loading spinner
22674
Scotland

Scotland’s Highlands: A Stay at the Aigas Field Center

Experience the very best of the Scottish Highlands as you stay in the historic home of renowned naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22674RJ
Length
11 days
Starts at
2,949
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
900
Scotland

Scotland’s Highlands: A Stay at the Aigas Field Center

Experience the very best of the Scottish Highlands as you stay in the historic home of renowned naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye.
Length
11 days
Starts at
2,949
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
900
Program No. 22674 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 12 - Aug 22, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 19 - Aug 29, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 2 - Sep 12, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 16 - Sep 26, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 30 - Oct 10, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Itinerary Note

This program departure features a visit to Brodie Castle instead of Cawdor Castle.

Apr 14 - Apr 24, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

May 12 - May 22, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Jul 14 - Jul 24, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 11 - Aug 21, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Oct 13 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 12 - Aug 22, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 19 - Aug 29, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 2 - Sep 12, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 16 - Sep 26, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 30 - Oct 10, 2021
Starting at
2,949
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Itinerary Note

This program departure features a visit to Brodie Castle instead of Cawdor Castle.

Apr 14 - Apr 24, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

May 12 - May 22, 2022
Starting at
2,999
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Jul 14 - Jul 24, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 11 - Aug 21, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Sep 15 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

Oct 13 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Special Offer

No extra cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited.

At a Glance

Castles tucked amid sleepy glens, mountains that have seen the footprints of generations and lochs as old as time itself — the Highlands are calling. Experience the legacy and natural wonders of the Scottish Highlands during a memorable stay at the Aigas Field Centre — the historic Highland home of naturalist Sir John Lister-Kaye, one of Scotland’s premier naturalists. From Aigas to the Black Isle, learn the history of Scottish clans, gain insight into conservation efforts and delight in privileged opportunities to meet the people and wild creatures of this awe-inspiring region.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking and standing up to three hours a day.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Stay at the historic Highland home of Sir John and Lady Lucinda Lister-Kaye, and benefit from the tutelage of Aigas Field Centre Rangers.
  • Trace Highland history from the Bronze Age to the present day during field trips to Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, the Caledonian Forest and the Black Isle.
  • Gain insight into local conservation efforts on daytime walks and evening wildlife hide explorations with Aigas Field Centre Rangers.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Sir John Lister-Kaye
Director of Aigas Field Centre, Sir John Lister-Kaye is one of Scotland’s foremost naturalists and well-loved nature writers. A freelance environmental journalist and writer, 30 years ago he founded Aigas Field Center and has led it to its status as Scotland’s principal environmental education provider for adults and schoolchildren. Sir John’s books include “Song of the Rolling Earth” and “Nature’s Child” and he writes regularly for the Times newspaper.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Sir John Lister-Kaye
Sir John Lister-Kaye View biography
Director of Aigas Field Centre, Sir John Lister-Kaye is one of Scotland’s foremost naturalists and well-loved nature writers. A freelance environmental journalist and writer, 30 years ago he founded Aigas Field Center and has led it to its status as Scotland’s principal environmental education provider for adults and schoolchildren. Sir John’s books include “Song of the Rolling Earth” and “Nature’s Child” and he writes regularly for the Times newspaper.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Highland Clearances
by John Prebble
Scotland's Coasts: A Photographer's Journey
by Joe Cornish
Following the success of his best-selling First Light, Joe Cornish has now turned his attention to the magnificent scenery of Scotland’s 6,000-mile coastline. He has travelled from the Mull of Galloway in the south to the tip of Unst in the Shetlands, the northernmost point in the British Isles, and from remote St Kilda out in the Atlantic to the Sands of Forvie National Nature Reserve on the North Sea to capture the enormous variety of scenery that characterises the Scottish seacoast. Some of the sites he has photographed, like St Kilda or the sandstone peaks overlooking Loch Torridon, belong to the National Trust for Scotland, but many others are privately owned; some, like the majestic Cuillins on Skye, are well-known to tourists, others are hidden coves or remote sea stacks that few visitors will ever have seen. Whatever the subject, be it a wide Hebridean vista or fragmentary patterns of ice on a frozen beach, Joe Cornish, with his artist’s eye and his dramatic use of light, helps us to look at it afresh and reveals new and unsuspected beauties. In the text which accompanies his photographs he explains the aspects of each particular landscape that made it special to him, its geology, its flora, its history or its associations. The result is a stunning book which will delight Cornish’s legion of admirers and all those who have found enchantment on Scotland’s wonderful coastline.
Scottish Highlanders-A People and their Place
by Jim Hunter
Culloden
by John Prebble
Glencoe
by John Prebble
Scotland: The Story of a Nation
by Magnus Magnusson
At the Water's Edge: A Walk in the Wild
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
Gods of the Morning: A Bird's Eye View of the Highlands
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
A lyrical celebration of the British countryside from one of our best-known nature writers.
Song of the Rolling Earth: A Highland Odyssey
by Sir John Lister-Kaye
Written by your host at Aigas. 'A wonderfully lyrical book surging with the sheer joy of nature, from Scotland's premier nature writer.' Magnus Magnusson; ' An environmental classic', SPECTATOR; 'Lister-Kaye establishes himself as one of the finest nature writers in the language', SCOTSMAN; 'Wonderful and evocative', GLASGOW EVENING NEWS; 'A masterful piece of storytelling', COUNTRY LIFE.
Scotland: A New History
by Michael Lynch
This full length history of Scotland is made up of 25 chapters spanning 18 centuries, from the Picts to the 1980s and is designed for the general reader. A particular feature of the book is the attention it gives to social and cultural history, including life in towns, the changing role of the nobles, and the shifting images of Scottish identity through the ages. The landmarks of Scottish history - the Wars of Independence, the Reformation, the Union of Crowns and the Union of Parliaments, the Jacobite rebellions, the Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution, are all covered. The author is the editor of "The Innes Review", literary editor of the Scottish History Society and has written books on Edinburgh and the Reformation, Mary, Queen of Scots and the Scottish Burghs.
. The Scottish Nation: 1700-2000
by T.M.Devine
The Scottish Nation examines the social, political, religious and economic factors that have shaped modern Scotland. Drawing on the latest research, Devine places Scotland firmly within an international context and provides a key focus for the ongoing debate regarding Scotland's future. This new edition brings the reader up-to-date with Scotland's recent history, from the high politics of the devolved parliament to the everyday effects of huge and growing levels of social inequality.
Scotland's Mountains: A Lanscape Photographer's View
by Joe Cornish
The Highlands (Exploring Scotland's Heritage
by Joanna Close- Brooks
Concise History of Scotland
by Sir Fitzroy Maclean
23 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

