loading spinner
23579
Azores

Hiking the Azores: A Nature Lover’s Paradise

Learn about the Azores’ island beauty as you join expert naturalists on hikes to the woodlands, thermal spring pools, caves and volcanic landscapes of Europe’s best-kept secret.
Rating (5)
Program No. 23579RJ
Length
10 days
Starts at
3,749
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE
Azores

Hiking the Azores: A Nature Lover’s Paradise

Learn about the Azores’ island beauty as you join expert naturalists on hikes to the woodlands, thermal spring pools, caves and volcanic landscapes of Europe’s best-kept secret.
Length
10 days
Starts at
3,749
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE
Program No. 23579 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 1 - Sep 10, 2021
Starting at
4,199
Sep 15 - Sep 24, 2021
Starting at
4,199
Sep 29 - Oct 8, 2021
Starting at
4,099
Special Offer

Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 13 - Oct 22, 2021
Starting at
4,099
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 27 - Nov 5, 2021
Starting at
3,799
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Nov 10 - Nov 19, 2021
Starting at
3,799
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 2 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
3,749
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 16 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
3,749
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Apr 27 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

May 11 - May 20, 2022
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

May 25 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Jun 15 - Jun 24, 2022
Starting at
4,349
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Aug 31 - Sep 9, 2022
Starting at
4,349
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Sep 28 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
4,249
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 12 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
4,099
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 1 - Sep 10, 2021
Starting at
4,759
Sep 15 - Sep 24, 2021
Starting at
4,759
Sep 29 - Oct 8, 2021
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 13 - Oct 22, 2021
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 27 - Nov 5, 2021
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by June 30, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Nov 10 - Nov 19, 2021
Starting at
4,199
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 2 - Mar 11, 2022
Starting at
4,099
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 16 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
4,099
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Apr 27 - May 6, 2022
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

May 11 - May 20, 2022
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

May 25 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Jun 15 - Jun 24, 2022
Starting at
4,949
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Aug 31 - Sep 9, 2022
Starting at
4,949
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Sep 28 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
4,799
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

Oct 12 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by July 31, 2021 for free round-trip air from BOS! Ask about other cities!

