loading spinner
22674
Scotland

Scotland’s Highlands: A Stay at the Aigas Field Center

Experience the very best of the Scottish Highlands as you stay in the historic home of renowned naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22674RJ
Length
11 days
Starts at
2,999
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
900
Scotland

Scotland’s Highlands: A Stay at the Aigas Field Center

Experience the very best of the Scottish Highlands as you stay in the historic home of renowned naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye.
Length
11 days
Starts at
2,999
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
900
Program No. 22674 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 14 - Apr 24, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

May 12 - May 22, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Jul 14 - Jul 24, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 11 - Aug 21, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Oct 13 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 14 - Apr 24, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

May 12 - May 22, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Jul 14 - Jul 24, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 11 - Aug 21, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Oct 13 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

At a Glance

Castles tucked amid sleepy glens, mountains that have seen the footprints of generations and lochs as old as time itself — the Highlands are calling. Experience the legacy and natural wonders of the Scottish Highlands during a memorable stay at the Aigas Field Centre — the historic Highland home of naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye, one of Scotland’s premier naturalists. From Aigas to the Black Isle, learn the history of Scottish clans, gain insight into conservation efforts and delight in privileged opportunities to meet the people and wild creatures of this awe-inspiring region.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking and standing up to three hours a day.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Stay at the historic Highland home of Sir John and Lady Lucinda Lister-Kaye, and benefit from the tutelage of Aigas Field Centre Rangers.
  • Trace Highland history from the Bronze Age to the present day during field trips to Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, the Caledonian Forest and the Black Isle.
  • Gain insight into local conservation efforts on daytime walks and evening wildlife hide explorations with Aigas Field Centre Rangers.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Sir John Lister-Kaye
Director of Aigas Field Centre, Sir John Lister-Kaye is one of Scotland’s foremost naturalists and well-loved nature writers. A freelance environmental journalist and writer, 30 years ago he founded Aigas Field Center and has led it to its status as Scotland’s principal environmental education provider for adults and schoolchildren. Sir John’s books include “Song of the Rolling Earth” and “Nature’s Child” and he writes regularly for the Times newspaper.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Sir John Lister-Kaye
Sir John Lister-Kaye View biography
Director of Aigas Field Centre, Sir John Lister-Kaye is one of Scotland’s foremost naturalists and well-loved nature writers. A freelance environmental journalist and writer, 30 years ago he founded Aigas Field Center and has led it to its status as Scotland’s principal environmental education provider for adults and schoolchildren. Sir John’s books include “Song of the Rolling Earth” and “Nature’s Child” and he writes regularly for the Times newspaper.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Scottish Highlanders-A People and their Place
by Jim Hunter
The Highland Clearances
by John Prebble
Glencoe
by John Prebble
Scotland: The Story of a Nation
by Magnus Magnusson
At the Water's Edge: A Walk in the Wild
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
The Highlands (Exploring Scotland's Heritage
by Joanna Close- Brooks
Culloden
by John Prebble
Concise History of Scotland
by Sir Fitzroy Maclean
Song of the Rolling Earth: A Highland Odyssey
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
Written by your host at Aigas. 'A wonderfully lyrical book surging with the sheer joy of nature, from Scotland's premier nature writer.' Magnus Magnusson; ' An environmental classic', SPECTATOR; 'Lister-Kaye establishes himself as one of the finest nature writers in the language', SCOTSMAN; 'Wonderful and evocative', GLASGOW EVENING NEWS; 'A masterful piece of storytelling', COUNTRY LIFE.
. The Scottish Nation: 1700-2000
by T.M.Devine
The Scottish Nation examines the social, political, religious and economic factors that have shaped modern Scotland. Drawing on the latest research, Devine places Scotland firmly within an international context and provides a key focus for the ongoing debate regarding Scotland's future. This new edition brings the reader up-to-date with Scotland's recent history, from the high politics of the devolved parliament to the everyday effects of huge and growing levels of social inequality.
Scotland's Mountains: A Lanscape Photographer's View
by Joe Cornish
Gods of the Morning: A Bird's Eye View of the Highlands
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
A lyrical celebration of the British countryside from one of our best-known nature writers.
Scotland's Coasts: A Photographer's Journey
by Joe Cornish
Following the success of his best-selling First Light, Joe Cornish has now turned his attention to the magnificent scenery of Scotland’s 6,000-mile coastline. He has travelled from the Mull of Galloway in the south to the tip of Unst in the Shetlands, the northernmost point in the British Isles, and from remote St Kilda out in the Atlantic to the Sands of Forvie National Nature Reserve on the North Sea to capture the enormous variety of scenery that characterises the Scottish seacoast. Some of the sites he has photographed, like St Kilda or the sandstone peaks overlooking Loch Torridon, belong to the National Trust for Scotland, but many others are privately owned; some, like the majestic Cuillins on Skye, are well-known to tourists, others are hidden coves or remote sea stacks that few visitors will ever have seen. Whatever the subject, be it a wide Hebridean vista or fragmentary patterns of ice on a frozen beach, Joe Cornish, with his artist’s eye and his dramatic use of light, helps us to look at it afresh and reveals new and unsuspected beauties. In the text which accompanies his photographs he explains the aspects of each particular landscape that made it special to him, its geology, its flora, its history or its associations. The result is a stunning book which will delight Cornish’s legion of admirers and all those who have found enchantment on Scotland’s wonderful coastline.
Scotland: A New History
by Michael Lynch
This full length history of Scotland is made up of 25 chapters spanning 18 centuries, from the Picts to the 1980s and is designed for the general reader. A particular feature of the book is the attention it gives to social and cultural history, including life in towns, the changing role of the nobles, and the shifting images of Scottish identity through the ages. The landmarks of Scottish history - the Wars of Independence, the Reformation, the Union of Crowns and the Union of Parliaments, the Jacobite rebellions, the Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution, are all covered. The author is the editor of "The Innes Review", literary editor of the Scottish History Society and has written books on Edinburgh and the Reformation, Mary, Queen of Scots and the Scottish Burghs.
5 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