Sir John and Lady Lucy are talented hosts, making all of those entering their manor so very welcome. They're supported by knowledgeable guides and naturalists who also do everything they can to make your visit a valuable learning experience. To enhance the visit, each group is asked why they chose to visit Scotland. Many in our group indicated that the Outlander TV series had piqued their interest. They then shaped our tours to include areas that were mentioned in the Outlander story and augmented our familiarity with Scottish history. I also appreciated their artful presentations of history through the conservation of native Scottish wildlife. For example, the group doesn't simply see a rare native cat, but learns about why they're endangered... What happened in history that led to the cats needing support to come back to sustainable numbers. Although I wasn't aware before I left the US that this would also be a trip to learn about my history, a trip to Beaully revealed where my ancestry began and expanded in Scotland before coming to the US. The discovery was totally unexpected and yet our guide helped me find more information without and forewarning. To top the experience off.... My friends told Sir John that I love horses and on our last day there, the brought Queenie up to the house for me to meet. Only one of his horses, she taught me a bit more about riding practices in Scotland. Truly the icing on a magnificent cake.

(5)

The Aigas experience is an immersion in the culture of Scotland. Sir John began with an explanation via historical events of how the Highlands were decimated, the soil deteriorated to the point that it no longer supported farming, converting Scottish ownership to occupation by royalty with sport hunting and lodges replacing farms and families, resulting in mass emigration from the highlands. Daily tours to all of the highland areas, from the Culloden battlefield to an all day loop around western Scotland, to local historic sites and extensive exposure to the natural environment gave a comprehensive understanding of how Scotland came to be what it is today. The Aigas rangers are extremely knowledgeable about the history of Scotland and the flora and fauna of the highlands. We had a night "hide" experience to observe Pine Martins and Badgers seek out and consume food planted by the rangers and to take nature walks on the estate. Everyone was warm and welcoming. The meals were excellent and the whiskey tasting was the icing on a gorgeous cake. This was a wonderful experience.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I am very satisfied with my experience on this trip. The staff of Aigas Field Center could not have been better: professional, friendly, educational, personable, great food, and the atmosphere was invigorating. The group were all so interested and passionate about nature study. We were enthralled every day. One suggestion is: there should be a printed schedule for the next days plans to hand out to members of the group upon arrival. We stayed at the airport hotel in Glasgow. On a personal note, I am stronger, healthier and happier since this trip. Thank you staff at Road Scholar for planning my trip-of-a-lifetime with such great experiences and memories. Carol S Spallone Fort Wayne, IN

(5)

I honestly am at a loss to describe this program adequately. It is so educational, both for the natural history of this area of Scotland, and for the history of the people who have lived there for so many generations. But, it is more than that. There is the generous kindness of Sir John and Lady Lucy. There is the truly wonderful food. But, maybe most of all for me, there is the peaceful tranquility in that place. The time I spent there was just about perfect and I already desperately want to go back. Fair warning, however, Lady Lucy's soup will spoil you for any other soups you might taste.

(5)

This stay at Aigas Field Center for exceeded our expectations and was absolutely delightful and informative In every aspect.

