loading spinner
Costa Rica

A Taste of Costa Rica

Program No. 8577RJ
Hike cloud forests, explore volcanic trails, learn about biodiversity, study delicate ecosystems and savor the art of coffee-making and good conversation as you discover Costa Rica.
Length
9 days
Rating (4.98)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,149
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
500

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Mar 20 - Mar 28, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,299
 
Mar 25 - Apr 2, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Itinerary Note

Private Group - Knight Science Journalism Fellows

Apr 12 - Apr 20, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 16 - Apr 24, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Itinerary Note

This date spends 2 nights in the Central Pacific Coast in place of 2 nights at Arenal. Please review the comprehensive itinerary for more information. Arrival San José, 1 night; Monteverde, 2 nights; Sarapiquí, 2 nights; Central Pacific Coast, 2 nights; San José, 1 night; departure.

Apr 18 - Apr 26, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,299
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 25 - May 3, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 17 - May 25, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 1 - Jun 9, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 8 - Jun 16, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 18 - Jul 26, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Aug 15 - Aug 23, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Sep 14 - Sep 22, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 4 - Oct 12, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 16 - Oct 24, 2023
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Dec 1 - Dec 9, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 9 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise.

Jan 10 - Jan 18, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Jan 17 - Jan 25, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Feb 18 - Feb 26, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Mar 16 - Mar 24, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Apr 2 - Apr 10, 2024
 
Standard 2,349
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 8 - Apr 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,349
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 28 - May 6, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 3 - May 11, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 13 - May 21, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 6 - Jun 14, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 13 - Jun 21, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 8 - Jul 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 24 - Aug 1, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Aug 10 - Aug 18, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Sep 20 - Sep 28, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 3 - Oct 11, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 8 - Oct 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Mar 20 - Mar 28, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,709
 
Mar 25 - Apr 2, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,709
 
Itinerary Note

Private Group - Knight Science Journalism Fellows

Apr 12 - Apr 20, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,419
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 16 - Apr 24, 2023
Hotel 2,299
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Itinerary Note

This date spends 2 nights in the Central Pacific Coast in place of 2 nights at Arenal. Please review the comprehensive itinerary for more information. Arrival San José, 1 night; Monteverde, 2 nights; Sarapiquí, 2 nights; Central Pacific Coast, 2 nights; San José, 1 night; departure.

Apr 18 - Apr 26, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,419
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 25 - May 3, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,419
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 17 - May 25, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,269
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 1 - Jun 9, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 8 - Jun 16, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 18 - Jul 26, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,269
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Aug 15 - Aug 23, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Sep 14 - Sep 22, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,149
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 4 - Oct 12, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,269
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 16 - Oct 24, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,269
 
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Nov 3 - Nov 11, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,709
 
Dec 1 - Dec 9, 2023
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,709
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 9 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise.

Jan 10 - Jan 18, 2024
 
Standard 3,029
Jan 17 - Jan 25, 2024
 
Standard 3,029
Feb 18 - Feb 26, 2024
 
Standard 3,029
Mar 16 - Mar 24, 2024
 
Standard 3,029
Apr 2 - Apr 10, 2024
 
Standard 2,349
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 8 - Apr 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,349
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Apr 28 - May 6, 2024
 
Standard 2,599
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 3 - May 11, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

May 13 - May 21, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 6 - Jun 14, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jun 13 - Jun 21, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 8 - Jul 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Jul 24 - Aug 1, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Aug 10 - Aug 18, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Sep 20 - Sep 28, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 3 - Oct 11, 2024
 
Standard 2,249
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

Oct 8 - Oct 16, 2024
 
Standard 2,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles sell out quickly, so be sure to enroll early.

At a Glance

Low-level clouds drift through the sweet cedar and hanging moss. Even in dim sunlight, the orchid’s flowers brighten your path as you hike. In this interdisciplinary introduction to Costa Rica, learn about the nation’s rain and cloud forests and the inseparable bond between the people and the land. Explore volcanic terrain and tropical gardens, as well as culture and history. Meet residents in local communities for an intimate experience of this peaceful nation.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to 1.5 hours a day over uneven trails in hot and humid conditions. Elevations up to 6,000 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Hike through the mystical cloud forest at Monteverde and go whitewater rafting at Sarapiquí.
  • Discover scenic views of Arenal Volcano from up in the rainforest canopy during a walk on a combination of nature trails and hanging bridges.
  • Enjoy an interactive presentation that introduces you to an important gourmet coffee roaster in Costa Rica.

