loading spinner
Wyoming

Choose Your Pace: Hiking in Grand Teton and Yellowstone

Program No. 4937RJ
Hike past hot springs and geysers at your pace, learn about thermal features and wildlife and ride a tram up Rendezvous Mountain for a new perspective on Yellowstone & the Grand Tetons.
Length
7 days
Rating (4.81)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,499

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jul 2 - Jul 8, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Aug 13 - Aug 19, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Aug 20 - Aug 26, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Aug 27 - Sep 2, 2023
Starting at
2,499
Sep 10 - Sep 16, 2023
Starting at
2,499
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jul 2 - Jul 8, 2023
Starting at
3,149
Aug 13 - Aug 19, 2023
Starting at
3,149
Aug 20 - Aug 26, 2023
Starting at
3,149
Aug 27 - Sep 2, 2023
Starting at
3,149
Sep 10 - Sep 16, 2023
Starting at
3,149

At a Glance

Explore the magnificent trails of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks during an active, adventurous week. Split into small groups based on your desired level of challenge each day and hike amongst geysers, hot springs and fumaroles as you investigate the geologic forces that shaped the region. Ride the aerial tram at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort 4,139 vertical feet to the top of Rendezvous Mountain for an alpine experience you will never forget.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Choose Your Pace
Each day, choose from multiple hiking options based on your desired level of challenge and pace, ranging from 3-7 miles, moderate to difficult, on varied terrain. Elevations range from 6,000 to 10,450 feet above sea level. Elevation gains and losses for each hike range from 400 feet to 1500 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Experience the Old Faithful Geyser Basin of Yellowstone National Park and its many geysers and other thermal features.
  • Discover the diversity of animals in this ecosystem that contains one of the highest concentrations of large mammals in the country.
  • Evening programs will highlight wildlife biology, issues and controversies taking place in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem.

General Notes

In keeping with the communal nature of the school, guests are asked to perform lights chores during their stay. Roommate matching is unavailable for solo travelers on this program.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Group Leader
Your Group Leader will be a Teton Science Schools Instructor who has diverse experience working with the flora and fauna of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. The group leader is yet to be assigned; the assignment will be announced during Orientation on Day 1 of your program.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Group Leader
Group Leader View biography
Your Group Leader will be a Teton Science Schools Instructor who has diverse experience working with the flora and fauna of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. The group leader is yet to be assigned; the assignment will be announced during Orientation on Day 1 of your program.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Letters from Yellowstone
by Diane Smith
At the end of the 19th century, an intrepid young woman joins a scientific research team in Yellowstone National Park, to the surprise of the other members of the expedition. This historical fiction brings Yellowstone and the surrounding region at the turn of the 19th century to life.
Common Wildflowers of Grand Teton National Park
by Charles Craighead
This small pocket guidebook includes more than 100 of the most common wildflowers in Grand Teton National Park. Photographs are by award-winning photographer Henry H. Holdsworth, and descriptions are by naturalist Charles Craighead. Small enough to carry on a hike and focused only on the areas we will be hiking, this book is a great option for participants who want to look up wildflowers while they hike!
Windows into the Earth, the Geologic Story of Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks
by Lee J. Siegel and Robert B. Smith
A geologic history and tour of the northern Rockies, particularly Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park.
American Wolf
by Nate Blakeslee
One of the most recent wolf books published, American Wolf chronicles the story of O-six, an alpha female named for the year of her birth who became one of the most celebrated wolves of Yellowstone. The book tells the gripping story of a powerful wolf, while also telling the larger story of the ongoing cultural clash in the west. *Available for purchase on Amazon.com or Powells.com*
Camping in Wyoming: A 1910 Wedding Trip to Yellowstone National Park
by Mariam Lawton Clayton
In 1910, newly married Marian ventured by train from Kansas to Rock Springs, WY, the starting point for a honeymoon in Yellowstone. This book was made from her handwritten journal and includes some of her photographs. Short, sweet, and honest, it is the tale of a grand adventure for the time, and provides a unique picture of the world's first national park. Available at Blue Creek Press and Amazon. http://bluecreekpress.com/books/camping-in-wyoming/.
Searching for Yellowstone, Ecology and Wonder in the Last Wilderness
by Paul D. Schullery
An engaging social and environmental history of Yellowstone from the Pleistocene to the present focusing on the park since its founding in 1872. Schullery has worked in Yellowstone as a ranger, a historian and the chief of cultural resources.
Wapiti Wilderness
by Olaus and Margaret Murie
Margaret and Olaus Murie made their home in the Tetons for over thirty-seven years. During this time, Olaus Murie conducted studies of the American elk, the wapiti, and both he and Mardy worked tirelessly for conservation efforts and the preservation of wilderness. Wapiti Wilderness tells the story of their adventurous life raising children while conducting research in the Tetons. This book is available at the Teton Science Schools gift shop.
16 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.81 Average
(5) Review left 9/21/2022

This was our first RS trip and it was wonderful. We had 15 participants and amazing guides/leaders from the Teton Science School. Our guides made the week! They were positive, always upbeat, and a wealth of information about the area, including geology, flora and fauna. Our hikes were varied, which allowed us to see the Tetons, lakes, geothermal features in Yellowstone, and even some hail and snow showers! It was great fun with a lovely group of people. We could never have seen it all if we went on our own.

