loading spinner
Maine

Hiking in Acadia National Park

Program No. 6125RJ
Hike and learn about the oldest National Park east of the Mississippi, exploring century-old hiking trails, the east coast’s only fjord, Mt. Desert Island and savoring a lobster feast!
Length
6 days
Rating (4.86)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,749

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
1,749
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
1,849
Jun 11 - Jun 16, 2023
Starting at
1,849
Jul 16 - Jul 21, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Jul 23 - Jul 28, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Sep 24 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
1,899
Oct 16 - Oct 21, 2023
Starting at
1,899
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
2,349
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Jun 11 - Jun 16, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Jul 16 - Jul 21, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Jul 23 - Jul 28, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Sep 24 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Oct 16 - Oct 21, 2023
Starting at
2,499

At a Glance

Discover why Acadia National Park is a hiker’s paradise as you explore trails that offer a variety of challenging terrain and majestic scenery. Led by Registered Maine Guides and other naturalists, this program vividly demonstrates why lovers of the outdoors are drawn to Mount Desert Island from throughout the U.S. to walk the scenic peaks and picturesque valleys of Acadia. Breathtaking views are your reward for each hike completed!
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Hiking for 4-6 hours per day at a comfortable pace. Participants should be physically fit and have prior hiking experience. Please see Program Dates and Prices and Date Specific Information for details.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Experience amazing hikes on Mount Desert Island include Cadillac Mountain and “Ocean Drive.”
  • Explore the geology of this area where mountains rise out of the sea and examine the fascinating flora and fauna.
  • Learn from a Maine lobster expert how the crustaceans are captured (with authentic gear and live lobsters!) after you enjoy a real Down East lobster dinner.

General Notes

Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Lauren Tucker
Lauren Tucker spent years as a marketing executive before returning to her first love, Mount Desert Island. She has extensive knowledge of the island, its wonders and its hidden charms. She enjoys sharing her affinity for the island with Road Scholars.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Lauren Tucker
Lauren Tucker View biography
Lauren Tucker spent years as a marketing executive before returning to her first love, Mount Desert Island. She has extensive knowledge of the island, its wonders and its hidden charms. She enjoys sharing her affinity for the island with Road Scholars.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Discover Acadia National Park: AMCs Guide To The Best Hiking, Biking and Paddling
by Jerry and Marcy Monkman
Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park: An Informal History
by Sargent Collier
Field Guide To Acadia National Park, Maine
by Russell Butcher
36 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.86 Average
(5) Review left 10/23/2022

An amazing positive, thoroughly enjoyable experience that pushed my limits a bit, stretched my imagination and muscles. Made new friends of us pilgrims and instructors alike. Unforgettable. Thank you all.

(5) Review left 10/23/2022

Excellent in every way! The scenery was amazing; the hikes were challenging but do-able; the leaders were entertaining and informative; the accommodations were excellent and well-located; and the group was fun and cohesive. Add this trip to your bucket list!

(5) Review left 10/22/2022

Acadia National Park is beautiful in the fall!

(5) Review left 10/22/2022

Delightful trip. Very diverse in what experience and see. The grab and go sandwiches were superb!

(5) Review left 10/21/2022

Our trip to Acadia was our first with Road Scholar. We have always traveled by ourselves. This was an awesome trip. Glenn, Linda and Michael and our two sweeps were just genuine people. Our group was diverse and I loved hearing about their journey's in life.

(5) Review left 10/03/2022

Wonderful hiking and educational experience. The biking added a new element to the adventure we had not experienced before. The choosen hikes were good and the photo ops were excellent. Our leader,Linda, was the best ever. Be prepared physically to enjoy the trip fully.

(5) Review left 10/02/2022

Mount Desert Island is a true gem for hikers and riders and climbers. Miles and miles of trails and everywhere awe-inspiring views. Again, let Road Scholar lead you !!

(5) Review left 9/27/2022

This was a wonderful program….a perfect introduction to Acadia. The hiking was more challenging than we expected, but doable for everyone in our group. Beautiful places, wonderful experiences and very helpful guides. This was a well-organized and very enjoyable trip. I highly recommend it.

(5) Review left 9/24/2022

An excellent program. Our guides were very flexible and rearranged trails and programs around the weather. They made it all fun. The area is beautiful. The strenuous hikes were rewarded with awesome views.

(5) Review left 9/21/2022

Unforgettable hiking experience. Highly recommended. But. I have been on over 30 hiking trips sponsored by Road Scholar and other organizations. This trip is called "spirited." I label it "challenging." The three hikes are relatively short. The trails are mountainous and are well marked. There is considerable rock scrambling and many steps almost beyond the reach of my short legs. Hiking poles are encouraged. Context. At 79, I was the oldest participant, but two others were 78, one was 76. We all made it, but with help at times from the younger and stronger. I and two others were usually at the back "caboosing." Never so far back that others were bothered. This trip was advertised as having NO less challenging hiking options. The educational offerings were before the start of hiking which worked very well. Our group leader, Linda S, is outstanding; she worked hard to accommodate everyone's needs. Barry, who drove our bus, was a real asset. And the weather was perfect and the views spectacular.

(5) Review left 9/19/2022

Excellent program in a breathtakingly beautiful setting. Linda and Glenn are outstanding organizers, speakers, and guides. Linda made sure everyone was comfortable with the hikes she chose for our group, and Glenn was very entertaining and knowledgeable about the subjects he covered. The hikes were strenuous but rewarding. The bike ride was fun and a nice break from the hikes. There was also just the right amount of free time. I highly recommend this program.

