loading spinner
Massachusetts

Boston: Birthplace of American Liberty

Program No. 5717RJ
Explore Boston, a city of great social and cultural heritage, as you visit its landmarks and learn about revolutionary events alongside scholarly experts and friendly locals.
Length
6 days
Rating (4.82)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,849

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 7 - May 12, 2023
Starting at
1,849
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
1,849
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
1,849
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
1,949
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
1,949
Oct 8 - Oct 13, 2023
Starting at
1,949
Oct 15 - Oct 20, 2023
Starting at
1,949
May 5 - May 10, 2024
Starting at
1,999
May 12 - May 17, 2024
Starting at
2,099
Jun 2 - Jun 7, 2024
Starting at
2,199
Sep 8 - Sep 13, 2024
Starting at
2,199
Sep 15 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
2,199
Oct 6 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
2,199
Oct 13 - Oct 18, 2024
Starting at
2,199
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 7 - May 12, 2023
Starting at
2,599
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
2,699
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
2,699
Oct 8 - Oct 13, 2023
Starting at
2,699
Oct 15 - Oct 20, 2023
Starting at
2,699
May 5 - May 10, 2024
Starting at
2,949
May 12 - May 17, 2024
Starting at
3,049
Jun 2 - Jun 7, 2024
Starting at
3,119
Sep 8 - Sep 13, 2024
Starting at
3,119
Sep 15 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
3,119
Oct 6 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
3,119
Oct 13 - Oct 18, 2024
Starting at
3,119

At a Glance

Discover one of America’s most historic cities by retracing the steps of Samuel Adams, John Hancock and Paul Revere. Learn how American independence was born in Massachusetts as you walk along the Freedom Trail. Led by expert instructors, explore the city’s historic sites such as Faneuil Hall and Bunker Hill, beacons of Boston’s revolutionary past.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to 2.5 miles per day; some cobblestones and hills.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Explore the Boston Massacre site, Granary Burying Ground, Old South Meeting House and the Old State House.
  • Visit Paul Revere’s home in Boston’s historic North End neighborhood, and see where the famed lanterns were hung at the Old North Church.
  • Relive the first days of the Revolution at Old North Bridge, along the path from Lexington to Concord.

General Notes

Public transportation and ferries used.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Charles Bahne
Charles Bahne is a Boston historian and author of "The Complete Guide to Boston’s Freedom Trail and Chronicles of Old Boston." Charlie graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a major in Urban Studies and Planning, focusing on urban history. He then worked in some of the city’s historic sites and museums, and became a seasonal Park Ranger with Boston National Historical Park. He left the National Park Service in 1985 to publish his Freedom Trail book, which has now sold more than 500,000 copies. Since 1997, Charlie has also taught many Road Scholar programs about Boston and its role in the American Revolution.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Charles Bahne
Charles Bahne View biography
Charles Bahne is a Boston historian and author of "The Complete Guide to Boston’s Freedom Trail and Chronicles of Old Boston." Charlie graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a major in Urban Studies and Planning, focusing on urban history. He then worked in some of the city’s historic sites and museums, and became a seasonal Park Ranger with Boston National Historical Park. He left the National Park Service in 1985 to publish his Freedom Trail book, which has now sold more than 500,000 copies. Since 1997, Charlie has also taught many Road Scholar programs about Boston and its role in the American Revolution.
Profile Image of Nancy Coolidge
Nancy Coolidge View biography
After graduating from Mount Holyoke College, Nancy Coolidge attended the Harvard-Radcliffe Program in business administration and subsequently worked in a bank trust department. In 1979, she became a founding Trustee of the Lynch Foundation. She later moved to the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities (SPNEA), where she served as staff director from 1983 to 1992. She has since led groups to maritime Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Scandinavia, and Antarctica. She continues her work with the Lynch Foundation.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Lexington and Concord: The Beginning of the War of the American Revolution
by Arthur Bernon Tourtellot
A detailed yet readable history of the events of April 19, 1775.
The Minutemen and their World
by Robert A. Gross
A fascinating study of the farmers and townsmen of Concord in the years before they gathered at North Bridge.
The Glorious Cause: The American Revolution, 1763–1789
by Robert Middlekauff
From "The Oxford History of the United States" series, a good one-volume study of the Revolution from both a political and military perspective.
Decisive Day: The Battle for Bunker Hill
by Richard M. Ketchum
A readable narrative of the first major battle of the American Revolution.
Defiance of the Patriots: The Boston Tea Party & the Making of America
by Benjamin L. Carp
A good discussion of the issues and events that culminated in the destruction of the tea in 1773.
A New Age Now Begins: A People's History of the American Revolution
by Page Smith
The best detailed history of the American Revolution; part of the author's eight-volume history of the United States.
The Muse of the Revolution: The Secret Pen of Mercy Otis Warren and the Founding of a Nation
by Nancy Rubin Stuart
The story of a remarkable woman sister of one leading patriot and wife of another who played a surprising role in shaping political thinking during the Revolution, then wrote an early history of those events.
Paul Revere’s Ride
by David Hackett Fischer
A modern history of events that led up to the famous ride, and of the fighting that occurred later that day.
Founding Myths: Stories That Hide Our Patriotic Past
by Ray Raphael
Examines some legends of the American Revolution that have become “accepted fact” in our history books, and digs out the story of what really happened.
The First American Revolution: Before Lexington and Concord
by Ray Raphael
Tells the little-known story of how residents of rural Massachusetts effectively overthrew the royal government, without force, seven months before the first shots were fired.
1776
by David McCullough
The story of one momentous year, from the evacuation of Boston through the disastrous New York campaign. The illustrated edition includes reproductions of significant historical documents.
As If an Enemy's Country: The British Occupation of Boston and the Origins of Revolution
by Richard Archer
Describes events that led up to the Boston Massacre, and the Massacre itself.
Masquerade: The Life and Times of Deborah Sampson
by Alfred F. Young
True story of a young woman who enlisted and served in the Continental Army.
Paul Revere and the World He Lived In
by Esther Forbes
Although it was published 70 years ago, this outstanding book is still the best available overview of what happened in Boston in the 1760s and 1770s. Not just a biography of Paul Revere, it describes life and politics during this tumultuous period. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize.
24 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.82 Average
(5) Review left 10/24/2022

My mother and I had a wonderful time! We had been planning this trip for several years and were finally able to do it. I enjoyed it it much more than I thought I would and learned a lot along the way. The combination of historical learning and fun was just right. We also had a great group of people and really enjoyed their company. A wonderful trip all the way around!

