loading spinner
8718
Arizona/Utah

On the Road: Absolute Southwest — A Canyonlands Adventure

This one has it all – three iconic National Parks, two National Monuments, a raft trip on the Colorado, a Jeep trip in Monument Valley and quintessential S.W. landscapes throughout!
Rating (5)
Program No. 8718RJ
Length
12 days
Starts at
2,419
Arizona/Utah

On the Road: Absolute Southwest — A Canyonlands Adventure

This one has it all – three iconic National Parks, two National Monuments, a raft trip on the Colorado, a Jeep trip in Monument Valley and quintessential S.W. landscapes throughout!
Length
12 days
Starts at
2,419
Program No. 8718 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 4 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
2,619
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Oct 11 - Oct 22, 2021
Starting at
2,619
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Oct 18 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
2,619
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Nov 1 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
2,419
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Feb 28 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Mar 14 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
2,849
Mar 28 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
2,849
Apr 4 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
2,849
Apr 11 - Apr 22, 2022
Starting at
2,849
Apr 25 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
2,849
Sep 19 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
2,879
Sep 26 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
2,879
Oct 10 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
2,879
Oct 24 - Nov 4, 2022
Starting at
2,879
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 4 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
3,469
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Oct 11 - Oct 22, 2021
Starting at
3,469
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Oct 18 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
3,469
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Nov 1 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
3,199
Itinerary Note

Due to COVID-19 restrictions and protocols, Antelope Canyon has imposed size restrictions on groups and as a result, we will not be able to visit.

Feb 28 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
3,349
Mar 14 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
3,779
Mar 28 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
3,779
Apr 4 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
3,779
Apr 11 - Apr 22, 2022
Starting at
3,779
Apr 25 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
3,779
Sep 19 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
3,799
Sep 26 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
3,799
Oct 10 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
3,799
Oct 24 - Nov 4, 2022
Starting at
3,799

At a Glance

Journey to the Sedona, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Learn about the geologic upheavals, native cultures and settlers that give this region its character. Traverse storied landscapes on the Colorado Plateau, experience the Navajo Reservation and gaze up at canyon rims from the Colorado River.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles daily over varied terrain. Elevations just over 8,000 feet. Participants may elect to opt out of longer walks.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Enjoy a Navajo-led 4x4 adventure in Monument Valley and a smooth-water raft float on the Colorado River.
  • Experience the famous Antelope Canyon, Sedona and Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks.
  • Study the region’s geology, natural history, Native Americans, current issues and historical characters.

General Notes

This program starts in Phoenix, Ariz. and ends in Las Vegas, Nev. Transportation on this program is usually by full sized motorcoach, with about 40 participants.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Matt Turner
Since he decided to attend high school in Southwest Colorado, Matt Turner has been in love with the natural wonders of the Four Corners region prompting him to obtain a degree in Natural History from Prescott College. In addition to working as a field biologist and ecological consultant, he is an avid photographer, leads trips throughout the Southwest, across rivers and in the backcountry. As a naturalist, he hopes to impart a unique perspective of the region's natural environment in all of its visitors.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Matt Turner
Matt Turner View biography
Since he decided to attend high school in Southwest Colorado, Matt Turner has been in love with the natural wonders of the Four Corners region prompting him to obtain a degree in Natural History from Prescott College. In addition to working as a field biologist and ecological consultant, he is an avid photographer, leads trips throughout the Southwest, across rivers and in the backcountry. As a naturalist, he hopes to impart a unique perspective of the region's natural environment in all of its visitors.
Profile Image of Don Lago
Don Lago has been exploring the Grand Canyon for 30 years, kayaking it six times and backpacking it about 75 times. He has done years of backcountry research for Grand Canyon National Park. He is the author of two Grand Canyon history books from university presses.
Profile Image of Dave Hall
Dave Hall worked in the environmental geology field for 25 years as a geologist for the New Jersey Geological Survey. He taught geology and general science for 13 years as an adjunct and assistant professor at the College of New Jersey, and has worked as an associate naturalist at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Dave has been retired for the last several years and currently resides in Flagstaff, Arizona.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Cadillac Desert: The American West and Its Disappearing Water
by Reisner, Marc
The story of the American West is the story of a relentless quest for a precious resource: water. It is a tale of rivers diverted and dammed, of political corruption and intrigue, of billion-dollar battles over water rights, of ecologic and economic disaster. In Cadillac Desert Marc Reisner writes of the earliest settlers, lured by the promise of paradise, and of the ruthless tactics employed by Los Angeles politicians and business interests to ensure the city's growth. He documents the bitter rivalry between two government giants, the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, in the competition to transform the West. Based on more than a decade of research, Cadillac Desert is a stunning expose and a dramatic, intriguing history of the creation of an Eden--and Eden that may be only a mirage. 608pp
Warriors: Navajo Code Talkers
by Kawano, Kenji
The American offensive in the Pacific during World War II [was] hampered by the Japanese ability to crack the most secret U.S. Codes. Navajo was virtually unknown outside the reservations, ... and [their] code proved uncrackable. Kenji Kawano's striking photographs capture the quiet dignity of the surviving veterans as they recall their actions --Los Angeles Times 128 pp
Beyond the Hundredth Meridian: John Wesley Powell and the Second Opening of the West
by Stegner, Wallace
Here Wallace Stegner, a Pulitzer Prize-winner, gives us a thrilling account of Powell's struggle against western geography and Washington politics. We witness the successes and frustrations of Powell's distinguished career, and appreciate his unparalleled understanding of the West. "Stegner's most exciting work." (San Francisco Chronicle) 496pp
Living at the Edge: Explorers, Exploiters, and Settlers of the Grand Canyon Region
by Anderson, Michael F
A comprehensive look at the pioneer history of the Grand Canyon Region, from its earliest residents to the creation of the national park at the end of the pioneer era (circa 1920). Included are close to two hundred historic photographs, many never published before, and 12 custom maps of the region. 184pp
The Southwest
by Lavender, David
A historical and cultural overview, including discussions of present-day racial, conservation, and economic problems. Easy reading, fascinating history. 364pp
Native Roads : The Complete Motoring Guide to the Navajo and Hopi Nations
by Kosik, Frank
Using the mile markers of the US, Arizona, and Navajo highways and routes running through the Navajo and Hopi nations as her organizing principle, the author offers a travel guide to the sites found in the area. Natural, historical, and cultural points of interest are covered, along with some information on lodging and services. 280 pp
Life in Stone: Fossils of the Colorado Plateau
by Sadler, Christa
Like pages in a book, the layers of sedimentary rock that are exposed on the Colorado Plateau tell us much about the diversity of environments that have come and gone over a period of hundreds of millions of years. This region is recognized as one of the finest earth-science laboratories in the world. Analysis of the fossil record and new discoveries across the plateau are answering questions, solving mysteries, and making connections that help us understand the history of life worldwide. "Life In Stone" tells the story of past environments and current discoveries with numerous illustrations and lively text written for a general audience. 72pp
18 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

This program took us to incredible sites in the Southwest -- some very well known and others less known. Experiencing them with our guide Matt Turner, who knows so much about the geology and gets everyone excited about what they are seeing, was a wonderful experience.

(5)

Great program. Learned a lot about the unique geology of Arizona as well as plant life. I have seen Grand Canyon 3 times before, but this time I really saw it for all of it's beauty and natural formations.

(5)

Road Scholar allows me to experience a destination in ways that I could never do on my own. The in depth information that is provided from a historical, cultural and social perspective about a place or community makes the trip a special experience. On my own I could say I was there. With Road Scholar I can say that I gained insights and information that I would not on my own. Road Scholar has never failed me and has always exceeded my expectations. Looking forward to my next RS adventure.

(5)

If you want to be inspired by nature and learn more about the world we live in, this program is for you! Really enjoyed it from start to finish.

(5)

This trip was above and beyond my expectations. It seemed that each day brought even more WOW vistas and experiences than the days before. Well worth the investment in $, time, and energy.

(5)

The program itself was fantastic! It was a disappointment to me when I arrived in Phoenix to find that "I would not have a roommate"! I was told when I enrolled that I would have one - since I have a hearing problem, it was comforting to know that there would be 4 ears instead of two to make sure no instructions were missed. Would have appreciated a "heads up" from the main office...

(5)

This is a first class operation.

(5)

A must-see for everyone. Nowhere else on the planet can you see spectacular geology such as this. You will never look at a rock the same wau again.

(5)

Ken Burns series on the National Parks caught our attention for a future holiday. This Road Scholar tour was a wonderful way to visit major Parks and learn of the geology, flora and fauna of these Parks. The tour was well designed and well led and contributed to significant experiences and learning. I found this program offered great value for money.

(5)

Couldn't be happier with my trip and will definitely be taking more RS trips.

(5)

Great program with a awesome criteria of place & things to see/experience. Trip of a lifetime. Must see & do. Great value for the money. Thanks Road Scholar for the memories.

(5)

How fortunate we were to chose the Absolute Southwest-A Canyonlands Adventure as our first Road Scholar tour. Exceptionally well organized, this program exceeded our expectations. A feast for the eyes, mind, soul and stomach, we were treated to an exceptional opportunity to appreciate the Southwest. Our group leader, Bruce Banker was truly wonderful, anxious for us all to share a memorable experience. His leadership and contagious enthusiasm enhanced our enjoyment. This 5 star program and its leadership are so easy to endorse.

(5)

A spectacular tour of beautiful canyons and valleys unique to our desert Southwest with great accommodations and caring, knowledgeable leadership. Can't recommend it enough!

(5)

This trip exceeded all expectations on every level. It will remain one of the most memorable travel experiences undertaken...and in our own country!

(5)

If you always wanted to see the Southern rim of the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Navajo reservation, Glen canyon and Colorado River rafting, Bryce Canyon and the Hoodoos, and Zion National Park and enjoy a little hiking in beautiful paradise this is the trip for you!

(5)

There are so many breathtaking views in this itinerary...sunrise and sunset over the Grand Canyon, "poetry in stone" of Bryce Canyon, unsurpassed beauty of Antelope Canyon, looking down on Horseshoe Bend in the morning, then floating on the Colorado through the Bend in the afternoon, hiking along the Virgin River in Zion and so many others. And as always with Road Scholar, knowledgeable guides, good food and nice accommodations.

(5)

This was the trip of a lifetime. We saw and experienced things that were beyond our our imagination. I would encourage anyone from the East Coast to see this wonderland; there is nothing like in in our part of the world

(5)

This was a wonderful program. My husband has a degree in mining engineering and enjoyed the program as much as I did. I knew little about Geology. We have traveled internationally with more expensive tour groups and enjoyed this tour as much as those.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.