loading spinner
Quebec

Walking and Hiking in Québec City

Program No. 23165RJ
Take daily hikes across four centuries of history & French Canadian heritage in the urban UNESCO setting of Québec City, the Île d’Orléans & the region’s stunning collection of parks.
Length
5 days
Rating (4.86)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,249
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Authentic Room Modern Room
Accommodation Details

Restored, cheery room in authentic Monastic setting, with sink, mirror, dresser and desk. Includes a shared bathroom (1 bathroom between 5 rooms) and either a single bed or two single beds.

Accommodation Details

Renovated, modern room in authentic Monastic setting, with sink, mirror, dresser and integrated storage space. Includes a private full bathroom and either a king bed, a queen bed or two single beds.

Jun 4 - Jun 8, 2023
Authentic Room 1,249
Modern Room 1,349
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Jun 25 - Jun 29, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Jul 9 - Jul 13, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Jul 25 - Jul 29, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Aug 14 - Aug 18, 2023
SOLD OUT
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Aug 27 - Aug 31, 2023
SOLD OUT
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Sep 4 - Sep 8, 2023
SOLD OUT
Authentic Room 1,249
Modern Room 1,399
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Itinerary Note

Cleveland Hiking Club

Sep 11 - Sep 15, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Oct 9 - Oct 13, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,499
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

DATES & PRICES

Authentic Room Modern Room
Accommodation Details

Restored, cheery room in authentic Monastic setting, with sink, mirror, dresser and desk. Includes a shared bathroom (1 bathroom between 5 rooms) and either a single bed or two single beds.

Accommodation Details

Renovated, modern room in authentic Monastic setting, with sink, mirror, dresser and integrated storage space. Includes a private full bathroom and either a king bed, a queen bed or two single beds.

Jun 4 - Jun 8, 2023
Authentic Room 1,249
Modern Room 1,659
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Jun 25 - Jun 29, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Jul 9 - Jul 13, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,929
Jul 25 - Jul 29, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Aug 14 - Aug 18, 2023
SOLD OUT
Authentic Room 1,509
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Aug 27 - Aug 31, 2023
SOLD OUT
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Sep 4 - Sep 8, 2023
Authentic Room 1,249
Modern Room 1,829
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Itinerary Note

Cleveland Hiking Club

Sep 11 - Sep 15, 2023
Authentic Room 1,509
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

Oct 9 - Oct 13, 2023
Authentic Room 1,349
Modern Room 1,929
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms in select categories! Free singles are limited.