General Notes

This program offers Micro Group options--with 12 or fewer participants--on some departures. Please refer to program date notes.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Roger Melendez
In the late 1980s, Costa Rican native Roger Melendez received both practical and theoretical training on the flora and fauna of his country at the La Selva field station of the Organization for Tropical Studies. He is a talented and experienced birder with an all-encompassing knowledge of tropical wildlife. Road Scholar participants have found Roger to be a charismatic leader who gives everyone personalized attention. He is a father of three and loves spending time outdoors with his family.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Roger Melendez
Roger Melendez View biography
In the late 1980s, Costa Rican native Roger Melendez received both practical and theoretical training on the flora and fauna of his country at the La Selva field station of the Organization for Tropical Studies. He is a talented and experienced birder with an all-encompassing knowledge of tropical wildlife. Road Scholar participants have found Roger to be a charismatic leader who gives everyone personalized attention. He is a father of three and loves spending time outdoors with his family.
Profile Image of Erick Miranda
Erick Miranda View biography
Erick Miranda hails from Costa Rica’s historic Heredia, a region dotted with coffee plantations and forests. As a young boy, he dreamed of becoming a naturalist guide. He attended a prestigious research center where he studied natural history and honed his interpretive skills. Erick has been a licensed naturalist guide and group leader for more than a decade, as well as a personal cross-training fitness coach. He has traveled extensively within Costa Rica and wishes to start adding some international destinations to his travel list.
Profile Image of Andrey Acosta
Andrey Acosta View biography
Andrey Acosta is a certified Costa Rican naturalist expedition leader and a birding enthusiast. The ocean was his first love, and his fondest childhood memories involve swimming and playing with friends at the beach in his hometown of Puntarenas. He discovered the joys of birdwatching while studying ecotourism at the Universidad de Costa Rica. As cash-strapped students, Andrey and friends birded on a budget, assisting in bird counts and volunteering. He has been leading educational groups since 2015 and is also a licensed scuba diver.
Profile Image of Deynor Alfaro
Deynor Alfaro View biography
Deynor Alfaro is a licensed Costa Rican naturalist group leader. His love of nature and the outdoors took root while growing up on a cattle farm in Puntarenas province. When time came to consider college and career choices, he set his sights on becoming a naturalist. Deynor went on to earn a degree in ecotourism from the Universidad Técnica Nacional in Puntarenas city. Some of his favorite pastimes include hiking, birding, horseback riding, and playing soccer with friends.
Profile Image of Alvaro Alvarado
Alvaro Alvarado View biography
Alvaro Alvarado began working as a naturalist expedition leader in 2006. He grew up in Costa Rica’s northern Caribbean lowlands; a rural region dominated by banana and pineapple plantations. Despite his inherent appreciation for nature and outdoor hobbies, he first attended college with plans to become an accountant. When the pull of nature proved too hard to resist, Alvaro turned his sights on ecotourism and earning his naturalist credentials. In his free time, he likes to go hiking, camping, and fishing with his family.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The World Atlas of Coffee, From Beans to Brewing
by James Hoffmann
A global history of the addictive brown bean organized by country, with a look at regional techniques and traits, fair trade efforts and the role of colonialism. Includes colorful maps and photos.
Culture Smart! Costa Rica
by Jane Koutnik
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Costa Rican customs, etiquette and culture.
The Wildlife of Costa Rica, A Field Guide
by Twan Leenders, Robert Dean, Jim Zook, Fiona Reid
This guide includes 450 of the most common, interesting and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and arthropods that you are likely to encounter. Each has exquisite full-color illustrations.
Costa Rica, A Traveler's Literary Companion
by Barbara Ras
These 26 well-chosen stories by Costa Rican writers introduce the people, culture and land.
National Geographic Costa Rica
by Christopher P. Baker
This stylish and informative travel resource features 200 photographs, many maps and good information on the country's history, nature and culture.
Costa Rican Spanish
by Lonely Planet
A pocket guide to understanding idioms, slang and Spanish as it is spoken by the Ticos.
Costa Rica Adventure Map
by National Geographic
A double-sided map at a scale of 1:500,000.
Costa Rica Reader: History, Culture, Politics
by Steven Palmer (Editor), Ivan Molina (Editor)
A lively, literate sourcebook on the politics, economy and society of Costa Rica
Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths
by James Kavanagh
A handy, laminated fold-up card with color illustrations of Costa Rica’s more visible species of butterflies and moths. Includes the distinguishing markings or behaviors of each species.
Wild Costa Rica
by Adrian Hepworth
This beautiful, informative survey of the habitats, wildlife and protected areas of Costa Rica features 200 color photographs and chapters on natural history and conservation.
Costa Rica, The Complete Guide
by James Kaiser
From pristine beaches and jungle waterfalls to high-altitude coffee plantations, award-winning author and photographer Kaiser shows readers the best of Costa Rica, including the country's stunning collection of national parks.
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
Two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists offer a lucid portrait of the tropics through 17 marvelous essays that introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforests.
The Ticos
by Richard Biesanz
This insightful, fact-filled portrait of the Costa Rican people details their culture, history and society.
Costa Rica, A Journey Through Nature
by Adrian Hepworth
Dividing the book by ecosystem and geographic area, BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year Hepworth's color photographs showcase the diversity of Costa Rica's wildlife and habitats.
Aroma of the World: A Journey into the Mysteries and Delights of Coffee
by Santo Versace (Foreword), Elisabetta Illy
A beautiful book for the coffee lover, this heavily illustrated compendium is equal parts history and travel journal, detailing the passage of the coffee bean from origination to current status as an icon of modern living.
Costa Rican Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
Put it in your pocket! This handy, fold-up card includes color illustrations of dozens of typical birds, mammals and reptiles. We also carry plastic cards for Costa Rica Birds (Item CRC56) and Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths (Item CRC57), $5.95 each.
Volcanoes, Crucibles of Change
by Richard Fisher
A complete primer for the volcano lover, this heavily illustrated book covers types of volcanoes and eruptions, worldwide distribution and the physics of their formation.
Costa Rica Birds
by James Kavanagh
A handy, laminated fold-up card with full-color illustrations of birds commonly found in Costa Rica. Great for kids, too.
Nature of the Rainforest, Costa Rica and Beyond
by Adrian Forsyth, E.O. Wilson (Introduction), Michael Fogden (Photographer)
Our favorite biologist-writer returns to the Neotropics in this beautifully illustrated, oversized overview of the rainforest. With chapters on Monteverde and Guanacaste, plants, frogs and snakes, birds, monkeys and jaguars, the sloth, peculiar insects and biodioversity; A marvelous, anecdotal introduction to ecology, evolution and conservation.
The Birds of Costa Rica
by Richard Garrigues, Robert Dean (Illustrator)
This new edition covers 903 species of birds with hundreds of new, supplemental or revised color illustrations by Robert Dean and revised color-coded range maps.
132 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.98 Average
(5) Review left 2/03/2023

If you want to learn about and experience first hand the flora, fauna, culture, geography, and cuisine of Costa Rica, this is for you. So much is included you could hardly do all of this on your own for the price, and you wouldn't have the enrichment a guide brings or the company of like-minded fellow travelers. You won't regret doing this trip and you'll have memories for life!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 1/29/2023

This was a fabulous trip! The combination of meeting and hearing from local people in their homes, visiting farms developing sustainability practices, receiving expert lectures on local history and climate, and hiking in the rain forests, not to mention bird, insect, mammal and reptile spotting accompanied by an expert …. All this made it an unforgettable, unique experience that could not have been replicated by trying to plan it oneself. The guide was awesome and it was also a great group of traveling companions.

