loading spinner
8861
New York

Signature City New York

Get an insider’s perspective on New York as you explore Ellis Island, the Met, Rockefeller Plaza and learn about the city’s transition from a Dutch outpost to an American icon.
Rating (5)
Program No. 8861RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,749
New York

Signature City New York

Get an insider’s perspective on New York as you explore Ellis Island, the Met, Rockefeller Plaza and learn about the city’s transition from a Dutch outpost to an American icon.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,749
Program No. 8861 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 2 - May 7, 2021
Starting at
1,749
Jun 20 - Jun 25, 2021
Starting at
1,749
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,099
Oct 10 - Oct 15, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,099
Nov 14 - Nov 19, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,099
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 2 - May 7, 2021
Starting at
2,429
Jun 20 - Jun 25, 2021
Starting at
2,429
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,849
Oct 10 - Oct 15, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,849
Nov 14 - Nov 19, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,849

At a Glance

Bubbling with history, culture, diversity and energy, New York is whatever one makes of it. Wave after wave of people from the Colonial era to the present have flocked to the Big Apple to seek their fortunes. Whether you’re a first-timer or a former New Yorker reacquainting yourself with old haunts, trace the story of New York from its Dutch beginnings and into the future as you absorb the city’s architecture, economy, politics and more on expert-led field trips to great city icons.
Activity Level
Let's Go!
Walking 2-5 miles each day, lots of stairs. Public transportation used throughout program.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Discover the Metropolitan Museum of Art, a museum that is to New York what the Louvre is to Paris.
  • Recall the heady days of the world’s largest privately owned entertainment and business complex at Rockefeller Plaza, outside and inside incredible Radio City Music Hall.
  • Explore the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, gateway to America for millions of immigrants.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less. This program offers a full schedule of activities and may have a maximum of 38 participants. There are lots of different ways to explore New York City with us depending on your preference of group size, pace, program inclusions and time available for travel. Visit www.roadscholar.org/collections/nyc to explore them all!
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
John Kriskiewicz
John is a native New Yorker with a professional degree in architecture from Pratt Institute. He has taught courses focusing on architectural and city planning history at Parsons School of Design, The Cooper Union, Fashion Institute of Technology, Stern College for Women, and Manhattan College. John has designed travel programs and lectures for many of New York City’s institutions and corporations including Road Scholar/Explore New York. He admits to a special affinity for New York’s extensive infrastructure as well as its Mid-Century Modern heritage.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of John Kriskiewicz
John Kriskiewicz View biography
John is a native New Yorker with a professional degree in architecture from Pratt Institute. He has taught courses focusing on architectural and city planning history at Parsons School of Design, The Cooper Union, Fashion Institute of Technology, Stern College for Women, and Manhattan College. John has designed travel programs and lectures for many of New York City’s institutions and corporations including Road Scholar/Explore New York. He admits to a special affinity for New York’s extensive infrastructure as well as its Mid-Century Modern heritage.
Profile Image of Christine Vaindirlis
Christine Vaindirlis View biography
Christine Vaindirlis’s love for New York City spurred her to become a professional group leader. With her background, Christine offers a unique yet complete “New York Experience.” Christine was born in London, grew up in Johannesburg, lived in Italy and attended Berklee College of Music in Boston, before moving to New York City to pursue her passion for music. She then founded an artist service company providing planning and production support to established acts, as well as working as a composer, arranger, photographer and videographer.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Downtown: My Manhattan
by Peter Hamill
Mannahatta: A Natural History of NYC
by Sanderson & Boyer
Harlem
by Jonathan Gill
722 Miles: The Building of the Subways and How They Transformed New York
by Clifton Hood
Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway
by Michael Reidel
Let The Great World Spin
by Colum McCann
Time and Again
by Jack Finney
New York
by Edward Rutherford
The Big Oyster
by Mark Kurlansky
American Passage
by Vincent Cannato
Here Is New York
by E. B. White
The Island at the Center of the World
by Russell Shorto
Great Fortune: The Epic of Rockefeller Center
by Daniel Okrent
19 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I had lived in NYC many years ago and visited a few times since then. This program significantly expanded my knowledge of the city and gave me a whole new appreciation.

(5)

A Road Scholar tour of New York City should be required for all Americans.

(5)

Road Scholar is the only way to see and experience the New York Experience.

(5)

The Big Apple Experience was awesome and made a very thorough educational and boots-on-the-ground experience with the city. We loved it.

(5)

Visiting New York had been in my "bucket list" for a long time. Since I am a solo traveler, going with Road Scholar made it possible. Our large group was divided to accommodate mobility issues. Ms. Lombardy, the leader and main guide assigned to the more mobile group, was fantastic. Our fast paced walking tours were always preceded by very informative lectures which were enhanced by the guides whose knowledge and love for New York was palpable. As the brochure explains, this tour uses the subway to arrive at all the destinations and that requires going up and down lots of stairs. To me, that adds to the excitement of being in this lively city, but for some people it might be too much ( it was really hot the week we were there, except for one day!)The location of the hotel, even though the rooms are old and very small, is a plus. The meals were excellent and plentiful(thankfully, you can walk off the calories!)This was a "taste of New York" in every way, and now that I took a bite of the "apple" I can't wait to come back to complete the meal!

(5)

This is a fabulous way to visit NYC. Guides and instructors are great. Put this one on your 'must do' list.

(5)

This was a terrific introduction to NYC that took the guess work and hassle out of transportation, lodging, reservations, etc.-- everything that can be daunting to the first-time visitor. The presenters are exceptional and Road Scholar lived up to its reputation for me--I'll be a repeat guest!

(5)

This program is perfect for someone looking for an introduction to NYC. We visited a great selection of sights and our group leader and guides were all impressive.

(5)

If you desire to travel and you're hesitant to travel solo, my advice is to take at least one trip with Road Scholar, I did, and just completed my seventh trip. You're sure to meet many like-minded people and have an enjoyable time.

(5)

I was thrilled to be able to pack so much of the Big Apple into a five day excursion. Great guides, entertaining and informative lectures. If it's been a while since you've been to NYC, or if you've never been, I highly recommend this Signature City New York tour.

(5)

For me, Road Scholar was a perfect way to see NYC. I felt safe and well-cared for. The location of our hotel was centrally located in an area with many interesting attractions within walking distance. If you have never been to NYC and have it on your bucket list as I did, I highly recommend this Road Scholar trip.

(5)

Manhattan from the insider's view. A delightful and very informative look at Manhattan from street level.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Our guide Mike was stellar, and the lecturers were all very interesting and knowledgeable. My sister and I had a wonderful time.

(5)

If you have never been to Manhattan before, this is the trip you must consider. It would be difficult to duplicate on your own.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The Big Apple Experience was fantastic! My husband and I left with a new love and respect for NYC and all that it offers. We saw so many of the iconic places on this tour. Angela was an excellent guide who shared her love of the city. She shared its history and her experiences. We could tell that she loved her home. However, she shared that there was a time when the city was not so loveable!! She shepherded us to the various places with humor and grace!! We so look forward to returning.

(5)

Fantastic from the beginning to the end!! I know so much more about NYC and cannot wait to return!! Our guide shared her love of the city!!!

(5)

As a single adventurer, I not only felt welcomed and included, but I made new friends I hope to travel with again. Everything was so well organized, allowing for the enjoyment of the place I was visiting as opposed to stressing about logistics. Road Scholar far exceeded my expectations.

(5)

very good informative and fun tour

(5)

For first time visitors to NYC, this tour hits all of the big tourist attractions and you have plenty of time to enjoy them.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback