loading spinner
22657
Georgia/Alabama

The Civil Rights Movement: Atlanta, Montgomery, Selma, Birmingham

Journey through the Deep South to learn the history of the Civil Rights Movement and its defining clashes. Hear powerful stories of struggle and be inspired by resilient heroes.
Rating (4.93)
Program No. 22657RJ
Length
8 days
Starts at
2,159
Georgia/Alabama

The Civil Rights Movement: Atlanta, Montgomery, Selma, Birmingham

Journey through the Deep South to learn the history of the Civil Rights Movement and its defining clashes. Hear powerful stories of struggle and be inspired by resilient heroes.
Length
8 days
Starts at
2,159
Length
8 days
Rating (4.93)
Starts at
2,159
Program No. 22657RJ

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 11 - Sep 18, 2022
Starting at
2,159
Sep 18 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Oct 2 - Oct 9, 2022
Starting at
2,159
Oct 23 - Oct 30, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Itinerary Note

TTN Boston Chapter

Oct 30 - Nov 6, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Nov 13 - Nov 20, 2022
Starting at
2,159
Jan 8 - Jan 15, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Jan 15 - Jan 22, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Jan 22 - Jan 29, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Feb 5 - Feb 12, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Feb 19 - Feb 26, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Mar 5 - Mar 12, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Mar 12 - Mar 19, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Mar 19 - Mar 26, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Itinerary Note

OLLI-Denver University

Mar 26 - Apr 2, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Apr 2 - Apr 9, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Apr 9 - Apr 16, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Apr 23 - Apr 30, 2023
Starting at
2,749
Itinerary Note

OLLI-Sierra College

May 14 - May 21, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Sep 10 - Sep 17, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Sep 17 - Sep 24, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Oct 1 - Oct 8, 2023
Starting at
2,449
Oct 15 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
2,799
Oct 29 - Nov 5, 2023
Starting at
2,799
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 11 - Sep 18, 2022
Starting at
2,799
Sep 18 - Sep 25, 2022
Starting at
3,079
Oct 2 - Oct 9, 2022
Starting at
2,799
Oct 23 - Oct 30, 2022
Starting at
3,209
Itinerary Note

TTN Boston Chapter

Oct 30 - Nov 6, 2022
Starting at
3,079
Nov 13 - Nov 20, 2022
Starting at
2,799
Jan 8 - Jan 15, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Jan 15 - Jan 22, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Jan 22 - Jan 29, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Feb 5 - Feb 12, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Feb 19 - Feb 26, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Mar 5 - Mar 12, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Mar 12 - Mar 19, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Mar 19 - Mar 26, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Itinerary Note

OLLI-Denver University

Mar 26 - Apr 2, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Apr 2 - Apr 9, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Apr 9 - Apr 16, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Apr 23 - Apr 30, 2023
Starting at
3,429
Itinerary Note

OLLI-Sierra College

May 14 - May 21, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Sep 10 - Sep 17, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Sep 17 - Sep 24, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Oct 1 - Oct 8, 2023
Starting at
3,129
Oct 15 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
3,479
Oct 29 - Nov 5, 2023
Starting at
3,479

