loading spinner
Bermuda

Bermuda Unveiled: Historic Forts, Secret Gardens & More!

Program No. 22777RJ
See another side of Bermuda — one filled with fascinating history and natural gems — as you explore its fortifications, gardens, museums and nature reserves.
Length
8 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
3,249
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Standard View Deluxe View
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer typical/average views of the area’s scenery.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer the facility’s best views of the area’s scenery.

Feb 1 - Feb 8, 2023
Standard View 3,249
Deluxe View 3,349
Special Offer

Enroll by Dec. 21, 2022 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Feb 15 - Feb 22, 2023
Standard View 3,249
Deluxe View 3,349
Special Offer

Enroll by Jan. 04, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Mar 1 - Mar 8, 2023
Standard View 3,249
Deluxe View 3,349
Special Offer

Enroll by Jan. 18, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Mar 22 - Mar 29, 2023
Standard View 3,249
Deluxe View 3,349
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 08, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Apr 12 - Apr 19, 2023
Standard View 3,349
Deluxe View 3,449
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Apr 19 - Apr 26, 2023
Standard View 3,349
Deluxe View 3,449
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Oct 4 - Oct 11, 2023
Standard View 3,349
Deluxe View 3,449
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Oct 25 - Nov 1, 2023
Standard View 3,349
Deluxe View 3,449
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Nov 8 - Nov 15, 2023
Standard View 3,349
Deluxe View 3,449
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

DATES & PRICES

Standard View Deluxe View
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer typical/average views of the area’s scenery.

Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that offer the facility’s best views of the area’s scenery.

Feb 1 - Feb 8, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 3,539
Deluxe View 3,679
Special Offer

Enroll by Dec. 21, 2022 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Feb 15 - Feb 22, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 3,539
Deluxe View 3,679
Special Offer

Enroll by Jan. 04, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Mar 1 - Mar 8, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 3,539
Deluxe View 3,679
Special Offer

Enroll by Jan. 18, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Mar 22 - Mar 29, 2023
Standard View 3,539
Deluxe View 3,679
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 08, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Apr 12 - Apr 19, 2023
Standard View 3,669
Deluxe View 3,809
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Apr 19 - Apr 26, 2023
SOLD OUT
Standard View 3,669
Deluxe View 3,809
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Oct 4 - Oct 11, 2023
Standard View 3,669
Deluxe View 3,809
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Oct 25 - Nov 1, 2023
Standard View 3,669
Deluxe View 3,809
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

Nov 8 - Nov 15, 2023
Standard View 3,669
Deluxe View 3,809
Special Offer

Enroll by Feb. 28, 2023 for free round-trip air from JFK. Ask about other cities!

At a Glance

There’s far more to Bermuda than pink sand beaches and crystal-clear waters — this British territory is also home to a wealth of history and natural beauty, just waiting to be discovered. Immerse yourself in Bermuda’s rich colonial legacy as you learn the stories of Britain’s earliest settlements in the Western Hemisphere, and hear tales of shipwrecks, pirates and maritime history. Discover its pristine nature preserves and marine sanctuaries, and delight in special explorations of private gardens. Plus visit two nature preserves to learn about limestone, natural caves and Bermuda cedar and climb a lighthouse for a stunning ocean view!
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles a day over pavement, dirt paths, grass, gravel. Some stairs, getting on and off a small motorcoach and boat, walking and standing up to 1.5 hours in museums.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Walk with an expert through the city of St. George’s, one of the oldest English settlements in the “New World” and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Enjoy special access to two private gardens owned by local residents, and learn about island flowers.
  • Board a small boat at the Bermuda Institute of Oceans Sciences to see plankton collected, and return to the lab to learn about these microscopic creatures.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Tim Rogers
Tim Rogers, a Bermudian, taught for a more than a decade, then began his own business providing talks and walks on a range of Bermuda-related themes. Tim’s interests are many and varied, so his expertise covers topics from architecture to zoology and everything in between. He lists amongst his hobbies rose cultivation, silver collecting, hill walking, travel, and snorkeling. Tim has worked with Road Scholar in Bermuda for nearly 20 years.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Tim Rogers
Tim Rogers View biography
Tim Rogers, a Bermudian, taught for a more than a decade, then began his own business providing talks and walks on a range of Bermuda-related themes. Tim’s interests are many and varied, so his expertise covers topics from architecture to zoology and everything in between. He lists amongst his hobbies rose cultivation, silver collecting, hill walking, travel, and snorkeling. Tim has worked with Road Scholar in Bermuda for nearly 20 years.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Shipwreck That Saved Jamestown: The Sea Venture Castaways and the Fate of America
by Lorri Glover, Daniel Blake Smith
Isle of Devils: Bermuda Under the Somers Island Company, 1609-1685
by Jean Kennedy
Bermuda's Botanical Wonderland: A Field Guide
by Christine Phillips-Watlington
Moon Bermuda (Moon Handbooks)
by Rosemary Jones
Bermuda Five Centuries
by Rosemary Jones
20 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 11/30/2022

Certainly one of the most comprehensive of all the RS programs I have attended . We learnt nearly every aspect of the island from a most knowledgable leader Tim R and his group of expert speakers . Transportation was comfortable , we stayed at a terrific hotel , food was excellent and free time was available to pursue specific interests . A highly recommended excursion !