(5) Review left 1/27/2023

Costa Rica is a warm and welcoming country. The program is diverse and fast-paced which I welcome. Carlos is a terrific leader and Chico a great driver who goes above and beyond. You will be surprised by the variety of climates and biodiversity found in Costa Rica,

(5) Review left 1/21/2023

A marvelous experience.

(5) Review left 1/18/2023

Amazing experience--spectacular wildlife (quetzals, sloths, monkeys, iguanas, and more), engaging activities, and an expert guide!

(5) Review left 12/17/2022

A fantastic look into the history, culture and ecology of Costa Rica! a beautiful tour with great guides, activities and accommodations. We were thrilled every day!

(5) Review left 12/16/2022

The "Taste of Costa Rica" was simply a wonderful experience. It was a great way to enjoy the uniqueness of Costa Rica and its people. "Pura Vida" is more than an expression. It is a wonderful way of life.

(5) Review left 12/14/2022

This was not just a trip, it was a life-changing experience!

(5) Review left 12/11/2022

Superb sampler of Costa Rica! Highlight: contact with local people at every destination and the opportunity to learn about their values (Pura vida!) and life experiences. Our guide was excellent. High quality accommodations. lots of good food. Very busy schedule, but not rushed. Plan ways to make the most of your time traveling on a mini-bus.

(5) Review left 11/19/2022

Our tour was perfect; it was informative yet fun! We learned so much about all things Costa Rican thanks to our wonderful Program Leaders Jorge and Alvaro and our intrepid driver, Alan! Pura Vida!!!!

(5) Review left 10/26/2022

The trip was wonderful. The country was beautiful, the hotels were comfortable, the events planned were interesting and informative and the people who lectured were knowledgeable. I learned much more than I had expected about Costa Rica. But the trip was made extra special by our guide, Reimer, who was a wonderful source of information, humor and caring throughout the trip. He was always generous with his knowledge and solicitous to tour participants as well as those Costa Ricans who participated in the events. His love for his country and desire to show it and its people to us were evident throughout the trip. Reimer was by far the best guide I've ever had on tours that I've taken and he delivered the best impression of Road Scholar tours. In addition, our bus driver, Luis, not only delivered us safely to all of the places but also shared in the humor and was generous with information on Costa Rica. Reimer and Luis together "put the icing on the cake" for me. I enjoyed every bit of the trip. Thank you to Road Scholar, Reimer and Luis. Noreen

(5) Review left 10/25/2022

Taste of Costa Rica was an absolutely fabulous trip! I loved the educational content and each of the different activities. We stayed at fabulous places that offered wonderful views of each area. The wildlife and flora were plentiful and vibrant. I learned so much and was able to really appreciate the beauty of the land and the people of Costa Rica.

(5) Review left 10/23/2022

This trip immersed you in what makes Costa Rica so special—the biodiversity of the environment, and the warmth of its people. An experience you will find nowhere else on Planet Earth!

(5) Review left 10/23/2022

As an active 82-year-old taking my first RoadScholar trip with my husband, I was grateful to find that the experience exceeded my expectations and we both had a great time. An extraordinary variety of events, an amazing guide who welded 18 fascinating people into a “family” and nurtured us throughout, great food, lovely accommodations, and highly knowledgeable instructors made this a most memorable experience.I’m already thinking of my next RoadScholar trip.

(5) Review left 10/20/2022

Amazingly varied, informative and experiential program, a great buy for the money spent.

(5) Review left 8/18/2022

The program, as the name implies, is a sprinkling of everything. Actually, a couple sprinklings of wildlife, because colorful birds and sloths (and even pit vipers) are enchanting. Even if some of the activities aren't your cup of tea, you're not committed to nine days of it and there truly is something for everyone.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 7/17/2022

I could not be more pleased with my Costa Rican trip! The itinerary, while rigorous, was so full of interesting experiences I could not have chosen anything to leave out. The presenters were engaging, the cuisine delicious, the experiences delightful. Marcelo’s love for his country shown through every part of the journey, and his patience with a bus load of old ladies was impressive! If shared joy and laughter are the measures of success, then this trip was a resounding success.

(5) Review left 7/16/2022

Fantastic tour that allows you to learn not only about the fascinating rainforest flora and fauna (and to actually see them! this participant who has trouble seeing birds and animals in foliage actually saw toucans, monkeys, sloths, very tiny poison frogs, and numerous other tropical creatures), but to begin to grasp the very interesting history of Costa Rica, a country that consistently scores high on the world happiness index and that has, despite the history of civil wars in Central America, a stable government and a significant middle class population. You'll also learn about volcanoes and the process of growing pineapples, processing sugar cane, and cultivating, harvesting, and roasting some of the world's best coffee.

(5) Review left 6/10/2022

Just returned from Road Scholar’s A Taste of Costa Rica and couldn’t have been happier with the program. Our tour leader, Jorge, was exceptionally knowledgeable and enthusiastic about so many things and he also was a great leader. We had great experiences, especially the white water rafting. I will definitely look into taking another Road Scholar trip.

