loading spinner
3645
Botswana/Zambia/Zimbabwe

Wild Africa: Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia

Explore the wilds of southern Africa with experts, spotting elephants, lion and many other species while learning about conservation efforts and visiting the region’s natural wonders.
Rating (5)
Program No. 3645RJ
Length
15 days
Starts at
9,999
Flights start at
1,425
Botswana/Zambia/Zimbabwe

Wild Africa: Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia

Explore the wilds of southern Africa with experts, spotting elephants, lion and many other species while learning about conservation efforts and visiting the region’s natural wonders.
Length
15 days
Starts at
9,999
Flights start at
1,425
Program No. 3645 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 22 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
9,999
May 14 - May 28, 2022
Starting at
9,999
May 28 - Jun 11, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Jun 18 - Jul 2, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Jul 9 - Jul 23, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Jul 30 - Aug 13, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Aug 6 - Aug 20, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Aug 13 - Aug 27, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Sep 3 - Sep 17, 2022
Starting at
10,249
Sep 17 - Oct 1, 2022
Starting at
10,499
Sep 24 - Oct 8, 2022
Starting at
10,499
Nov 5 - Nov 19, 2022
Starting at
10,299
Itinerary Note

This departure may be able to see the elephants walk through the lobby at Mfuwe Lodge.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 22 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
10,799
May 14 - May 28, 2022
Starting at
10,799
May 28 - Jun 11, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Jun 18 - Jul 2, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Jul 9 - Jul 23, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Jul 30 - Aug 13, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Aug 6 - Aug 20, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Aug 13 - Aug 27, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Sep 3 - Sep 17, 2022
Starting at
10,999
Sep 17 - Oct 1, 2022
Starting at
11,499
Sep 24 - Oct 8, 2022
Starting at
11,499
Nov 5 - Nov 19, 2022
Starting at
11,299
Itinerary Note

This departure may be able to see the elephants walk through the lobby at Mfuwe Lodge.

At a Glance

The thrill of spotting any member of the Big Five — elephant, leopard, lion, rhinoceros and Cape buffalo — is reason enough to journey to Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia. But these magnificent creatures aren’t the only ones who inhabit the grasslands and deltas of the region. Hippos, zebras, giraffes and antelope are just a few other residents that can be spotted during game drives along the Okavango Delta or in South Luangwa National Park, while crocodiles and myriad bird species bask in the waters along the Chobe and Zambezi rivers. Join wildlife experts and local residents for an insightful exploration into the habitats and conservation issues surrounding Africa’s natural wonders.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles over varied terrain; potentially slick paths. Long rides in open-air safari vehicles, requiring stamina and stability getting in/out of vehicles. Elevations up to 5,575 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Feel the spray of the awe-inspiring Victoria Falls and learn about its discovery by David Livingstone.
  • Learn about local conservation efforts as you meet schoolchildren and villagers.
  • Camp under the stars in Hemingway-style tents along the Okavango Delta.

