loading spinner
3788
Canadian Maritimes

The Best of the Canadian Maritimes

Explore Cape Breton Highlands National Park, learn about maritime history at the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic and visit the Hopewell Rocks in the beautiful Canadian Maritimes.
Rating (4.9)
Program No. 3788RJ
Length
12 days
Starts at
3,199
Canadian Maritimes

The Best of the Canadian Maritimes

Explore Cape Breton Highlands National Park, learn about maritime history at the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic and visit the Hopewell Rocks in the beautiful Canadian Maritimes.
Length
12 days
Starts at
3,199
Program No. 3788 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 21 - Jul 2, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,749
Jun 28 - Jul 9, 2021
Starting at
3,199
Jul 5 - Jul 16, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,749
Jul 19 - Jul 30, 2021
Starting at
3,199
Jul 26 - Aug 6, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,749
Aug 9 - Aug 20, 2021
Starting at
3,299
Aug 16 - Aug 27, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,799
Aug 23 - Sep 3, 2021
Starting at
3,299
Aug 30 - Sep 10, 2021
Starting at
3,299
Sep 6 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
3,299
Sep 11 - Sep 22, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,799
Sep 18 - Sep 29, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,799
Oct 2 - Oct 13, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,649
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 21 - Jul 2, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,049
Jun 28 - Jul 9, 2021
Starting at
4,049
Jul 5 - Jul 16, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,049
Jul 19 - Jul 30, 2021
Starting at
4,049
Jul 26 - Aug 6, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,049
Aug 9 - Aug 20, 2021
Starting at
4,149
Aug 16 - Aug 27, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,149
Aug 23 - Sep 3, 2021
Starting at
4,149
Aug 30 - Sep 10, 2021
Starting at
4,149
Sep 6 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
4,149
Sep 11 - Sep 22, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,149
Sep 18 - Sep 29, 2021
Small group
Starting at
4,149
Oct 2 - Oct 13, 2021
Small group
Starting at
3,999

At a Glance

Embrace the colorful history of the Canadian Maritime provinces on this journey to Nova Scotia, Cape Breton, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. Delve into the history of the port city of Halifax and the old town of Lunenburg. Gain insight into the intriguing Celtic and Acadian cultures including their music and customs. And absorb the natural beauty that awaits in the Maritimes.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles per day; some uneven terrain and stairs.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Walk on the ocean floor with naturalists to see the tidal range of the Bay of Fundy at Hopewell Rocks.
  • Step back in time to 1744 at the Fortress of Louisbourg and learn about the battle between the French and the English for control of North America.
  • Enjoy local delicacies such as lobster and mussels, and revel in East Coast traditional music and entertainment at a local Ceilidh.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Paul Hanna
Paul is a retired Cape Breton University professor who served on the Board of Directors of CHIRE International Committee. He was also a member of Nova Scotia and Canada’s Human Resource boards for over 30 years. Paul volunteers with many organizations including the World Junior Hockey Championships. He is an avid hockey fan and coach, and his team won the Canadian Championship in 1978. With a love for travel and meeting new people, Paul can’t wait to share his knowledge with you in Nova Scotia!