At a Glance

Lush, green landscapes as far as your eye can see. Waterfalls pouring into cool lakes. Soft footprints along black sand beaches and steamy thermal pools surrounding epic craters. Welcome to the Azores: An adventurer’s wonderland filled with colorful nature, beautiful birds and unspoiled scenery. Join naturalists on hikes through this remote archipelago to learn about its treasures along narrow paths, inside fascinating caves, through botanical gardens and alongside natural pools. Nicknamed “Hawaii of the Mid-Atlantic” for its unreal, verdant landscapes, explore the Azores on foot to uncover the precious secrets of this natural paradise.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Walking up to 5 miles a day on sometimes uneven terrain with elevations up to 2,460 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Join a naturalist as you walk inside Algar do Carvao, a one-of-a-kind ancient magma chamber.
  • Venture around a volcanic crater to “Vista do Rei” (The King’s View) and marvel at the Twin Lakes and Sete Cidades town below.
  • Immerse yourself in 31 acres of gardens, grottoes, streams and thermal pools as you explore the world renowned Terra Nostra Botanical Park.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Daniel James Edward Torres
Daniel Torres has worked with Road Scholar programs in the Azores since 2017. He started his professional career as a site coordinator in Barcelona in 1997 before going on to lead programs in Spain, Portugal, and Brazil. Born and raised in London, he moved to Rio de Janeiro at the age of 24 and worked for 14 years as a singer-songwriter, writing and recording music for Brazilian television and movie projects. Daniel is fluent in English and Portuguese and teaches English as a foreign language.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Daniel Torres
Daniel James Edward Torres View biography
Daniel Torres has worked with Road Scholar programs in the Azores since 2017. He started his professional career as a site coordinator in Barcelona in 1997 before going on to lead programs in Spain, Portugal, and Brazil. Born and raised in London, he moved to Rio de Janeiro at the age of 24 and worked for 14 years as a singer-songwriter, writing and recording music for Brazilian television and movie projects. Daniel is fluent in English and Portuguese and teaches English as a foreign language.
Profile Image of Pedro Cordeiro
Pedro Cordeiro View biography
Pedro Cordeiro has a bachelor’s degree in sales and marketing from the University of the Azores. He also attended a two-year exchange program in Spain under Erasmus sponsorship, and has earned a degree in public relations and communication from the University of the Azores. In 2011, after a number of years in the hospitality industry, Pedro became a full-time Group Leader in order to share his love for the outdoors. He is fluent in English, Spanish, and has a good knowledge of French.
Profile Image of Filipe Lourenco
Filipe Lourenco View biography
Filipe is a local expert hiking instructor guide in the Island of Terceira, Azores, POrtugal
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Azores, or Western Islands: A Political, Commercial and Geographical Account
by Walter Frederick
ISBN-10: 1334250421 ISBN-13: 978-1334250422
Azores: Nine Islands, One History
by Susana Goulart Costa
Paperback Language: English ISBN-10: 0981933602 ISBN-13: 978-0981933603 Product Dimensions: 22.4 x 15 x 2.5 cm
The Tenth Island
by Diana Marcum
Print Length: 240 pages Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1503941310 Publisher: Little A (August 1, 2018) Publication Date: August 1, 2018 Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC Language: English ASIN: B078974QZV An Amazon Charts Most Read book Listed on The New York Times‘s Holiday Book Suggestions gift guide Featured on The New York Times’s “52 Books for 52 Places” From a Pulitzer Prize–winning writer comes an exuberant memoir of personal loss and longing, and finding connection on the remote Azorean islands of the Atlantic Ocean. Reporter Diana Marcum is in crisis. A long-buried personal sadness is enfolding her—and her career is stalled—when she stumbles upon an unusual group of immigrants living in rural California. She follows them on their annual return to the remote Azores islands in the Atlantic Ocean, where bulls run down village streets, volcanoes are active, and the people celebrate festas to ease their saudade, a longing so deep that the Portuguese word for it can’t be fully translated. Years later, California is in a terrible drought, the wildfires seem to never end, and Diana finds herself still dreaming of those islands and the chuva—a rain so soft you don’t notice when it begins or ends. With her troublesome Labrador retriever, Murphy, in tow, Diana returns to the islands of her dreams only to discover that there are still things she longs for—and one of them may be a most unexpected love.
History of the Azores
by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1511516097 ISBN-13: 978-1511516099 Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 1.2 x 22.9 cm
Baleia! The whalers of the Azores
by Bernard Venables
Hardcover: 206 pages Language: English ISBN-10: 0370003845 ISBN-13: 978-0370003849 Product Dimensions: 21.4 x 14.4 x 3 cm
Plants and flowers of the Azores
by Erik Sjögren
transklated by David Sayers (Author), Ben Fogle (Foreword) Paperback – 1191 pages
Natural History of the Azores, or Western Islands-