General Notes

Select dates are Micro Group departures, with 12 or fewer participants. Group size limited to 17. Some dates of this program can be taken back to back with program "The Best of South Africa: Safari, Culture & the Garden Route" (#22444). Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Lisa Reed
Lisa Reed was born in Zimbabwe, spent her school years in South Africa, and now lives in Botswana. She has worked or visited most Southern and East African safari destinations, and has managed safari camps on her own and with others since being in Botswana. Lisa has a natural affinity with adults and children, and enjoys passing on her years of experience and knowledge to the next generation. She has been leading safaris for Road Scholar for more than 15 years.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Lisa Reed
Lisa Reed was born in Zimbabwe, spent her school years in South Africa, and now lives in Botswana. She has worked or visited most Southern and East African safari destinations, and has managed safari camps on her own and with others since being in Botswana. Lisa has a natural affinity with adults and children, and enjoys passing on her years of experience and knowledge to the next generation. She has been leading safaris for Road Scholar for more than 15 years.
Profile Image of Victoria Falls Heritage Tours, David Livingstone Presentation
Victoria Falls Heritage Tours, David Livingstone Presentation View biography
A dynamic storyteller from Victoria Falls Heritage Tours will join your group to discuss David Livingstone's fascinating life and his explorations, which covered more than 28,000 miles of uncharted territory. Dr. Livingstone's unparalleled story is truly an inspiration and will offer new-found perspectives on the African continent.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency
by Alexander McCall Smith
McCall Smith’s detective, Mma Ramotswe, makes her debut. A pleasure in every respect, this novel – not really a mystery – evokes the cultures, customs and diverse landscapes of Botswana.
The Last Elephants
by Colin Bell & Don Pinnock
African savanna elephants--among the most magnificent and beloved of our fellow mammals--are an extraordinary, social, and intelligent species. The Last Elephants, an homage to these animals and a clarion call for their preservation, is based upon a shocking finding: savanna elephant populations across Africa are being decimated, with two to three murdered every hour for their ivory. Without action, these elephants soon will vanish from our world. They are a species in imminent danger of extinction, and it is up to us to save them.
Bradt Guide to Zambia
by Chris McIntyre
A detailed overview of Zambia, its history, culture, attractions and natural history with color photos, maps and travel information.
The Myth of Wild Africa
by Jonathan Adams, Thomas McShane
A no-holds-barred attack on old-style conservation in Africa, provocative and dead-on. The authors explore the fallacy of an untouched continent where animals roam freely in sanctuaries.
So Many Africans: Six Years in a Zambian Village
by Jill Kandel
Kandel's memoir is a powerful picture of a young American woman's struggle to reconcile her new marriage with the realities of living in East Africa. Jill Kandel's So Many Africas: Six Years in a Zambian Village is a captivating, unpredictable, and compellingly-honest tale of a young wife and mother's isolation and endurance in a remote corner of Zambia. Kandel writes clear, textured prose brimming with the sights, sounds, smells, and rich flavors of her secluded rural African home. Her story is an inspiration to anyone who imagines not just surviving, but thriving, in any harsh, distant corner of our remarkable planet.
Okavango, Africa’s Last Eden
by Franz Lanting
In this handsome volume, master wildlife photographer Franz Lanting captures the wildlife and habitats of the Okavango
Long Walk to Freedom
by Nelson Mandela
An unpretentious tale of an extraordinary life. Mandela recounts the circumstances of his imprisonment and ultimately his successful drive to end Apartheid.
Elephant Dawn
by Sharon Pincott
In 2001, Sharon Pincott traded her privileged life as a high-flying corporate executive to start a new one with the Presidential Elephants of Zimbabwe. She was unpaid, untrained, self-funded and arrived with the starry-eyed idealism of most foreigners during early encounters with Africa. For thirteen years - the worst in Zimbabwe's volatile history - this intrepid Australian woman lived in the Hwange bush fighting for the lives of these elephants, forming an extraordinary and life-changing bond with them.
Lonely Planet Botswana
by Lonely Planet
A comprehensive, practical guide in Lonely Planet’s hallmark style with 16 detailed maps and a separate chapter on Victoria Falls.
Rogue Lion Safaris
by Simon Barnes
After the death of his beloved, bankrupt gambler of a father, Dan Lynch follows his university degree in zoology to a run-down safari camp, where he can work as a trainee guide and, most important, be near George Sorensen, the owner. George is a wildlife genius, but no great businessman, and the camp is threatened by lack of visitors, competition from the much more luxurious set-up across the valley, and corrupt local politicians. In learning about the majestic landscape and fauna of Africa, Dan learns a lot about people – and about himself.
Southern Africa Wildlife, A Visitor's Guide
by Mike Unwin
A popular, photographic guide to the mammals, birds, reptiles and habitats south of the Zambezi. With 300 color photographs and illuminating text.
Out of Darkness, Shining Light
by Petina Gappah
So begins Petina Gappah's powerful novel of exploration and adventure in nineteenth-century Africa—the captivating story of the loyal men and women who carried explorer and missionary Dr. Livingstone's body, his papers and maps, fifteen hundred miles across the continent of Africa, so his remains could be returned home to England and his work preserved there.
The Safari Companion
by Richard Estes
An encyclopedic guide to the behavior of Africa’s mammals by a noted scientist.
The African House
by Christina Lamb
The Africa House vividly details the life of an English officer and gentleman and his remarkable house and colony in deepest Africa. In the ides of the British Empire, Stewart Gore Browne built himself a feudal paradise in northern Rhodesia, a sprawling country estate modeled on the finest homes in England, complete with uniformed servants, daily muster parades, rose gardens and lavish dinners finished off with vintage port in the library.
My Life with Leopards
by Fransje van Riel
In 1993 game ranger Graham Cooke was given the opportunity to parent two six-week-old leopard cubs. Establishing himself and his charges in a small tented camp in the middle of the South African bush, Graham set about his task of habituating the cubs to the dangers of the wild in preparation for their eventual release.
6 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I can't believe I had not submitted a review before now. I certainly have "reviewed" it so many times to family and friends. It was life changing for me. Seeing these animals up close in the wild can change one's perspective dramatically--looking into the eyes of an elephant, watching a sleepy leopard high in a tree, being entranced by wild dogs bathing in a mud puddle and laughing at warthogs trying to jump a stream. Every single day was a barrage of new experiences and new sites. The local people everywhere were incredible. Going to Africa in November at the start of the rainy season can be hot, very hot. So be prepared with sunscreen and cool clothing. I traveled solo but made several new friends from around the USA. We had so much fun and enjoyed the adventure so much we are meeting in 2021 to do the Kenya/Tanzania trip!