(5) Review left 6/10/2022

This trip was so awesome. We had a great group that jelled perfectly under the guidance of Jorge. He knew every single bird in the jungle and so much information and went above and beyond, such as bringing his own birdwatching scope for us to use. The activities and lectures were a great learning experience and made me want to do my part to save the planet. Everyone should have this experience.

(5) Review left 6/01/2022

A Taste of Costa Rica was fabulous. Pedro our guide was extremely knowledgeable about all the plants and animals. He answered all our questions and explained every detail about each region we visited. The hotels were clean and food was great. Wonderful trip. I will definitely do another Road Scholar trip. Everything was smooth and very professional.

(5) Review left 6/01/2022

I had a fun experience with amazing people who I'd like to stay in touch with. I never expected to know everyone in the group but always felt comfortable sitting with one or many people in the group. The leader was well versed and flexible and went the extra mile. I learned a lot and had an amazing time.

(5) Review left 5/27/2022

Road Scholar's trip to Costa Rica was well organized, provided terrific guides and instructors, and allowed participants to learn while having fun. Well worth the cost of the trip. We are looking forward to another Road Scholar trip soon!

(5) Review left 5/19/2022

Taste of Costa Rica is a fabulous trip for couples or singles who want to visit a beautiful country with something for everyone.Evan Castillo's joyful,knowledgeable and friendly leadership style made this trip a dream come true.

(5) Review left 5/10/2022

Jurassic Park without the dinosaurs! An awesome, action packed adventure through rain and cloud forests led by our expert leader, Erick provided outstanding opportunity to marvel at the plants and animals of Costa Rica.The natural wonders and culture of Costa Rica was enhanced by the many shared interactions with local community members.

(5) Review left 4/29/2022

The trip is a great way to experience Costa Rican geography and culture in a short time period. Road Scholar does an admirable job of taking care of all of the logistics so you can focus on the experience and not the details. As a plus you can meet some great fellow travelers and make friendships that will last well beyond the trip.

(5) Review left 4/28/2022

A wonderful well paced experience. Erick enhanced the experience with his knowledge and love of Costa Rica.

(5) Review left 4/03/2022

Our trip to Costa Rica was wonderful! Our expectations were exceeded. I felt we came home with an appreciation and understanding of a country and its culture that couldn't have been acquired except for actually living there.

(5) Review left 3/29/2022

Road Scholar Tour offered a wholesome experience. There was some education, Local experience, accommodations were in beautiful locations and comfortable, meals were delicious with options for variety of participants. This was my first trip with Road Scholar and met others who had done 8-9 and I can see why... I am already looking at other places they go to.

(5) Review left 3/29/2022

EXCELLENT well led trip by Erik!!Rainforest, beautiful birds, monkeys, iguanas & more..people lovely, culture interesting.. GREAT accomodations in wonderful nature settings.. Erik saw to it that we experienced a taste of CR to the fullest!! I thoroughly enjoyed CR and most especially the nature walks through the beautiful rainforest and hanging bridges, & perserve! Could spend wks there!! It is helpful to read up on socialistic Costa Rica before hand..it is a beautiful country, with government emphasis & $$$ spent on environnmental concerns, conservation, renewable energy, and YET incongruently, the environment in San Jose streets & countryside is littered, and in disrepair...crumbling infastructure with challenging rds and sidewalks....some sewage issues..like no TP flushing... Just like any trip, it helps to know what to expect, so one can better enjoy and appreciate the country.. I would rate this trip as a 5 star!!

(5) Review left 3/29/2022

This was our first Road Scholar trip and it went very smoothly. We really enjoyed all aspects of this trip. Would recommend highly.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/27/2022

Outstanding

(5) Review left 3/23/2022

Costa Rica is rich; in history, culture, nature and more. Road Scholar's tour challenged me intellectually, physically, emotionally and deepened my love of travel, nature and people. It will add to my life for years to come.

(5) Review left 3/23/2022

I had a blast on this trip. Unique places to see and stay, great food, made new friends, no worry traveling (awesome guide and driver). Costa Rica itself is easy to travel in and just absolutely beautiful.

(5) Review left 3/21/2022

Enjoyed our March Taste of Costa Rica trip immensely! Jorge Monge was a knowledgeable, organized and fun tour leader. The program was full of learning with great lectures and discussions with Jorge, as well as enjoyable activities with a wonderful group of participants.

(5) Review left 3/20/2022

If you want a "real" Taste of Costa Rica this program fits the bill. The activities covered not just the history (fascinating), nor the food (absolutely delish---many local dishes---fabulous fruits) but the adventures, meeting and pictures of all the local birds, flowers and animals (sloths are the best), and solid FUN everyday.

(5) Review left 3/17/2022

This program was very informative and enjoyable. We were able to meet with local farmers and educators, as well as enjoy locally prepared meals. There was plenty of time for self exploration. The white water rafting was fun, but rather short. Bring a swim suit, rain coat or poncho and hiking shoes.

(5) Review left 3/15/2022

Wonderful trip. Amazing wildlife, fun nature hikes. Good amount of exercise most days. The guide, Reimar Palma, was particularly special! He kept us busy and entertained the entire time.

(5) Review left 3/12/2022

This was an enjoyable and well-organized tour. The lecturers, event leaders, performers, and local people sharing their culture, were all so friendly, informative, and contributed to my understanding of this beautiful country. Pedro Bosques was a great trip leader and naturalist - his guiding to plants, animals, and the natural environment was helped make this tour a wonderful experience.