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Cameron MacDonald
Cameron MacDonald View biography
Cameron Bennett MacDonald was born in Charlottetown, as a 9th generation Islander. Being between the theatre and history of the Island his entire childhood, it only made sense that Cameron joined the Confederation players in 2013, a historical reenactment troupe. The troupe combined a knowledge of history and group leading experience, with a theatrical side as well, a job to honor both his parents. As the troupe’s artistic supervisor, he writes historical vignettes and shares his knowledge with those around him.
Profile Image of James White
James White View biography
James (Jay) White is an expert in history, having earned his PhD in Canadian History from McMaster University in 1994. After a two-year stint at Western Washington University, Jay migrated home to Nova Scotia where he has lived ever since, teaching a variety of historical subjects. He even instructed members of the Canadian Armed Forces in military history. In his free time, he enjoys hiking and photography, is a Toronto Blue Jays and Montreal Canadiens fan, and is of Loyalist and Acadian descent.
Profile Image of Paul Hanna
Paul Hanna View biography
Paul is a retired Cape Breton University professor who served on the Board of Directors of CHIRE International Committee. He was also a member of Nova Scotia and Canada’s Human Resource boards for over 30 years. Paul volunteers with many organizations including the World Junior Hockey Championships. He is an avid hockey fan and coach, and his team won the Canadian Championship in 1978. With a love for travel and meeting new people, Paul can’t wait to share his knowledge with you in Nova Scotia!
Profile Image of Ralph Getson
Ralph Getson View biography
Ralph’s ancestors came to Canada in 1753 and became harvesters of the sea. He spent three decades on the Lunenburg waterfront delving into the province’s rich fishing history as curator of the Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic. Ralph’s keen interest in the early Canadian history is evident as he shares its storied past. A collector at heart, his passions include all things oxen, Lunenburg symbols, antiquing, fishermen's handicrafts and hearty German cooking.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Atlantic Coast, A Natural History
by Harry Thurston
Thurston illuminates the geology, plant and animal life and nature of the Atlantic coast from Newfoundland and Labrador through the Maritime Provinces and the Northeastern United States south to Cape Hatteras in this illustrated, engaging survey.
Four Fish
by Paul Greenberg
New York Times journalist Paul Greenberg interviewed producers, fisherman and conservationists from across the globe for this eyewitness report on the past and future of wild fish, offering sensible alternatives to our current unsustainable interest in eating mostly sea bass, cod, salmon and tuna.
National Geographic Field Guide to the Birds of North America
by Jon Dunn
This guide is the veteran's choice for birding anywhere in the United States. Practical to use in the field, it has maps, illustrations and descriptions of the birds on facing pages.
A Traveller's History of Canada
by Robert Bothwell
A readable and admirably concise march through Canadian history from prehistory to today, including a timeline.
No Great Mischief
by Alistair MacLeod
A novel covering 200 years in the history of a family of Scottish immigrants living in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. MacLeod creates a modern saga of the immigrant experience, familial bonds and life in coastal Canada.
Island, The Complete Stories
by Alistair MacLeod
Raised in Cape Breton, Alistair MacLeod writes of family, the pull of old Gaelic traditions, love and the landscape and folkways of Nova Scotia in this collection of 16 stories. Winner of the Pen/Malamud Award.
Bradt Guide Nova Scotia
by David Orkin
A comprehensive guide in the growing series by Bradt, noteworthy for its focus on culture, nature and responsible travel, with plenty of practical travel details.
Anne of Green Gables
by Lucy Maud Montgomery
This Norton Critical Edition of the immensely popular 1908 novel includes excerpts from Montgomery's journals, letters and juvenilia, as well as selections by Sir Walter Scott, Lord Byron and Louisa May Alcott.
Lonely Planet Nova Scotia, New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island
by Karla Zimmerman
This handy, compact guide to Atlantic Canada covers Nova Scotia, New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island in detail and includes a chapter on Newfoundland and Labrador. With maps, travel information and short essays on culture, attractions and nature.
Anne of the Island
by Lucy Maud Montgomery
Eighteen-year-old Anne leaves P.E.I. for college in Kingsport in this third heartwarming book about red-haired Anne Shirley.
Atlantic
by Simon Winchester
The subtitle tells it all -- Winchester squeezes "Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories" into the covers of this latest entertaining and digressive tale.
The Grey Seas Under
by Farley Mowat
Mowat captures the drama and courage of the men of the famous Foundation Franklin, an ocean-going tug involved in dozens of rescues at sea between 1930 and 1948.
Moon Handbook Atlantic Canada
by Andrew Hempstead
A comprehensive guide to New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island. With regional maps and detailed descriptions of St. John's and other points of interest, along with an overview of the people, wildlife and history of the region.
The Whale
by Philip Hoare
A deeply engaging meditation on all things whale. Hoare saves his special love and attention for the sperm whale -- not only via a beautiful literary analysis of Moby Dick -- but also by indulging in a childhood fantasy and actually swimming with whales in the Azores.
Why I Hate Canadians
by Will Ferguson
This is the tenth anniversary edition of Ferguson's wickedly astute cultural salvo, the collection of humorous essays that launched his career. As you might guess, the title is tongue-in-cheek.
Fodor's Nova Scotia & Atlantic Canada, With New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland & Labrador
by Inc. (EDT) Fodor's Travel Publications (Editor)
With its many photographs, great introductory chapters and practical travel information, this book is an excellent overview of northeast Canada and its attractions for visitors. Featuring separate sections on suggested places to visit, recommended walks, practical information, descriptions of restaurants and hotels, ratings of sights and a chronology of historic events.
A Field Guide to North Atlantic Wildlife
by Noble S. Proctor, Patrick J. Lynch (Illustrator)
A comprehensive pocket guide to commonly encountered marine mammals, seabirds and other marine life of Northeastern North America, from North Carolina to Newfoundland and the Canadian Maritimes.
The Ice Bridge
by D. R. Macdonald
MacDonald sets this lyrical romance on a on isolated Cape Breton island in the 1990
29 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.9 Average
(5)

With the exception of a few hotel glitches this trip was a delight from beginning to end

(5)

Great tour! Had a wonderful time exploring the Canadian Maritimes. Breathtaking coastal views and colors of fall; fun excursions; informative without being boring; great opportunity to sample local menus; and enjoy new friends.