At a Glance

Journey south into the heart of the civil rights movement to gain a deeper understanding of the historic and continued struggle for racial equality in the United States. Follow in the footsteps of the venerable Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and his legendary marches, and hear the moving story of Rosa Parks and the Montgomery bus boycott. Walk across the Selma Bridge with an activist who took part in the peaceful protest that devolved into unforgivable violence known as “Bloody Sunday.” Pay homage at the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church as you learn the story of the victims of the 1963 KKK bombing. Study how these catalysts ignited a movement that would define this pivotal moment in American history, and discuss how they echo through the racial climate in America today.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
This programs involves walking up to two miles daily over uneven terrain. Standing for lectures in museums up to an hour. Some historical structures have stairs/no elevator.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Commemorate the central figures of civil rights on field trips to the Rosa Parks Museum, Georgia State Capitol and the Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site.
  • Follow the path of heroic marches through Atlanta and Birmingham and from Selma to Montgomery, now a National Historic Trail.
  • Learn from an activist who was a witness and participant in some of America’s most significant civil rights battles.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Dianne Harris
Dianne Harris has received the Congressional Foot Soldier Medal and Certificate, as well as numerous other medals and awards for her ongoing fight for racial equality. She is an avid public speaker, appearing on NBC Today in 2015 and is often interviewed by newspapers, magazines and other media outlets for her unending vigil for justice. She remembers her involvement in the movement like it was yesterday. She particularly remembers listening to Martin Luther King and the events of Bloody Sunday in Selma, Alabama.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Camilla Comerford
Camilla Comerford View biography
Camilla Comerford is certified in leading educational adventures and has traveled throughout Switzerland, France, Italy, Spain, and Ireland. Camilla also worked for almost 30 years in the commercial real estate business in Atlanta, Georgia and other cities throughout the South. She looks forward to sharing her love for the region with you!
Profile Image of Larry Spruill
Larry Spruill View biography
Dr. Larry Spruill is a graduate of the State University of New York system. It provided social programs which afforded disadvantaged students opportunities to experience upward social mobility. His academic career began in an upstate New York community college and introduced him to the rigors of higher education and facilitated his entrance into doctoral studies. He is a retired school principal specialist and instructor and currently a full-time professor of history at Morehouse College, Georgia. He also served as a foreign missionary, teacher and pastor.
Profile Image of Dianne Harris
Dianne Harris View biography
Dianne Harris has received the Congressional Foot Soldier Medal and Certificate, as well as numerous other medals and awards for her ongoing fight for racial equality. She is an avid public speaker, appearing on NBC Today in 2015 and is often interviewed by newspapers, magazines and other media outlets for her unending vigil for justice. She remembers her involvement in the movement like it was yesterday. She particularly remembers listening to Martin Luther King and the events of Bloody Sunday in Selma, Alabama.
Profile Image of Wanda Battle
Wanda Battle View biography
Wanda Battle — a Montgomery, Alabama native, great Jalimuso, female Griot, talented singer, and master storyteller — has a passion for human rights, civil rights, and social justice. Through her desire of building a collaborative community and educating the generations to come, Wanda uses the power of music and words to open our hearts to respect and appreciate one another’s differences.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Voices of Freedom: An Oral History of the Civil Rights Movement from the 1950s Through the 1980s
by Henry Hampton and Steve Fayer
In this monumental volume, Henry Hampton, creator and executive producer of the acclaimed PBS series Eyes on the Prize, and Steve Fayer, series writer, draw upon nearly one thousand interviews with civil rights activists, politicians, reporters, Justice Department officials, and hundreds of ordinary people who took part in the struggle, weaving a fascinating narrative of the civil rights movement told by the people who lived it. Join brave and terrified youngsters walking through a jeering mob and up the steps of Central High School in Little Rock. Listen to the vivid voices of the ordinary people who manned the barricades, the laborers, the students, the housewives without whom there would have been no civil rights movements at all. This remarkable oral history brings to life country's great struggle for civil rights as no conventional narrative can. You will hear the voices of those who defied the blackjacks, who went to jail, who witnessed and policed the movement; of those who stood for and against it—voices from the heart of America.
Walking with the Wind: A Memoir of the Movement
by John Lewis and Michael D'Orso
The award-winning national bestseller, Walking with the Wind, is one of our most important records of the American civil rights movement. Told by John Lewis, who Cornel West calls a “national treasure,” this is a gripping first-hand account of the fight for civil rights and the courage it takes to change a nation. In 1957, a teenaged boy named John Lewis left a cotton farm in Alabama for Nashville, the epicenter of the struggle for civil rights in America. Lewis’s adherence to nonviolence guided that critical time and established him as one of the movement’s most charismatic and courageous leaders. Lewis’s leadership in the Nashville Movement—a student-led effort to desegregate the city of Nashville using sit-in techniques based on the teachings of Gandhi—set the tone for major civil rights campaigns of the 1960s. Lewis traces his role in the pivotal Selma marches, Bloody Sunday, and the Freedom Rides. Inspired by his mentor, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Lewis’s vision and perseverance altered history. In 1986, he ran and won a congressional seat in Georgia, and remains in office to this day, continuing to enact change. The late Edward M. Kennedy said of Lewis, “John tells it like it was…Lewis spent most of his life walking against the wind of the times, but he was surely walking with the wind of history.”
The Burning of Atlanta in 1864: The History of One of the Civil War’s Most Controversial Events
by Charles River Editors
*Includes pictures *Includes accounts of the fighting and burning by Sherman and Union soldiers *Includes online resources and a bibliography for further reading *Includes a table of contents
Fields of Glory: A History and Tour Guide of the War in the West, the Atlanta Campaign, 1864 (Civil War Explorer Series)
by Jim Miles
n early May 1864 Union armies left their winter encampment near Chattanooga, Tennessee, and began a march to Atlanta. Four months later -- on September 3 -- William T. Sherman wired Abraham Lincoln, Atlanta is ours, and fairly won!"" The fall of Atlanta was not just one more Union victory. It was pivotal to the outcome of the entire Civil War and also to Lincoln's reelection. With the fall of Atlanta, Confederate morale plummeted. The South's most significant manufacturing center was destroyed, and its primary railroad connections were cut. The destruction of Atlanta was not just a Union victory over one city, but a key to the end of the war. Fields of Glory traces the story of the campaign from the Tennessee border through the heart of Georgia to Jonesboro. Included is a series of driving tours that enable readers to see firsthand the battlefields and important sites of the campaign.
Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965
by Juan Williams and Julian Bond
From the Montgomery bus boycott to the Little Rock Nine to the Selma–Montgomery march, thousands of ordinary people who participated in the American civil rights movement; their stories are told in Eyes on the Prize. From leaders such as Martin Luther King, Jr., to lesser-known figures such as Barbara Rose Johns and Jim Zwerg, each man and woman made the decision that somethinghad to be done to stop discrimination. These moving accounts and pictures of the first decade of the civil rights movement are a tribute to the people, black and white, who took part in the fight for justice and the struggle they endured.
34 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.93 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a very powerful and enlightening trip that I highly recommend to everyone. At times it was emotionally challenging, and it was helpful to have like-minded and concerned trip participants with whom to discuss it all. I had done a lot of reading before the trip, but found myself constantly learning. Camilla our tour leader was wonderful, as was James our bus driver. The lecturers and local guides were all top-notch. Diane (our local guide in Selma) had walked as a young girl in the crowd on Bloody Sunday. Her stories were fascinating. The hotels were all comfortable and well-located. Anyone concerned about the racial history of this country (and its' impact today), would do well to take this trip.