(5) Review left 2/28/2022

An excellent short program that is rich in content, and a good way to experience the natural beauty and culture of Costa Rica

(5) Review left 2/25/2022

This was a truly delightful, informative and safe experience. Our guide, Andrés Ramirez, was an expert naturalist, a flawless organizer and a kind, patient, friendly human being. The trip provided the expected visual delights and educational insights. In addition it provided multiple opportunities to experience the Costa Rican culture through the eyes of the people themselves. Highly recommended.

(5) Review left 2/24/2022

This trip was an unforgettable experience for me, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Costa Rica and see its unbelievable diversity of flora and fauna. The trip's organization and itinerary were exceptional, and our guide, Andres, was just fantastic.

(5) Review left 2/19/2022

We had a fun February trip to Costa Rica - a land rich in history and nature and wonderful climate. Road Scholar has the best guides for this all inclusive "taste" of Costa Rica trip.

(5) Review left 2/19/2022

Lenin Duarte is a great leader for Costa Rica programs.

(5) Review left 2/17/2022

This program presented a great overview of Costa Rica, with a variety of experiences. I would definitely recommend it.

(5) Review left 2/16/2022

The program delivered on its promise of an extraordinary blend of discovery, adventure and multiple first-rate learning opportunities. Our guide, Leo Garrigues , provided an exceptional high quality tour experience. He demonstrated his expertise, knowledge and active attentiveness throughout the program. He was clearly passionate about doing his job well. He made every effort to ensure our group was well informed and engaged. Having Leo, an expert birder and naturalist, as our guide was an uncommon and very much appreciated bonus.

(5) Review left 2/14/2022

This trip is the perfect length and includes a variety of both fun and educational activities. Our guide Lenin and our driver Enrique were the perfect team!

(5) Review left 2/04/2022

Looking forward to our next adventure with Road Scholar!!

(5) Review left 1/21/2022

A physical journey coupled with an educational experience that will fill your days with wonderful scenery and information and provide relaxing evenings to enjoy social time with other travelers.

(5) Review left 1/18/2022

What an incredible introduction to Costa Rica and to Road Scholar. This program — thanks in large part to our guide, Pedro — sure exceeded my expectations. We just got back and are already looking for our next Road Scholar trip.

(5) Review left 1/14/2022

Great introduction to Costa Rica and it's people and culture. Learn from excellent lecturers, enjoy informative nature walks, see animals / plants / insects etc. have an adventurous river rafting, and see how people live.

(5) Review left 12/13/2021

This was a wonderful trip! The food and accommodations were better than expected. Costa Rica was beautiful and learning about it with other curious people just enhanced the entire experience. It was my first Road Scholar trip and I am so happy I got to do it!

(5) Review left 12/11/2021

A Taste of Costa Rica! Indeed! This was a nice overview of the variety and diversity of Costa Rica’s culture and history. We met locals, experienced a variety of locales and learned more than I thought possible in a week.

(5) Review left 12/10/2021

Very interesting and action packed 9 day adventure in Costa Rica. Erick was a great guide and kept us educated and informed and on schedule.

(5) Review left 11/21/2021

This was my 6th RS adventure and was by far my favorite. We we up close and personal with the flora and fauna of this amazing country. Additionally, we met and learned from the locals first hand. I highly recommend this program.

(5) Review left 11/14/2021

Just completed "A Taste of Costa Rica" program -- it was fantastic. Our Group Leader, Ivan Castillo, was amazing -- so knowledgeable about CR, & so kind & friendly. He made our trip a special experience. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and I encourage people to visit.

(5) Review left 11/13/2021

In every way, this was a fantastic trip! Our delightful guide, Ivan Castillo, was knowledgeable, organized and caring. The birds and exotic animals were plentiful and the lectures were engaging and informative. All the activities from river rafting to learning a few Salsa steps were a lot of fun. This was our first trip to Costa Rica, but it won't be our last. On a scale from 1 to 10, this trip was a 10!

(5) Review left 11/11/2021

Saw an amazing variety of wildlife that I had only hoped to see.

(5) Review left 11/01/2021

A Taste Of Costa Rica was an awesome trip. Really learned a lot about Costa Rica and it's culture and people. Loved the fact that Costa Rica is a leader in helping solve problems with Climate Change. It's a trip I will think back on often.

(5) Review left 10/23/2021

This was our first trip with Road Scholar, but certainly not our last. The program was awesome! We enjoy the cultural immersion that we experienced. Our program leader and driver were outstanding and very knowledgeable about the county. We look forward to returning to Costa Rica soon.

(5) Review left 10/21/2021

This program was true to the description. The tour guide was outstanding, keeping me and making me feel safe. He was very knowledgeable and informative and was very engaging. The driver was very competent and safe. The instructors were very knowledgeable and interesting and professional. I'm very impressed with the program and Road Scholar.

(5) Review left 9/23/2021

This tour was incredible the tour guide Reimer Palma was very knowledgeable and above and beyond his duty to make this experience unforgettable. The lectures were interesting. The excursions we had were amazing, fun and very interesting hands on a wonderful experience I would definitely recommend this tour not only for the excursions but the adventure and knowledge I learn so much about Costa Rica and the people were amazing would definitely book a trip again with Road Scholar!!

(5) Review left 9/23/2021

Just returned from the "A Taste of Costa Rica" RS tour. It was fabulous from so many perspectives. It's time to get going again. P.S. Was one of the greatest values regarding travel costs to what was received I've ever had. And I'm 80! Gary L. - Los Angeles, CA

(5) Review left 8/20/2021

I started my first trip with Road Scholar, "A Taste of Costa Rica" not knowing that it would be such an amazing trip. I joined a group of 15 complete strangers and ended the trip feeling as if I had expanded my family. The knowledge of our guide, and his enthusiasm to share that knowledge was mind opening and everything I learned has made me want to find out more. I will be taking more trips with Road Scholar as they showed me that as a single woman I can travel safely, and I look forward to my next trip. I was so impressed with the safety precautions taken by Road Scholar to keep us, and the people we met safe as Covid-19 is still a threat to everyone, without diminishing the experience.

