and guides are first class. I reccommend these bird-centered courses.

(5) Review left 2/21/2022

I’ve guided birders for 31 years. I would highly recommend the north and south Costa Rica trips to anyone. The price, leadership and itinerary were perfect. Out leader was very familiar with all the calls, songs and habits of most of our species, and added a lot of general natural history info. to the experience.

(5) Review left 2/14/2022

This trip is an excellent birding trip for avid and beginner birder. Our guide, Luis Vargas was very good at knowing and finding birds, 110 one day and tried to make sure everyone got to see them. I have been on over a dozen guided birding trips, seven with Road Scholar and I would rate Luis as one of the better guides I have had. He is also well informed about plants, insects and animals which greatly added to my experience on this trip. This trip is for one that once to be out looking at birds and not setting around at the lodge.

(5) Review left 2/06/2022

Going to Costa Rica, traveling with Road Scholar and participating on a Birdwatching tour were all firsts for me. I loved it all! The itinerary was well planned, our guide Roger and driver Elladio were knowledgeable, attentive and went above and beyond to provide our group with the best experience. I was so impressed with the locations of the lodges and resorts that Road Scholar utilized. I never would have found some of these hidden gems on my own. The stories of how most of the Ecolodges came to be, and how they have progressed over the years with the help of the Costa Rican people and other concerned countries were amazing and inspiring for the future of ecotourism, not just for Costa Rica but as an example for other countries to follow. As for the birdwatching part, they are everywhere you chose to look and listen. I learned there are different kinds of Birdwatchers with different reasons for their hobby, passion, obsession or whatever you decide to call your addiction. I had some revelations about why I love birds so much and what it means to me to observe and encounter them in their natural habitats. Where are you taking me next~ Road Scholar?

(5) Review left 2/04/2022

Great trip not for anyone with physical limitations, very informative and very interesting. The staff are superior and extremely knowledgeable!!!!

(5) Review left 1/25/2022

This was my first trip with Road Scholar and I found the experience very rewarding. Though it is more expensive than other trips, the content and care given make it worthwhile. I'm sure I'll select an experience with them again.

(5) Review left 1/11/2022

Excellent Guide and driver, our group saw 228 species over the 10 days. The lodges were all fantastic. I highly recommend this trip, I will travel with Road Scholar again.

(5) Review left 12/20/2021

I would endorse going on the Southern Route of Birding in Costa Rica with Road Scholar. It was a fun and pleasurable trip seeing over 25% of the birds in Costa Rica in 9 days. Exceeded expexctations.

(5) Review left 12/01/2021

This was a superb trip. I have throughly enjoyed a number of road scholar trips but this one was perfect. Perfect country, perfect itinerary, perfect guide, Gilberto . From sea level to 7000 ft, rivers, jungles, eco-lodges, field stations, local cuisine, lectures and talks from scientists and conservationists in the field, stunning birds and a great crew of like minded ‘scholars’, I could not have been happier. Don Cheeseman

(5) Review left 11/25/2021

Learned about the truth of Pura Vida, saw beautiful birds, flora and fauna. And, felt welcomed by people who seemed eager to share their environmental paradise.

(5) Review left 11/20/2021

If you are looking for a program that will teach you all about the birds of Costa Rica, as well as the sociological, geological, historical and linguistic history of the country, this is for you. It is rare to find a program that has a thorough emphasis on birding, but also does such a good job of teaching about so many other aspects of the country as well.

(5) Review left 11/19/2021

This trip exceeded all expectations. We were so fortunate to have Gilbert for our guide. In addition to his outstanding knowledge and ability to spot/hear birds, his enthusiasm greatly enhanced our trip. The pace was appropriate; it maximized the number of birds seen (over 235) and different ecoregions. Based on this experience, we plan on going back to Costa Rica with Road Scholar in the near future.

(5) Review left 3/27/2020

A fabulous program from start to finish. Group size of 12 (plus wonderful guide Erick and fabulous driver Enrique) is perfect. Accommodations are generally excellent, beautiful, and the food is healthy and delicious. Tarcoles River trip and all walks were wonderful. And the birds! The birds! I was overwhelmed by their variety and beauty. This trip far exceeded expectations.

(5) Review left 3/22/2020

Well done!