(5) Review left 9/19/2022

This was my first Road Scholar trip and my first time traveling alone. Everyone was so friendly. I made new friends and really enjoyed the program. I can’t wait to take another Road Scholar trip!

(5) Review left 9/18/2022

This was a fabulous program. Our leader, Linda, was the best I have had on my 6 Road Scholar trips. The hiking was super with everyone accommodated at their level. Maine is truly beautiful and I enjoyed the history and stories that we were entertained with by Glenn. This trip is a must!

(5) Review left 9/09/2022

The best trip-I did the July 2022 week and was over too fast! Everyone & everything was so well organized & hiking was the best. The staff was phenomenal-information was forthcoming, some history of the area which is beautiful & accommodations were great. Would do it again. Sharon Stanaland

(5) Review left 8/08/2022

A wonderful trip - great 1st experience in Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. I understand why people love it so much!

(5) Review left 7/31/2022

Well done website.

(5) Review left 7/31/2022

I highly recommend this extraordinary experience because of the location and the staff. I am a serious walker but the hiking up the rough, rocky terrain was a new experience for me and extremely challenging. The knowledgeable and skillful guides helped me reach new levels of strength and ability, but I would discourage anyone who is not game for the challenge to look for other great trips to Acadia.

(5) Review left 7/02/2022

This was a really great trip. The people who organized it were all really nice people who worked hard to make sure that everyone had a good time and also to make it educational. The variety of activities was very good and the park itself is fabulous. Bar Harbor (where we stayed) is very touristy but is nice and there are lots of good restaurants there and places to shop. Bar Harbor is a bit of a distance from Bangor so if you are flying to Bangor, it takes nearly an hour to get to Bar Harbor and transportation options are limited. I suggest letting Road Scholar arrange your transportation.

(5) Review left 6/20/2022

Amazing beauty and history rolled together, Stepping over rocks and roots to discover what has brought people back over and over again. It is not just popovers.

(5) Review left 6/17/2022

I would highly recommend Roads Scholar tours. I will use this company again!! Very organized and guides are extremely knowledgeable! Great adventures!!

(5) Review left 6/13/2022

This Acadia hiking program will provide experiences and knowledge of one of the nation's gems that the average tourist does not get.

(5) Review left 5/22/2022

Hiking in Acadia was a vigorous, yet doable, trek in a beautiful part of the USA.

(1) Review left 5/20/2022

I am extremely satisfied with this tour and would highly recommend it to others.

(5) Review left 10/18/2021

Hiking in Arcadia National Park is a wonderful trip filled with great outdoor activity along with a wonderful history of this area-Highly Recommend this program. Nina Carns Fall of 2021

(5) Review left 10/04/2021

Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park are amazing! Linda is a wonderful leader; Paul made sure we got where we needed to go; and Glenn's presentations were educational and humorous! Two thumbs up!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 1/14/2020

This was a wonderful trip! Our Group Leader and Instructor were top notch, and the hiking was invigorating. Acadia is a beautiful place, and it was so wonderful to be able to learn about the history from our amazing storyteller, Glenn.

(5) Review left 7/14/2019

EXCELLENT trip!! The leaders were knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating to the groups interests and needs. LOVED It!! Will highly recommend to others.

(5) Review left 7/12/2019

Terrific trip! Good, hard hikes to get your heart pumping, outstanding views of wonderful scenery, excellent leaders (shout out to Bill) and - in our case - a positive, engaging and supportive group. Can't think of any way to improve on it.

(5) Review left 7/12/2019

Really a great experience. Wonderful, knowledgeable leaders & a great group of participants.

(5) Review left 6/25/2019

This program was well led, wonderful accommodations, beautiful hikes. I loved that the schedule of hikes was adjusted because of weather concerns, but there were no disappointments! Every hike was done, bike ride enjoyed....

(5) Review left 6/22/2019

All the staff became quick friends.

(5) Review left 6/16/2019

A wonderful immersion into the rugged scenery of Acadia with interesting history of humans and nature. Strenuous exercise was balanced with down time. Thoroughly enjoyable!

(5) Review left 6/16/2019

This trip was such a fun and rewarding experience! Great leaders, and a wonderful group of people to share hikes with. The hiking was challenging, but well within my abilities. The views at the top of the mountains we hiked on were spectacular! And we received good information about Acadia National Park and its origins, as well as the business of lobstering. Comfortable accommodations and good food, too. I highly recommend this program.

(4) Review left 6/09/2019

Bar Harbor is a beautiful community and fun to be in. The trip was worthwhile because of the location. If your looking for good hiking programs, there are others that are much better.

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

It was cold, it rained, it was foggy...and it was still a great time. The Maine coast is unpredictable weather-wise but it never disappoints in grandeur and beauty.

(5) Review left 5/20/2019

This program was everything I expected and more. The staff was accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. The hiking distances and level of difficulty were appropriately rated. In spite of the rain and cold, I had a wonderful time. Bar Harbor is really a beautiful place to visit. Our leader Bill did a fabulous job in showing us the highlights and expressing his love for the region. Thank you Bill, and many thanks to Lauren, our program director for facilitating and organizing the whole experience!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.