loading spinner
Online Program

Adventures Online: The Best of Portugal From Lisbon to the Sea

Program No. 24188RJ
From the comfort of your home, discover the best of Portugal as you learn about its medieval history, its connection to the sea and the fascinating cities of Porto, Coimbra and Lisbon.
Length
5 days
Rating (4.94)
Starts at
499

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
Select your number of enrollees
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person

DATES & PRICES

Online Program
Accommodation Details

Learn from the comfort of your own home.

DATES & PRICES

Online Program
Accommodation Details

Learn from the comfort of your own home.

At a Glance

“Bem-vindo” (“welcome”) to Portugal! On this online exploration through Lisbon, Porto and along the Mondego River region, immerse yourself in the culture and history of Portugal during virtual field trips, expert-led lectures and even a performance by local musicians. Under the tutelage of your local expert, learn about Portugal’s connection to the sea as you hear about its early maritime explorations, including those of Vasco de Gama, and gain insight into the local fishing industry and how seafood is incorporated in regional cuisine. Trace history from medieval times to modern day during online field trips through Porto, Coimbra (the former capital city) and Belem, Lisbon’s most notable neighborhood. Along the way, enjoy insightful lectures and group Q&A sessions that allow you to bond with your fellow Road Scholars, all while you enjoy Portuguese music, art and culture.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Through virtual field trips and lectures, explore Porto, Coimbra and Belem, Lisbon’s most important neighborhood and the point where Vasco de Gama set sail for the New World.
  • Learn about Portugal’s connection with the sea during a presentation by your Group Leader and enjoy a virtual field trip to a local market and learn how a “barbecue” of sardines is prepared in a Portuguese home.
  • Enjoy a virtual field trip along the Mondego River to learn why rice production is so important in this region, then enjoy explorations of a local castle and tile collection, both known for their exquisite artworks.

General Notes

You’ll enjoy 2-3 hours of daily instruction, discussion and/or field trips, which includes sufficient breaks throughout the program. This online program is through Zoom, an easy-to-use web video service that includes closed captioning. All you need is an Internet connection and your computer. We’ll provide a how-to guide to make sure you’ll have a hassle-free experience. This session is offered live only and will not be available on demand. Please review the daily itinerary for start and end times to ensure you won’t miss a minute of this live experience. All times are listed in the EASTERN time zone. If you live in a different time zone, please adjust your schedule accordingly.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Adriana Alves
Adriana Alves earned her master's degree in strategic management of travel destinations. Adriana is an energetic and knowledgeable group leader who delights in sharing her experiences as well as cultural, historical information on Portugal with Road Scholar participants. She is fluent in English and her native Portuguese.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Helena Baltazar
Helena Baltazar View biography
Helena Baltazar has a degree in Art History from the University of Porto where she also completed a post-graduate degree in Museum Studies. She then completed her Master's thesis in the university’s Heritage Department. Helena is passionate about her country and has dedicated the past 20 years to lecturing on Portugal’s art and history, participating in projects of museum evaluation, and leading educational visits for travelers interested in Portuguese culture, art, and architecture. She also develops and operates programs in Portugal for Road Scholar.
Profile Image of Adriana Alves
Adriana Alves View biography
Adriana Alves earned her master's degree in strategic management of travel destinations. Adriana is an energetic and knowledgeable group leader who delights in sharing her experiences as well as cultural, historical information on Portugal with Road Scholar participants. She is fluent in English and her native Portuguese.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Message
by Fernando Pessoa
Circumnavigation of the Globe
by Laurence Bergreen
A History of Portugal and the Portuguese Empire, 2-Volume Set
by A. R. Disney
The Last Crusade: The Epic Voyages of Vasco da Gama
by Nigel Cliff
Lisbon: War in the Shadows of the City of Light, 1939-1945
by Neil Lochery
The First Global Village: How Portugal Changed the World
by Martin Page
The Lusiads
by Luis Vaz de Camões
The Portuguese: The Land and Its People
by Marion Kaplan
Conquerors: How Portugal Forged the First Global Empire
by Roger Crowley
33 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.94 Average
(5) Review left 2/26/2022

Excellent program, next best thing to being there. Nice mix of presentation styles, including lectures, video-taped walks, live musical presentations and Q&A with locals. And, as always with Road Scholar, great presenters and a nice group of actively involved fellow participants.

(5) Review left 2/25/2022

This was the best zoom class ever! Highly informative. A wide variety of presentations from live speakers to videos. A wonderful tour guide and the next best thing to being in Portugal. I highly recommend this class!