At a Glance

From the stunning architecture of the Old Town to the historical countryside of the “Nouvelle France” Orléans Island—explore some of the most beautiful and fascinating neighborhoods of Québec City and the surrounding parks and islands. Learn about the city’s world-renowned cuisine, language, architecture and culture as you discover this region with local experts and during free time.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Walking five to eight miles daily on varied terrain that includes steep hills, stairs, cobblestones, river banks and forest trails with loose dirt and rocks.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Walk through Plaines d'Abraham, a historic urban park in the heart of the city, and learn about the battle that took place there in 1759.
  • Hike to Chutes Montmorency to learn about the geological history of this 272-foot waterfall that descends into the Saint Lawrence River.
  • Explore Jacques-Cartier National Park with its beautiful glacial valley in the Laurentian Mountains.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Sylvie Nadeau
Born and raised in Montreal, Sylvie Nadeau loves Quebec's largest city, the province's vibrant, creative multicultural hub, which she has been exploring her whole life on foot, by subway and on her bike. A professional in the travel industry for over 30 years and a recipient of several awards honoring the quality of her work, Sylvie hosts and coordinates the activities of Road Scholar groups with competence and enthusiasm. Her funny French accent and infectious joie de vivre give all her programs and tours a very personal color. A sports enthusiast, Sylvie is offering a new series for active travelers in addition to the many programs she already coordinates, all highlighting the many colors of Quebec as presented by passionate Quebecers dedicated to sharing the richness of their unique Canadian Province.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Sylvie Nadeau
Sylvie Nadeau View biography
Born and raised in Montreal, Sylvie Nadeau loves Quebec's largest city, the province's vibrant, creative multicultural hub, which she has been exploring her whole life on foot, by subway and on her bike. A professional in the travel industry for over 30 years and a recipient of several awards honoring the quality of her work, Sylvie hosts and coordinates the activities of Road Scholar groups with competence and enthusiasm. Her funny French accent and infectious joie de vivre give all her programs and tours a very personal color. A sports enthusiast, Sylvie is offering a new series for active travelers in addition to the many programs she already coordinates, all highlighting the many colors of Quebec as presented by passionate Quebecers dedicated to sharing the richness of their unique Canadian Province.
Profile Image of David Mendel
David Mendel View biography
David Mendel studied at York University in Toronto and the University of Paris before moving to Quebec City in 1976. He completed a Master’s in art history and is undertaking doctoral studies at Laval University. A resident of Quebec’s historic district, David is President of the Foundation of the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity and a member of the Consulting Committee for Religious Architecture of the City of Quebec. His new book, “Quebec: World Heritage City” is the first in a series of four volumes.
Profile Image of Louise Labelle
Louise Labelle View biography
Louise Labelle studied at the University of Ottawa. After a career in management with the government of the province of Québec, she studied at College Merici to get the proper accreditation as a local expert in the city of Québec. Louise is passionate about history and architecture is proud to share her knowledge with those who want to know more about our magnificent city of Québec.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Shadows on the Rock
by Willa Cather
Set in seventeenth-century Canada, an evocation of North American origins highlights the men and women who struggled to adapt to the new world even as they clung to the one they left behind. The novel covers one year of the lives of Cecile Auclair and her father Euclide, French colonists in Quebec.
Montreal & Quebec City Guide – Lonely Planet
by Montréal-based author
Montréal and Québec City really serve it up. You've got old-world grandeur, new-world sensibilities and big-city charms - there's enough neighbourhoods, restaurants and festivals to keep you mon-dieu'ing for months. This guide, penned by a Montréal-based author, gets you straight to the action. Pick & Mix: buy and download individual chapters from this book You could download free: Introducing Montreal (Very interesting…)
A People’s History of Quebec
by Jacques Lacoursière
A People’s History of Quebec is a lively guide to a little-known part of North American history. It tells of the settlement of the St. Lawrence Valley, but also of the Montreal and Quebec-based explorers and traders who travelled, mapped, and inhabited most of North America, and embrothered the peoples they met.
Champlain's Dream
by David Hackett Fischer
In this enthralling biography, acclaimed historian David Hackett Fischer brings to life the remarkable Samuel de Champlain—soldier, spy, master mariner, explorer, cartographer, artist, and Father of New France.
15 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.86 Average
(5) Review left 11/16/2022

Good Trip - Group generally friendly

(5) Review left 11/08/2022

This was a unique trip. The authentic accommodations at the Monastere des Augustines were fabulous, comfortable, and historic. What a treat to live in that unique setting for a few days. The combination of historic tours of Old Quebec and hiking in the beautiful autumn forests outside the city was delightful. Our leader, Sylvie, as over-the-top wonderful--knowledgeable, fun, and friendly.

(5) Review left 10/21/2022

The height of the Fall colors and a nip in the air. A walk around Quebec City and its European-like neighborhoods, with a fabulous lunch at the famous Frontenac Hotel - good food, scenery, ambience, people. An invigorating hike through a yellow birch forest along a large river. A stroll through a forest with red maples and a couple of dogs, and then along the shore, eating lunch in the sunshine at a farm. The leader (Sylvie) was very approachable and easy going, quite organized. I combined this program with a similarly structured one in Montreal back-to-back (connected by a train ride), and had a wonderful and varied vacation.

(5) Review left 9/19/2022

This program was outstanding. It was a perfect combination of touring Old Town Quebec as well as getting out into nature to visit a national park, famous waterfalls, and a lovely stroll on the shorelines of an island. The leader Sylvie was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The accommodations were in a monastery, the rooms were small but very clean and it was in the heart of everything. Highly recommend this program.

(5) Review left 9/11/2022

An all around GREAT time. Good accommodations, great food, superb group leader (Sylvie) and enough free time to really explore a very unique city. Highly recommend.

(5) Review left 9/11/2022

Stretch your brain and your legs while exploring this historic area. Fabulous exploration of Quebec City area!