(5) Review left 8/19/2021

This program exceeded my expectations. Our leader, Edwin Ramirez, has encyclopedic knowledge of all things Costa Rica, especially the wildlife and plants. He also has a great personality and was a wonderful caring host for our group. We learned so much on this trip and had a multitude of experiences. Highly recommend!

(4) Review left 7/15/2021

A real value and a worry free way ti learn about and explore unknown places....all over the world.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/25/2020

I loved everything about our Costa Rica trip. Our leader Edgar was very knowledgeable and did a wonderful job of bonding our group together and making it not only educational but fun. The variety of activities was exceptional. We learned so much the history, culture and ecosystems of Costa Rica. All of the speakers were fascinating and very knowledgeable.

(5) Review left 3/24/2020

Our tour guide Edgar was interesting and entertaining. He is very knowledgeable about the ecosystem, and the wildlife of the rainforest. Edgar made our trip quite a pleasure, he has the ability to make folks feel at ease. This trip was full of adventure and learning. It is the seventh in our travels with RS, and we highly recommend it for others seeking an out of country experience! A lot to see and do in eight days... Please give Edgar our heartfelt appreciation & Thanks!

(5) Review left 3/16/2020

I never saw myself as an organized tour traveler, so what a delightful surprise my trip turned out to be.The acommodations were perfect. Having someone else tend to luggage and food meant we were really free to enjoy and participate in all the activities provided. Very knowledgable guides, nice balance of educational and playful experiences.

(5) Review left 3/11/2020

easy to use website

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/07/2020

As we look back on our trip to Costa Rica, it brings warm memories of a great experience. The speakers were excellent, the travel was well planned and accomodations were great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and exhibited a great sense of humor. His English was impeccable and his vocabulary was extensive. The food was abundant and choices were varied and fitting. We especially enjoyed the cultural immersion and the ecological sensitivity. Our driver was alert and safety conscious, sensitive to our every need. We liked the group size and the pace of each day. Plans were clearly communicated and we were well prepared for each activity. I would recommend this tour to any and all persons.

(5) Review left 3/02/2020

This was my first Road Scholar program. I was nervous about traveling with unknown people but had a wonderful experience that exceeded all expectations. I made friends and fell in love with our world and all it’s bio diversity, rich cultures and histories just by visiting one small country. I’m excited to learn through personal contact more about this wonderful blue dot we live on.

(5) Review left 3/01/2020

Awesome program. I am not a person comfortable traveling outside the US but I am now with road scholar ! Concept to learn as you travel to different locations is awesome as well. You will NOT be disappointed!

(5) Review left 3/01/2020

My first Road Scholar, and my first group trip - and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I was *very* nervous about taking this leap, and Road Scholar simultaneously kept me comfortable with a great leader and let me step outside my comfort zone and do things I'd never do on my own. Can't wait for my next adventure!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/29/2020

We were so fortunate to have Glorianna Sanchez as our guide. She imbued her love of country at every turn. The trip was fabulous. We were immersed in nature constantly. The Costa Rican people are lovely and so willing to share their stories with us. I would highly recommend this trip and don't forget your rain gear!

(5) Review left 2/26/2020

A thoroughly enjoyable trip in what has to be one of the most beautiful countries in the world. Guide Cristian Gamboa made everything flow smoothly, impressed us with his knowledge of Costa Rican history, politics, birds, and fauna and flora in general -- and could not have been a more pleasant travel companion. Although I enjoyed the more "classic" Costa Rican experiences, white water rafting, forest walks, etc., what made the trip special was the encounters with "real" people -- lunch with a family in a middle class suburb of San José, a visit with "Hazel" in a typically rural home in Sarapiquí, where we learned to make arepas and queso fresco, the school children who danced for us and showed us their classrooms in La Fortuna, and the evening with Marvin Rockwell, at 97 the last surviving member of the group of Quakers that founded Monteverde. These are moments beyond the normal tourist experience that leave one with at least a glimmer of insight into the culture and life of Costa Rica. It was a delicious "taste" of Costa Rica.

(5) Review left 2/25/2020

"A Taste of Costa Rica" provided an excellent introduction to the history, culture, and hospitality of Costa Ricans of all ages. The diversity of the land and the nation's commitment to conservation of its natural resources serve as a model for the future.

(5) Review left 2/24/2020

Great program! We learned, laughed, and experienced so much. A great balance of education, interaction and social activities. Highly recommend it!

(5) Review left 2/22/2020

great "once over lightly" tour of costa rica. smart people, proud of their eco-tourism, and cristian was a great guide...i'd recommend it.

(5) Review left 2/22/2020

This is a wonderful, active program that introduces you in the culture, people and beauty of Costa Rica. We saw so many facets of the country and enjoyed them all under the superb guidance of our group leader, Gilberth Molina, better known to us as "Chito." He was a veritable encyclopedia!

(5) Review left 2/17/2020

Most days were very busy. Rest times were available usually before dinner. Walking sticks were not needed. Pack for rain. Be open to new experiences and people. If you get Gloriana Sanchez for a guide, you are very lucky. She was excellent!