(5) Review left 2/25/2022

By its nature, RoadScholar brings together interesting and interested participants with excellent programs with interesting and interested presenters. The dialogue is wonderful, the chemistry expansive, totally amazing.

(5) Review left 6/21/2021

This program allowed me to travel virtually to a country I have long been interested in. The guides and instructors were genuine and professional and shared a depth of knowledge I hadn't expected; and the adjustments to video versions of walking tours and presentations worked extremely well. I appreciated having a Road Scholar tech support person in attendance the whole time in case of glitches. She kept us all in unbroken contact. This was a great experience!

(5) Review left 6/18/2021

This virtual tour of Portugal was excellent. The presentations were very interesting and the use of zoom was most creative. The instructors were easy to understand and really made a connection with participants. We were sad to leave on the last day.

(5) Review left 4/23/2021

This was an entertaining and informative program giving a good overview of Portugal's history, culture, products and life.

(5) Review left 4/23/2021

I signed up for the online adventure, The Best of Portugal from Lisbon to the Sea, because I had never visited this country and really wanted to experience it. My hopes for an engaging and informative tour were met and exceeded. My group coordinator and the local guides gave me such a distinctive flavor of the country that I truly feel I have visited Portugal. Road Scholar's virtual tours are a godsend for people who cannot physically travel for one reason or another. I do hope they continue to provide them.

(5) Review left 2/12/2021

Just finished Adventures Online: The Best of Portugal From Lisbon to the Sea. Excellent program. The instructors were very knowledgeable and engaging. I learned a lot about Portugal- it's history, culture, the issues the people deal with. Short of travelling there (which I do want to do when able to), this was a great option.

(5) Review left 2/12/2021

Fantastic program with experienced and engaging presenters.

(5) Review left 1/26/2021

It would be great to take a virtual trip before actually visiting in person. Virtually, you learn and see and have time to digest on the information with no distractions...able to focus. Physically, when you actually take the trip, walk the grounds, smell and touch...you will enjoy the trip on a much richer and deeper level. And you will truly savor the moments.

(5) Review left 1/17/2021

With the intention of going on the Duoro river cruise program someday, I registered for this program to get some early knowledge of Portugal (and counteract the inability to travel in person right now). The program provided such good information on the history, culture and current aspects of the country. I loved the variety of activities - slides, pictures, videos, live interactions (music concert and discussions with college grads) and the participant connections. The program was technically run to perfection and the leaders kept us engaged. I did miss being able to try the local food like we can in person but it was nice not to have to pack a suitcase! I am signed up for the virtual tour to Antarctica next.

(5) Review left 1/16/2021

Top quality leaders/lecturers created an open and congenial atmosphere and provided a well organized and interesting picture of historical and contemporary Portugal. Emphasis on the importance of the sea in every aspect of Portuguese history and life, including art. Video presentations were well integrated into talks and field trips along with information from a range of presenters including a Coimbra student, Fado musicians and a family sharing a sardine barbeque. Questions and comments from involved participants were encouraged and never answered in a simplistic way. Learned about rice, fishing, and Mediterranean diet. Excellent experience!

(5) Review left 1/16/2021

The Best of Portugal from Lisbon to the Sea was an amazing virtual tour! The program sparked a strong interest in visiting Portugal in the future. After taking the virtual tour, I believe the actual trip to Portugal will be a richer experience. I highly recommend this tour. Of course, the tour guides were quite knowledgeable and set the stage for a delightful experience. Thank you!

(5) Review left 1/16/2021

As long as you can’t go in person, this virtual tour to Portugal is the next best thing. With very personable and competent leaders and carefully planned timing, we walked through old towns, rode on a fishing boat, conversed with natives, listened to fado; all the while learning about the history of Portugal as well as the present day. I highly recommend this trip.

(5) Review left 1/15/2021

This was an amazing program, by far the best online program I have experienced through Road Scholar or any other platform. Paula and Luisa were truly wonderful. They were fun to be with, and kept us on schedule so the entire group could experience every facet of the program. Prof. Helena Baltazar was also terrific; she is extraordinarily knowledgeable about history, art, and culture of Portugal and extremely engaging. The additional feature of joining an extended family for a visit to the market and a family sardine barbecue was a real treat! The program was truly unique, not only did it include several dozen videos and virtual tours of sites all around the country, but we met four lovely Portuguese citizens who spoke to us in small groups about everyday life in their country and answered many of our questions. The expansive nature of the program using every possible online tool and engaging tour guides made the country come alive while sitting in front of a computer screen. I cannot recommend this program enough!