(5) Review left 8/20/2022

My husband and I wanted to get back to traveling after two years of Covid; however, we also wanted to feel safe and secure in the experience. We decided to take a train (Via Canada) to Quebec City, which was a great choice because the train has excellent Covid protocols. AND we decided on this walking/hiking in Quebec City (and beyond) Road Scholar tour as our most safe option (lots and lots of time outside) to a North American city that had a European flair. It was a fantastic trip! Our group leader (there were 17 of us on the trip), Sylvie, is fantastic! She has a gift for making everyone feel welcome and for keeping energy levels up. She clearly loves Quebec City (and, now, so do we!) and was proud to introduce the city to us. There was an excellent balance between lectures/learning and hikes around the city as well as to the Jacques Cartier National Park (fantastic!) and Orleans Island. Our weather was spectacular (sunny, warm, breezy) until the last full day, when it rained quite a bit in the morning/early afternoon (we boldly hiked through the rain) and then cleared enough for a trip to Montmorency Falls. Bring a raincoat and waterproof hiking boots because hiking trips do not stop for wet weather! It was an adventure. I highly recommend this tour with Road Scholar, particularly with Sylvie leading the way.

(5) Review left 8/02/2022

This program provided the opportunity to learn about the history and culture of Quebec, walk and hike, along with free time to explore on our own.

(5) Review left 6/19/2022

I just completed the Walking and Hiking in Quebec City! Wow! Far surpassed my expectations on my first RS trip. The stay in the first-class monastery was so amazing. We stayed in an "Authentic" room which added to the experience (the shared bathrooms are individual toilet and shower and are always open and incredibly clean). And the BEDDING; like a cloud. Our guide, Sylvie, was so knowledgeable, genuine and fun! The activity level was accurate and I learned so much about history. I know believe Quebec City is one of the most beautiful cities in the world!

(5) Review left 6/11/2022

I recently went on a spirited walking/hiking tour of Quebec City and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I stayed at the St. Augustine Monastery in an authentic room and the experience was wonderful and very nostalgic. Don't let the 'shared' bathrooms scare you off from experiencing the authentic rooms. There are approximately 6 private bathrooms down the hall. They just aren't in your room. This is similar to staying in dorms in college, yet more private. I would choose this same experience of staying in an authentic room again! Loved the entire trip!

(4) Review left 6/10/2022

Please try to have the phone line open on Friday after 5 pm just before the trip, esp. for those first time travelers with Road Scholar. I had trouble with the ArriveCan App. Nobody at the American Airline in the Reagon Airport in DCA knew how to access it. If I didn't have the help of a good Samaritan traveler, I would have to cancel this first trip! I had to miss out on the first day of introduction!!

(4) Review left 3/09/2019

I enjoyed the program. The leaders are very knowledgeable about Quebec City. The Monastery of St Augustine was a very relaxing place to recoup from the winter cold and had a delightful and healthy meal to start our day. I thought there would be more time and places for interaction between the travelers. This was a winter event and maybe that dampened the ability to meet others after the days events. I hope this Road Scholar travel program continues to offer the beauty of winter in a fantastic city.

(5) Review left 3/03/2019

This was an amazing winter adventure. The trip was well organized. The monastery was very relaxing, rooms were lovely and silent breakfast a real treat. A most comfortable bed with a lovely bath. I loved the dormer windows. Pluses: Dog sledding, walking, history, knowledgeable guides, Things to consider: ways to establish a bit more group cohesiveness (other trips had a common meeting area or small room to gather together in the evenings), the final meal at the fondue restaurant was not well organized.. we were too large of a group for the restaurant to handle efficiently) Consider adding an additional day with options for group members to see the city. I'd recommend this trip to anyone

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/23/2019

Fantastic trip, 5 stars. 1. The guides, Judith and Sylvie, were excellent. They provided so much information on the history of the area, as well as the built and natural environment. They were also very good about explaining the best way to dress for the very cold weather. And they were flexible, able to adapt to weather related obstacles (snow cleaning) and crowds. They were engaged, fun, and funny. 2. The program had a good progression of activities. The first evening we had a short walk around the neighborhood of our hotel, which served as an introduction to the area. The next day was a long walk (at least 5 miles) beginning with the Plains of Abraham and military history, and working our way back into the old part of the city. Although the day was long, the pace was easy. This was followed with a more restful day, when we took a bus to Montmarcy Falls and walked around the areas below and above the falls. Then to lunch and the Ice Hotel. The final day was another more active day, dog sledding (definitely the highlight) and an afternoon on our own. 3. Our hotel - an old monastary - was beautiful. Rooms were comfortable, and the hotel was close to many good shops and restaurants. 4. The only downside was that the tour was not long enough for me. An additional day, either as part of the tour or as an add-on, would have been welcome. I would have loved to have done some snowshoeing, or xc-skiing, or even ice boating.

(5) Review left 2/22/2019

I cannot imagine anything more fun than this trip. Judith and Sylvie were wonderful and the dog sledding in particular was amazing.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.