loading spinner
22461
Cuba

Cuba Today: People and Society: Havana & Cienfuegos

Discover the unique social and cultural heritage of Cuba as you enjoy a musical performance, converse with locals and embark on a walking adventure of historic Havana.
Rating (4.98)
Program No. 22461RJ
Length
8 days
Starts at
2,999
Cuba

Cuba Today: People and Society: Havana & Cienfuegos

Discover the unique social and cultural heritage of Cuba as you enjoy a musical performance, converse with locals and embark on a walking adventure of historic Havana.
Length
8 days
Starts at
2,999
Program No. 22461 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 13 - Nov 20, 2021
Starting at
2,999
Dec 4 - Dec 11, 2021
Starting at
2,999
Jan 8 - Jan 15, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Feb 5 - Feb 12, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Feb 12 - Feb 19, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Mar 12 - Mar 19, 2022
Starting at
3,199
Apr 2 - Apr 9, 2022
Starting at
3,199
May 7 - May 14, 2022
Starting at
2,999
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Nov 13 - Nov 20, 2021
Starting at
3,359
Dec 4 - Dec 11, 2021
Starting at
3,359
Jan 8 - Jan 15, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Feb 5 - Feb 12, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Feb 12 - Feb 19, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Mar 12 - Mar 19, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Apr 2 - Apr 9, 2022
Starting at
3,599
May 7 - May 14, 2022
Starting at
3,399

At a Glance

Welcome to Cuba: A mosaic of colorful buildings and diverse locals that comes together to form a country rich in history, culture and art. On a special journey that begins and ends in Havana, support entrepreneurs, musicians, artists, religious institutions and business leaders while learning about their lives. Alongside Cuban hosts, learn about U.S.- Cuba relations as you explore the vibrant cities that make this country so unique. Immerse yourself in colonial architecture, Art Deco buildings, classic cars and lively music while learning how a country shaped by so many outside influences could create such a strong sense of community.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles a day on a combination of cobblestone streets and dirt paths. Getting on and off of a motorcoach. Navigating high curbs, uneven steps and stairs without railings. Travel in a tropical climate.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Listen to a performance by a local music group in Cienfuegos before speaking with the artists about their fascinating careers.
  • Enjoy a performance from a private Cuban dance company and meet with the dancers to discuss and support their craft.
  • Learn about a community project which, under the leadership of local artists, is transforming a neighborhood through artistic expression.

