loading spinner
Morocco

Morocco: Melting Pot of Cultures

Program No. 7158RJ
Discover the vibrant culture of Morocco as you get hands-on with cooking classes, meet local artists, explore stunning landscapes and learn the complex story of this ancient land.
Length
17 days
Rating (4.9)
Activity Level
Starts at
5,949
Flights start at
1,000

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Feb 4 - Feb 20, 2023
Starting at
5,999
Feb 11 - Feb 27, 2023
Starting at
5,999
Feb 25 - Mar 13, 2023
Starting at
5,999
Mar 4 - Mar 20, 2023
Starting at
5,999
Mar 18 - Apr 3, 2023
Starting at
5,949
Apr 29 - May 15, 2023
Starting at
5,949
Sep 2 - Sep 18, 2023
Starting at
6,049
Sep 9 - Sep 25, 2023
Starting at
6,049
Sep 30 - Oct 16, 2023
Starting at
6,049
Oct 14 - Oct 30, 2023
Starting at
6,049
Nov 4 - Nov 20, 2023
Starting at
6,049
Feb 3 - Feb 20, 2024
Starting at
6,399
Feb 10 - Feb 27, 2024
Starting at
6,399
Mar 2 - Mar 19, 2024
Starting at
6,399
Mar 9 - Mar 26, 2024
Starting at
6,399
Apr 13 - Apr 30, 2024
Starting at
6,399
Sep 7 - Sep 24, 2024
Starting at
6,499
Sep 14 - Oct 1, 2024
Starting at
6,499
Oct 5 - Oct 22, 2024
Starting at
6,499
Oct 12 - Oct 29, 2024
Starting at
6,499
Nov 2 - Nov 19, 2024
Starting at
6,499
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Feb 4 - Feb 20, 2023
Starting at
7,359
Feb 11 - Feb 27, 2023
Starting at
7,359
Feb 25 - Mar 13, 2023
Starting at
7,359
Mar 4 - Mar 20, 2023
Starting at
7,359
Mar 18 - Apr 3, 2023
Starting at
7,309
Apr 29 - May 15, 2023
Starting at
7,299
Sep 2 - Sep 18, 2023
Starting at
7,419
Sep 9 - Sep 25, 2023
Starting at
7,419
Sep 30 - Oct 16, 2023
Starting at
7,419
Oct 14 - Oct 30, 2023
Starting at
7,419
Nov 4 - Nov 20, 2023
Starting at
7,419
Feb 3 - Feb 20, 2024
Starting at
7,759
Feb 10 - Feb 27, 2024
Starting at
7,759
Mar 2 - Mar 19, 2024
Starting at
7,759
Mar 9 - Mar 26, 2024
Starting at
7,759
Apr 13 - Apr 30, 2024
Starting at
7,759
Sep 7 - Sep 24, 2024
Starting at
7,879
Sep 14 - Oct 1, 2024
Starting at
7,879
Oct 5 - Oct 22, 2024
Starting at
7,879
Oct 12 - Oct 29, 2024
Starting at
7,879
Nov 2 - Nov 19, 2024
Starting at
7,879