(5) Review left 2/14/2020

This was my first time going to Central American and after "A Taste of Costa Rica", I'm sure it won't be my last. We had an outstanding guide in Gilbert which helped make the program sparkle. We not only learned a great deal about the animal and plant life but the geology of the area. Gilbert also was wonderful in having us engage with the people of Costa Rica so that we gained a great deal of knowledge about the countries people. I particularly enjoyed the school trip with the children who were so delightful. It was a wonderful opportunity. If you'd like to get a better view of our groups experience, I wrote a blog about our experience https://marcnobletrips.blog/explore/costa-rica-is-pura-vida/.

(5) Review left 2/12/2020

This was my third RS program and trying to pick my favorite would be like trying to pick my favorite child. The one thing consistent through each program, however, has been the group leader. ALL have been excellent, caring, professional and knowledgeable, and each in his/her own way has made the trip special for me. That being said, the "Taste of Costa Rica" is so aptly named. It has a lot packed into a few days and leaves one "hungry" for more. The speakers in this program were truly outstanding, brilliant and even entertaining! Just the right amount of physical activity and good hearty food rounded out this "taste". I highly recommend it.

(5) Review left 2/11/2020

This program was absolutely fantastic. Met all of my expectations. The length of the program was just right, the weather was good. Got a glimpse into the life of the people that live in Costa Rica that gave me a better perspective of life that they live.

(5) Review left 2/11/2020

This trip provided a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica with a variety of experiences and environments. I'm already considering another trip to Costa Rica to expand on my knowledge of this beautiful country. Our guide (and the driver too) did an amazing job of helping us appreciate the beautiful flora and fauna. Overall it was a great experience with an amazing guide and a great group of "road scholars."

(5) Review left 2/09/2020

This was our first Road Scholar trip and our first organized group trip. We were not sure what to expect. We went to Costa Rica and have to tell you the experience was fantastic! The programs, our guide, our accommodations, our instructors were all fabulous! We would definitely do another trip with Road Scholar!

(5) Review left 2/07/2020

A great introduction to various experiences of the people, the geography, the ecosystems and the foods of Costa Rica. Good level of activity with lots of learning

(5) Review left 2/07/2020

This is a very good trip. It has a lot of variety in things to see, learn and do. The pace is very reasonable - not too fast or too slow. The accommodations are outstanding.

(4) Review left 2/07/2020

The value-added aspect of learning about Costa Rica's eco-system can not be too greatly praised. Road Scholar did an excellent job putting together a bird's eye view of the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. Our fellow participants were well-educated and well-intentioned people. Our guide and 24/7 trouble-shooter, William Suaraz, was diligent, very kind, and had a large body of knowledge. Recommend visiting Costa Rica asap as certain lovely aspects of the environment are disappearing due to climate change. Thumbs up!

(5) Review left 2/07/2020

This was my first Road Scholar program and trip, A Taste of Costa Rica. It far exceeded my expectations! Every day was magical. The program is impeccably organized and flows seamlessly from one adventure to the next with an outstanding guide to enrich every experience. Thank you!

(5) Review left 1/30/2020

We had a great time, learned a lot of new things, made new friends, and look forward to our next Road Scholar trip.

(4) Review left 1/23/2020

This was a wonderfully enriching experience and Katherine, our guide, made it a memorable trip for all of us. Her knowledge and ability to spot wildlife was truly a winning combination.

(5) Review left 1/22/2020

The program exceeded my expectations. Our group leader Katherine was fabulous. The group itself was extraordinary—whether it is the quality of people who are attracted to the Road Scholar model, I don't know as it was my first RS trip. It won't be my last. From white water rafting to eating the most exquisite organic pineapple on the earth, to learning latin dance, to visiting the 97 year old Quaker pioneer, each experience added up to a beautiful week filled with amazing wildlife, birds that defy description in their color and majesty. . . . . It was one of the best trips I have ever taken. That's really all I need to say.

(5) Review left 1/17/2020

This well-organized, fascinating introduction to Costa Rica provided me with both educational and experiential learning. I came away with an appreciation of the Costa Rican people and their beautiful, diverse, country and would recommend it to people who like to walk and meet people from other cultures.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 12/31/2019

We absolutely loved our Taste of Costa Rica trip. This was our first Road Scholar adventure, and we really didn't know what to expect. We had heard good reports from people we knew, so we were hoping the trip lived up to our expectations. In all categories, it exceeded our expectations . Costa Rica is an exceptionally beautiful country. Our group of 13 people were a very good compatible group. But what made our trip outstanding was our wonderful guide, Roger Melendez Pereira, and our "guide in training", Fabian. Roger was passionate about all things Costa Rican, and this passion was infectious to our group. He went out of his way to show and point out to us so many little things that could have been passed over. He was always looking for ways to help us and guide us in our quest to see his country from his passionate view whether it be animals, plants, people , or food. He did it all with a great sense of humor, patience, and knowledge. Fabian was also a lovely part of the trip. Both went out of their way to make this trip for all of us memorable. The lectures we had were interesting and informative, and aptly set up the upcoming day's trip. Our accommodations were all good. In conclusion, I highly recommend A Taste of Costa Rica.

(5) Review left 12/21/2019

A Taste of Costa Rica was a wonderful way to learn about and enjoy a place I had never been. It was a lot more than just sightseeing! The staff and the people of Costa Rica were very welcoming to everyone, even those of us who only spoke English.

(5) Review left 12/14/2019

Best trip of my life Pedro andEdgar were wonderful guides . I met so many interesting people both inCosta Rica and on our tour group . Loved our trips to coffee and pineapple plantations.Specially enjoyed visiting and dining with Marvin a97 year old Quaker gentleman who bought history to life.Went river rafting for the first time in my life.Was absolutely terrified but enjoyed it immensely.Enjoyed school presentation.Hotels and food were great.Definitely want to take another trip

(5) Review left 11/22/2019

Costa Rica is a beautiful country and A Taste of Costa Rica was a great way to explore a portion of the country. Definitely a country to revisit!