General Notes

For a Women's-Only version of this program, please check out "Women in the City: Art & History in Cuba" (#3965). Road Scholar offers opportunities to travel legally to Cuba under the new OFAC Regulations published June 5, 2019. Following the General License category “Support for the Cuban People,” Road Scholar programs include activities intended to strengthen civil society in Cuba. Each day's program promotes independence for the Cuban people and results in meaningful interactions with the Cuban people. Questions about traveling to Cuba? Road Scholar has your answers. Learn more: www.roadscholar.org/cubafaqs.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Marta Nuñez
Marta Núñez Sarmiento is a retired professor at the University of Havana where she taught methodology and gender studies. Her research has concentrated on women and employment in Cuba; gender studies in Cuba; images of women in Cuban mass media; transition projects for Cuba proposed by Cuban American and U.S. scholars. She holds a master’s in sociology and a PhD in economics. She has been a visiting professor at universities around the world and a consultant on gender for the UN and other NGOs.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Marta Nuñez
Marta Nuñez View biography
Marta Núñez Sarmiento is a retired professor at the University of Havana where she taught methodology and gender studies. Her research has concentrated on women and employment in Cuba; gender studies in Cuba; images of women in Cuban mass media; transition projects for Cuba proposed by Cuban American and U.S. scholars. She holds a master’s in sociology and a PhD in economics. She has been a visiting professor at universities around the world and a consultant on gender for the UN and other NGOs.
Profile Image of Miguel Coyula
Miguel Coyula View biography
Miguel Coyla is an architect, planner and international lecturer. With an architecture degree from the Higher Polytechnic Institute in Havana, he worked for the Cuban Ministry of Construction and Secretary for Agricultural and Industrial Development. He spent 22 years working for the leading government think tank for that advises the Havana government on issues of urban development. Since retiring in 2012, Miguel has lectured at universities across the world and served as a consultant to a leading renewable energy NGO.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Double Life of Fidel Castro: My 17 Years as Personal Bodyguard to El Lider Maximo
by Juan Reinaldo Sanchez with Axel Gyldén
In The Double Life of Fidel Castro, one of Castro's soldiers of 17 years breaks his silence and shares his memoir of years of service, and eventual imprisonment and torture for displeasing the notorious dictator, and his dramatic escape from Cuba.
Cuba, What Everyone Needs to Know
by Julia Sweig
Director for Latin America Studies at the Council on Foreign Relations, Julia Sweig traces the geography, history and identity of Cuba in this admirably succinct portrait of the island nation and its role in world affairs.
Cuba
by Pierre Hausherr (Photographer), Francois Missen
With full-page photographs, introductory essays on history, architecture, music, food and more, this oversized, illustrated paperback by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Francois Missen and photographer Pierre Hausherr captures the spirit of Cuba, its people, nature and culture.
Cuba Map
by Borch Maps
A detailed, double-sided laminated map at a scale of 1:1,000,000.
Our Man in Havana
by Graham Greene
The classic story of a British vacuum cleaner salesman who gets accidentally drawn into Cold War espionage with disastrous results.
The Distant Marvels
by Chantel Acevedo
A life-affirming tale of love set during a hurricane in 1960s, post-revolutionary Cuba. To keep hope alive amongst the evacuees, Maria Sirena tells the incredible story of her childhood during Cuba's Third War of Independence.
Hemingway's Boat
by Paul Hendrickson
Focusing on the years 1934 to 1961, from Hemingway's pinnacle as the reigning monarch of American letters until his suicide, Paul Hendrickson traces the writer's life through the story of his beloved boat, Pilar. On display at Hemingway's Finca La Vigia in San Francisco de Paula, east of Havana, it is easy to see how this sleek craft attracted Hemingway, the setting for so much of what the writer loved and the leitmotif of Hendrickson's supple elegy.
Moon Cuba
by Christopher P. Baker
A practical guide in the Moon series, packed not only with travel necessities (hotels, restaurants, sights), but also with a good overview of history and destinations throughout Cuba.
Dreaming in Cuban
by Cristina Garcia
A short, poetic novel of three generations of Cuban women, their reaction to the revolution and the complex relation between those who remained in Cuba and those who settled in the United States. Excellent reading.
Cuba, A History in Art
by Gary R. Libby
This slim, yet comprehensive survey of Cuban art between 1725 and 1959 explains the development of artists’ styles and how developments in Cuba (and especially Havana) changed their work.
49 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.98 Average
(5)

Going to Cuba opened my eyes to this wonderful country and its people. This embargo must be lifted. The history was amazing and they are so close to the USA. Lets dispel our prejudices and preconceived ideas and continue traveling to Cuba.

(5)

I found my experience with Road Scholar in Cuba informative, interesting, and fun. I would do it again.

(5)

This trip was an outstanding opportunity to learn and observe first-hand about Cuba’s history, the changes happening now, the complexity of our historic and current political and economic relationships, the beauty and friendliness of its people. The lectures were excellent, performances and people to people interactions so worthwhile. Road Scholar gives a truly unique insightful travel experience with purpose and learning that one could rarely arrange independently.

(5)

Everyone in the US should see the real Cuba and learn about the longgevity and complexity of our relationship.

(5)

This is an excellent introduction to a few key places in Cuba. There is plenty of time to enjoy what Havana has to offer as well as to learn about the Zapata National Park and visit smaller cities such as Cienfuegos and Trinidad. The lectures were top notch, and the People to People activities were very rewarding. I highly recommend this program.

(5)

Traveling to Cuba with Road Scholar was a highly informative adventure. I live in Florida and have always wanted to go to Cuba. I learned so much about the country's history and its people. Our leaders and guides and lecturers were all outstanding. Our group was compatible. If you want to visit Cuba, go now. Go with Road Scholar!

(5)

This trip provides a history and perspective of the Cuban people, how it has been shaped during its 500 years. The culture, architecture and history presented allowed for a far greater appreciation for this island nation in search of its independence.

(5)

If you are interested in touring a country in close proximity to the U.S. and would like to experience some the best music in the world, learn fascinating history and meet dynamic, energetic, well-read people, travel to Cuba with Road Scholar.

