loading spinner
22381
North Carolina

Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living: The 8 Limbs of Yoga

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Program No. 22381RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
699
North Carolina

Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living: The 8 Limbs of Yoga

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Length
6 days
Starts at
699
Length
6 days
Rating (4.96)
Starts at
699
Program No. 22381RJ

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
Activity Level: Keep the Pace (22)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 29 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
699
Aug 7 - Aug 12, 2022
Starting at
699
Aug 28 - Sep 2, 2022
Starting at
699
Sep 11 - Sep 16, 2022
Starting at
699
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2022
Starting at
699
Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
699
Oct 16 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
699
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
699
Nov 6 - Nov 11, 2022
Starting at
699
Nov 27 - Dec 2, 2022
Starting at
949
Itinerary Note

This week includes a visit to the Biltmore Estate for dinner and a Candlelight Evening experience, as well as a visit to the Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum. Come treat yourself to something special!

Dec 4 - Dec 9, 2022
Starting at
949
Itinerary Note

This week includes a visit to the Biltmore Estate for dinner and a Candlelight Evening experience, as well as a visit to the Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum. Come treat yourself to something special!

Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
Starting at
799
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
799
Mar 19 - Mar 24, 2023
Starting at
799
May 7 - May 12, 2023
Starting at
799
May 21 - May 26, 2023
Starting at
799
Aug 6 - Aug 11, 2023
Starting at
799
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
799
Sep 24 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
799
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
799
Oct 29 - Nov 3, 2023
Starting at
799
Nov 5 - Nov 10, 2023
Starting at
799
Activity Level: Keep the Pace (22)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 29 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
899
Aug 7 - Aug 12, 2022
Starting at
899
Aug 28 - Sep 2, 2022
Starting at
899
Sep 11 - Sep 16, 2022
Starting at
899
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2022
Starting at
899
Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
899
Oct 16 - Oct 21, 2022
Starting at
899
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
899
Nov 6 - Nov 11, 2022
Starting at
899
Nov 27 - Dec 2, 2022
Starting at
1,149
Itinerary Note

This week includes a visit to the Biltmore Estate for dinner and a Candlelight Evening experience, as well as a visit to the Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum. Come treat yourself to something special!

Dec 4 - Dec 9, 2022
Starting at
1,149
Itinerary Note

This week includes a visit to the Biltmore Estate for dinner and a Candlelight Evening experience, as well as a visit to the Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum. Come treat yourself to something special!

Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
Starting at
999
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
999
Mar 19 - Mar 24, 2023
Starting at
999
May 7 - May 12, 2023
Starting at
999
May 21 - May 26, 2023
Starting at
999
Aug 6 - Aug 11, 2023
Starting at
999
Sep 10 - Sep 15, 2023
Starting at
999
Sep 24 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
999
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
999
Oct 29 - Nov 3, 2023
Starting at
999
Nov 5 - Nov 10, 2023
Starting at
999
Activity Level: Let's Go! (2)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 14 - Aug 19, 2022
Starting at
699
Itinerary Note

Intermediate level program, Mindfulness and Movement: Seeking a Balanced life with Yoga. Designed for those that have a considerable amount of yoga experience, or those who have taken the beginning class at Montreat before.

Sep 25 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
699
Itinerary Note

Intermediate level program, Mindfulness and Movement: Seeking a Balanced life with Yoga. Designed for those that have a considerable amount of yoga experience, or those who have taken the beginning class at Montreat before.

Activity Level: Let's Go! (2)
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Aug 14 - Aug 19, 2022
Starting at
899
Itinerary Note

Intermediate level program, Mindfulness and Movement: Seeking a Balanced life with Yoga. Designed for those that have a considerable amount of yoga experience, or those who have taken the beginning class at Montreat before.

Sep 25 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
899
Itinerary Note

Intermediate level program, Mindfulness and Movement: Seeking a Balanced life with Yoga. Designed for those that have a considerable amount of yoga experience, or those who have taken the beginning class at Montreat before.

At a Glance

Join Road Scholar for a week of limber learning as you deepen your understanding of yoga and how you can use it to vitalize your daily life. During this yoga program for beginners, expert yoga instructors will introduce styles, postures and breathing techniques. Each day will include a morning and afternoon yoga practice for strengthening, healing and relaxation, as well as lecture time to address yogic concepts.
Activity Level
Varies by date
Designed for beginner to intermediate yoga enthusiasts.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Find out how you can improve your physical and mental well-being with yoga postures, meditation techniques and breath-work, and develop your own practice to continue at home.
  • Learn from expert yoga instructors as you discuss yogic principles and concepts in the classroom and then put the poses to practice.
  • Begin to develop core strength and learn how it can support overall mental and physical health, prevent injuries and help you get better sleep.

