loading spinner
Florida

Keys, Everglades & Dry Tortugas: Human History & Outdoor Study

Program No. 2801RJ
Discover the Florida Keys with a master naturalist as you visit protected islands, explore coral reefs, taste local cuisine and enjoy lectures on shipwrecks, pirates and Native Peoples.
Length
7 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
2,849

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
Activity Level: On Your Feet (7)

DATES & PRICES

1 Double Bed 2 Double Beds
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with one double bed.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with two double beds.

Jan 8 - Jan 14, 2023
1 Double Bed 2,849
2 Double Beds 2,849
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Jan 29 - Feb 4, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 2,849
2 Double Beds 2,849
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 5 - Feb 11, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 2,899
2 Double Beds 2,899
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 19 - Feb 25, 2023
1 Double Bed 2,899
2 Double Beds 2,899
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 26 - Mar 4, 2023
1 Double Bed 2,899
2 Double Beds 2,899
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Mar 5 - Mar 11, 2023
1 Double Bed 2,849
2 Double Beds 2,849
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Mar 19 - Mar 25, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 2,849
2 Double Beds 2,849
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Activity Level: On Your Feet (7)

DATES & PRICES

1 Double Bed
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with one double bed.

Jan 8 - Jan 14, 2023
1 Double Bed 3,999
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Jan 29 - Feb 4, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 3,999
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 5 - Feb 11, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 4,149
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 19 - Feb 25, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,149
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Feb 26 - Mar 4, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,149
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Mar 5 - Mar 11, 2023
1 Double Bed 3,999
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Mar 19 - Mar 25, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 3,999
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Activity Level: Keep the Pace (6)

DATES & PRICES

2 Double Beds 1 Double Bed
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with two double beds.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with one double bed.

Jan 15 - Jan 21, 2023
SOLD OUT
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Jan 22 - Jan 28, 2023
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Feb 12 - Feb 18, 2023
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel. We will be staying in Miami for the last night of the program.

Mar 26 - Apr 1, 2023
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Nov 5 - Nov 11, 2023
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Dec 3 - Dec 9, 2023
2 Double Beds 2,999
1 Double Bed 2,999
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Activity Level: Keep the Pace (6)

DATES & PRICES

1 Double Bed
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations with one double bed.

Jan 15 - Jan 21, 2023
SOLD OUT
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Jan 22 - Jan 28, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Feb 12 - Feb 18, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel. We will be staying in Miami for the last night of the program.

Mar 26 - Apr 1, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

Nov 5 - Nov 11, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

New Town Key West hotel.

Dec 3 - Dec 9, 2023
1 Double Bed 4,289
Itinerary Note

Old Town Key West hotel.

At a Glance

On an extraordinary adventure to Key West, discover the Florida Keys as you explore protected islands and coral reefs, taste local cuisine and learn about shipwrecks, pirates and native peoples. A local expert leads you on this journey through the Florida Keys’ natural history and cultural heritage. Examine environmental issues affecting the Everglades and coral reefs and hear the stories of Native Americans, shipwreck divers, industrialist Henry Flagler and others.
Activity Level
Varies by date
Varies by date. Must be able to swim for optional snorkeling activity. Snorkeling equipment provided; wetsuits unavailable. On Your Feet: Walking up to one mile. Keep the Pace: Walking up to 2 miles.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Learn about Florida Keys ecology as you explore Dry Tortugas National Park and two state parks.
  • Enjoy a special visit to Biscayne National Park.
  • Delve into evidence of 10,000 years of human history, from pirates and shipwrecks to farmers and presidents.