(5)

great trip you will not come back with the same perspective you might have had about Cuba before the trip

(5)

Wonderful program! Cuba is a fascinating place and I learned so much about the country and its people. I especially loved the music and dance performances!

(5)

This was our first Roads Scholar trip but it won't be our last. The 8 day "Support for the Cuban People" program gave us both a deep and broad view of Cuban society and history, and the group leader Jim and tour guide Jose, were both outstanding! Highly recommend this trip to all!

(5)

I found this trip very interesting and informative, all lecturers/speakers were articulate and intelligent.( loved Dr Marta Nunez) Our tour guides Jim and Elaine( can't remember spelling) were pleasant, informative, approachable and helpful. A very easy to get along with group which added to the experience. Cultural events were wide ranging and definately not sought out or able to see if I was a tourist on my own. Found meals good and hotels roomy and comfortable. I now love mojitos with Havana gold rum- and am teaching family to play cuban dominos. Katie and I are hosting mojito-dominos party for Kentucky Derby-as will have fresh mint from her garden! Please tell Jim we will also have some gum!

(5)

This trip was an enjoyable way to help me overcome the deficit that I share with most US citizens about what takes place south of our own borders. Thank you, Road Scholar.

(5)

"Cuba Today: People and Society - Havana & Cienfuegos" was a fabulous experience! We would highly recommend it to anyone interested in Cuban history, culture and their current way of life. This was our first Road Scholar trip but it will not be our last...already planning our next one.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Road's Scholar's trip to Cuba was outstanding. We were provided a multi-dimensional opportunity to experience the history, the people, the land and the flavor or Cuba in a once in a lifetime adventure!

(5)

My trip to Cuba was a long-time desire.of mine The Road Scholar trip completely met my expectations,; in fact, the program exceeded them. I plan on taking many more Road Scholar trips. They are extremely well organized. Our group of travelers to Cuba was very compatible and the leaders, Julie and Hector, were nothing short of amazing!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This program provides a great overview of the Cuban experience. I felt I gained a better understanding of the history, the economic challenges, and the focus on the arts in Cuban society.

(5)

This is a must do program. The small group experiences and personal interactions with Cuban artists and musicians provided an great introduction to the people and culture of Cuba.

(5)

We loved the program and our time in Cuba. Highly recommend this program to anyone who has considered going to Cuba and has hesitated for any reason. We felt welcomed by the Cuban people and at the places we visited. Old Havana is spectacular and we hope our going there helps restore it. Beautiful people and beautiful country. This is one of Road Scholar's great programs.

(4)

With all the groups and tours Road Scholar offers in Cuba, they provided a great resource to get exposed to this fascinating island. We had an outstanding local guide, who made this trip particularly enjoyable. Several of the activities and events were truly exceptional and surprising.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The Road Scholar provided an excellent program to enable us to get a feel of the Cuban people through visits to community centers where we watched dance recitals, musical performances, and care facilities. We enjoyed riding in old restored cars and seeing several cities in Cu8ba: Havana, Cienfuegos, Trinidad, while concentrating on all the sections of Havana.

(5)

We have traveled with a number of other groups. Road Scholar is the best. Our group leader Heidi is every bit as good as Rick Steeves and is funnier. Wonderful experience. Go soon, who knows how long we will be allowed to travel to Cuba!

(5)

The Cuba trip to Havana, Cienfuegos, and Trinidad was fascinating! We learned a great deal and will continue learning now that we are home. Cuba is a complex place with a complex history and it is valuable to learn about this near US neighbor. Road Scholar has put together an excellent program that is well-organized, educational, and enjoyable.

(5)

Just the best!!!!

(5)

The Road Scholar Cuba tour is one of the most outstanding adventures I have taken. Learned so much about Cuba and their wonderful people. I wish more Americans could experience Cuba like Road Scholar enabled us to do.

(5)

website is sometimes not updated with information inputed by us, promptly. The group blog was not working and this would have been a welcome opportunity to contact participants before the actual trip.

(5)

The Cuba adventure will change your pre-existing attitudes toward Cuba and the US's policies regarding the country.

(5)

a wonderful way to really see and understand Cuba!