General Notes

The Retreat Difference: This unique, often basic and no-frills experience at a Road Scholar Retreat includes opportunities for early morning exercise, interaction with the local community for insight into local life, an authentic farm-to-table or locally sourced meal, a live performance or event and a value-priced single room. Opportunities are available for traveling companions to attend a different program at Montreat during the same week. Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson View biography
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.
Profile Image of Tracy Bailey
Tracy Bailey View biography
Tracy has been on the program staff of Montreat Conference Center since 1986. She began working with Elderhostel programs in 1989, and in 1997 assumed the additional role of on-site coordinator. A native of the area, she graduated from Asheville-Buncombe Technical College in 1981. Her favorite hobbies are hiking, pottery and reading. Tracy married Sam in 2007, and added three daughters to her family. In addition to her own grown children, she and Sam have been foster parents since 2010. They have four grandchildren.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Easy Does It Yoga
by Alice Christensen
ISBN 0-684-84890...Regain your health, vitality, and independence through this age-old approach to fitness! Whether you're an older adult just beginning to exercise,you’re physically weak due to an illness or injury, or you haven’t worked out in a while, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga is a safe, easy-to-use guide to renewed physical and emotional wellness. For thousands of years people have turned to yoga to enhance their quality of life. Yoga gradually builds physical flexibility and strength, improves concentration, relieves stress, increases energy, and develops the ability to relax at will. Alice Christensen, founder, of the American Yoga Association, guides you through the program, showing you: -The basics of yoga exercising, breathing, and meditation with specific, easy-to-follow illustrations throughout -Specific postures such as the Gentle Full Bend, the Easy Sun Pose, and the Elbow Twist to help you target your weaker spots and increase your overall flexibility -The unique benefits of Yoga for alleviating chronic health conditions ranging from arthritis to depression -A six-week program to get you started and to help you develop a basic understanding of essential movements -Specially designed sequences to boost energy or bring calm, depending on your specific needs -Strategies to incorporate the yoga lifestyle into your daily routine, not only with exercise, but also with tips on creating a healthy diet and ways to develop a more peaceful, positive mental attitude Regardless of your age or physical condition, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga will inspire you to awaken your body and mind and experience the well-being and fulfillment that yoga brings.
26 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.96 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I just got back from an April trip to Montreat. It was among the very best of my RS trips so far. Our leader, Martha, was simply wonderful. I never felt out of place even though some severe arthritis had me using a chair to get up and down, etc., and making other modifications. Modifications are welcome with this group -- There is room for EVERY BODY in Martha's world. She sets a tone of such inclusivity and knowledge. Our fellow travelers were wonderful, too. I think we all bonded so well since most of the group were traveling solo, and therefore, especially amenable to reaching out, etc. The Montreat location is just gorgeous, and I loved the stone+glass of the Conference Center. I'd love to go back. This trip is great. -- Cathaleen

(5)

I chose a yoga retreat as a safe and comfortable program to test the RoadScholar experience. It was so successful that I will be trying more experiences with great curiosity and high expectations.

(5)

This is a great program, taught by a very competent instructor, set in a beautiful and interesting location!! For anyone interested in yoga, first timer or seasoned participant, you will gain a greater knowledge and understanding of yoga!

(5)

Perfect for those looking to explore yoga. You will come away with an understanding of what yoga is, its benefits and how to safely do poses at your level. Time well spent!

(5)

Wonderful experience, well worth repeating (as I did) since the instructor varies some of the material and it takes a few exposures to really start to get the hang of yoga. The other participants are, like you, adventurous and curious, willing to meet new friends and expand their knowledge. We had fun!!

(5)

This is a great program for Seniors, Hatha Yoga, I highly recommend it, the instructor Martha was excellent. It is set in the beautiful Assembly Inn in Montreat, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

(5)

The Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living program at Montreat was a great experience for me. I am new to yoga, and the pace and content was just right. Martha is an amazing instructor! I learned a lot and am inspired to make yoga a part of my life. I am looking forward to enjoying future Road Scholar programs.

(5)

Loved my first experience as a Road Scholar participant, will recommend Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living to others and look forward to deciding on my next Road Scholar adventure!

