loading spinner
Explore three of the nation’s top birding destinations to spot sandhill cranes, western tanagers and myriad other species as you learn from experts and add to your birding list.
Rating (5)
Program No. 7414RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,499
Arizona

Birding Bonanza

Explore three of the nation’s top birding destinations to spot sandhill cranes, western tanagers and myriad other species as you learn from experts and add to your birding list.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,499
Program No. 7414 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 28 - Dec 3, 2021
Starting at
1,499
Jan 16 - Jan 21, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Jan 30 - Feb 4, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Feb 6 - Feb 11, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Feb 20 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Mar 6 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Mar 20 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Apr 3 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
1,549
Nov 27 - Dec 2, 2022
Starting at
1,549
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 28 - Dec 3, 2021
Starting at
1,729
Jan 16 - Jan 21, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Jan 30 - Feb 4, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Feb 6 - Feb 11, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Feb 20 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Mar 6 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Mar 20 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Apr 3 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Nov 27 - Dec 2, 2022
Starting at
1,799

At a Glance

Three of the Top 10 birding destinations in the U.S. are within a close radius of Sierra Vista. The region is a seasonal home to many migrating species, including the Green-tailed Towhee, Belted Kingfisher and Western Tanager. Visit premier viewing sites in the Huachuca Mountains, San Pedro Riparian area and other sites known throughout the world as premier viewing sites. An average of 100-125 species of birds may be spotted during this birding adventure!
Activity Level
Outdoor: No Sweat
Walking up to one mile and standing up to one hour. Elevation ranges between 3900 and 5800 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • View the migration of Sandhill Cranes during an exploration of the Sulphur Springs Valley.
  • Enjoy opportunities to spot key species inside the San Pedro Riparian National Conservation Area, encompassing 57,000 acres teeming with birds.
  • Experience premier birding amid the peaks and canyons of the Huachuca Mountains and observe the many water bird species living on and around Patagonia Lake.

General Notes

Birding programs have a maximum participant-to-instructor ratio of 14:1 in the field, according to the American Birding Association’s Code of Ethics.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Matt Brown
Matt Brown has been a birding enthusiast from a young age! In elementary school, Matt taught birding ID to his fellow classmates. He went on to study psychology at Syracuse University before moving to Arizona in 1998 to pursue his passion of bird watching and bird leader. Locally, Matt has worked for the Nature Conservancy, Patagonia Lake State Park, Road Scholar and local birding and butterfly festivals. Since 2002, Matt has owned the Patagonia Birding & Butterfly Company offering custom birding and butterfly programs.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Matt Brown
Matt Brown View biography
Matt Brown has been a birding enthusiast from a young age! In elementary school, Matt taught birding ID to his fellow classmates. He went on to study psychology at Syracuse University before moving to Arizona in 1998 to pursue his passion of bird watching and bird leader. Locally, Matt has worked for the Nature Conservancy, Patagonia Lake State Park, Road Scholar and local birding and butterfly festivals. Since 2002, Matt has owned the Patagonia Birding & Butterfly Company offering custom birding and butterfly programs.
Profile Image of Malcolm Chesworth
Malcolm Chesworth View biography
With the gift of a pair of binoculars some 45 years ago and the first view of a European Goldfinch, Malcolm Chesworth’s lifelong love of and respect for birds began. His first visit to Arizona two decades ago years ago cemented his love of birding in the Southwest. As a member of Tucson Audubon, he volunteers at the Tucson Audubon’s Paton Center for Hummingbirds in Patagonia and has been a participator, leader and compiler in the Southern Arizona Christmas Bird Counts.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Davis and Russell's Finding Birds in Southeast Arizona
by Davis, William A. and Stephen M. Russell
A Birder's Guide to Southeastern Arizona
by Lane, James A.
Trogons of the Arizona Borderlands
by Taylor, Richard Cachor
Birding Arizona
by McMillon, Bill
Shrubs and Trees of the Southwest Uplands
by Elmore, Francis H.
Mountain Islands and Desert Seas: A Natural History of the U.S. Mexican Borderlands.
by Gehlbach, Frederick R.
Field Guide to the Birds of North America. Third Edition.
by National Geographic Society
Flowers of the Southwest Deserts
by Dodge, Natt
5 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I enjoyed this program, and saw quite a few birds I hadn't seen before. Weather in early March can be unpredictable, but nice except for 1 windy day and 1 rainy day. Small group of 18 with 2 leaders so good balance.

(5)

This program is a must for birders. Wide variety of birds in a spectacularly beautiful location with fabulous leaders.

(5)

The southern Arizona birding trip was a great outdoor adventure. Given that this trip took place in the winter we still saw quite a number of bird species, many native only to this region of the country. We braved a cold snap to hike in a number of canyons, but we also gathered in one place to observe hummingbirds and other birds at two different birds feeding centers. Take to heart the program information about bringing along layers of clothing and a sturdy, comfortable pair of shoes. Particularly memorable was the bird walk on the Ft. Huachuca army base where we ate lunch in the post commissary. We drove through the tourist towns of Tombstone and Bisbee but our focus was on birding so we didn't have free time to explore. Perhaps future programs will build in some free time to roam around one of these towns or take a short side trip to the border town of Nogales. And as always, an interesting and friendly Road Scholar group. You can be a casual birder to enjoy this trip.

(5)

We enjoyed the birding bonanza very much and the experience exceeded our expectations. The chance to see life list birds, wildlife and flora of the region was just what the doctor ordered to combat the winter doldrums. Matt and Malcolm are exceptionally engaging, personable, and knowledgeable. They make a fine team. Highly recommend this program to all- both seasoned birders and novice learners.

(5)

This was a great experience. I learned a lot and had some fun. I would definitely take another Road Scholar of of interest. I got my money's worth, and much more






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.