(5) Review left 9/17/2022

We had a fabulous time exploring the Tetons and Yellowstone on this trip. Our leaders were fabulous! I loved their enthusiasm, knowledge, patience and organization! I would definitely recommend this trip!

(5) Review left 9/13/2022

Wonderful trip! Be aware that the rocky terrain and the inclines are strenuous. But overall glad there were hiking choices.

(5) Review left 9/06/2022

This program was outstanding. Both Yellowstone and the Tetons are breath taking. However, what really made the trip were the team leaders and the overall management by Teton Science Schools. Alex, Miles, Rebecca, and Audra worked together seamlessly and provided technical expertise as well as hiking ability. There were only 12 hikers, but we still broke out into 3 groups that varied from day to day. I did the most difficult hike a few times and then did the moderate hike a few times, depending on how I felt and the exposure on the trail. The team adapted to the individual needs of the group, so if you needed to be challenged or wanted to take it slow and easy, each and every one was accommodated. An unexpected treasure on the last day was the National Wildlife Museum of Art. It is not to be missed. I wished I had a later flight so I could have spent more time there. I heartily recommend this program and it is worthy of at least 5 stars.

(4) Review left 9/04/2022

A very well organized and implemented program with excellent group leaders, extraordinary scenery and jaw-dropping processes of nature seen and explained so meaningfully. Kudos to Road Scholar for making possible such a life-changing, memorable cascade of diverse experiences!

(5) Review left 8/31/2022

Really enjoyed hiking at the Tetons and Yellowstone. Saw more of the parks than I would have on my own. Accommodations are "rustic" or dorm style so be prepared for that.

(5) Review left 8/30/2022

Wyoming hosts beautiful western scenery and climate. I enjoyed the hiking a lot. If you exercise moderately you can take the most difficult hikes Meeting others and sharing travel stories makes this adventure even more fun.

(5) Review left 8/28/2022

You have to make your own travel arrangements. Make sure you have layers of clothing, hats & sunscreen. Enjoy the experience & beauty of WY!!

(4) Review left 8/22/2022

Both Grand Teton and Yellowstone are spectacularly beautiful places not to be missed by nature lovers. If you don't do this trip, which was great, find some way to get there! Unforgettable!

(5) Review left 8/21/2022

If you want to learn more about other parts of this amazing world we live in I highly recommend Road Scholar!

(5) Review left 7/18/2022

A great trip exploring 2 very different sites. Being able to choose your preferred hiking difficulty is a big plus.

(5) Review left 1/08/2022

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this program Sept. 19-25, 2021. We saw much wildlife. I liked having a choice from among three hikes each day. It allowed everyone to enjoy the parks “at our own pace.” I also liked the small group of 18 which gave us opportunities for sightseeing, hiking, and dining that bus tours do not have. Finally, I liked having the opportunity to "borrow" clothes and equipment during the program. Staff at Teton Science Schools were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Picnic lunches from the Persephone Bakery in Jackson were excellent. I had read on a travel forum about reserving accommodations in Yellowstone one year in advance. I’m glad that I did not have deal with that-- Road Scholar took care of it all. I highly recommend this program.

(5) Review left 10/06/2021

The entire group experience with program leaders who shared their knowledge and love of the wilderness and these two national parks was one I will always remember. I came home wanting to learn more about the geology and ecology of the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. As a flatlander, not used to hiking on mountain trails, I was challenged by even the slowest pace hikes. The positive encouragement from group leaders and fellow participants was wonderful and I managed to keep up. I’m glad I did it! Hopefully, the effects of Covid, understaffing and no indoor dining at the Canyon Eatery in Canyon Village will be remedied for future travelers. We all managed “breakfast in a box” outside (or sitting in the chilly van) in 20°+ weather in good spirits … just part of the adventure! Great group of folks, great experience.

(5) Review left 9/26/2021

Hiking at your own pace options makes this trip very doable. Hiking 5 days in a row can be physically challenging so having the option to choose easy, moderate or challenging hikes is perfect. Of course, the weather was perfect which made the scenery even more spectacular.

(4) Review left 9/05/2021

The parks have many options that most visitors do not access. Road Scholar leaders arranged these for us and took care of all the logistics to enjoy them fully. The wonderful, caring, and intelligent leaders led the hikes and taught us well. The 'choose your pace' hikes did offer a wide range daily. From prior trips, the last day's Alpine Hike fits the true 'challenging' label while the previous days were more moderate - just a personal perspective. Great trip!

(5) Review left 7/14/2019

A perfect trip with adequate physical and educational activity for interactive and nature-loving people.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.