loading spinner
Costa Rica

From Monkeys to Macaws: Colorful Costa Rica With Your Grandchild

Program No. 3636RJ
Fly a little south of the U.S. to discover a world of chatty macaws, playful monkeys, industrious leaf cutter ants and butterflies as you explore Costa Rica with your grandchild.
Length
10 days
Rating (4.95)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,699 / ADULT
2,199 / CHILD
Flights start at
500

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Protecting the Environment

Through Carbonfund.org, we offset a portion of the emissions created by your travel. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Age 9 - 11
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jun 19 - Jun 28, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jun 19 - Jun 28, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date
Jul 8 - Jul 17, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jul 8 - Jul 17, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date
Age 12 - 14
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jun 24 - Jul 3, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jun 24 - Jul 3, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
SOLD OUT
Jul 13 - Jul 22, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jul 13 - Jul 22, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
SOLD OUT
Jul 23 - Aug 1, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jul 23 - Aug 1, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date
Aug 1 - Aug 10, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Aug 1 - Aug 10, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date
Age 15 - 17
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jul 5 - Jul 14, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Jul 5 - Jul 14, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date
Aug 4 - Aug 13, 2023
Per Adult
2,699
Per Child
2,199
Select
Aug 4 - Aug 13, 2023
-
2,699
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
2,999
/ Adult
2,199
/ Child
Select Date

At a Glance

A scarlet macaw swooping overhead. A trek through the green rainforest. A large crocodile gliding unnoticed in the river. Postcards simply won’t do Costa Rica justice – you have to experience it for yourself! Alongside your grandchild, search for truly amazing animals, like sloths and howler monkeys, as you march through the rainforest, sail along the rivers, kayak the warm waters and zipline over the jungle on a once-in-a-lifetime adventure together. On this week-long journey, you’ll learn about all the colorful landscapes on walks through nature and across hanging bridges as you both go wild in Costa Rica.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to 1.5 hours a day over uneven trails in hot and humid conditions, zip lining, swimming activities, and getting in and out of boats and buses. Elevations up to 5,000 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Keep your eyes peeled for sloths, iguanas, monkeys, crocs and more as you float along the Sarapiqui and Tarcoles Rivers with an expert naturalist.
  • Hold onto your helmets as you zipline over the jungle and walk over hanging bridges to view a large volcano.
  • Explore a local farm where silly macaws fly about and learn how the locals are trying to protect them.

General Notes

Program is for grandchildren ages 9-11 or 12-14 or 15-17, depending on the date. This program allows participants to explore a number of Costa Rica’s eco-systems in a relatively short amount of time. Bus travel is a necessity for an up-close experience, but program activities help to break up travel time. Local road conditions, weather, traffic and elevation are factors in determining time of travel.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Eyewitness Jungle
by Theresa Greenaway, Geoff Dann (Photographer)
Geared for ages 9 to 12, the hundreds of eye-popping photographs of birds, monkeys, towering trees, orchids and all manner of rainforest life will also appeal to the whole family.
Costa Rican Spanish
by Lonely Planet
A pocket guide to understanding idioms, slang and Spanish as it is spoken by the Ticos.
Volcanoes, Crucibles of Change
by Richard Fisher
A complete primer for the volcano lover, this heavily illustrated book covers types of volcanoes and eruptions, worldwide distribution and the physics of their formation.
The Wildlife of Costa Rica, A Field Guide
by Twan Leenders, Robert Dean, Jim Zook, Fiona Reid
This guide includes 450 of the most common, interesting and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and arthropods that you are likely to encounter. Each has exquisite full-color illustrations.
Culture Smart! Costa Rica
by Jane Koutnik
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Costa Rican customs, etiquette and culture.
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
Two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists offer a lucid portrait of the tropics through 17 marvelous essays that introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforests.
Costa Rican Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
Put it in your pocket! This handy, fold-up card includes color illustrations of dozens of typical birds, mammals and reptiles. We also carry plastic cards for Costa Rica Birds (Item CRC56) and Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths (Item CRC57), $5.95 each.
Monkeys are Made of Chocolate, Exotic and Unseen Costa Rica
by Jack Ewing
Ewing, founder of Hacienda Baru in southern Costa Rica, weaves tales of the rainforest, wildlife, ecology and conservation in these 32 marvelous essays for the whole family.
The Sea Turtle, So Excellent a Fishe
by Archie Carr
An appreciative and informative account of the sea turtle, its ecology and field work in Costa Rica by the man who did so much to promote sea turtle research and conservation, first published in 1967. Karen Bjorndal, director of the Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research, brings the story up to date in a new foreword.
Into The Volcano
by Donna O'Meara
O'Meara's lively, illustrated eyewitness accounts of adventures in volcanology include Arenal in Costa Rica, Kilauea in Hawaii and Stromboli off the coast of Italy. Geared for grades 5 to 8, this is a great introduction to volcanoes for the whole family.
Costa Rica Adventure Map
by National Geographic
A double-sided map at a scale of 1:500,000.
Nancy Drew, The Scarlet Macaw Scandal
by Carolyn Keene
Nancy and her friends head for Costa Rica's Corcovado National Park to relax and study monkeys when they stumble upon, naturally, a mystery to be solved.
The Most Beautiful Roof in the World
by Kathryn Lasky, Christopher Knight (Photographer)
A tropical botanist and her sons climb among the ropes and walkways of a rainforest canopy in this photographic odyssey. For ages 9-12.
The Birds of Costa Rica
by Richard Garrigues, Robert Dean (Illustrator)
This new edition covers 903 species of birds with hundreds of new, supplemental or revised color illustrations by Robert Dean and revised color-coded range maps.
National Geographic Costa Rica
by Christopher P. Baker
This stylish and informative travel resource features 200 photographs, many maps and good information on the country's history, nature and culture.
Wild Costa Rica
by Adrian Hepworth
This beautiful, informative survey of the habitats, wildlife and protected areas of Costa Rica features 200 color photographs and chapters on natural history and conservation.
The Field Guide to Rain Forest Animals
by Nancy Honovich
A unique children's guide to eight Amazon animals that includes photographs, illustrations, maps, fascinating facts and a diorama activity. Written for ages eight and up.
Costa Rica, A Traveler's Literary Companion
by Barbara Ras
These 26 well-chosen stories by Costa Rican writers introduce the people, culture and land.
Costa Rica, A Journey Through Nature
by Adrian Hepworth
Dividing the book by ecosystem and geographic area, BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year Hepworth's color photographs showcase the diversity of Costa Rica's wildlife and habitats.
A Brief History of Central America
by Hector Perez-Brignoll
A good overview of the region’s economic, political and social history through the 1980s by a professor at the University of Costa Rica. Well-written, informative and concise.
25 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.95 Average
(5) Review left 8/23/2022