(5)

Wonderful way to experience the highlands and learn about the interplay of humans, animals and vegetation in the landscape. I explored the woods around Aigas every chance I had; very safe, wonderfully quiet. The rangers (naturalist staff) are well educated and enthusiastic; I do miss having tea served me out in the field along with their all around delightful demeanor. Do check out the library with excellent books that I noted and have followed up with at home. I don’t miss the porridge or dry cereals topped with skim milk, and did provide for my own breakfasts; somehow I never tasted the touted fresh rolls and baguettes for the packed lunches. The vegetarian meal options were pretty nice. Kitchen staff very top notch and attentive. The coach service Glasgow/Aigas was cramped for leg room.

(5)

If you enjoy outdoor activities including walking, exploration, visiting historical sights, small towns etc. etc. and aren't put off by occasional rain, then this is a good trip for you. Be aware that there is a lot of walking, some climbing and trekking through woodlands, and if it is rainy it can be slippery. Life does not stop in Scotland if it rains.

(5)

Spectacular setting among beautiful gardens with views of the Highlands all around. Our hosts were exceptionally warm and generous, and the rangers who guided us were all very knowledgeable and caring. They opened my eyes so much to the natural world and natural history of the area

(5)

I highly recommend Road Scholar based on my experience with them and my participation in the tour.

(5)

Excellent program, with lots of history and naturalist exposure. Hosts are very enthusiastic. Be aware that there are lyme-disease carrying ticks and preventive measures need to be taken.

(5)

Most tours are simply "tours." You see a lot of wonderful things and go wonderful places. The Aigas Field Centre offers a real program of beauty, education, pleasure, laughter, serious talk, and wonderful food and drink. Thank you, all: Sir John, Lady Lucy, Pete, Richard, Lucy, Emilie, Michelle. The visit would have been so much less without all of your good and smart work.

(5)

The Scottish Highlands are absolutely breathtaking, the Aegis Centre was fabulous, and the Aegis staff is absolutely the best!

(5)

One of the most enjoyable Road Scholar trips I have taken. The hosts and the Rangers who work at the Aigas Field Centre are gracious, knowledgable and just all around great people who are passionate about nature and the history of their country. Lady Lucy creates some fabulous food and Sir John has a wry sense of humor.

(5)

This trip to the Aigas Field Centre was an astounding experience for me. The site, the staff, the hospitality, the experience to learn - all were so well thought out and executed, it required only that I be there! I loved it all and can't wait to go back... First though, I need to lose this weight that I gained from Lady Lucy's incredible meals - an unexpected program highlight for me! It was all just magic.

(5)

My time at the Aigas Field Centre was absolutely terrific. If you enjoy learning, you will love it, too! Worth every penny! Debra McGuire, 8/6/2019

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was simply a wonderful trip! Everything about it was well done, including our travel, our accommodations, the itinerary, the wonderful rangers and our gracious hosts, the food, etc. I would highly recommend. It was great to learn so much while experiencing the beauty of Scotland during our excursions...and having a wonderful time enjoying the people at Aigas and the beautiful surroundings there.

(5)

This is a phenonmenal program filled with a wide range of learning experiences, opportunities to explore a beautiful part of the world with new friends, and led by extrememly dedicated, talented hosts with their cadre of field rangers.

(5)

I highly recommend the Aigas Field Center experience if you like Scottish history, nature conservation, gourmet dining, expertly guided field trips, whisky tasting, live local music, dancing, and story telling; all in a picturesque setting with baronial manor surrounded by lush gardens and manicured lawns.

(5)

I have always wanted to travel to Scotland and I believe that my recent trip to the Highlands and to the Aigas Field Centre was absolutely the best choice for me. The countryside in the Highlands is beautiful, mystical, and beckons one to return again and again.

(5)

A very well organized program with a diversity of activities. I didn't think I'd especially enjoy Sir John's lectures, but he is an excellent speaker and quite down to earth. The Rangers are all exceptional people, well educated and chosen for people skills and willing to do anything to make your visit more enjoyable. The grounds are spectacular and the cabins comfortable. The main house is an amazing structure of Victorian excess but serves its purpose well with ample dining space. Those with more limited mobility were accommodated on walking excursions. All trips away from the main compound had frequent rest stops and we were always kept apprised of the itinerary, including rest stops.

(5)

This program is wonderful. The location, scenery, hosts, food, excursions...need I go on? What a truly enjoyable trip! The first of many with Road Scholar, I can assure you.

(5)

This was our first Road Scholar trip and we have already put a deposit down on our next trip. I particularly liked the small group model, even though this "small group" consisted of 32 people - a nice mix of former professions and interests. The Aigas Field Center and Rangers were welcoming. Everyone was personable and well informed. The food was spectacular. There was a good balance of activities. The Road Scholar model was indeed "value added" beyond what I could have planned myself.

(5)

Aigas and all the staff, programs, field trips, are the standards by which all others should be judged. Kudos to Sir John, Lady Lucy and all the Rangers. We will be back.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.