loading spinner
New York

Choose Your Pace: Cross-Country Skiing the Adirondacks

Program No. 23189RJ
Learn about the winter wonderland of the Adirondacks as you explore by snowshoe or cross-country ski! Choose from different activities each day with expert instructors.
Length
6 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,349

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Standard View Deluxe View
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer typical/average views of the area’s scenery.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer the facility’s best views of the area’s scenery.

Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 1,449
Deluxe View 1,649
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Standard View 1,349
Deluxe View 1,549
Itinerary Note

This date will only offer one winter sport; snow shoeing. Select this date if you prefer a full week of practicing snow shoeing!

DATES & PRICES

Standard View Deluxe View
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer typical/average views of the area’s scenery.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer the facility’s best views of the area’s scenery.

Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 1,689
Deluxe View 1,889
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Standard View 1,589
Deluxe View 1,789
Itinerary Note

This date will only offer one winter sport; snow shoeing. Select this date if you prefer a full week of practicing snow shoeing!

At a Glance

The Adirondacks of New York offer stunning vistas and dynamic terrain, perfect for an active winter learning adventure with Road Scholar! Join expert instructors each day as you break into groups by activity level to explore 30 miles of groomed cross country ski trails, dedicated snow shoe trails and direct access to marvelous backcountry ski trails at Garnet Hill Lodge. Plus, learn about area wildlife and nature, and delve into stories of the garnet mines that make this area famous. Whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned skier or snowshoer, you’ll love exploring the winter wonderland of the Adirondacks. Transfer available at added cost.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Choose Your Pace
Choose from cross-country skiing or snowshoeing options each day based on your desired level of challenge, up to eight miles and 1,200-foot elevation gain. For more experienced skiers, backcountry trips will be offered.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Decide among three activities each day based on your desired level of challenge, from introductory cross-country ski lessons to a nighttime snowshoe trek.
  • Rendezvous at the charming Sugar House in a cabin in the woods for your picnic lunch by the wood stove.
  • Choose from other active adventures like yoga and outdoor survival lessons, and learn from expert instructors.

General Notes

Program does not include ski rentals. Skis can be rented for the duration of the program from Garnet Hill Lodge upon arrival at the rate of $70. Snow shoes can be rented at $50 for the program duration. Airport transfer available at added cost. Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Jim Rucker
Jim Rucker and his wife are the owners of Garnet Hill Lodge. Jim is an outdoor enthusiast who enjoys running, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, and skiing. Whenever the opportunity arises, he is out hiking the trails or canoeing the lakes and rivers of the Adirondack Mountains. Jim has had a home in the Adirondacks for more than 20 years and is thoroughly familiar with the trails, both easy and more challenging, that are accessible from the lodge. He thoroughly enjoys introducing Road Scholars these activities.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Jim Rucker
Jim Rucker View biography
Jim Rucker and his wife are the owners of Garnet Hill Lodge. Jim is an outdoor enthusiast who enjoys running, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, and skiing. Whenever the opportunity arises, he is out hiking the trails or canoeing the lakes and rivers of the Adirondack Mountains. Jim has had a home in the Adirondacks for more than 20 years and is thoroughly familiar with the trails, both easy and more challenging, that are accessible from the lodge. He thoroughly enjoys introducing Road Scholars these activities.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Adirondack Trails with Tales: History Hikes through the Adirondack Park and the Lake George, Lake Champlain and Mohawk Valley Regions
by Russell Dunn and Barbara Delaney
Bike, paddle, bike, or cross-country ski along beautiful trails through sites made famous by Adirondack guides, artists, writers, entrepreneurs, colonial settlers, and combatants in the French and Indian and Revolutionary Wars. Visit abandoned iron mines and the ruins of tanneries, famous Adirondack great camps and old resorts, lost villages, Native American battlegrounds, and the homestead of John Brown, catalyst for the Civil War. Visit the scene of America s first naval battle and marvel at geological wonders like Indian Pass, Canajoharie Gorge, Chimney Mountain, and the tufa caves of Van Hornesville. Includes detailed directions, maps, photographs, and vintage postcards. Foreword by Joe Martens, President, Open Space Institute. Hikes include: Valcour Island, Coon Mountain, Crown Point: Fort St. Frederic & His Majesty s Fort of Crown Point, Fort Ticonderoga, Ironville & Penfield Homestead, Rock Pond, Rogers Rock, Shelving Rock Mountain & Shelving Rock Falls, Prospect Mountain, Fort George and Bloody Pond, Cooper s Cave & Betar Byway, John Brown s Farm, Mt. Jo & Mt. Van Hoevenberg, Adirondac & Indian Pass, East Branch of the Ausable River & Adirondack Mountain Reserve, Santanoni, The Sagamore, Paul Smiths, Hooper Garnet Mine, Chimney Mountain, Kunjamuk Cave, Griffin, Griffin Falls, & Auger Falls, Moss Island, Tufa Caves & Waterfalls of Van Hornesville, Canajoharie Gorge, and Wolf Hollow.
High Peaks: A History of Hiking the Adirondacks from Noah to Neoprene
by Tim Rowland
The unique geological history of the Adirondacks can be found in a pebble. So discovers humorist and outdoorsman Tim Rowland as he chronicles the evolution of hiking in the howling wilderness of the High Peaks. From nineteenth-century guides’ “random scoots” to Melville Dewey’s “Adirondaks Loj” to today’s technologically enhanced weekenders, Rowland, who has climbed the forty-six himself, incorporates personal anecdotes and laugh-out-loud wit to capture the appeal and beauty of this beloved region, all the while reminding us of the importance of keeping these stunning mountains, and their attendant “neat rocks,” “Forever Wild.”
Adirondack Wildlife: A Field Guide
by James M. Ryan
The breathtaking six-million-acre Adirondack Park in upstate New York is comprised of a multiplicity of habitats, including over 2,800 lakes and ponds, more than 30,000 miles of running water, and 46 major mountain peaks. Adirondack Wildlife: A Field Guide is, astonishingly, the first authoritative handbook devoted to the natural history and ecology of the Adirondacks and the Park’s invertebrates, fish, reptiles, birds, and mammals. The book leads the reader on an intimate journey through the Adirondack Park, beginning with the alpine communities above timberline and descending through the conifer and hardwood forests to the wetlands, streams, and lakes. Ryan’s crisp and authoritative species-by-species accounts of the park’s fauna are fabulously illustrated in color and in black and white. The book is portable and geared towards use in the field. Each chapter concludes with “sources and additional readings;” back matter includes a glossary and species checklists. The park’s hundreds of thousands of residents and millions of visitors will profit immeasurably by having the indispensable Adirondack Wildlife at hand.
The Adirondack Reader
by Adirondack Mountain Club
Writers of the past 400 years reflect the changing attitudes toward wilderness and the development of wild lands in the Adirondack Mountains.
The Adirondacks: A History of America's First Wilderness
by Paul Schneider
Paul Schneider's book is a romance, a story of first love between Americans and a thing they call "wilderness." For it was in the Adirondacks that masses of non-Native Americans first learned to cherish the wilderness as a place of recreation and solace. In this lyrical narrative history, the author reveals that the affair between Americans and the Adirondacks was by no means one of love at first sight. And even now, Schneider shows that Americans' relationship with the glorious mountains and rivers of the Adirondacks continues to change. As in every good romance, nothing is as simple as it appears.
12 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 3/06/2020

