loading spinner
22381
North Carolina

Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living: The 8 Limbs of Hatha Yoga

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22381RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
579
North Carolina

Yoga for Wellness and Daily Living: The 8 Limbs of Hatha Yoga

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Length
6 days
Starts at
579
Program No. 22381 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
679
Nov 7 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
579
Mar 27 - Apr 1, 2022
Starting at
699
Apr 10 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
699
May 22 - May 27, 2022
Starting at
699
May 29 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
699
Aug 7 - Aug 12, 2022
Starting at
699
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2022
Starting at
699
Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
699
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
699
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
869
Nov 7 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
769
Mar 27 - Apr 1, 2022
Starting at
899
Apr 10 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
899
May 22 - May 27, 2022
Starting at
899
May 29 - Jun 3, 2022
Starting at
899
Aug 7 - Aug 12, 2022
Starting at
899
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2022
Starting at
899
Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2022
Starting at
899
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
899

At a Glance

Join Road Scholar for a week of limber learning as you deepen your understanding of yoga and how you can use it to vitalize your daily life. During this yoga program for beginners, expert yoga instructors will introduce styles, postures and breathing techniques. Each day will include a morning and afternoon yoga practice for strengthening, healing and relaxation, as well as lecture time to address yogic concepts.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Designed for beginner to intermediate yoga enthusiasts.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Find out how you can improve your physical and mental well-being with yoga postures, meditation techniques and breath-work, and develop your own practice to continue at home.
  • Learn from expert yoga instructors as you discuss yogic principles and concepts in the classroom and then put the poses to practice.
  • Begin to develop core strength and learn how it can support overall mental and physical health, prevent injuries and help you get better sleep.

General Notes

The Retreat Difference: This unique, often basic and no-frills experience at a Road Scholar Retreat includes opportunities for early morning exercise, interaction with the local community for insight into local life, an authentic farm-to-table or locally sourced meal, a live performance or event and a value-priced single room. Opportunities are available for traveling companions to attend a different program at Montreat during the same week. Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson View biography
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.
Profile Image of Tracy Bailey
Tracy Bailey View biography
Tracy has been on the program staff of Montreat Conference Center since 1986. She began working with Elderhostel programs in 1989, and in 1997 assumed the additional role of on-site coordinator. A native of the area, she graduated from Asheville-Buncombe Technical College in 1981. Her favorite hobbies are hiking, pottery and reading. Tracy married Sam in 2007, and added three daughters to her family. In addition to her own grown children, she and Sam have been foster parents since 2010. They have four grandchildren.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Easy Does It Yoga
by Alice Christensen
ISBN 0-684-84890...Regain your health, vitality, and independence through this age-old approach to fitness! Whether you're an older adult just beginning to exercise,you’re physically weak due to an illness or injury, or you haven’t worked out in a while, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga is a safe, easy-to-use guide to renewed physical and emotional wellness. For thousands of years people have turned to yoga to enhance their quality of life. Yoga gradually builds physical flexibility and strength, improves concentration, relieves stress, increases energy, and develops the ability to relax at will. Alice Christensen, founder, of the American Yoga Association, guides you through the program, showing you: -The basics of yoga exercising, breathing, and meditation with specific, easy-to-follow illustrations throughout -Specific postures such as the Gentle Full Bend, the Easy Sun Pose, and the Elbow Twist to help you target your weaker spots and increase your overall flexibility -The unique benefits of Yoga for alleviating chronic health conditions ranging from arthritis to depression -A six-week program to get you started and to help you develop a basic understanding of essential movements -Specially designed sequences to boost energy or bring calm, depending on your specific needs -Strategies to incorporate the yoga lifestyle into your daily routine, not only with exercise, but also with tips on creating a healthy diet and ways to develop a more peaceful, positive mental attitude Regardless of your age or physical condition, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga will inspire you to awaken your body and mind and experience the well-being and fulfillment that yoga brings.
15 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

Yoga program: I highly recommend this program whether new to yoga or have been doing it for years. “Marvelous” Martha, our wonderful instructor, had something for everyone with morning stretches, spiritual reflection and introspection, work on strength and flexibility, ending the day with a restorative practice that left me energized and at peace. A retreat for body and mind, thank you Martha! Accommodations: the Assembly Inn is a beautiful historic inn located in the charming town of Montreat, NC. It is surrounded by mountains, trees, and overlooks a small lake fed by a bold creek that you can see throughout the property. The room was comfortable, the food was simple, plentiful with some stand-out dishes. Our Inn hostess and staff took care of all the details, thank you Tracy!

(5)

You absolutely do not need to be experienced with yoga to thoroughly enjoy and benefit from this program. If you are experienced, I can almost guarantee you will greatly enhance your practice. The beautiful and peaceful location is perfect for a yoga retreat!

(5)

If you want to do yoga, this is a good program taught by an excellent instructor in a beautiful location.

(5)

Loved everything about this experience. The accommodation was delightful, the evenings out were fun, and best of all was the instruction. Martha has the lessons very well paced, from the early morning stretches to late afternoon restorative actions. I was able to feel a real difference not only in my flexibility but, even better, my overall sense of well-being.

(5)

The Yoga Retreat at Montreat was an exceptional value for my first of hopefully many more trips with Road Scholar!

(5)

What a perfect area to learn about the Eight Limbs of Yoga. It really did feel like a retreat from everyday life. If you have any interest in yoga you will enjoy this seminar.

(5)

I highly recommend the beginning yoga program at Montreat Conference Center. The entire staff was marvelous, from the instructor to the program coordinator to dining room personnel. Even though the program lasted just six days, my classmates and I bonded easily and have promised to keep in touch with one another.

(5)

Montreat NC is a beautiful, quiet, pristene place. My yoga retreat experience was wonderful and I would definitely recommend it. The instructor presented the yoga practice in such a way to accommodate most people if they were willing to try. You did not to necessarily have prior experience but being somewhat active is a plus for your satisfaction.

(5)

This was an amazing program! I learned so much about yoga and meditation and am inspired to continue with it at home. All the participants were friendly and kind, and the instructor was fabulous! The location is a treat in and of itself. Montreal is beautiful and serene, and the staff there were wonderful. I would definitely recommend this program to both those new to yoga and those who have practiced yoga but want to learn more about it.

(5)

The yoga program is what you make of it. Martha made sure to include less strenuous and more strenuous instructions for many of the positions. I hurt and felt better all at the same time.

(5)

Totally enjoyed the class. I have never tried yoga and have managed to practice at least 5 days per week. Joined a chair yoga class at the Y near me. Martha did an outstanding job!!

(5)

it works!

(5)

great experience

(5)

A restorative and challenging program in a gorgeous setting. The yoga program was appropriate for many levels of ability and the teacher is excellent. I loved the people I met and enjoyed hiking and exploring the area.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The yoga activity was at the perfect level for me as a beginner. I got to experience and learn a lot without being pushed past my limits. Great participants in the course and wonderful leadership provided. Montreat is located in a great location in the Smokey Mountains, lots of hiking opportunities and Asheville is nearby. The only somewhat negative was the food. All meals were served buffet style at the facility. The quality of the food offering seemed to diminish as the week went on. At several meals, they ran out of entrees. The food was OK but not up to the standard I've experienced on most other Road Scholar trips (I've done 16).






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.