(5)

Could be improved

(5)

I highly recommend Road Scholars if you are thinking of visiting Cuba. We had a great time and their program is a terrific intro to Cuba and the Cuban people. It’s a trip I won’t soon forget.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I only wish that there was a part 2 to this Cuba tour with the same guides , bus driver and participants . Our group got along so well, and we learned so much about Cuba . This was due to our guides : Liz , Ilen and the bus driver . The three of them set the tone for the entire trip . This trip was comfortable , informative and carried out in an extremely professional manner . The speakers too were outstanding and interesting.

(5)

This was my first trip with Roads Scholar and the experience went beyond expectations. The Leaders were outstanding, the program was organized and exciting and I was exceptionally happy with my experience with Roads Scholar.

(5)

terrific program- provides insight, discussion and clarity. ONE BAG ON JET BLUE SHOULD BE PART OF THE PROGRAM EXPENSE!

(5)

This trip to Cuba is one of the best trips where one could learn and see architectural/ cultural state of Cuba in a week.

(5)

If you can make it to Cuba in 2020 it's probably well worth the effort. During 2017-2018 there was a relaxation of travel restrictions for US citizens and this led to a huge increase in US tourists, clogging up hotels and other services. By 2019 restrictions were put in place again, but in the long run those restrictions don't make any sense, so at some point soon you'll have the same glut of tourists. This will change Cuba. Hopefully the lives of the Cuban people will improve, but if you want to see one of the last civilized places on Earth with no advertising, almost no cell phones, a vibrant culture and a beautiful people then find your way to Cuba soon!

(5)

Priceless insights into the history, culture, geography, and economy of Cuba. Priceless also to learn about the blind-natured and cruel trade-and-supplies embargo/blockade that the US maintains against Cuba: all Americans need to know about this and demand that it be ended. I was also delighted to be in a socialist and gun-free country where the views align so well with my own. It was absolutely wonderful to see the benefits of a compassionate, intelligent socialist system of government and see how Fidel and Che are still beloved there. The many conversations with artists, dancers, musicians, fishermen, and others whom we met were so valuable. All the local guides and teachers were superb. I was filled with admiration for all of them, and especially for Hector, who was with us the entire week and who was ideal in his position in all ways. Bravo, Road Scholar, for enabling this trip!

(5)

I found the website user friendly

(5)

Cuba is an important neighbor to the US. I’m so glad I went to see for myself and learn first-hand, while visiting Cuba is still an option.

(5)

This is the first time my wife and I travel through Road Scholar. We had an Excellent Experience. All activities were executed as planned. The Cuban tourist Guide was very knowledgeable and patient to answer all questions. The Road Scholar Guide coordinated all activities very well. And last but not least the Cuban People are amazingly friendly. I will definitely use Road Scholar for my next trip. Thanks Omar Vitobaldi

(5)

This Road Scholar experience was so well done that I feel it changed me. This experience provided a view and understanding of the people of Cuba, that has made me a more aware and empathetic person. An investment of time and money, well worth it.

(5)

This Cuba program is just the right length for a first experience. It was very educational!! We are so glad we went!

(5)

I have been on a lot of tours with many companies and I believe Road Scholar is one of the best companies in the market. Tom G

(5)

This program offered a wide variety of activities, sites, and lecturers. I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in exploring Cuba.

(5)

IF you are looking for excitement and the truth about the Cuban people and Cuba this is the trip for you!!! This was one of my bucket list dream and I had a Phenomenal time..... I LOVE CUBA!!!!! rmm

(5)

A wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this trip

(5)

This exceptional trip allowed me to appreciate the Cuban people as having resiliance in the midst of adversity. It is a somewhat difficult trip and well worth it as I find myself experiencing my world with more patience, compassion and especially appreciation. I have never been hugged and smiled at by so many strangers! This itinerary is filled with many unforgettable experiences...

(5)

Very information program at a good value.

(5)

Our visit to Cuba was amazing. The lectures, guides, bus driver, and especially our trip leader and Cuban guide were simply amazing! The trip was not only educational, provided a unique opportunity to interact with the Cuban people, but delightful in fulfilling a bucket list dream. I definitely intend to go back.

(5)

See Cuba now. Change is in the wind and it probably won't be the same in 5 years






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.