(5) Review left 11/12/2022

Tim Rogers as the program leader was superb! His local knowledge and connections made the program highly educational, yet a fun and fulfilling experience. If you have the opportunity to attend this program with Tim I highly recommend it. There may be other program leaders that may be great also, but Tim Rogers is exceptional!

(5) Review left 11/09/2022

The Bermuda experience is one of the best well rounded programs you can find. You get a lot of history, science, flora and fauna and culture. Plus being lulled to sleep by frogs and awakened by chickens (30,000 of them).

(5) Review left 11/09/2022

The Bermuda Road Scolar program is delightful. This was our eighth trip and one of the most enjoyable. The history is well presented and the beauty of the country is well presented with Bermudians opening their homes to us. Tim Rogers is a wonderful guide who is both knowledgable and fun and effective in sharing his country and attending to the details that make the trip memorable. the Grotto Bay Resort is a pleasant place to stay, dine and congregate in a beautiful environment.

(5) Review left 11/04/2022

Excellent, highly recommend, description was 100% accurate, we kept on the go, learned a lot, Grotto Bay Beach resort was a wonderful place to stay.

(5) Review left 11/03/2022

The program was interesting and I learned some new things. The worst part is getting there going and returning home the airlines had delays which Road Scholar can't fix

(5) Review left 11/03/2022

This was an excellent program with an excellent Group Leader.

(5) Review left 10/17/2022

The program was just outstanding in every facet. The excursions, lecturers, and resort were excellent. Host Tim is a living treasure of Bermuda- he is knowledgeable,organized,approachable,and so connected. He obviously loves Bermuda and sharing it.

(5) Review left 4/28/2022

This trip was simply wonderful. The island is fascinating; the resort was gorgeous; and the team leader Tim Rogers was superb - an unbeatable combination of smarts; humor; patience; and inside knowledge of the island and many of its people.

(5) Review left 4/14/2022

We learned so much about Bermuda thanks to our wonderful leader, Tim Rogers, and his access to private gardens we could never have found on our own.

(5) Review left 4/14/2022

This is an outstanding program. The lectures and visits were extremely interesting and allowed us to go places we wouldn't otherwise get to as regular tourists. The food and service at the Grotto Bay Resort is excellent. Our leader Tim is exceptionally knowledgeable and a great guide in our explorations. He went out of his way to make group reservations for our free nights. Highly recommend this program.

(5) Review left 3/13/2020

Tim Rogers, our main tour guide, is indeed the expert on Bermuda. Under his guidance, and with the help of his other local friends and guides, you will acquire a thorough knowledge of this beautiful country. It is definitely worth visiting; remember to turn off your devices and not access TV in order to focus on the trip's varied sites, including the spa, pool, cave, and fitness center at the resort. Guest services was very accommodating to all requests, including bringing a yoga mat to my room. The low season is an ideal time to visit, as long as you have layers to adjust as the wind can pick up or a shower occur without warning. My gloves and hat came in handy on a few occasions.

(5) Review left 3/12/2020

An exceptional program with an unusual opportunity to meet prominent, talented residents of Bermuda

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/27/2020

I really enjoyed the trip and thought that the Group Leader, Peter did a very thorough job. I feel like I saw a great deal of the island and was exposed to its history, historical sites, and flora and fauna. We visited private gardens along with various public sites. The resort accommodation were quite adequate and the food outstanding. Of note, although not a problem for me, there were lots of steps to climb going back and forth from the main building and the sleeping accommodations. Peter was quick to suggest places to eat when the program did not provide and he also was present at two of the restaurants that my party went to. I was traveling as a solo but that was not a hinderance as I was meant to feel welcome by various of the couples and other solo travelers. I hope to go back to Bermuda another time; its so close to Boston and that flight was under 2-hours.

(5) Review left 5/04/2019

Excellent guide. Excellent program.

(5) Review left 4/12/2019

This was my first Road Scholar experience and I anticipate many more. The accommodations were excellent, the planned activities were well-suited to our location (Bermuda), the cost of the program/travel was reasonable, and our group leader was spectacular. Take a Road Scholar trip and see for yourself!

(5) Review left 4/10/2019

Amazing week spent in a magical place. I learned more than I thought possible. Bermudas’s history is especially colorful. If you like exotic plants, this is the trip for you. Tim is a great guide.

(5) Review left 4/10/2019

Our trip to Bermuda was led by Tim Rogers who has lived in Bermuda for over 30 years. His scope of knowledge on so many subjects relating to Bermuda is phenomenal. He is well organized, exceptional presenter and has a pleasant personality. He is what made the trip so great!!

(5) Review left 2/25/2019

Great program for gardeners and history buffs.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/08/2019

AMAZING Program...TIM was just a phenomenal Group Leader and the way that everything was handled was smooth and professional. One of the participants even got sick and Tim got medications for them. I would recommend this program to anyone. Learning about the history of Bermuda and how Bermuda came to be was astounding. Probably more insight than you could ever get online. First hand experience and walking where the Queen herself has walked and sat.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.