At a Glance

Centuries of living mere miles from Europe and the Iberian Peninsula impressed upon the indigenous Berber people of northern Africa the imprint of a long parade of invaders, settlers and colonists. The result is today’s Morocco, a modern nation where a blend of Arabic, Berber and European heritage infuses every souk, square, medina and oasis.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles daily over varied terrain. Elevations up to 7,200 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Watch the sun set over the desert, then enjoy traditional Moroccan music under the stars.
  • Enjoy hands-on Moroccan cooking lessons.
  • Discuss some of the issues facing modern Morocco.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Farah Cherif D'Ouezzan
Farah Cherif D’Ouezzan founded the Center for Cross-Cultural Learning in 1995. She is presently its General Director as well as the President of Thaqafat Association. Her academic interest is in research on comparative religion with a focus on teaching Islam from a cross-cultural perspective. Farah holds a degree in comparative Literature from Mohammed V University in Rabat and a certificate on Women and Gender Issues from the University of Hanover, Germany. She lectures and conducts seminars worldwide and in Morocco for Road Scholar.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Farah Cherif D'Ouezzan
Farah Cherif D'Ouezzan View biography
Farah Cherif D’Ouezzan founded the Center for Cross-Cultural Learning in 1995. She is presently its General Director as well as the President of Thaqafat Association. Her academic interest is in research on comparative religion with a focus on teaching Islam from a cross-cultural perspective. Farah holds a degree in comparative Literature from Mohammed V University in Rabat and a certificate on Women and Gender Issues from the University of Hanover, Germany. She lectures and conducts seminars worldwide and in Morocco for Road Scholar.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Morocco, The Islamist Awakening and Other Challenges
by Marvine Howe
A penetrating look at political, social and cultural life in Morocco under King Mohammed V, by a former New York Times correspondent.
Lonely Planet Moroccan Arabic Phrasebook
by Dan Bacon
This handy phrasebook includes pronunciation, basic grammar and essential vocabulary.
Morocco Courtyards and Gardens
by Achva Benzinberg Stein
Splendid color photographs and aerial views of the palaces, mosques, and signature walled gardens of Fez, Marrakech, and Rabat.
In Arabian Nights, A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams
by Tahir Shah
Shah (The Caliph's House) weaves his own family tradition of storytelling with commentary on Moroccan spiritual traditions, culture and history in this account of his adopted home on the sea in Casablanca.
Lonely Planet Fez Encounter
by Virginia Maxwell
A lively shirt pocket guide to the imperial city.
Shopping in Marrakech
by Susan Simon
Divided into seven separate walks through shopping areas, this small, handy guide with excellent maps is extremely helpful for navigating the labyrinthine mazes of Marrakech and its markets.
The Sheltering Sky
by Paul Bowles
Bowles' most famous work, by turns stark and transcendent, is a tale of three people whose lives unravel in the desert of North Africa. Originally published in 1949.
Marrakesh & Northern Morocco Map
by ITMB
Featuring a detailed walking map of the Medina and surrounding New Town on one side and a map of Northern Morocco at 1:740,000 on the reverse. With insets of Rabat and Tangier.
The Voices of Marrakesh, A Record of a Visit
by Elias Canetti
Canetti portrays the people and life of the city's bazaars, cafes, and streets in a series of acutely observed essays, including vivid sketches of the storytellers in the Djema el Fna, the everpresent beggars and rituals of Moroccan family life in the 1950s. Canetti is particularly good on the Marrakesh Mellah, the old but then still living Jewish quarter.
The Land of an African Sultan, Travels in Morocco
by Walter Harris
This classic by the intrepid Walter Harris, the Times correspondent in Tangiers from the 1890s to 1933, takes in the artists and eccentrics of Tangier, the darkness and decadence of the sultan's court In Marrakech, celebrated Fez, marvels of the High Atlas -- and his remarkable ride, in disguise, to Sheshouan -- the second of only three Christians ever to enter the Berber town.
Morocco Map
by Michelin Travel Publications
An excellent road map in the Michelin style, featuring city and town plans and a full place name index.
Eyewitness Guide Morocco
by Eyewitness Guides
Gorgeously illustrated and filled with excellent maps, this compact guide introduces Morocco's history, culture and attractions.
The Food of Morocco
by Paula Wolfert
A Mediterranean cuisine icon brings a lifetime of experience and taste to this gorgeously illustrated cookbook and cultural guide.
Islam, A Short History
by Karen Armstrong
Armstrong brings authority and experience to this vivid, clear-headed survey of the history and impact of Islam from the birth of Muhammad to present-day challenges. The best short introduction to the subject.
Dreams of Trespass, Tales of a Harem Girlhood
by Fatima Mernissi
This captivating memoir by one of Morocco’s most outspoken women opens, "I was born in a harem in 1940 in Fez, a ninth-century Moroccan city." Mernissi captures not only the spirit of the place, but also the hierarchy and decorum of a Muslim family compound.
Living in Morocco
by Stoeltie, Barbara and Rene
From exquisite rugs and textiles to vibrant mosaics, courtyards and homes, this gorgeous photographic collection celebrates the beauty and allure of Morocco's architecture, with a particular focus on interiors.
The Spider's House
by Paul Bowles
Set in Fez during a 1954 nationalist uprising, this richly descriptive novel may be the most evocative of Bowles' many works set in Morocco. Originally published in 1955.
Morocco, The Traveller's Companion
by Margar Bidwell (Editor)
Pepys, Defoe, Twain, Orwell and Wharton, as well as famous Muslim travelers such as Leo Africanus and a host of others -- merchants, sailors, consuls and scholars-- are all included.
Lords of the Atlas
by Gavin Maxwell
Set in the medieval city of Marrakech and the majestic kasbahs of the High Atlas mountains, this rousing history vividly portrays life in French colonial Morocco. Maxwell (Ring of Bright Water) follows the fate of the despotic Glaoui clan from 1893 to independence.
A Street in Marrakech, A Personal View of Urban Women in Morocco
by Elizabeth Warnock Fernea
Fernea's account of her unpredictable journey though the private and public world's of a traditional Muslim city includes marvelous descriptions of daily life in and around the medina in Marrakech.
Culture Smart! Morocco
by Jillian York
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Moroccan customs, etiquette and culture, by an author who lives and teaches there.
The Caliph's House, A Year in Casablanca
by Tahir Shah
Shah is a marvelous storyteller, weaving Moroccan customs and history with deft portraits of neighbors, craftsmen and others in this entertaining tale of the transformation of a crumbling palace in Casablanca.
In Morocco
by Edith Wharton
Wharton's enjoyable account of her month-long journey through Morocco after WWI captures the landscapes, architecture and many aspects of Muslim culture and history, and especially the cities of Rabat, Fez and Marrakech.
Living in Morocco
by Stoeltie, Barbara and Rene
From exquisite rugs and textiles to vibrant mosaics, courtyards and homes, this gorgeous photographic collection celebrates the beauty and allure of Morocco's architecture, with a particular focus on interiors.
A Year in Marrakesh
by Peter Mayne
This brilliantly entertaining, insightful classic account of Marrakesh captures the rhythm and spirit of life in the alleyways of the Medina in the 1950s.
Cadogan Guide Marrakesh, Fez and Rabat
by Barnaby Rogerson
This personal, comprehensive handbook combines Rogerson's insightful cultural and historical background with his savvy practical information and recommendations on what to see and where to stay and eat.
A Traveller's History of North Africa
by Barnaby Rogerson
Wide-ranging, accessible and effectively condensed, this brief history marches confidently through the centuries, covering key events and personalities in Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria to 1999.
Traditional Moroccan Cooking, Recipes from Fez
by Claudia Roden (Introduction), Madame Guinaudeau
First published in 1958, Madame Guinaudeau’s charming guide to Moroccan cuisine explores the rich culinary traditions of Fez with anecdotes, recipes, drawings and chapters on everything from choosing spices and preserving lemons to The Art of Making and Drinking Tea.
Marrakesh, Through Writers' Eyes
by Barnaby Rogerson (Editor), Stephen Lavington
A choice collection of travel writing on the Red City by 40 luminaries, including George Orwell, Winston Churchill, Gavin Maxwell and Peter Mayne.
30 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.9 Average
(5) Review left 11/25/2022