(4)

If you like yoga or want to know more about it, I think you will like this program. The sessions are all inclusive: adjustments for all levels of ability, and quiet time for self-reflection. All at a refreshing & relaxing retreat center.

(5)

The yoga retreat setting in Montreat N.C could not have been better. Staying in the Historical Inn overlooking the lake, with lots of trails to explore, made for a peaceful and rejuvenating experience. Martha, the yoga teacher adapted the yoga to any level, so everyone benefited. I have been practicing yoga for 4 years, but found I was not doing some of the poses correctly. I was glad to have the small group and attention to correct and elevate my yoga practice. The morning session included yoga and meditation, while afternoon sessions were more restorative yoga. The evening programs were also a highlight, including music from local folk/bluegrass musicians, who explained the history of the Appalachian music. Another night, there was an engaging storyteller. The pace and entire program was perfect. I already signed up for level 2 of the yoga retreat!

(5)

Yoga program: I highly recommend this program whether new to yoga or have been doing it for years. “Marvelous” Martha, our wonderful instructor, had something for everyone with morning stretches, spiritual reflection and introspection, work on strength and flexibility, ending the day with a restorative practice that left me energized and at peace. A retreat for body and mind, thank you Martha! Accommodations: the Assembly Inn is a beautiful historic inn located in the charming town of Montreat, NC. It is surrounded by mountains, trees, and overlooks a small lake fed by a bold creek that you can see throughout the property. The room was comfortable, the food was simple, plentiful with some stand-out dishes. Our Inn hostess and staff took care of all the details, thank you Tracy!

(5)

You absolutely do not need to be experienced with yoga to thoroughly enjoy and benefit from this program. If you are experienced, I can almost guarantee you will greatly enhance your practice. The beautiful and peaceful location is perfect for a yoga retreat!

(5)

If you want to do yoga, this is a good program taught by an excellent instructor in a beautiful location.

(5)

Loved everything about this experience. The accommodation was delightful, the evenings out were fun, and best of all was the instruction. Martha has the lessons very well paced, from the early morning stretches to late afternoon restorative actions. I was able to feel a real difference not only in my flexibility but, even better, my overall sense of well-being.

(5)

The Yoga Retreat at Montreat was an exceptional value for my first of hopefully many more trips with Road Scholar!

(5)

What a perfect area to learn about the Eight Limbs of Yoga. It really did feel like a retreat from everyday life. If you have any interest in yoga you will enjoy this seminar.

(5)

I highly recommend the beginning yoga program at Montreat Conference Center. The entire staff was marvelous, from the instructor to the program coordinator to dining room personnel. Even though the program lasted just six days, my classmates and I bonded easily and have promised to keep in touch with one another.

(5)

Montreat NC is a beautiful, quiet, pristene place. My yoga retreat experience was wonderful and I would definitely recommend it. The instructor presented the yoga practice in such a way to accommodate most people if they were willing to try. You did not to necessarily have prior experience but being somewhat active is a plus for your satisfaction.

(5)

This was an amazing program! I learned so much about yoga and meditation and am inspired to continue with it at home. All the participants were friendly and kind, and the instructor was fabulous! The location is a treat in and of itself. Montreal is beautiful and serene, and the staff there were wonderful. I would definitely recommend this program to both those new to yoga and those who have practiced yoga but want to learn more about it.

(5)

The yoga program is what you make of it. Martha made sure to include less strenuous and more strenuous instructions for many of the positions. I hurt and felt better all at the same time.

(5)

Totally enjoyed the class. I have never tried yoga and have managed to practice at least 5 days per week. Joined a chair yoga class at the Y near me. Martha did an outstanding job!!

(5)

it works!

(5)

great experience

(5)

Beautiful setting, fresh mountain air, good healthy food, wonderful walking trails, excellent instructor, comfortable accommodations, very nice people. Plenty of places of interest to visit during free time. I'll be back.

(5)

I would highly recommend Yoga for Beginning and Intermediate and Wellness for anyone one that has an interest or presently attends Yoga classes.

(5)

Once again I enjoyed another great Road Scholar program at Montreat, NC. The Road Scholar programs continue to be one of the best organizations I have ever found. They really are committed to providing outstanding, enjoyable experiences that are wonderfully cost effective. Every facet of the organization I have dealt with are so helpful and sincerely interested in providing an outstanding experience. I always feel safe, meet interesting people, & thoroughly enjoy myself as a single lady.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.