We learned an incredible amount about the diversity of plants and animals in Costa Rica. The guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. There was a variety of activities. My grandson especially like making chocolate from seed to finished (delicious) product. We felt that our participation in this program helps the residents of Costa Rica be motivated to preserve the rain forest.

(5) Review left 8/18/2022

My husband and I just returned from the From Monkeys to Macaw to Monkey Costa Rica trip for grandparents and teens. The program was fantastic! In less than two weeks, we experienced exciting, informative and hands on programs and activities that were tailored for kids 15-75. Our guide, Jose, was knowledgable, accommodating and personable. My main goal was to create an experience with our grandson that he would enjoy now but treasure in the future as he looks back on our time together. I believe Road Scholar helped me achieve that goal.

(5) Review left 8/16/2022

Website hard to find what you are looking for. A lot of information. Sometimes too much information was provided multiple times to email.

(5) Review left 8/15/2022

Website moderately helpful but very difficult to reach a representative. Long wait times

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 8/14/2022

Best vacation trip we have ever taken! A delightful mix of adventure, education, culture and interaction with other participants that kept both age groups engaged and excited.

(5) Review left 8/10/2022

My wife and I just returned from our Costa Rica adventure with our granddaughter. From Monkeys to Macaws was an exceptional experience for everyone. It was the perfect mix of adventure and learning. I strongly recommend this program for anyone considering visiting Costa Rica.

(5) Review left 8/04/2022

Sharing this experience with my granddaughter was wonderful! I can't say enough good things about this program - from the amazing guides to the adventures to the educational components - every element was first rate.

(5) Review left 7/26/2022

This is an incredible program for active grandparents and children. So much to do everyday. I cannot even remember all the fabulous activities we shared. I made four new friends who I intend to stay in touch with. My granddaughter is in a chat group and has already communicated with her friends. A blast!! Exceeded my expectations every day!!

(5) Review left 7/25/2022

This is an awesome trip for grandparents and grandchildren. There is learning and adventure! You won’t regret this experience.

(5) Review left 7/25/2022

Great trip but it was disappointing to be dropped at the airport at 10:00 for a 3:00 flight coming home.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 7/07/2022

This was my 6th trip with RS. It started a little shaky when the wrong itinerary was passed out causing some confusion. This was rectified on day 2 and the trip got back to normal. A great trip with knowledgeable guides and much to see and do. We even had to dodge an incoming hurricane and evacuate to the coast The guides were great handling the changes and filled in activities on the fly while dodging downed trees and power lines in the process. Learned much about the history, people and culture of the wonderful people of Costa Rico. Kudos to Lenin and Eric our guides and special shout out to our superb bus driver Omar. I don't know how he navigated some of the obstacles. Very good experience for grand kids and grand parents alike.