(5)

The Civil Rights tour was life-changing. I have studied racial justice issues on my own, and could never duplicate this program’s excellent content, dedicated lecturers, positive learning environment, and logistical support.

(5)

I knew the outlines of the Civil Rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s, but I learned so much more on this trip. It is well organized and paced to provide information on the key events, including the Freedom Riders, Selma march, and Birmingham bombings. The guides are well informed and good presenters. I wish all citizens (and members of Congress) would take this trip.

(5)

This was an in-depth and EXCELLENT program on the Civil Rights Movement. We went to incredibly well designed museums. We experienced profound visits to the Legacy Museum and Memorial as well as the the Freedom Riders Museum, Rosa Parks Museum and many others. The instructors were excellent and shared some of their personal experiences crossing the Edmund Pettus Bridge on 'Bloody Sunday.' The accommodations were excellent and the meals were mostly all very delicious. The videos we watched on the bus very educational and well done. The schedule was very doable and our trip to the Carter Presidential Center was a delight. You cannot attend a trip like this and not be profoundly changed and empathetic to the plight of Black people in this country. While it is at times painful, I cannot recommend attending this program enough. I would recommend that every high school student go on this program instead of going to Washington DC to learn about America's history. Bravo Road Scholar for this amazing program.

(5)

I loved all the singing we did!

(4)

White people can no longer ignore the legacy of slavery in this country. This program presents a thoughtful and powerful perspective about race and racism in this country.

(5)

This program made the history of the Civil Rights Movement vivid and compelling. It was comprehensive and included both museum visits, site visits and informative and appealing guest speakers. This program should be on everyone's 'bucket list.'

(5)

This was a great program. The experience enhanced my knowledge of the 1960s Civil Rights period. It was interesting and heartfelt to be at the sites history has memorialized.

(5)

My husband and I just completed our third Road Scholar trip. All have been great but this one, Civil Rights trip to Atlanta, Montgomery, Selma, and Birmingham is exceptional. We highly recommend it to everyone who wants to learn more about the Civil Rights era and how it impacts our lives today.

(5)

This is a very valuable program that I would recommend to anyone who has a interest in our nation's history and the impact that past events are having in today's world. Time well spent.

(5)

This trip is exceptional! It’s deep, challenging, thought-provoking, insightful, comprehensive, and exposes participants to the truth about this era in our history. It offers an historical perspective that has led to our current times, and is told by people who were and are still there…it’s not what we learned in school.

(5)

The Civil Rights Tour provides awesome interactive opportunities to learn about past transgressions against humanity with like-minded participants.

(5)

This experience was invaluable to me. I lived through the 60's as a teenager, seeing it all again as an adult, increased my appreciation for the Civil Rights Movement. Knowing this history, helps to understand and appreciated the issues and concerns we have in our country today.

(5)

My first Road Scholar tour: "The Civil Rights Movement: Atlanta, Montgomery, Selma, Birmingham". I would do it again ! Also, met a fellow traveler who was on his 65th ! Road Scholar tour, and the perk was he is from Estonia, where my grandfather was born :) The trip had no glitches. The tour guides/speakers were very well informed and entertaining. Our tour host, Camilla, is retired and now leading Road Scholar groups because she loves doing so. James drove the coach; we were comfortable with his skill. The hotels were pleasant and conveniently located; a breakfast buffet was included at each of our three hotels. The museums were exceptional but there wasn't enough time to see as much as desired. There were some diversions due to covid but the substitutions were perfectly acceptable.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a good trip in all regards. A good coordinator, very good speakers and activities. Hotels and meals were, in most part, very good. Enough free time to explore further or unwind. Bus was comfortable and clean. I would do another trip based on what I experienced on this trip.