(2)

The countryside, presenters & Canadian people were all great, as were fellow travelers (always a RS plus). Lots, however, didn’t work. First, the routine 7 am starts. Too early for vacationers (but that’s to accommodate hotel vendors, not RS travelers). Hotels were consistently overrated in RS promos. Then there were the meals. Instead of efficient buffets, we were deluged by endless meal selection sheets - as if we’d know what we wanted in 2 days. The biggest issue was the food poisoning several in our tour group experienced after a scallop entree at one hotel. Vomiting up one’s vital meds, leaving maybe 3 hours of broken sleep before having to get on a bus, and unable to resume normal eating for the next 2 days left me ragged and struggling to salvage any enjoyment from the remainder of my trip. Worse yet, the group leader elected NOT to report this event despite knowing of at least 3 victims. The incident needed to be investigated so recurrences could be averted. She may have been worn out by paperwork, given that 2 tourists had already suffered falls significant enough to require medical attention. The vendor--first theory, however, has my vote. In an earlier RS tour I went on, hotel staff had rifled thru my baggage (left in its “secured storage”), ignored my complaint, and later claimed they credited my charge card with compensation (but didn’t even have my card number). A co-traveler’s camera, with all his photos, had also disappeared at this hotel. RS comped me directly, but then continued using that hotel, despite knowing it was staffed by thieves and liars. This second negative RS experience in Canada seems to be instructing me that my safety and satisfaction are backseat concerns to RS. That vendor’s relations are prized over client safety and satisfaction. Without the poisoning and failure to act, I’d rate this 3 stars. But because no action was taken, I’d give it a zero and advise anyone to proceed with caution (especially those on meds)

Road Scholar
Hi Carole, We are so sorry to hear about your experience. This is one of our most popular programs in Canada and consistently gets the highest marks. The safety and comfort of our participants is always our top concern, so we are working with our staff to make sure your concerns are addressed. -Your Friends at Road Scholar
(5)

The Canadian Maritimes is a fascinating study of the history and foundation that the United States and Canada shares. It is rich also in unique culture, art, and natural geological features.

(5)

The Canadian Maritimes trip was outstanding, memorable, and life-enhancing. The program presenters and hosts are friendly, warm, and eager to share their stories. The sights are truly amazing. And the information, combined with the rich maritime history and culture, make this program a "must do".

(5)

What an excellent program. Would recommend it to anyone who is considering!

(5)

We saw so much of the Canadian Maritimes on this trip to Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick. We chose this itinerary because it included visits to the Bay of Fundy and the Anne of Green Gables historic site as well as the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island. There was so much more included than these must-do sites. This was our first Road Scholar trip which we chose because of its reputation for excellent subject matter experts and camaraderie within the groups. We were not disappointed!

(5)

This was my 15th Road Scholar trip and was outstanding. Beautiful scenery, interesting history and varied activities. Nova Scotia and Anne of Green Gables country was on my bucket list and I highly recommend it. Barbara, North Carolina, Sept 16-27, 2019

(5)

This program provided me with a lot of information about the area that we visited. I was also pleased that it was not too strenuous for me as a senior with some limited abilities. I had always wanted to tour the Canadian Maritimes and this program was very enjoyable and comprehensive.

(5)

This was a great trip! We saw so many new and different places I had never seen before. I highly recommend this program.

(5)

This was a fantastic program. New exciting adventures every day. Go in the fall - less traffic.

(5)

This program gives a lovely and thorough overview of three of the Maritime Provinces. It was the right length, and had excellent local speakers. Our program leader was the best!

(5)

Lovely countryside, great leadership and worthwhile experiences. Just enough of free time and just enough of everything for a great experience. javascript:__doPostBack('lnkBtnSubmitReview','')

(5)

The Canadian Maritimes have so much to offer and are beautiful in the summer. This tour packs so much into a short time. I took a cruise to some of the same places last year (Halifax, Prince Edward Island, Sydney) and was frustrated because we had so little time in each port and could only pick one shore excursion. This road trip allowed me to revisit these places, taking more time to soak in the beauty of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.

(5)

Just completed the Best of Maritime program for Nova Scotia. Wonderful program, fun, interesting, great presenters, fantastic tour leader, fabulous transportation and hotels. Thanks Road Scholar for providing this unique experience! I learned so much and had a wonderful time. Will definitly chose this company again.

(5)

I thoroughly enjoyed the variety of activities we participated in during The Best of the Canadian Maritimes tour - you definitely get to see and experience areas and demonstrations that you wouldn't without a tour like this. Our Road Scholar tour guide was terrific and really reflected the welcoming nature of the folks who live in the Canadian Maritime provinces! This tour is well worth the time and money!

(5)

I did the Best of the Canadian Maritimes trip and loved every minute. We were in the hands of a smart, loving and intelligent group leader and that made the trip even more enjoyable. Tammy regaled us with wonderful stories and history facts about the Maritime provinces where she grew up and she introduced us to aspects that we never would have learned otherwise! Our accommodations were top notch and every meal was a treat! I will definitely be traveling with Road Scholar in the future.