This is a great overview of Morocco's rich cultural, historical and ongoing contribution to the world. I highly recommend the trip but would prefer a bit more physical activity.

(3) Review left 11/22/2022

This program changed the way I think about Islam. For this reason alone, I think the trip is worthwhile. The organization running this trip in Morocco is the Center for Cross Cultural Learning, and they do an amazing job of giving trip participants a look into the culture of Islam and Morocco. The guide they use for many of their trips is Nabil, and he is everything you could ask for in a guide. However there is one very negative aspect of the trip you will have to consider before choosing Road Scholar to visit Morocco. Their group size is 24, and it is impossible to visit the crowded local markets with a group this size. All you can do is try to keep an eye on the back of the person in front of you. You can't stop to take a photo, or even gaze into a shop. It is very frustrating. The weather in Morocco in November is perfect - dry, with low humidity and temperatures ranging from 55 - 80. No trip is ever perfect, so you will have to decide if you are willing to live with the frustrations of a very large group to get the kind of quality educational content they offer.

(5) Review left 11/22/2022

The Morocco trip was delightful, and our guide Nabil was excellent. There are several long days on the bus, and everyone is able to have two seats, so you're not crowded. It's the only way you can get to the cities on the Atlantic coast and also experience the Sahara - and the camel ride! It's too bad that our "small group" consisted of 22 participants; that's a lot of people to gather all the time. For lots of details about this tour, feel free to read our blog here: http://www.mytripjournal.com/Lois_and_John_Morocco

(5) Review left 11/20/2022

Morocco: Melting Pot of Cultures was a wonderful way to discover the rich diverse culture of Morocco and to learn about the country's history and customs. The program is well-structured, the local guides were informative, and our group leader kept it fun and on track. A great trip!