(5) Review left 10/23/2022

This was one of the best RS programs I have attended (11 total). The organization was excellent, very informative and engaging lectures by noted and published scholars, accommodations the best I've had on RS trips.

(5) Review left 10/16/2022

Our Boston trip was our first "post Pandemic" travel experience. What a great time! Shannon is an excellent group leader. It was fun, educational and enriching. Highly recommended! Plus the food is yummy!

(5) Review left 9/21/2022

This program is full of history, visiting major sights and historical buildings. Shannon Keller was a fantastic, energetic, knowledgable, helpful leader. Charlie Bahne had a book full of knowledge and very informative of the history of Boston, revolutionary war and all that lead up to the war. This program is definitely keep your pace program.

(5) Review left 9/17/2022

One of the most educational tours we have ever taken. Charlie Bahne literally wrote the book about touring Boston’s Revolutionary War history.

(1) Review left 9/16/2022

Great program for life long learners!

(5) Review left 9/16/2022

If you like history, this is the program for you.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 6/27/2022

Awesome!! Shannon was the perfect guide/coordinator and Charlie was a fantastic tour guide. Very much enjoyed the group and made some great new friends. Highly recommend the Boston Birthplace of America tour!

(5) Review left 6/26/2022

It was one of the best we've had from any source. We recieved an email about a review and have answered about some features that could be better as well as thanks for an overall really excellently presented event.

(5) Review left 6/25/2022

A wonderful experience! An all-inclusive program that makes it easy to immerse yourself in history! The Freedom Trail is a trip every American should take to better understand the beginnings of self-government and independence.

(5) Review left 6/25/2022

Fabulous location, timely content and a very fun group! Loved learning about the American Revolution on-site!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 5/26/2022

It was a compact trip... start Sunday eve,...done by Friday noon. Guide - Charles Bahne and Nancy Coolidge were both very competent and helpful. It was good they gave us a week pass to the T subway.. We used that WED afternoon and Friday AM to see some extra things. (e.g. Museum of fine arts, Fenway Baseball park, Christian Science Center. Easy to get to Logan. We did Uber for $20 per couple... Food was maybe too much with a big breakfast buffet at Hyatt Regency every day.. The bus tours in the city were maybe rushed with 30 people on the bus, we could not see what Charlie was seeing. We did get a sense of the traffic issues in Boston - Hence the "Big Dig". This was our first time to New England so it was good to sense the culture there.

(5) Review left 5/23/2022

The Freedom Trail trip in Boston was wonderful. It was my first Road Scholar trip and I really enjoyed it. The expert guide was fantastic, and really brought the history to life. The hotel was located close to many of the historic sites. We arrived a day early and explored the area by foot. Boston Common and City Park are beautiful and very close to the hotel.

(5) Review left 5/22/2022

What a terrific way to learn more about the true patriots of America and what makes our country so special: "We always had governed ourselves, and we always meant to."

(5) Review left 5/21/2022

Very informative.

(5) Review left 5/19/2022

This was our first Road Scholar trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I had never been to Boston. The hotel was located near the Boston Common (beautiful park) and there were many historical sites within walking distance. The program was very interesting and the instructor was fantastic. Highly recommend it.

(5) Review left 11/02/2021

Boston is a walkable town with history on every corner and this adventure covered many of those corners. New England in the Fall was a great bonus feature of the tour. Jim Carroll, New Jersey

(5) Review left 10/10/2021

Full historical tour of Boston with professional tour leaders who know this area inside out. Hotel and local restaurants easy walking distance or hop on a subway. We walked, at ages 69 and 76, as the area is mostly flat within Boston. Visited outlaying areas of Lexington and Concord by bus tour. Lots of extra sites described while on bus so you could go back to visit. We highly recommend this tour.

(5) Review left 9/16/2021

The program was excellent, and the leaders were all professional. Enjoyed every minute of the trip. Looking forward to our trip in 2022. The Thompsons, Owensboro, Kentucky

(5) Review left 7/08/2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this program on Boston; I had a fabulous time. Everything was well organized, and the location/hotel was fantastic. All the different speakers were engaging and interesting; there was a wealth of historical information to be gleaned. I gained a new and more personal perspective on what all led up to America declaring its independence from England, the courage it took for those early colonists to undertake such an action, and a gratitude to them for doing just that. It made me appreciate more fully what the 4th of July represents. So glad I took this adventure!

(5) Review left 6/29/2019

One of the best 29 programs in which I have participated. Lectures on point, sights and sites historic, important and interesting. Excellent hotel location within walking distance of everything. Luncheons and dinners with special and varied Road Scholar menu. Excellent food. Outstand leader and lecturer.

(5) Review left 6/29/2019

A must see program for American Revolution History enthusiasts.

(5) Review left 6/28/2019

Awesome experience! Money well spent. Easy at every level.

(5) Review left 6/18/2019

A well conducted, organized tour with excellent speakers. This tour allowed me to see all the highlights of Boston, with an educational component that enhanced the whole experience.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.