(5) Review left 7/05/2022

I just got back after my first grandparent and grandchild trip! I can’t wait to do it again!

(5) Review left 1/21/2022

Thought you'd like to know that this review was printed on GO World Travel in December, 2021: https://www.goworldtravel.com/costa-rica-ecotourism-adventure/

(5) Review left 8/24/2021

Hand feeding gentle semi-wild Macaws, and later wild capuchin monkeys who visited our beach picnic—and seeing their little faces as we handed them a bit of pineapple—were moments of great awe and joy for both my grandson and myself. I think this trip will have made an indelible impression on us both, in many ways.

(5) Review left 8/17/2021

My grandchild, husband and I all enjoyed the variety of activities in this program. There was also sufficient free time for our grandchild to enjoy the pools at the various resorts where we stayed.

(4) Review left 8/13/2021

This is the 2nd time we have taken this trip with a grandchild. This is a wonderful location for a grandparent/grandchild trip. This trip left us with lifelong memories of a special time together with a grandchild.

(5) Review left 8/06/2021

From Monkeys to Macaws: Colorful Costa Rica with Your Grandchild was a top-notch program which met expectations and beyond. We saw monkeys in the rain forests, macaws and toucans in the wild and in flight, a mother sloth holding an infant, poison dart frogs, red-eyed tree frogs, blue jeans frogs and more, and fell in love with bats, as we learned to appreciate them, up close and personal!

(5) Review left 8/04/2021

A wonderful week of a wide variety of experiences shared with your grandchild. The week was fun, educational and eye-opening on a whole spectrum of areas from wildlife to history and culture.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 7/28/2021

An exceptional experience with my 17-yr-old grandson. He had a great time and said he was glad he had chosen this tour. It provided a combination of physically challenging experiences (ziplining over rain forest, white water rafting, outrigger canoe paddling, hanging bridges) and educational ones (bat research, cacao and coffee growing and processing, walks through gorgeous forests with exceptional birds, monkeys, and reptiles). Our guide was well-informed, organized, and super friendly. ( Only comment is to warn people about possibility of intestinal upset and possible need for over-the-counter meds to control that. Definitely on "to pack" list. ) A+ experience overall.

(5) Review left 7/26/2021

Wonderful experience for my granddaughter and me. Getting ready for the trip the Covid regulations were a challenge but so worth it in the end. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with to much diversity. We especially liked the white water rafting, the kayaking and the visits to local farms. Zip lining was a special challenge for me, but granddtr. loved it. Beautiful flora and fauna. Wonderful accommodations. HIghly recommend.

(5) Review left 8/26/2019

For grandparents with grandkids ages 12-14, this was an enormously satisfying trip. There were moments of challenge, but we felt safe at all times. The activities and trips were educational and fun for both the kids and the adults, and we experienced a vast sampling of the country of Costa Rica. Simply a beautiful experience.

(5) Review left 8/05/2019

This was a great program for teens and grandparents. We loved the wildlife and the activities.

(5) Review left 7/29/2019

Our Costa Rican experience will never be forgotten for the friendly people on the trip, leading the trip, and in each location. The activities were thrilling and we learned so much. My grandson and I made a book and wrote about our time together. I know he will look back on this time with a happy heart.

(5) Review left 7/22/2019

I'm impressed: every single grandchild, irrespective of age or sex, had a really great time, each and every day! And they seem to have learned an awful lot in the process. That's what a good program is supposed to do, and this did it well. The overall quality and the unique educational opportunities greatly enhanced the already excellent opportunities to bond with one's grandchildren.

(5) Review left 7/06/2019

This was a fantastic trip -- 100% successful for both my grandson and myself -- on so many levels. Everything about it was perfect. The two guides -- Roger and Pedro -- were superb. They were extremely knowledgeable, personable, and helpful. The accommodations, the food, the activities, were all top drawer! it was the trip of a life time for my 13 year old grandson, and for me -- memories that we will hold close to our hearts forever. I loved that I always knew that Road Scholar, and Holbrook, and our two guides and driver had our backs 100% of the time. I would recommend Road Scholar Grandparents' trip to anyone. This is my second grandparent trip, and I am sad to say that I didn't learn of these trips until I was on my last two youngest. I've run out of grandchildren. Thank you, thank you for the work you do to build memories for us.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.