(5)

Wonderful mixture of history, culture and scenery. A few long days on the bus, but the interesting documentaries and movies shown on the bus helped pass the time. Highly recommended.

(5)

If you are considering a trip to the Canadian Maritimes, I highly recommend this one! It is informative, active, and fun! It may be a bit more expensive than some other tours, but the value you receive more than makes up the difference!

(5)

This wonderful program features the beautiful scenery, history and culture of the Canadian Maritimes. Weather can be changeable and having a warm sweater or fleece and rain gear can be helpful. Be prepared to enjoy delicious fish & seafood, a ceilidh, fun musical theater and much more!

(5)

The Best of the Canadian Maritimes, 11 days, 8-19 Oct 2018 was an excellent program! We closed the tourist season which was nice as it was very uncrowded and the fall colors were at their peak. They rolled up the sidewalks after we left. The weather was chilly and occasionally windy and we even had a snow shower one day. Our group leader, Rod Green, was outstanding. He had been doing this all summer but was just as enthusiastic for this last trip as I'm sure he was for the first. We saw sights and received guided tours that you could never get on your own. A real surprise was the wireless listening devices provided to each of us which really enhanced the tours. They fed us well, more than we needed; I'm sure everyone gained little weight. Two lobster suppers and a lunch at Fort Louisberg were the highlights. The group of 36 fit nicely on the very modern tour bus that seated 54. It had WiFi, flat screens TVs and 110v. and HDMI power outlets. The group was from a large variety of backgrounds and quite friendly. Regarding "Keep the Pace" we expected more walking. Keeping the pace meant keeping up with the daily schedule which was very full. Breakfast at 7:00. on the bus at 8:00 nearly every day. Then we drove and were off/on the bus all day with a break for lunch finishing typically at 5:00 and then dinner was at 6:00. There were two afternoon/evenings when we had free time and were on our own. We would have liked more free time but it would have meant giving up a couple of activities. Would have been had to pick what to leave out. Every venue we visited was interesting even though some didn't sound that great on the schedule, like rug hooking, which turned out to to be great. Overall we would highly recommend this tour for those who want to see the highlights of the Maritimes and be immersed in the history of eastern Canada.

(5)

The Canadian Maritimes trip was wonderful. The food, experiences, teachers were excellent. We went when the leaves were changing and, of course, it was beautiful. We did so many things that I cannot comment on the one most spectacular. They all were fabulous. Walking on the bottom of the Bay of Fundy was a dream. One of the craziest things we did was get up at 3 a.m.to see the tidal bore in New Brunswick, only to miss it by a few minutes....oh well! We were blessed with mostly beautiful October weather....a few rain drops and at the end, some snow flurries. Don't hesitate or miss this wonderful trip. Rod Green was a great leader...kind, considerate, patient. A beautiful part of our world. This was my 4th RS trip with many more to come.....

(5)

If you are looking for a program that focuses on learning about the locale, its history, culture, and geology from outstanding presenters; if you are looking for superbly well-organized trips where all your needs are met; if you are interested in programs that appeal to people like yourself interested in learning more than shopping, then Road Scholar trips will fit you to a tee! We couldn't have been happier.

(5)

The Canadian Maritime tour fulfilled a long-standing intention of mine to experience this part of the world. It would be difficult to imagine a better opportunity to do so. The places, the people both local and on the tour, were delightful and the organization was superb.

(5)

RS never fails to provide new educational experiences mixed with great people, out of the box adventures, thorough professional support services.

(5)

This program had it all! It really did present the "Best of the Maritimes." Fall was an ideal time to go and the beautiful scenery made the bus traveling much less tedious. The programming included something for everyone and I came away with a deeper appreciation of the history, culture, charm and people of Nova Scotia, PEI and New Brunswick. The program exposed us to history, science, music, art, industry and adventure. It was "active" but not exhausting. I'm so glad I can finally check this off my list. JK, North Andover, MA

(5)

Visiting the Maritime Provinces of Canada in the fall (amazing colors/cool weather), visiting hot tourist sites both historical and beyond without the tourists, tasting the most delicious of Canadian offerings and being led by (Rod Green) an outstanding, compassionate leader about all things Canadian, you owe it to yourself to take this trip! I can't imagine finishing life without a serious visit to our great neighbors to the north.

(5)

This is a great trip! Every stop is interesting, each in a different way. And, if you can, get Rod Green as your Group leader. He is absolutely the BEST.

(5)

The Best of the Canadian Maritimes was a fabulous tour. I learned so much and saw things I never thought possible. Great guide and knowledgeable educators. Very comfortable coach and wonderful driver. I highly recommend this tour.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback