loading spinner
22809
Peru

Perspectives of Peru: Discover Lima, Cusco, Yucay & Machu Picchu

Want to get a new perspective on Peru? See the best of this country and its people on a learning adventure that begins in the capital of Lima and ends in Cusco.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22809RJ
Length
9 days
Starts at
2,749
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
825
Peru

Perspectives of Peru: Discover Lima, Cusco, Yucay & Machu Picchu

Want to get a new perspective on Peru? See the best of this country and its people on a learning adventure that begins in the capital of Lima and ends in Cusco.
Length
9 days
Starts at
2,749
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
825
Program No. 22809 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Sep 25 - Oct 3, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 9 - Oct 17, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 16 - Oct 24, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Nov 6 - Nov 14, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 4 - Dec 12, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 8 - Dec 16, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jan 8 - Jan 16, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jan 15 - Jan 23, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Feb 5 - Feb 13, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Feb 12 - Feb 20, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Mar 5 - Mar 13, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Mar 12 - Mar 20, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Apr 1 - Apr 9, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Apr 19 - Apr 27, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

May 7 - May 15, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

May 14 - May 22, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jun 4 - Jun 12, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jun 11 - Jun 19, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jul 9 - Jul 17, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Aug 13 - Aug 21, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Sep 3 - Sep 11, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Sep 10 - Sep 18, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 1 - Oct 9, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Nov 5 - Nov 13, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 3 - Dec 11, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Sep 25 - Oct 3, 2021
Hotel 3,099
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 9 - Oct 17, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 16 - Oct 24, 2021
Hotel 3,099
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Nov 6 - Nov 14, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,049
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 4 - Dec 12, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,049
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 8 - Dec 16, 2021
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jan 8 - Jan 16, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jan 15 - Jan 23, 2022
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Feb 5 - Feb 13, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Feb 12 - Feb 20, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Mar 5 - Mar 13, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Mar 12 - Mar 20, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,749
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Apr 1 - Apr 9, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Apr 19 - Apr 27, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

May 7 - May 15, 2022
Hotel 3,099
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

May 14 - May 22, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jun 4 - Jun 12, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jun 11 - Jun 19, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Jul 9 - Jul 17, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Aug 13 - Aug 21, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Sep 3 - Sep 11, 2022
Hotel 3,099
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Sep 10 - Sep 18, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Oct 1 - Oct 9, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Nov 5 - Nov 13, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

Dec 3 - Dec 11, 2022
Hotel 2,849
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited, and singles at the usual cost are available once the free allotment is full. Please call for details.