(5) Review left 3/19/2020

The tour was excellent. Our guide Chito was the best, he maintained his interest and enthusiasm from beginning to end. I think he has the eyes of an eagle, ears of a bat, memory of a dolphin, sings like a nightingale, maybe sometimes walk like a tapir. His knowledge on birds was amazing, although it was my wife's first birding trip, she thoroughly enjoyed the experience and learned a lot. We saw 275 bird species out of a total of around 980. Overall the accommodations were good, we particularly enjoyed the Trogon Lodge, the pristine environment was very relaxing and enjoyable. Meals were generally good, both Trogon Lodge and Esquinas Rainforest Lodge provided the best meal experience. The birding activities were just right, we just had to adjust to wake up at five for the early morning bird walk - noon time was just too hot for such activity. The daily birding checklist was a good exercise, although the checklist printing was sub-par with mismatched lines across.

(5) Review left 3/17/2020

This is a great birding expedition. You will see hundreds of bird species (we saw over 250 distinct ones) in at least 4 different habitats from coastal to cloud forest. The guide was terrific and every where we went, he showed us birds we would never have seen without his expert help.

(5) Review left 3/12/2020

The Road Scholar Birding Southern Costa Rica trip was absolutely wonderful in every way. Our guide was highly capable, professional and personable. The itineray, accomodations, transportation and meals were perfect. This was our third Road Scholar experience and we plan on many more.

(5) Review left 3/02/2020

Road Scholar's attention to details was impressive, from being met at the airport to every transportation and accommodation detail. As experienced birders, we appreciated Roger's expertise and the time actually spent birding in the field. He is a world-class birder in a world-class location.

(5) Review left 2/25/2020

The Program was amazing! The birds numerous and varied; the guide was unbelievably good; the food and accommodations were appropriate at every location; the logistics perfect. The activity level "Keep the Pace" is appropriate.

(5) Review left 2/22/2020

If you love bird-watching and want to discover a country that is devoting itself to supporting outdoor adventure and ecotourism, Costa Rica has to be at the top of your list. I could not have been happier with my choice of the trip; Birding in Southern Costa Rica: Motmots to Quetzals

(5) Review left 2/18/2020

We did the Southern tour as the second part of our Costa Rican back-to-back birding tours. Loved both of the tours. This South tour had more extremes in temperature - from unbearable heat and humidity to very cool mountain weather. You definitely need to bring clothes to accommodate both extremes plus bug spray and sunscreen. We saw some great birds, had interesting lodging, and good food. Our guide, Leo, was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent guide. Our tour had 4 non-birders (mostly photographers) and he tried to make the trip as interesting for them as he could. However, I would recommend only birders take the tour!!!

(5) Review left 2/04/2020

I would highly recommend this program to other birders. Leo was a phenomenal guide and I ended up with 153 life birds! (AND I'd been to Costa Rica twice before...) Also, the places we stayed were amazing and the food was FANTASTIC!

(5) Review left 2/03/2020

This program excelled in almost every aspect: great guide (warm and funny too); enthusiastic participants; varied terrain with an incredible diversity of birds and plants; delicious, fresh food; even a bus driver with a nice pace and a gentle touch. I was completely satisfied with this course and recommend it without hesitation.

(5) Review left 1/02/2020

Ask about each unique event or each stop, vs. lumping by lodging - some stops between lodges were very good or were not so good, but we didn't get asked about them.

(5) Review left 12/26/2019

What a great trip. Of the 265 bird species located on our trip about 140 were life birds. A great trip to a wonderful new part of our fragile and beautiful planet.

(5) Review left 12/19/2019

Great opportunity to walk in a wide range of ecosystems from sea level to cloud forest and see associated birds. Choose "birding in northern Costa Rica" instead if you are more interested in marine birds. Accommodates people new to birding as well as people interested in bird, butterfly, and or flower photography as long as they can keep up with the group. Saw 28% of the 921 bird species in Costa Rica.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 7/04/2019

This trip and the one I took last year (digital photography) were excellent. Our Group leaders and drivers were very knowledgeable and efficient. I highly recommend both trips and I'm looking forward to more in the future. Last year Pedro and Alberto were great and this year Chito, Gilberth Molina, was amazing in his knowledge of where and when to look for birds. I'm thoroughly pleased. They deserve the highest rating.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 5/18/2019

We were so fortunate to have Gilberth Molina as our guide. He is a fantastic birder with comprehensive knowledge of where the difficult to find species are. He also is a great group leader and made sure we had a really enjoyable and educational experience. Serious birders will enjoy this trip. Our group identified over 300 species including antbirds, anthrushes, and great looks at the Resplendent Quetzal.