(5) Review left 11/17/2019

I cant believe how alive and adventurous I feel after the trip, open to new possibilities for learning and proud of my ability to venture out of my comfort zone. The group leader Eric, and the group members were simply fantastic.

(5) Review left 5/17/2019

A Taste of Costa Rica was amazing - I learned so much about the country, its people, and its biodiversity. The educational component of this trip enriched the experience, and our guide was fantastic - knowledgeable, passionate, warm, meticulous, and overall made this a trip of a lifetime. Pura Vida!

(5) Review left 5/15/2019

Every aspect was wonderful !

(5) Review left 4/18/2019

My husband and I went on The Taste of Costa Rica tour. It was our first Road Scholar trip and it exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed all the scheduled lectures, outings, accommodations and most of all meeting so many wonderful and interesting fellow travelers in our group. We will go on many more tours.

(5) Review left 4/18/2019

I submitted my automated review yesterday, but since then had a few thoughts. I would appreciate acknowledgement that you received this. 1. In San Jose, I arrived early and went to the Jade museum which also includes extensive ceramics, dioramas, etc. (The National Museum was closed Monday) I thought the Jade museum was better than the Gold Museum we went to as a group at the start of the tour. Our tour leader has never been to the Jade and perhaps some of the tour planners have not. Suggest that be substituted. That building and the exhibits are new and riveting. FYI their gift shop is rudimentary. 2. It felt odd not to be on the coast at all. En route back from Monteverde, there was a brief view of the Pacific. I would have enjoyed a brief stop there...maybe late lunch or just a leg stretch and brief walk on the sand? (not swim etc). It would have added something important for me, personally. Some people on the trip had never seen the Pacific Ocean at all and it might have been important for them as well to dip their toes in. I may write again.

(5) Review left 4/17/2019

This was one of the best vacations i have ever taken. I was pleased beyond my expectations, Costa Rica is beautiful and the people so friendly and helpful. We had an exceptional guide, Erick Castro, very knowledgable and helpful. The group was interesting and enjoyable to spend time with on this adventure.

(5) Review left 4/15/2019

GREAT PROGRAM, VERY ENJOYABLE TRIP. COSTA RICA IS AMAZING BEAUTIFUL - DON'T MISS IT! OUR INSTRUCTOR SILVIA WAS FANTASTIC!

(5) Review left 4/13/2019

Very easy to fill out. Covered all aspects of the the trip.

(5) Review left 4/11/2019

This is the most amazing travel company. From A to Z every detail was attended to. The tour guides knowledgable and helpful, transportation clean and prompt. I rate it 5 stars

(5) Review left 4/10/2019

The Taste Of Costa Rica trip was awesome! It was an excellent value for the money considering it covered hotels, all meals, activity costs, transportation and service tips. The knowledge level of our guide, Silvia, as well as that of each lecturer was excellent and many lectures were quite entertaining! We got to visit local homes and experience Costa Rica up close. We kept active and got to see so much wildlife and flora/fauna! I would highly recommend this trip!

(5) Review left 3/26/2019

Costa Rica is the best way to escape the winter blahs! Our tour guide Jimmy knows his birds, fauna and flora, even if it took a while to find the bell bird which kept calling to us in Monteverde. Our group of fifteen was just the right number; we enjoyed each others company and learned a lot from each other as well. This was my second trip to the country and my, it has changed in fifteen years.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/15/2019

Our first trip with Road Scholar. Based on our experience from Taste of Costa Rica it won't be out last. The trip was stimulating, educational and opened our eyes regarding how environmental policies of other countries impact Costa Rica's ecology. Our tour leader (Katherine) was exceptional. Knowledgeable, personable, flexible and always willing to answer our questions. Group size was perfect. Too many positives to mention. Highly recommend this destination. We look forward to many more trips with Road Scholar.

(5) Review left 3/12/2019

My "Taste of Costa Rica" experience was exceptional! I particularly liked the fact that our group of participants was small in number (12), our group leader was personable and knowledgeable, and our activities were varied, interesting and fun.

(5) Review left 3/09/2019

This program exceeded my expectations.

(5) Review left 3/08/2019

Trip of a lifetime with Road Scholar to Costa Rica! I will definitely go on more trips with this top notch organization.

(5) Review left 3/08/2019

This program is wonderful. One of the very best Road Scholar programs that I have taken. Beautiful country, birds, monkeys, river rafting, visiting local homes for meals, plantation visits. You will be enriched and will want to return again.

(5) Review left 3/05/2019

This"taste" was just right. The week was well balanced. Our group of 15 greatly appreciate Jorge, our wonderful guide. He was a fountain of knowledge, very funny and very kind. I feel that I learned so much. Well done!

(5) Review left 3/03/2019

i thoroughly enjoyed my Costa Rican holiday- loved the walks in the woods, learning about the history and life in the country, mingling with my fellow travelers and experiencing the culture. The group size was perfect, allowing lots of communication and developing friendships. Our guide was terrific, knowledgable and funny.

(5) Review left 2/25/2019

Wendy was a great group leader. I enjoyed meeting the folks in our group. I got sick and had to leave early.

(5) Review left 2/22/2019

Costa Rica is a wonderful country and the Costa Rican people are amazing. Everything about this trip was great. I highy recommend going on this trip. It was a great trip to get away from New England February weather.

(5) Review left 2/20/2019

The Taste of Costa Rica trip was outstanding! It tasted so good I'd love to go back for more! It surpassed my expectations - all my senses were tapped in experiencing this beautiful country. Guide, lectures, activities, food, and lodgings were excellent!