Sir John and Lady Lucy are talented hosts, making all of those entering their manor so very welcome. They're supported by knowledgeable guides and naturalists who also do everything they can to make your visit a valuable learning experience. To enhance the visit, each group is asked why they chose to visit Scotland. Many in our group indicated that the Outlander TV series had piqued their interest. They then shaped our tours to include areas that were mentioned in the Outlander story and augmented our familiarity with Scottish history. I also appreciated their artful presentations of history through the conservation of native Scottish wildlife. For example, the group doesn't simply see a rare native cat, but learns about why they're endangered... What happened in history that led to the cats needing support to come back to sustainable numbers. Although I wasn't aware before I left the US that this would also be a trip to learn about my history, a trip to Beaully revealed where my ancestry began and expanded in Scotland before coming to the US. The discovery was totally unexpected and yet our guide helped me find more information without and forewarning. To top the experience off.... My friends told Sir John that I love horses and on our last day there, the brought Queenie up to the house for me to meet. Only one of his horses, she taught me a bit more about riding practices in Scotland. Truly the icing on a magnificent cake.

(5)

The Aigas experience is an immersion in the culture of Scotland. Sir John began with an explanation via historical events of how the Highlands were decimated, the soil deteriorated to the point that it no longer supported farming, converting Scottish ownership to occupation by royalty with sport hunting and lodges replacing farms and families, resulting in mass emigration from the highlands. Daily tours to all of the highland areas, from the Culloden battlefield to an all day loop around western Scotland, to local historic sites and extensive exposure to the natural environment gave a comprehensive understanding of how Scotland came to be what it is today. The Aigas rangers are extremely knowledgeable about the history of Scotland and the flora and fauna of the highlands. We had a night "hide" experience to observe Pine Martins and Badgers seek out and consume food planted by the rangers and to take nature walks on the estate. Everyone was warm and welcoming. The meals were excellent and the whiskey tasting was the icing on a gorgeous cake. This was a wonderful experience.

(5)

I honestly am at a loss to describe this program adequately. It is so educational, both for the natural history of this area of Scotland, and for the history of the people who have lived there for so many generations. But, it is more than that. There is the generous kindness of Sir John and Lady Lucy. There is the truly wonderful food. But, maybe most of all for me, there is the peaceful tranquility in that place. The time I spent there was just about perfect and I already desperately want to go back. Fair warning, however, Lady Lucy's soup will spoil you for any other soups you might taste.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I am very satisfied with my experience on this trip. The staff of Aigas Field Center could not have been better: professional, friendly, educational, personable, great food, and the atmosphere was invigorating. The group were all so interested and passionate about nature study. We were enthralled every day. One suggestion is: there should be a printed schedule for the next days plans to hand out to members of the group upon arrival. We stayed at the airport hotel in Glasgow. On a personal note, I am stronger, healthier and happier since this trip. Thank you staff at Road Scholar for planning my trip-of-a-lifetime with such great experiences and memories. Carol S Spallone Fort Wayne, IN

(5)

This stay at Aigas Field Center for exceeded our expectations and was absolutely delightful and informative In every aspect.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.