(5) Review left 4/20/2019

This is first and foremost a birding trip. You will enjoy it the most if you have good binoculars, are patient and quiet, physically fit, can walk on forest trails and roads, and are willing to wake up early and spend hours outside looking for and listening to birds and other wildlife. Under the guidance of our superb group leader, Leonardo Garrigues, I saw about as many bird species in ten days as I have in a lifetime of birding. This is a great trip for folks who go on eco-touring bird trips. Costa Rica is an amazing country that values its wild lands and wildlife, and its people are kind and live simply. How nice it was to see that it is possible to live more gently on the land without sacrificing comfort. The food and accommodations were simple but quite comfortable, and the diversity of habitats - from rivers to rain forests to mountain tops and cloud forests - was dazzling. What a privilege to be welcomed so warmly in Costa Rica and to get to know a small part of the country so intimately.

(5) Review left 4/17/2019

This program must be at the top of the to do before i die list for every birder.

(5) Review left 4/09/2019

Although I do not consider myself a serious birder, you need to have some interest in birds or you might get bored at times waiting for that special bird to show itself. Myself, I enjoyed the wide variety of ecosystems in this program, different plants, animals, etc as well as the birds. I did not bring a camera other than my cell phone, and there were only a couple of times I wished I had been able to photograph something. For others on the trip, photos were more important. You do need a good pair of binoculars and some practice seeing something with your eyes and then getting the binoculars to the right spot (and the right depth of focus).

(5) Review left 4/06/2019

This trip was fantastic! Our guide Jorge Monges could not have been better. Our fellow participants were all kind and sharing. The trip was not as aerobic as we were led to believe by the rating. There is a lot of time on our feet, but no heavy duty uphill hiking. We paused often to view birds. We brought hiking poles that we did not use. We did see an immense variety of birds, helped along by luck with good weather.

(5) Review left 4/06/2019

Outstanding trip. Excellent food. Accommodations were as described so no surprises. Group leader Jorge went above and beyond. Even the bus driver Maura was integral to making this a great trip.

(5) Review left 3/28/2019

Birding is a great love of my partner, that I have learned to enjoy with him. It was his choice to go on the Road Scholar Bird Tour of Southern Costa Rica so I got to accompany him. I found that my experience accompanying someone who has a passion for birding was also surprisingly a great treat for me.

(5) Review left 3/24/2019

Birds are whereyou find them, and this program give you plenty ofopportunity to find them and in many different environment. Highly Recommended

(5) Review left 3/18/2019

This is a wonderful birding opportunity to experience a large number of species, including some stunning birds that will stay in your memory for ever. Lodging and structure of the trip was great, and overall the beauty of Costa Rica is captivating. Road Scholar does a great job and our guide, Erick was spectacular.

(5) Review left 3/03/2019

This program was amazing, we loved every minute of it. The guide, Erick Castro, was astonishing. He brought 26 years of experience in the field to our program. He found 307 species for us, 266 of which are lifers for me. He hears everything in the forest, and will track a bird through the jungle and make sure we all get to see it. He even called to the Quetzals, and they came! All of the locations were fantastic, and completely different from each other. Five distinct eco systems, each incredibly beautiful. The bus was very comfortable, and our driver Oldemar was incredible. We also stopped often to see amazing birds on the way, and they were very accommodating if anyone needed a pit stop. Each of the lodges or hotels were very nice, and food was generally quite good.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/16/2019

This was an amazing trip. The local guide Gilberth was very knowledgeable, and extremely friendly. This was a special occasion for my wife and I, and Gilberth arranged a wonderful dinner for us by the river. We will never forget this trip, and will treasure the memories.

(5) Review left 2/07/2019

Our Costa Rican birding trip was wonderful! We were a congenial group and our guide, Gilbert couldn’t have been more knowledgeable! I learned a lot about Costa Rico and saw and photographed over 200 species of birds. Our driver, Oldemar, was masterful at navigating the winding roads safely. The accommodations were excellent. This trip exceeded our expectations!

(5) Review left 1/29/2019

This South Costa Rica Birding adventure was simply outstanding. Not only did we get to see over 235 unique birds thanks to our excellent and very experienced guide (Luis Vargas) but the lodges we stayed at were all very eco-friendly in very quiet and remote locations were we could observe all kinds of wildlife, flora and fauna. This was our 3rd Road Scholar trip (2nd time to Costa Rica, one to Ecuador) and should not be missed if you are interested in birding in some of the best natural preserves/parks and remote locations that southern Costa Rica has to offer.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.