(4)

This program was not only educational, but so moving. To be able to visit the MLK Memorial, the Rosa Parks Museum, Selma and the Pettus Bridge, plus the 18th St. Baptist Church in Montgomery - along with local instructors who added so much perspective - was truly a unique experience.

(5)

Road Scholar was a great learning experience in Sept 2021 looking for another tour with them next month.

(5)

This program exceeded all of my expectations. I learned so much, met so many caring, knowledgeable people that I unconditionally satisfied. It was also a great benefit for the money I spent. I definitely will plan to attend other Road Scholar programs

(5)

I would whole heartily recommend this program. The speakers were excellent; the museums were informative; and may sites were very emotionally moving. Camilla Comerford is an excellent group leader. I was concerned that I would feel rushed at some of the sites, but that was not the case. The days were busy, but Camilla has everything very well planned and also has time built in so that you can return to a museum if you want to. The only suggestion I have is to go on one of the small groups ones if you can because space is limited at some of the sites. But mainly: just go. This is an excellent program.

(5)

All Americans should take this trip. It saddened me, but I learned a great deal. I am glad I went.

(5)

The Civil Rights Trip was a wonderful, educational, emotional trip which helped me better understand the Civil Rights Movement and the implications of race in America today. The leader, Camilla Comerford, was wonderful -- enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and fostered a wonderful group learning environment. The speakers were great, often with actual directly-related experience. The museum and memorial in Montgomery is something that I think everyone would benefit from seeing. This is not a "fun" trip but it is a deeply meaningful and worthwhile trip.

(5)

This is a voyage we all need to make - with our feet, through our minds, and in our hearts.

(5)

This is a fabulous, informative, perspective-changing trip. Road Scholar planned it beautifully and respectfully. The guides and teachers at each site were amazing.

(5)

This program reminds us that we need to understand the complexities of our shared history and we should remain vigilant about threats to our rights as citizens ... of any and all beliefs, viewpoints, colors and interests. Excellent speakers, program and experience.

(5)

This is an extremely important tour. Every U.S. resident would benefit greatly from this trip. I am extremely grateful for the experience.

(5)

This program taught me so much about the Civil Rights Movement and helped me connect the dots with my limited previous knowledge. It was very well organized, our speakers were excellent and the excursions added to my educational experience.

(5)

Excellent Program. The itinerary and the speakers/leaders were perfect for the theme of the excursion.

(5)

Don’t miss this educational opportunity of a lifetime! On the civil rights tour you will learn much, be moved much, and emerge a more compassionate and understanding person. All of the sites are essential, and the speakers are first rate. Grab your friends or your mate or both and sign up for this trip! Susanna Wilson, Los Angeles

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The Civil Rights Movement trip was superb. It is extremely well organized and includes many wonderful and meaningful places to visit and experience. The content of the trip is at times appropriately sobering, but enlightening as well. The guide was great, patient, organized, and enjoyable to be with. Food and lodging are fine. An excellent Road Scholar trip. (By the way, at the end of the trip the bus DOES return you to the starting point hotel, where you are allowed to park your car for free.) Anyone that chooses this trip should also see the MEMPHIS Civil Rights Museum, which includes the Loraine Motel as well as an excellent and moving museum.

(5)

This was a transformational trip for me. Just the visit to the Peace and Justice Museum and Memorial made the trip worth it - but there was so much more.

(5)

The week is chock full of enlightening experiences. The local experts are not to be missed. Don't hesitate, sign up!

(5)

Even though I was around for the Civil Rights events of the early '60s, I really didn't have a deep understanding of what happened. As a result of this trip, I now have a much better grounding in this important aspect of our shared history.

(5)

Outstanding tour for anyone interested in learning more about the Civil Rights movement and seeing first-hand key sites. Great tour guides and lecturers at every stop. But be ready for an intensive week-long experience, one that may exhaust you emotionally. As with the two previous Road Scholar trips we have taken, this one was very well organized, and the group we travelled with was very friendly and helpful to each other. We did the "small group" version of the trip, which I would recommend if it's available and fits your schedule, as a few of the sites were hard to fit even the 23 people in our group (for example, Martin Luther King Jr's parsonage in Montgomery).

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

As always with Road Scholar, I learned how little I know about this time. Haunting and realistic view of a difficult time which reinforced our belief that we may be slow to learn, and we still have far to go, as we seem to repeat some of our past mistakes... well worth the time! Fellow Road Scholars on every trip always make it the best part of the journey- good food, great lodgings, interesting people, terrific conversations!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.