General Notes

Van transfer provided between Miami and Key Largo at the start and end of program. All transfers by van.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Howell Geib
Originally from New England, Howell Geib is trained as an Architect from Tulane University and works to pursue his passion for the intersection of the natural world and the built environment. He continued his education in Sustainable Development and International Relations, pursuing development programs in Africa, the Caribbean and Western Europe. Throughout his career, he has lived in France, Hawaii and Haiti. When not introducing Road Scholars to the natural world, Howell lives on a Biodynamic farm in Upstate New York.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Howell Geib
Howell Geib View biography
Originally from New England, Howell Geib is trained as an Architect from Tulane University and works to pursue his passion for the intersection of the natural world and the built environment. He continued his education in Sustainable Development and International Relations, pursuing development programs in Africa, the Caribbean and Western Europe. Throughout his career, he has lived in France, Hawaii and Haiti. When not introducing Road Scholars to the natural world, Howell lives on a Biodynamic farm in Upstate New York.
Profile Image of Eric Duckett
Eric Duckett View biography
Eric Duckett worked seasonal jobs with the National Park Service and U.S. Forest Service after graduating from the University of Massachusetts, building trails and restoring native plants. He then became a camping leader with small group adventures that criss-crossed the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and beyond. Eric has most recently lead whale watching trips in Alaska. In the winters, he has worked as a snowboarding instructor in the Rockies. When not on the move, he enjoys reading, board games, and keeping an eye out for birds.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
A Land Remembered
by Patrick Smith
Everglades Nat. Park & Surrounding
by Roger Hammer
National Audubon Field Guide to Florida
by Alden / Cech / Nelson
Key West
by Gerald Sprayregen
Insiders Guide Florida Keys and Key West
by Victoria Shearer and Janet Ware
Hidden Florida Keys & Everglades
by Candace Leslie Ana Boese
Eco-Touring the Florida Keys
by Matthew Landau Larry Gates
32 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 3/26/2022

Learned so much about the Keys and the ecology, history, geography and people of the area. Guides were so attentive and caring. We covered a lot of territory but the pace was right. The trip to the Dry Tortugas was very special.

(5) Review left 3/21/2022

The guides on this trip could not have been better. If you want to learn about the Keys this is a great way to do it. Ranger presentations at the parks were outstanding. The exertion level is minimal so don't expect a real active trip. The description of the trip is very accurate. Take advantage of the double dip snorkel trip on your free day. Outstanding snorkeling and the Fury people were great.

(5) Review left 3/20/2022

If you want a high quality learning experience and excellent leaders in a beautiful part of the world then this trip is for you! I gained such valuable memories and insights into the unique ecosystem that is the beautiful Everglades and Keys region.

(5) Review left 3/15/2022

An awesome trip - the group leaders were outstanding - organized, knew lots of stuff, kept us happy and on the go. Learned a whole lot about the whole area. Highlights - meeting Hemingway's cats in Key West, the sunset ceremony in KW. The whole thing.

(5) Review left 3/15/2022

This program provided an opportunity to complete some of our desires and goals to visit as many of the National parks as we can during our lifetime, and we visited three: Everglades, Dry Tortugas and Biscayne Bay.

(5) Review left 3/13/2022

It's a Great tour, learned alot about the Railroad,Ft. Jefferson,the Keys,plant life,how Keys came about..

(5) Review left 3/13/2022

The Road Scholar trip to the Keys, Everglades and Dry Tortugas was terrific. It was a great opportunity to learn more about the biology, ecology, and history of a beautiful part of our country. I highly recommend this tour.

(5) Review left 3/06/2022

Excellent program. I highly recommend it.

(5) Review left 2/28/2022

The Everglades is a river which flows on an ancient coral reef! Mangroves are natures wall against storm surges! Our Earth is amazing and I'm so lucky to learn about all of this through Road Scholar trips.

(5) Review left 2/25/2022

Terrific program and we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects especially the excursions to Dry Tortugas and Pigeon Key. Extremely friendly, knowledgable and enthusiastic team of three leaders. Interesting locations each day and plenty of fantastic birds were sought after and photographed.

(5) Review left 2/20/2022

I learned a lot about the Everglades and how important the preservation of those lands and waters are important to not only today, but the future of southern Florida. Key West surprised me. I always thought it a party city. Once you leave Duval St, although I would not skip it, the history of the buildings and the area is impressive. Fort Jefferson a do not miss and well worth the ferry ride. Howie, Aleksey and Andrea were excellent leaders. They shared their knowledge and their people skills were above and beyond. Note: If you decide to come in early I would suggest finding a hotel other than the Hyatt. It is remote, there are no restaurants or stores in the area. Perhaps Covid limited what was available at the hotel. You can always transfer on the day of the program.

(5) Review left 2/13/2022

A wonderful week exploring the flora, fauna, geology, archeology and human history of this fascinating region of our Country. Our guides, as well as the local guides during our 'field trips' daily, were well informed, interesting, friendly and very caring. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who cares about our National Parks and the challenges of climate change particularly facing south Florida.