(5)

5 STARS. Best “Nature” trip I have ever been on. We saw the Big 5 (Elephant, Cape Buffalo, Lion, Rhino and Leopard) in large numbers (rhino excepted – saw two well-guarded) as well as Giraffe, Zebra, Hyena, Baboons, Wildebeest, Hippos, Crocodiles and many types of antelope such as Impala, Water Buck, Kudu, Puku, etc. We also saw numerous species of birds – enough to delight any birder. All accommodations, including the tent camp, were first class. The meals were fantastic - Michelin star quality. However, our guide, Keith Chisnall, was the glue that brought the trip/experience together. His knowledge of the three countries (Botswana, Zambia and Zimbabwe) history, politics, flora and fauna was unparalleled. When necessary, he was able to deal with the local bureaucracy to keep us on schedule. Lastly, all the guides were top notch and the hotel support personnel very professional and attentive to our needs. If this trip is not on your bucket list, put it on and go. You won’t be disappointed.

(5)

This was my second trip to Africa and, again, with Road Scholar. As if it were even possible, this topped my previous one. "Wild Africa" is a totally immersive journey into the wonders and awe of the best of southern Africa's natural world. Every accommodation, from the mobile tent camp outside of Maun, Botswana to Mfuwe Lodge in Zambia was fabulous. Although heat played a role in making this a somewhat-challenging trip at times (107F one day!), I would take this trip again in a heartbeat. From group leader-extraordinaire Johann Roscher to our game driver guides Mike, Curt, Richard, Alec and others including the amazing chefs and staff at every place we stayed....there are simply no adequate words for expressing my gratitude. On our last night of the trip which was at Mfuwe, we saw an elephant walk through the lobby! It's true...It does happen this time of year. It was the icing on the very best African cake! Take this trip...Meet the people...See the splendors of Africa. Your only regret will be if you don't go. Thank you to Road Scholar and Johann for feeding my heart and soul and bringing together a most lovely group of people to travel with.

(5)

This program was outstanding in every respect. If you want to maximize your time on safari drives, seeing magnificent animals and learning about them, their habitats, and the countries, this is a great program to consider.

(5)

Wonderful trip! No disappointments! We saw all the animals we hoped to see and more. Trip was well planned and all went smoothly. The camps were great, even the mobile tented camp. Very comfortable and right in the middle of nature. Animals were free to roam all camps. Food was outstanding everywhere. Our main guide, Keith Chisnall was great. He was attentive, personable and knowledgeable about all of the countries, history, animals and plants. At each camp the local guides were delightful and knowledgeable too. It was the trip of a lifetime for me.

(5)

We just returned from Road Scholar's Wild Africa: Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia trip. This was a trip of a lifetime! I can't say enough great things about it. We were able to see all of the "Big 5" as well as many other animals. The warmth and friendliness of staff will always be remembered. The lodges and food were fabulous- even the Mobile Tented Cabins! I give it 10 stars. Our group leader, Andre Joubert, was knowledgeable, helpful, and the perfect guide to assist us throughout Africa. I will be forever changed by this experience.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.