loading spinner
8009
Georgia

Ragtime, Early Tin Pan Alley & Dixieland Jazz on Jekyll: Millionaire’s Retreat

Jekyll Island was once an exclusive destination for millionaires and political elite. Join us at the historic Jekyll Island Club for an adventure of learning and island exploration.
Rating (5)
Program No. 8009RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,599
Georgia

Ragtime, Early Tin Pan Alley & Dixieland Jazz on Jekyll: Millionaire’s Retreat

Jekyll Island was once an exclusive destination for millionaires and political elite. Join us at the historic Jekyll Island Club for an adventure of learning and island exploration.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,599
Program No. 8009 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
1,599
Oct 31 - Nov 5, 2021
Starting at
1,599
Jan 16 - Jan 21, 2022
Starting at
1,629
Feb 20 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
1,629
Oct 9 - Oct 14, 2022
Starting at
1,629
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Oct 31 - Nov 5, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Jan 16 - Jan 21, 2022
Starting at
2,129
Feb 20 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
2,129
Oct 9 - Oct 14, 2022
Starting at
2,129

At a Glance

Spend a week with two of the country's leading authorities and performers in the field of Ragtime, Dixieland and turn-of-the century popular music. Learn about great musicians like Scott Joplin, W. C. Handy, Irving Berlin, Louis Armstrong, Fats Waller and others, and immerse yourself in the music with live piano, flute and vocal performances of the tunes for which these artists are best remembered. Also explore Jekyll Island – one of Georgia’s southernmost barrier islands – home to the famous Jekyll Island Club, the exclusive and lavish resort where families like the Rockefellers and Vanderbilts once wintered.
Activity Level
Easy Going
Walking up to a half-mile on the beach for the marsh walk, standing for on-site lectures during excursions, getting on/off a van for the beach walk. At the hotel, there are steps leading from the Bellstand to the veranda at the entrance (there is a handicap lift available). There are also 4 steps leading to the front desk. There is a gift shop at the hotel that has steps as well, which include 3 steps up and 3 steps down.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • During your stay, learn the history of the extravagant Jekyll Island Club Hotel, formerly one of the most exclusive clubs in America which counted Morgans, Rockefellers and Vanderbilts among its members.
  • Learn from one of American’s leading authorities and performers of Ragtime, Dixieland and other popular turn-of-the-century music with live performances and engaging lectures.
  • Venture to the Georgia Sea Turtle Center to witness the sea turtles that use the beaches of Jekyll Island as nesting grounds every year.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Georgia Graves
Georgia Graves has developed and coordinates teacher training workshops on Georgia's sea turtles, shorebirds, marine mammals and coastal ecology for the Sapelo Island National Estuarine Research Reserve, one of 26 such reserves in North America. Georgia leads nature and history programs and works with Georgia's sea turtle conservation project.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Georgia Graves
Georgia Graves View biography
Georgia Graves has developed and coordinates teacher training workshops on Georgia's sea turtles, shorebirds, marine mammals and coastal ecology for the Sapelo Island National Estuarine Research Reserve, one of 26 such reserves in North America. Georgia leads nature and history programs and works with Georgia's sea turtle conservation project.
Profile Image of JoAnn Buisson
JoAnn Buisson View biography
JoAnn Buisson is a retired elementary school teacher from Boston, Mass. After college, she was employed as a nursery school teacher until 1981. She remained at home until 1994 in order to raise her children. In 1994, JoAnn accepted a position with a local elementary school as an art teacher, eventually retiring in 2014. Upon retirement, she moved to Jekyll Island with her husband. She continues her interest in the arts, taking several classes in pottery.
Profile Image of Jeff Barnhart
Jeff Barnhart View biography
Jeff Barnhart is an internationally renowned pianist, vocalist, arranger, bandleader, recording artist, ASCAP composer, educator and entertainer. Jeff began his professional career at age 14 playing and entertaining four nights a week in a restaurant in Connecticut. In addition, he has lead two bands in the UK: the Fryer-Barnhart International Jazz Band and Jeff Barnhart’s British Band, which performs small group swing of the 30’s. Jeff enjoys performing with smaller groups, most notably Ivory&Gold®, a group he co-leads with his wife, Anne Barnhart.
Profile Image of Anne Barnhart
Anne Barnhart View biography
Anne Barnhart is a flutist and vocalist who has musical experiences with Ivory&Gold® have taken her around the world. Her performances have been enjoyed from coast to coast in the US and abroad the world. When she is onstage, audiences are dazzled by her technique, awed by her tone and enthralled with her timing when bantering with her husband, pianist Jeff Barnhart. Anne is also a gifted educator, having taught hundreds of students over the past 30 years. Anne holds both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music.
20 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

This was one of the best programs! The music component with Tex Wyndham was superb. He was very knowledgeable and shared the music expertly with keyboard. It was a true joy to listen, tap a foot or hum along! The Jekyll Island Millionaires Club was a wonderful experience. To stay in the wonderfully restored lodge and sleep in the rooms possibly shared by the rich and famous of bygone years was neat. Meals could not have been better. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. I also enjoyed the island history tour, the visit to the sea turtle center and the people in the small group of 24 - a good number for the content of the program. Road Scholar - keep this program! It was a delight!

(5)

It would have been more interesting if there were musical clips of the bands or musicians shown on film rather than just the presenter's demonstrating on a keyboard, although he was very proficient.

(5)

I enjoyed this week with three other people, and we had a great time. The combination of the location, the course content, the instructors' expertise, and the luck of good weather made it a great week.

(5)

This program couldn't have been better! Tex Wyndham is a professional performer and that came through when he played the musical examples of his presentation (on the keyboard) --and he played a lot of wonderful music. He was very knowledgeable and was always open to questions. I also enjoyed the ecological portion of our stay. Georgia, the naturalist, identified our finds on the beach, from egg pods to worm tubes, and in the classroom we even got into the sex lives of mollusks. She made the learning fun!

(5)

Tex Wyndham was an outstanding presenter, the best instructor of any Road Scholar program that I have attended and I have attended 25! His oral presentation and his accompanying keyboard demonstrations of the points that he wanted to make were remarkable. The program was very informative, enlightening and great fun. I didn't want his program to end.

(5)

The RoadScholar program "Ragtime, Early Tin Pan Alley and Dixeland Jazz" was vibrant and vital because the principal instructor, Tex Wyndham. He is extremely knowledgeable, but this is not the key to his teaching effectiveness. The key is his love of the material and his musicianship. This "old" music comes across as vital and vibrant as when it was new, some more than a century ago. Anyone from a novice to a performer will gain understanding and and an appreciation of this art form: American Popular Music, as presented by someone who spent his life performing it and entertaining thousands. After spending a week with Tex, I am sorry to see this music pass into oblivion for all but those few who have learned by experience or by instruction to love it. I am most appreciative that I, a Classic Music Performer, have had the opportunity to learn about it from Tex. Richard Sohn (sohnrs@gmail.com) Horn Section, Florissant Valley Symphony Orchestra (www.fovalleyso.org)

(5)

"Tex" brings history to life. He has played with many of the pioneers of the era and shares those experiences through storytelling, keyboard and song. He educated us on music theory at a level that even non-musicians could understand. The dining and lodging on Jekyll Island were excellent. Living in the cottages of the millionaires of the same period of the music that we were studying added to this unique program.

(5)

This was a wonderful program. The musical instruction was excellent, cultural activities interesting and the facility was great. With a great leader like JoAnne the program just couldn’t have been any better!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Wonderful week of learning in a beautiful setting. The instructor, Tex Wyndham, is a veritable walking encyclopedia of information regarding the golden age of ragtime, Tin Pan Alley and Dixieland. He never used notes in lectures or music when playing; he held in memory what seemed like hundreds of names of composers, as well as their life stories and lyrics to their songs. He punctuated his lectures with his expert and fun playing and singing of music under discussion. We also enjoyed learning about the ecology of Jekyll Island with the very knowledgeable Georgia Graves. I highly recommend this program to anyone with an interest in the early days of jazz in America.

(5)

I give this program the highest recommendation. A perfect balance between the music, which was so much fun, and the science and local history, which was engaging as well.

(5)

I sometimes feel that Road Scholar spends way too much on printing and mailing. I won't donate to any 501 (c) (3) that spend so much on fancy printing, binding, postage and ink. We are all trying to save our trees, and be better caretakers of our world. Too much !!

(5)

If you are interested in this period of music history, and want to know more and enjoy attending informal concerts by consummate artists-- "come on and hear" -- you won't be disappointed. And if you happen to bring your instrument or can sing, you can even join in. Great fun and fascinating.

(5)

This was an excellent program. Tex Wyndham was a delight. He clearly described each genre of music, their characteristics and played tunes to illustrate the points under discussion. He discussed the music, the composers, the musicians, the publishers, the society of the time and showed examples of the sheet music. My knowledge of the this music was enhanced - and in a most enjoyable way. It was clear that the attendees truly enjoyed it all. The ecological portion of the program was also enlightening. We walked on the beach and the naturalist discussed what we found - egg sacks, sea shells, horseshoe crabs, etc. In the conference room, she discussed the ecology of Jekyll Island and in another session we examined sea shells and discussed their characteristics. We also visited the turtle rescue site. We had guided tours around the Jekyll Island Club by trolley and on foot and learned the history of the resort. There was time to check out the shops on the resort and an afternoon to explore the island on our own. I highly recommend this program.

(5)

This was one of the most wonderful five days we've experienced: in a lovely environment, with delightful entertainment while learning about Ragtime, Dixieland and early Jazz from two talented and charming instructors. Having beach walks and local environmental guides and learning about the Jekyll Island history and terrain were an added bonus. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

(5)

I enjoyed my first Road Scholar trip with JAZZ & Jekyll island. Jeff & Anne are knowledgeable, talented, along with being experienced musicians & educators. Thanks you both for enriching my knowledge!!!

(5)

This trip exceeded my expectations. The music program was fabulous because Ann and Jeff Barnhart are amazing professional musicians with the ability to share their passion and love of music. What a wonderful joyous experience of learning and listening. Jekyll Island is a beautiful place to enjoy and its loaded with history which adds to its charm. The food was abundant and delicious. The perfect get away for a vacation.

(5)

I went on this program to see Jekyll Island and the old restored mansions. The music part was secondary to me BUT in the end, I learned, I enjoyed the music part as much as I enjoyed the history. All around GREAT and enjoyable program.

(5)

The Jekyll Island experience is amazing. No wonder it was the winter get away for the nation's wealthiest families in its day. The information presented was intriguing and entertaining - a mashup of music history and natural history with historical experience as well. It was my first Road Scholar trip but will not be my last!!

(5)

I learned the differences between ragtime and jazz music from the late 1890's- 1930's from a very knowledgeable instructor. The location for this program was excellent and all events are well planned and interesting.

(5)

This was a wonderful experience. The venue was beautiful and very interesting historically. But the program itself was fantastic. Tex Weymouth is a hugely knowledgeable proponent of his subject, and a multi- talented performer. We went from liking jazz in general to having a deep understanding of how it is constructed, its history, and its effects. Tex's lectures were fun and interesting for anyone, and if you had a little musical knowledge, you were mesmerized. I am so grateful that we had the opportunity to meet him and Nancy, and to profit from his lifetime of immersion in his field.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.