If your looking for an outdoor experience with snowshoe or cross country skiing in a beautiful area, with nice accommodations, good food, helpful instructors that work with all abilities, and a flexible accommodating staff, don't miss the Garnet Hill Lodge and Outdoor Center. I was there for skiing, but they have activities year round l. Highly recommended!

(5) Review left 1/10/2020

The location was beautiful and the ski instruction was excellent. Although we came for the skiing, the other program activities were thoroughly enjoyable. Overall I had a great experience.

(5) Review left 3/24/2019

This program is about as perfect as it can get. The Garnet Hill Lodge is beautiful, the staff is welcoming, the instructors are knowledgeable, patient, and fun. The food is very good. The trails are breathtaking as is 13th Lake. I learned to do something I've always wanted to do - cross-country ski. I had never been on any type of snow ski prior to this program and finished being able to CC Ski without falling down. The program accommodates all skill levels and you and move among the different activity levels as you choose. All activities were well organized and well led. I never felt unsafe or doubtful of my instructor's competence. Do yourself a BIG favor and participate in this program.

(5) Review left 3/11/2019

This was an excellent experience all around. The lodge, the food and the X country skiing and snow shoeing. All levels of ability were accommodated. Trails were well groomed and beautiful. Instructors were professional, encouraging, and FUN! Jim, the group leader couldn’t do enough for us and he showed flexibility when the daily schedule had to change due to cold weather. I can recommend this trip highly. I hope to go again next year.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

I have strong downhill skiing experience but limited X-C experience. The instructors were excellent and within the few days I was able to quickly advance from the beginner trails to the challenging level. More than I expected.

(5) Review left 3/08/2019

This was my first Road Scholar program and it exceeded my expectations. I got to try something new and believe I am now a convert from downhill skiing to cross country skiing. The facility located in the Adirondack Mountains was comfortable and the views were spectacular. What a great time!

(5) Review left 2/01/2019

If you are a cross-country skier, in my estimation, you will enjoy this program:#23189, Choose your Pace... Skiing in the Adirondacks.

(5) Review left 1/17/2019

Our week at Garnet Hill Lodge was filled with enjoyable people, beautiful wooded trails and evenings around a roaring fire. The new owner, Jim Rucker, and his team made our week of snowshoeing a joy. We so loved the trails and the lake that we hope to return for some hiking and swimming in the summer. Highly recommended.

(5) Review left 1/16/2019

This program is an excellent opportunity for people who want to enjoy winter sports of cross-country skiing and showshoeing. Instruction was available for both beginners and intermediates, and every day had options for multiple levels of experience in both sports. The Lodge is lovely, the food was very good, and the guides and hosts were talented and welcoming. Be aware that you will be in mountainous country, and even the beginning level trails are far from dead flat, although anyone who is game to try can have a lot of fun on them. This place has some of the top-level skiing in the East, and evening presentations added to my knowledge of the area and its history.

(5) Review left 1/14/2019

If you like to cross-country ski, I recommend this program. The staff is accommodating. The instruction is good. A great place to ski. Not the best place to go for those who have never cross-country skied before (that is not because of the staff, but because of the terrain).

(5) Review left 1/11/2019

We LOVED this trip - as beginners we received lots of individual instruction on cross-country skiing and snow shoeing. The program accommodated travelers from beginners to very advanced. The facility and location is beautiful and the food is plentiful and delicious.

(5) Review left 1/11/2019

A 'must' program for cross-country skiers! So glad Garnet Lodge is back with great accommodations, wonderful food, extensive skiing options and delightful staff. I intend to return next year. Ann R






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.