(5) Review left 11/13/2022

If you have been intrigued by Morocco's unique geography, history and various cultures and want to explore the country in person, go with Road Scholar!

(5) Review left 11/02/2022

Our trip to Morocco with Road Scholar far exceeded our expectation. We found it to be a welcoming country with a fascinating history. We learned a great deal about its history, culture and people. We recommend it without any hesitation.

(5) Review left 11/02/2022

This program is terrific. Our guide, Nabil, made everything run smoothly and was very informative and fun. Morocco is amazing! You will learn more than you can imagine and see many interesting and varied areas of this beautiful country. The tent camp is an experience of a lifetime, don’t skip the camel ride! The Center for Cross Cultural Learning has put together a rich experience. So glad I went. Thanks again RS!

(5) Review left 10/06/2022

If you have ever thought about seeing Morocco, put this trip at the top of your bucket list. Morocco is rich in history, culture, cuisine, and architecture. it is a country that is diverse and also a feast for you senses. This tour was well organized with fantastic guides. There are some long days of bus rides but it's the only way to see the diversity of this beautiful country. I didn't want the trip to end.

(5) Review left 10/06/2022

My first Road Scholar experience was phenomenal! I now understand why others have raved about this tour company. Don’t miss the 17 day tour of Morocco.

(5) Review left 9/20/2022

Wow, a great trip. Full of information, sites, activities, etc. that were new and thought provoking. Go now, before it’s all too much for you.

(5) Review left 9/20/2022

The Moroccan Melting Pot tour was everything I was looking forward to and more. Our leader, Nabil, was outstanding in his knowledge and ability to explain many complex issues, always willing to clarify and take questions. We saw and experienced a tremendous variety of Moroccan culture, history and scenery and found the Moroccan people to be friendly and welcoming. Our driver, Mohamed, was pleasant, considerate, professional and very much appreciated. I was so thrilled to finally make this trip after several cancellations due to Covid and look forward to sharing this exotic journey with my friends and family. Jean G., Illinois, September 2022

(5) Review left 5/30/2022

The Road Scholar Program (#7158) Morocco: Melting Pot of Cultures was exactly that! The trip was fascinating from beginning to end, and our fabulous guide (Nabil) made the experience really educational and enjoyable. Morocco is a truly fascinating country and one worth exploring!

(5) Review left 5/26/2022

The tour of Morocco was very well organized, the trip leader and other presenters were first rate, the bus was very comfortable (important as we covered 2000 miles), the locations we visited were diverse and uniformly interesting and we had a simpatico group.

(5) Review left 5/25/2022

If you've ever thought of visiting Morocco, DO IT now with the Road Scholar Program. I learned so much about this amazingly colorful, historical, and unique country that surprised & delighted me and challenged & changed by beliefs about Muslims and Islam. Moroccans are some of the most friendly and respectful people I've met. The sites & sights and the beauty of this country should not be missed!

(5) Review left 4/14/2022

Morocco! Best travel experience of my life, go there soon!

(5) Review left 4/13/2022

An excellent way to experience a fascinating and diverse country

(5) Review left 11/12/2021

This trip was my twelfth Road Scholar adventure, and without a doubt one of my very favorites. Each activity was thoughtfully planned, and enhanced my knowledge and appreciation of Morocco’s history and culture. I was grateful to have read several books on the reading list beforehand, as I knew very little about Morocco’s history. Our leader was eager to share his vast knowledge, with great patience, warmth and humor. The four concerts each showcased a specific region’s cultural heritage, and added to my enjoyment of the program. The pace of the program was active, but not exhausting; I appreciated our free time and meals on our own for individual exploration. I heartily recommend this awesome program to anyone who thrives on experiencing different cultures.