(4) Review left 1/15/2021

My wife made all the arrangements and contact so I just go along on the program!

(5) Review left 1/15/2021

This program is absolutely first rate. You will have fun learning about this intriguing country and the program leaders Paula and Luisa and Helena were excellent in so many ways. It was an enriching experience for me and kept me feeling stimulated, hopeful and even happy during this pandemic.

(5) Review left 1/15/2021

We just finished the program this morning, and I feel like I've been in Portugal. The presenters, the materials covered, and the way in which they were covered were all marvelous.

(5) Review left 1/15/2021

The virtual tour of Portugal was a wonderful mix of history, current culture, walking tours, food, music, interacting with locals, great guides and speakers and the technology to enjoy all this was very good. Thank you, Diane

(4) Review left 1/15/2021

What a fun experience! Road Scholar did such a great job making me feel like I was in Portugal! I loved learning about the history and culture of Portugal. And meeting natives made it such a special experience! I look forward to doing this again.

(5) Review left 12/21/2020

My trip to Portugal was "A Real Life Experience" thanks to the mentoring of our local Guide. She alternated among "real life" Walks, local experts and friends, historic and current context untiI I forgot that I was only at Home behind my computer and not struggling with my Walker up and down hills. Can't wait for my next Trip!

(5) Review left 12/18/2020

The trip to Portugal was so beyond what I could ever have expected.It was superbly organized and seamless. The lecturers Helena and Adriana were excellent. The field trips were extremely interesting. There was a great balance between lectures and field trips and conversations with local people. The group leader created a very warm and friendly atmosphere. I would highly highly recommend this trip.

(5) Review left 12/18/2020

A wonderful first experience in virtual travel.

(5) Review left 11/03/2020

A lovely way to see Portugal when we can't actually be there. Well done, Road Scholar. Thank you.

(5) Review left 11/03/2020

I highly recommend this program! Our instructors were outstanding and worked so hard to help us feel we literally were in Portugal. A good combination of lectures and virtual field trips. A live, not recorded, program with opportunities for great conversations with residents who were so eager to share their love for Portugal. A great experience - one you shouldn't miss!

(5) Review left 11/01/2020

A wonderful way to experience a location (hopefully, but not necessarily) prior to visiting. The leaders were friendly & knowledgeable and the program allowed lots of questions which was an added benefit to a non-live program. Highly recommend.

(5) Review left 10/31/2020

Adventures Online: The Best of Portugal From Lisbon to the Sea. Isabel Bernay and Paula Fernandes gave our group an excellent and engaging program about the history and culture of Portugal. Their interactive sessions with Portuguese citizens emulated the "true Road Scholar experience" and we felt we were in the country versus Zoom!

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

This was fabulous! Along with the 2 Program Leaders/Instructors, there were several other people that we were able to interact with. Everyone was so friendly and informative. There was a good mix of topics, videos, live interaction, and a very thorough handout for us to keep. Almost felt like I actually travelled there!

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

This is a wonderful program, full of interesting facts and interactions on Portugal. The instructors had a great series of presentations. I feel like I have been to Portugal. You will not regret taking this class.

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

I highly recommend experiencing a virtual trip. It will really give you a feel for the country; the sites, it's culture & people. You can review your guide book, as I did for Portugal, but there is no substitute for the personal connection. In our program, we had discussions with Portuguese students & working adults, which provides insight you would not have otherwise. Folks, get on with life long learning through travel, even if it is virtual for the present time!

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

This was my first virtual educational travel experience and I can't wait to do another one! Really got immersed in the country's history and current experience by interacting with locals and great presentations. I appreciated sharing this program with folks all over the U.S.

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

I enthusiastically recommend this program. There was obvious quality background preparation for the delivery of content, but the group leaders, instructors and other team members really made this program special. This online adventure is a great replication of a typical Road Scholar program with efforts to travel virtually, to visit and communicate with locals, and to provide interesting historical and cultural information. Now, to visit Portugal in person - it's on my bucket list!

(5) Review left 10/30/2020

The group leaders, Isabel Burney and Paula Fernades, were AMAZING! Their program was put together with love and care to give us a slice of Portugal. They had arranged Field Trips for us to see Fado performances and also breakrooms to ask questions of "locals" in the cities we visited. I know this took time and care to put together and it truly shows. I have an in-person trip to Portugal for October 2021 (rescheduled from Oct 2020) and I am looking so forward to it! A few weeks after the course, Isabel and Paula mailed out "Thank You" postcards to everyone!!! Phenomenal!!!!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.