(5) Review left 1/31/2022

This trip was outstanding. Traveling during the Covid-19 pandemic is not the easiest, but it made little difference to my enjoyment of the trip. Road Scholar provided excellent tour leaders, local guides, accommodations, restaurants and an amazing itinerary. You will not be disappointed with this trip!

(5) Review left 1/25/2022

Unique opportunity to visit and learn at some extraordinary state and national parks.

(5) Review left 1/23/2022

I have wanted to see Fort Jefferson for many years, it was everything and more than expected!,, Great trip!,

(5) Review left 3/14/2020

This was such a fun trip...Aleksy and Taylor are amazing leaders. They were totally dependable, completely knowledgeable, and fun to be with. The trip was very organized and meant three national parks in one swoop. The most unusual and exceptional one was the Dry Tortugas. We live in Florida but the thought of organizing a trip to this remote location for ourselves seemed just too daunting...Road Scholar's tour fit the bill. In addition, our fellow participants were very congenial. This was one of the best Road Scholar trips we have been on!!!

(5) Review left 3/08/2020

I may have been influenced by the fact that I was leaving 23 degrees and snow to come to the sub-tropics, but this was one of the best trips I have ever taken! Most of the credit goes to our two wonderful guides, Taylor Duck and Aleksey Berzon. I want to travel with them again!

(5) Review left 3/07/2020

This program is a nice getaway from cold weather up north. If you have Aleksey and Taylor as your leaders, then you are one lucky Road Scholar! They are so fun and made the week enjoyable. Visits to three National Parks makes the program unique. There is much history and beauty in the Keys. Accommodations and food were good. Would recommend to anyone wanting a respite from the cold.

(5) Review left 3/01/2020

Great - one of a kind subject matter. Well planned and executed.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/24/2020

Super trip. One advantage of the date was that the surf temperature at Fort Jefferson was 75 degrees making for pleasant snorkeling. Another pleasant surprise was that I only got one insect bite on the hole trip. The trip was well lead and provided a wonderful overview of the Keys' natural systems.

(5) Review left 2/22/2020

Escape from winter's cold for awhile and visit 3 sunny, warm National Parks in southern Florida to learn about the sub-tropical habitats there, Flagler's railroad, the forts that never saw action and the novelty of Key West.

(5) Review left 2/17/2020

This program provides a look into Florida's Everglades and reef parks, and a full description of their historic importance to the US.

(5) Review left 11/23/2019

My husband and I just completed our first Road Scholar program. It was to the Florida Everglades, Dry Tortugas and Key Biscayne. It was a very rewarding experience from all aspects and certainly good value. We are now researching our next Road Scholar experience.

(5) Review left 11/17/2019

This is a fun program and a good way to come out of your safe zone to speak. IT was very educational and interesting to learn about a part of the country I have never been to or know much about. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who is thinking about attending. The tour guides are amazing and really work together well.

(5) Review left 4/09/2019

If you want to really learn about the Everglades, this is a good trip. It covers the history and botany of the area in situ. Although you may bore your friends when you get home, you will feel that you really have experienced this part of the United States thoroughly.

(5) Review left 4/04/2019

Finally learn that those dots called "keys" on florida maps are "real" places joined by a string called "Highway 1!"

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

We had a wonderful time the locations we interesting and the guides were absolutely fabulous.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

This trip was fun. Lots of variety, interesting leaders and fascinating locales, from alligators to Presidential retreats.

(5) Review left 3/02/2019

The program was very educational. I learned more about the ecology and also about the history of our country.

(5) Review left 2/28/2019

We got to see a lot of the Keys and some places we would not have gone on our own. This is an On-the-Road trip so there isn't much time for lectures or evening meetings. Most of the educational component is done in the new, larger and more comfortable vans between locations. Alex, Ben and Michael were all top notch with logistics. Food and lodging was a cut above many of the other Road Scholar trips we have taken. We had beautiful weather and for many with was a break from the cold and snow of the midwest. Plan a few days before or after the trip to see some things there just isn't time for with the group.

(5) Review left 2/26/2019

Great program!

(5) Review left 1/19/2019

The Florida Keys are full of fascinating history and ecological importance. They are an ideal location for those seeking to escape locations subject to winter cold and stay warm with intellectual and social stimulation.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.