At a Glance

Much like the textiles that are woven from traditional Andean techniques, Peru’s culture is a colorful mesh of ancient influences and modern industry. Discover the very best of its mountain communities, bustling cities and age-old ruins on a learning adventure that begins in the capital city of Lima and ends in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Cusco. Along the way, meet local residents who introduce you to their villages, weaving traditions and music.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles a day over varied terrain; overnight stays at high elevations up to 11,200 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Thrill in the vast beauty and ancient history of Machu Picchu, a ceremonial and administrative epicenter for the Inca.
  • Feel the fibers of llamas, alpacas and vicuñas in your fingertips as you learn about Andean weaving traditions.
  • Meet local families in the community of Maras, and attend a traditional Pachamama ceremony led by a local shaman.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Gustavo "Tito" Leon
A native of Cusco, Gustavo "Tito" Leon found himself fascinated with the music of the Andean highlands. This affinity led him to devote his life to the research and preservation of Peru's Andean music. His research has focused on the origins of Andean music, its different forms, influences and instruments. Gustavo is a talented musician and an expert on native Andean woodwind, percussion, and string instruments. His interactive style will get your toes tapping as he performs the various song styles and instruments of the Andes.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Gustavo "Tito" Leon
Gustavo "Tito" Leon View biography
A native of Cusco, Gustavo "Tito" Leon found himself fascinated with the music of the Andean highlands. This affinity led him to devote his life to the research and preservation of Peru's Andean music. His research has focused on the origins of Andean music, its different forms, influences and instruments. Gustavo is a talented musician and an expert on native Andean woodwind, percussion, and string instruments. His interactive style will get your toes tapping as he performs the various song styles and instruments of the Andes.
Profile Image of Maywa Blanco
Maywa Blanco View biography
A lifelong resident of Cusco, Maywa Blanco is a university professor who teaches courses in genetics, the biodiversity of Andean crops and agricultural research. She attended the National University of Saint Anthony the Abbot in Peru and studied English at the Peruvian-North American Cultural Institute. She received a Fulbright Scholarship to study at Michigan State University, earned a master’s degree, and then returned to Cusco to work helping impoverished communities. In her free time, Maywa enjoys cooking, soccer and spending time with her family.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Lima, A Cultural History
by James Higgins
An erudite guide to the cultural gems and literary history of Peru's capital city. James Higgins, who specializes in Peruvian literature, covers the scope of the city's history from its pre-Columbian museums, to its conquistador heritage, to its dynamic present.
The Peru Reader, History, Culture, Politics
by Orin Starn
Lively and literate, this meaty anthology ranges from historical accounts to modern analysis.
Insight Guide Peru
by Insight Guides
Panoramic in scope, this illustrated overview brings Peru to life in color photographs and vivid essays on history, archaeology and culture.
The Great Inka Road
by Ramiro Matos
An astute collection of essays on the "Qhapaq Nan" (the Great Inca Road), covering its engineering, practical uses and the great civilization that built it. Includes more than 225 full-color illustrations.
The Heights of Macchu Picchu
by Pablo Neruda
An indispensable contribution to 20th-century poetry, Neruda’s ode to Machu Picchu celebrates the Incan civilization while abhorring that the ancient estate was built by slave labor.
Conquest of the Incas
by John Hemming
This classic prize-winning history of the Inca struggle against the Spanish invasion weaves wide-ranging, scholarly material into a gripping narrative.
Peru, Travellers' Wildlife Guides
by David L. Pearson, Les Beletsky
Featuring 500 illustrations of the birds, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and insects of the Amazon, Andes and Pacific Coast.
Machu Picchu, Unveiling the Mystery of the Incas
by Richard L. Burger (Editor), Lucy C. Salazar (Editor)
Burger and Salazar vividly evoke the art, architecture, culture and society of Machu Picchu in this illustrated, up-to-date survey. With Hiram Bingham's original report, archival and modern photographs and excellent chapters on recent archaeology at the site.
Turn Right at Machu Picchu
by Mark Adams
Over his head on an arduous guided trek to Choquequirao and other remote sites, Mark Adams mixes entertaining tales of his adventures (he makes himself out to be quite the accidental explorer) with analysis of the rather grand Hiram Bingham in this light-hearted "following-in-the-footsteps-of" account.
Stone Offerings
by Mike Torrey
Torrey captures the dramatic setting, solitude and intricate construction of the Inca site of Machu Picchu in 100 striking color photographs taken over a few days at summer and winter solstice.
Peru, Birds of the Forest
by Rainforest Publications
A handy, double-sided laminated card depicting 100 commonly encountered parrots, motmots, hummingbirds and other forest birds of Peru. We also carry Peru Mammals Guide plastic card. (Item PRU73)
A Sacred Landscape, The Search for Ancient Peru
by Hugh Thomson
Head-over-heels in love with the adventure, intrigue and bonhomie of archaeology, Hugh Thomson (The White Rock) explores Moches, Chavin, Nasca and other ancient civilizations of Peru. His tale is bracketed by an account of his discoveries with Gary Ziegler at Llactapata, a newly excavated observatory barely two miles from Machu Picchu.
Art of the Andes, from Chavin to Inca
by Rebecca Stone-Miller
This authoritative and concise illustrated survey of Andean art and architecture covers not only Machu Picchu and additional Inca monuments, but also Chan Chan, Nasca and other archaeological sites and cultures.
Peru, The Cookbook
by Gaston Acurio
A panoramic view of traditional Peruvian cooking, featuring 500 recipes, full-color illustrations and expert information on the roots of Peruvian cuisine. Author Gaston Acurio is a Peruvian celebrity chef and restaurateur.
The Incas
by Adriana von Hagen, Craig Morris
Morris and von Hagen trace the rise and rule of the Inca with authority in this region-by-region survey, reconstructing the finely built palaces and temples of Cusco and life at lavish royal estates like Chinchero and Machu Picchu. With 150 mostly black-and-white photographs and illustrations, including extensive site plans.
The Bridge of San Luis Rey
by Thornton Wilder
The classic tale of Franciscan missionaries in 18th-century Lima, Peru by the Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist. First published in 1927.
The Incas
by Carmen Bernard
Featuring archival drawings and photographs, a chronology and chapters on Atahualpa, the Conquistadors and Hiram Bingham, this handy book illuminates the daily lives, monuments and history of the Incas.
Inca Trail: Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley, Cusco Map
by Lima 2000
This fact-filled map shows the whole of the Sacred Valley, from Cusco to Ollantaytambo and Machu Picchu, on one side and, on the reverse, the area surrounding the sanctuary in splendid, topographic detail (1:50,000).
Lost City of the Incas
by Hiram Bingham
This first-rate adventure story by the man who brought Machu Picchu to the attention of the world is not just a gripping tale of exploration and archaeology, it also sets the scene for any visitor to the site.
28 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I am always amazed at how Road Scholar can pack so much into one day. At night you look back and think, “Wow, we did all of that today!”

(5)

A trip of a lifetime! This was beautifully organized and informative. I now understand the heart of Peru.

(5)

My recent Perspectives of Peru trip was amazing, and greatly exceeded my expectations. It was my first Road Scholars trip, and I'm definitely looking forward to future adventures with them.