by Frederick Du Cane Godman
Paperback: 371 pages Language: English ISBN-10: 1402165293 ISBN-13: 978-1402165290 Product Dimensions: 13.3 x 2.1 x 21 cm
Walking on the Azores
by Paddy Dilan
Walking on the Azores 70 routes across Sao Miguel, Santa Maria, Terceira, Graciosa, Sao Jorge, Pico, Faial, Flores and Corvo Guidebook to 70 walks on the Azores, a remote archipelago in the North Atlantic Ocean. Most of the walks are easy or moderate, with a few graded difficult. The selection is spread across all nine islands, offering much variety, from easy village-to-village walks to remote and mountainous walks, including Portugal's highest mountain, Pico. From Amazon: A comprehensive guide to walking in the Portuguese Azores, an archipelago of nine lush green islands in the North Atlantic Ocean. The 70 routes cover the three island groups: the Eastern Group (Sao Miguel and Santa Maria), Central Group (Terceira, Graciosa, Sao Jorge, Pico and Faial) and Western Group (Flores and Corvo). Routes range from hour-long strolls to full-day outings and most use the islands' network of official waymarked trails, including sections of the multi-day GR1. Also included is an ascent of Pico, the highest mountain on Portuguese territory. The guidebook gives lots of practical information on travel to the Azores and between the different islands, as well as getting around by public transport. Full route descriptions are accompanied by 1:50,000 map extracts, plus notes on refreshment opportunities and local points of interest. The routes promise verdant green landscapes and astounding volcanic landforms, taking in forests, rocky slopes, cliff coast and waterfalls as well as a rich built heritage including churches, forts, windmills and harbours. Whether you prefer a single-base trip or an island-hopping adventure, you'll find stunning scenery at every turn. The mild climate makes this an ideal destination for year-round walking. ISBN 9781852849085 Availability Not Yet Published Available 15 Nov 2019 Edition First Pages 296 Size 17.2 x 11.6 x 1.7cm cicerone.co.uk/walking-on-the-azores
Saudade
by Miriam Winthrop
Paperback: 360 pages Language: English ISBN-10: 0615982735 ISBN-13: 978-0615982731 Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.1 x 22.9 cm
: Rother Walking Guide Paperback
by Roman Martin
The Azores, previously known primarily in connection with weather maps, has drawn more and more visitors in recent years. Nine different islands of volcanic origin belong to this archipelago, which, politically, belongs to Portugal. Corvo, the smallest of the Azores, measures only 17 square kilometres, compared to São Miguel at 757. The island of Pico contains the highest mountain of Portugal, which bears the same name as the island and stands at 2351 m. Sheer coasts and white beaches, picturesque fishing villages, wonderful lakes, lots of wind and a rich array of flowers attract island enthusiasts with a yearning for exploration. The author, Dr. Hannelore Schmitz, has selected a variety of 40 tours for this Rother Walking Guide, spanning from the largest to the smallest of the Azores. The diverse range stretches from coastal walks with the option of bathing, to walks around Caldiera and island crossings, to an ascent of Pico. On the island of São Jorge, the Fajãs, with their fertile plains at sea level, surrounded by cliffs, are especially inviting for walking. Blessed by the climate, even tropical fruit thrives in some of these flourishing gardens. The tour recommendations of this handy walking guide, described in detail, are generously illustrated with colour photos. For easy orientation, each walk is accompanied by a map excerpt on a scale of 1:50,000. Comprehensive introductory chapters familiarise the reader with this exciting archipelago, and several tips on special features and sights complete this excellent guide, which is a must in your suitcase. Paperback: 264 pages Publisher: Rother; 2016 edition (10 May 2016) Language: English, German ISBN-10: 3763348182 ISBN-13: 978-3763348183 Product Dimensions: 11.6 x 1.5 x 16.5 cm
14 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The Azores Islands are spectacular! This was my first adventure with Road Scholar and it far exceeded my expectations. Beautiful scenery, delicious food and wine, great hikes and superb knowledgeable guides. I can't wait for my next trip!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I could not have chosen a better trip for my first Road Scholar experience. Daniel, the Group Leader, created a wonderful atmosphere for our group of 21, keeping us informed of potential changes due to weather, and maintaining control of the group with humor, charisma, and kindness. The field experts, Paola, Felipe, Pedro and Carlos, provided terrific insight and knowledge which greatly enhanced the experience. Logistically, Daniel ensured a smooth running trip; the lodging was lovely, the food was incredible, transportation ran smoothly, meet-up times were clearly explained (not just when, but also why), and Daniel made himself available for our questions and/or concerns (if any) during our free time. The itinerary descriptions provided are very accurate and extremely helpful. The scenery on the hikes was magnificent and experiencing the local culture was an added bonus to each day. I highly recommend this trip and am looking forward to spending my retirement years completing my wish list with Road Scholar. Educational Wanderlust! Bunnie J - Class of 2020