(5) Review left 10/25/2021

Morocco is a great destination for serious travelers. It has a fascinating history, a complex present, friendly people, good food, and photo opportunities galore. Tourist infrastructure is fine (two of the hotels were marginal, a few were world class), and it is a safe country for visitors. This itinerary is well-conceived to give you an in-depth appreciation of Morocco's key cities and parts of the interior of the country. The founders of the Center for Cross Cultural Leadership, Farah and Abdelhay, are justifiably proud of their homeland and convey that to their guests with several informative presentations and their gracious hospitality. Our tour leader Nabil was extremely well-informed, and did an excellent job of sharing information and his own perspectives. He was also patient with some of the participants who struggled to keep the pace. To that point, this program involves a fair amount of walking on uneven surfaces, moving in crowded neighborhoods, and getting on/off the bus. Due to the distances covered to provide a full taste of the nation, there are long rides involved on a comfortable bus with frequent rest stops, a very safe driver (Mohamed), and onboard Wifi in most areas. Most of the Road Scholars thrived on the new adventures each day, learning from the interesting local guides, and discovering the medinas, architecture, music, costumes, and history. It is worth noting that the Road Scholar web site is incorrect in several important areas: The spacious desert tent DOES have an ensuite flush toilet, running water, and shower; the short and fun camel ride IS included; and, the impressive Majorelle Garden in Marrakech IS part of the tour. If you are curious and energetic, this Road Scholar program should be high on your wish list. And, again, if you are an avid photographer like me, you will be in heaven with the opportunities for photos around every corner.

(5) Review left 10/20/2021

I would suggest you be very honest with your physical abilities to do this trip. It is very physical. You may really want to do this trip, but it could be too difficult for you. The highlight for me was the camel ride and sleeping in tents in the desert. The tents have indoor plumbing and are luxurious, "glamcamping"

(5) Review left 10/19/2021

The Morocco: Melting Pot of Cultures is an outstanding educational program by the Center for Cross Cultural Learning (CCCL). You learn so much about their diverse cultures and history with the lectures, tours, musical performances, cooking demonstrations, unique cities, and the desert experience in the sand dunes staying in a tent camp. Even the camel ride was fun and everyone had a great time. The Moroccan people were so kind and thoughtful throughout the country. I felt thankful that we could travel again in the world despite the issues of safety of Covid. People wore face masks and did social distancing. The bus and hotels were clean/comfortable and we ate very healthy food. Morocco should be on your "bucket list" for places to visit. I highly recommend this Road Scholar tour with the CCCL's vision of helping us to understand multi-cultural differences through educational experiences.

(5) Review left 3/05/2020

As usual with Road Scholar, this Moroccan trip was very good.

(5) Review left 2/26/2020

This was the trip of a lifetime. Tops in information, experience and overall quality. Good value too. Highly recommended in all respects.

(5) Review left 11/13/2019

Wow! What a great couple of weeks. I don't think the program description adequately prepared me for the overall impact this program was going to have on me. I returned from this trip feeling it had entirely exceeded my expectations.

(5) Review left 4/22/2019

From alpine forests with snow on the ground through agricultural lands and a huge oasis to the Sahara dunes, Morocco has a remarkably diverse landscape. From cosmopolitan cities to small rural communities and ancient medinas and marketplaces we saw a broad range of lifestyles. With all this and considering this our first visit to a muslim country, our exceptional study leader Nabil Akabli brought us an amazing experience.

(5) Review left 4/20/2019

What an interesting adventure this was! We learned so much about a different culture and part of the world with a very long history. I didn't expect the magnificent landscape of the country which made bus rides pass quickly while I watched the beautiful farm lands and mountains. There was a variety of little villages of 1800 people to a big city of 4.5 million people! Modern cities and donkeys and sheep. Malls and winding market stalls. Unexpected splendor.

(5) Review left 4/12/2019

I recommend this trip, Morocco: Melting Pot of Cultures, for anyone who has an interest in Africa or Islam but who feels need of a cultural guide to make the most of an exploratory visit. The trip design and the educational content were handled superbly by the Center for Cross-Cultural Learning, Rabat and by our gifted guide.

(4) Review left 3/24/2019

Morocco is a stunningly beautiful country with a very interesting history and culture. The educational content covered historical and modern themes and I came away understanding more about what makes Morocco unique among Islamic countries. The camel trek and overnight in the Sahara desert should be a bucket list item for everyone.

(5) Review left 3/24/2019

We discovered a fascinating country and culture with an outstanding guide.....

(5) Review left 3/03/2019

Morocco !! This one is not to be missed. For all you RS frequent flyers (20+), Morocco will rank up there with your best.

(5) Review left 2/27/2019

This was an excellent program that provided opportunity for an in-depth understanding of the many and varied aspects of Moroccan life, culture and history.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.