(5)

My Trip to Peru I left my home in Evanston eleven days ago and returned home yesterday. I feel as if I had spent ten days in the garden of Eden, a land where rivers of cool fresh water come tumbling down from snow peeked mountain tops to water trees and bushes growing colorful flowers and sheltering multitudes of colorful species of birds, irrigating vast farms producing bountiful foods and fruits not grown anywhere else, and studded here and there with ancient ruins of temples to the sun God, mother earth and life itself with the past (symbolized by the serpent), the present (symbolized by puma) and the future (symbolized by the condor). I felt God was present everywhere. I saw llamas, alpacas, dogs and cats roaming freely amongst people in celebratory cheerful bright colors with the cheer, humility and hospitality of a people cradled in the arms of a bountiful, gentle and merciful God. Such an experience could only be had in a carefully orchestrated program led by soulful, thoughtful, hardworking, knowledgeable and caring leader such as Paco and his assistant Jorge. I thank them for this gift which to me is life transforming.

(5)

Excellent trip and very well organized! We obtained a very comprehensive understanding of the Peruvian culture and civilization. Exceptional tour guides, instructors and excellent lectures, often by university professors. It would be wonderful if the itinerary of this trip would also include Puno and Lake Titicaca.

(5)

A wonderful, well organized adventure. I highly recommend it!

(5)

My first experience with Road Scholar far surpassed my expectation. I will travel with them again.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I learned so much about Peru in a very welcoming and stimulating environment. The lectures and demonstrations added so much to understanding Peruvians and contributed immensely to the appreciation of Machu Picchu and other sites I had wanted to see. As a solo traveler I was very comfortable. We had a fantastic group of people from all over who were be equally engaged as we shared the experience together. Our wonderful guides made this an exceptional experience.

(5)

My first Road Scholar trip and I'm not sure how they could top this one. It was wonderful. You will learn so much about Peru and the Incas while eating delicious food and seeing beautiful scenery.

(5)

What an amazing experience. It was my first trip to South America, and visiting Machu Picchu was a lifelong dream. The group leaders were so knowledgeable about all aspects of Peruvian culture and history that they made the experience much more meaningful. The trip was so much more than visiting Machu Picchu.

(5)

Seeing Machu Picchu has been on my 'to do' list for a very long time so I was very excited to finally get there. What I found though was that there was so much more to a Road Scholar trip (this was my first) and I can't believe how much that additional learning opportunities and experiences were included that made it a much more special trip than I could have imagined. It made me fall in love with Peru. I also realized that before going I was overly concerned about the altitude and strenuousness of the trip. I am one of average fitness and it was just fine. I also knew that if I had any difficulty keeping up there would always be a staff person to assist.

(5)

It was a life changing experience, fun, educational and supportive.

(5)

This program really introduces you to the people and culture of Peru!

(5)

Fantastic active paced adventure. Good combination of several short 1-2hr lectures followed by field trips to reinforce the lecture content. Excellent in-country tour guides coordinating the logistics to support the tour day. Another 1-2 hours at Machu Pichu the same day rather than an optional extra cost option would have been nice.

(5)

Machu Pichchu is awe inspiring and absolutely worth the effort climbing the hundreds of steps to see it. This trip included many other Inca sites in and around the Sacred Valley and Cusco. Well organized and led by a team of local guides along with expert lectures, it is one of my most favorite trips taken with Road Scholar. If you love food, you are never going to forget how good the Peruvian cuisine is!

(5)

Absolutely amazing. Everything was beyond my expectations!

(5)

This was my first RoadScholar trip and it went way beyond any expectations I had. Our guides truly love Peru and it was evident throughout the entire week as they shared their country with us.

(5)

It is a program that everyone who is physically able should do

(5)

This Peru trip was our first Road Scholar trip, and our first tour with a group. Because it was so well organized, so thoughtfully done, and included two wonderful local guides, we are sure that we will be back to do other Road Scholar experiences. Thank you.

(5)

Don't miss this trip!!! It is indeed an amazing adventure!

(5)

If Machu Picchu is on your bucket list, sign up for it while you're able to climb lots of high steps at a high altitude. It's absolutely worth it! This is an amazingly wonderful program!

(5)

Our first experience with Roads Scholars ... great experience and we will certainly research other Road Scholars travel opportunities

(5)

I fulfilled a life-long dream to visit Machu Picchu. This trip did that and so much more! Loved the food, educational sessions and all of the historical sites.

(5)

Fabulous trip! Peru has had such an impact on the world thru agricultural products like potatoes and corn. The feats of building and water engineering going back 5,000 years are amazing! I felt like that I was looking at a time capsule seeing the rural people living as their ancestors have done for hundreds of years.

(5)

It's a fabulous trip!

(5)

The Perspectives of Peru program provided an insight into the many different cultures of Peru that preceded the Incas as well as the Incas. The highlight of course is a visit to Machu Picchu. There is an option to visit Machu Picchu the next morning as well. Take advantage of it and get to see sunrise at Machu Picchu. A Road Scholar guide also accompanies anyone who goes to Machu Picchu the second time. The program also provides participants with a appreciation for modern Peru.

(5)

more detail is always welcome - especially with links to info on sites we are visting and more.

(5)

This was a well planned trip and good value. I did my part my reading the suggested texts. It enhanced my understanding of experience. I would like to come back and explore Peru in greater depth. Thank you for this wonderful experience.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.