(5)

A terrific group of guides in a beautiful environment hiking so many special trails.

(5)

Spectacular! That describes everything about this trip - guides, food, accommodations, scenery, hiking, wine, etc. Daniel Torres was an excellent group leader who found fun alternatives when an activity had to be changed. Some hikes included steep ascents and descents and we walked in the rain, but we all did them and it was well worth it. In less than hospitable weather conditions it was good and in the sun it was stupendous.  Even with concerns about coronavirus we had a good time. Highly recommend this trip.

(5)

I would recommend the Azores hiking program. The islands have wonderful natural beauty, the views are spectacular and the program leader and guides are first rate. Plus, it's an area that many Americans have never visited.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Fabulous!!! Our first RS trip. The Azores were beautiful in spite of some rain. Tip: take a waterproof jacket and hat, not just water repellant. You’re hiking even if it rains. An excellent itinerary, everything was so well organized. Daniel was beyond terrific and our local guides were as well. Hotels were wonderful, food was delicious. We loved the whole trip! I do think RS needs to better describe the hikes, the original description sounded like we would be strolling along but there is some serious up and down and elevation changes. Five miles on a flat road is a LOT different than five miles up and down. Take hiking poles. Five star trip!

(5)

I had a really great time on this trip. Our leader Daniel was wonderful and he, along with our instructors on both islands, provided us with lots of fun, lots of food and wine and lots of cool information and learning experiences. The accommodations were excellent, the meals were excellent and all o the activities memorable. No matter the weather we carried on safely and happily due to the professional and fun loving manner of our leader, instructors and amazing bus drivers. The other group members were fun loving too and friendly so that just added to the good experience.

(5)

If you are an avid hiker looking for a beautiful outdoor experience this program is for you. The leadership quality is excellent as well as the food and lodging. This is a wonderful way to meet others who have a spirit of adventure and who love the outdoors.

(5)

Don't miss this one! If you like to hike, learn, laugh, eat and drink, you will love this program! You'll enjoy meticulous leadership, knowledgeable and friendly hike leaders, spectacular and varied natural beauty, culture and history in a still sparsely traveled archipelago. And it's all just four hours from Boston. Definitely merits 5 stars.

(5)

The Azores Program concerns a unique and isolated group of Islands. I have a lactose and gluten problem and was worried about having meals that could accommodate me. If you have any particular food problem or preference, you need not worry as you will be taken care of. Daniel Torres is an exceptional group leader and guide. He will help you and solve any of your problems. Take advantage of these unique islands.

(5)

The Azores is a gorgeous place. The accommodations were great. Loved the thermal pool and the gardens. The leader was outstanding. I don’t think you could find a better leader. The leader and the guides set the tone for a wonderful trip. Our group all got along well. Everyone was lots of fun. We had a lot of rain but the hikes went on and no one complained. If you are thinking about this trip just do it. I can’t wait to return to the Azores. It really does look like Hawaii but with the charm of Europe.

(5)

This trip was very rewarding. Daniel, Pedro and the two Diogo’s were terrific,accommodating leaders/instructors. The country is beautiful and the hikes were stunnng. Just be prepared because the hikes are more challenging than the descriptions given. I am a walker (about 4.5 miles 4 times a week) and I was challenged because there are a lot of ups and downs that test your hips, knees and balance. Don’t get me wrong, I’d do it again. The reward was worth the effort.

(5)

I loved this program. The Azores are beautiful; the scenery is spectacular. The staff and accommodations were excellent and the food and wine was wonderful. The hiking was more challenging than I expected from the descriptions. In places the trails were steep with corresponding downhills and the trails were often rocky. I still liked it but be aware that "easy" was not often the case.

(5)

Hiking in the Azores is my first Road Scholar program and I don't think it will be my last. It was an excellent way to see these beautiful islands. It challenged me physically and stimulated me mentally.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.