loading spinner
22381
North Carolina

Beginning & Intermediate Yoga for Wellness & Daily Living

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22381RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
679
North Carolina

Beginning & Intermediate Yoga for Wellness & Daily Living

Connect mind, body and spirit at this wellness retreat as expert instructors introduce yoga postures and principles during lectures and classes, and develop practices to use at home.
Length
6 days
Starts at
679
Program No. 22381 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 9 - May 14, 2021
Starting at
679
May 16 - May 21, 2021
Starting at
679
Aug 22 - Aug 27, 2021
Starting at
679
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
679
Oct 3 - Oct 8, 2021
Starting at
679
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
679
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 9 - May 14, 2021
Starting at
869
May 16 - May 21, 2021
Starting at
869
Aug 22 - Aug 27, 2021
Starting at
869
Sep 12 - Sep 17, 2021
Starting at
869
Oct 3 - Oct 8, 2021
Starting at
869
Oct 24 - Oct 29, 2021
Starting at
869

At a Glance

Join Road Scholar for a week of limber learning as you deepen your understanding of yoga and how you can use it to vitalize your daily life. During this yoga program for beginners, expert yoga instructors will introduce styles, postures and breathing techniques. Each day will include a morning and afternoon yoga practice for strengthening, healing and relaxation, as well as lecture time to address yogic concepts.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Designed for beginner to intermediate yoga enthusiasts.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Find out how you can improve your physical and mental well-being with yoga postures, meditation techniques and breath-work, and develop your own practice to continue at home.
  • Learn from expert yoga instructors as you discuss yogic principles and concepts in the classroom and then put the poses to practice.
  • Begin to develop core strength and learn how it can support overall mental and physical health, prevent injuries and help you get better sleep.

General Notes

The Retreat Difference: This unique, often basic and no-frills experience at a Road Scholar Retreat includes opportunities for early morning exercise, interaction with the local community for insight into local life, an authentic farm-to-table or locally sourced meal, a live performance or event and a value-priced single room. Opportunities are available for traveling companions to attend a different program at Montreat during the same week. Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Martha Nelson
Martha Nelson View biography
Martha Nelson is a yoga instructor, potter and workshop leader. She graduated from Warren Wilson College with a B.S. in intercultural studies and had her first experience on the potter's wheel while living in a village in Sri Lanka. She completed her advanced yoga certification, 500 CYT, at the Asheville Yoga Center. Martha balances her time teaching pottery and yoga, playing old-time bass and enjoying family life in Black Mountain, North Carolina.
Profile Image of Tracy Bailey
Tracy Bailey View biography
Tracy has been on the program staff of Montreat Conference Center since 1986. She began working with Elderhostel programs in 1989, and in 1997 assumed the additional role of on-site coordinator. A native of the area, she graduated from Asheville-Buncombe Technical College in 1981. Her favorite hobbies are hiking, pottery and reading. Tracy married Sam in 2007, and added three daughters to her family. In addition to her own grown children, she and Sam have been foster parents since 2010. They have four grandchildren.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Easy Does It Yoga
by Alice Christensen
ISBN 0-684-84890...Regain your health, vitality, and independence through this age-old approach to fitness! Whether you're an older adult just beginning to exercise,you’re physically weak due to an illness or injury, or you haven’t worked out in a while, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga is a safe, easy-to-use guide to renewed physical and emotional wellness. For thousands of years people have turned to yoga to enhance their quality of life. Yoga gradually builds physical flexibility and strength, improves concentration, relieves stress, increases energy, and develops the ability to relax at will. Alice Christensen, founder, of the American Yoga Association, guides you through the program, showing you: -The basics of yoga exercising, breathing, and meditation with specific, easy-to-follow illustrations throughout -Specific postures such as the Gentle Full Bend, the Easy Sun Pose, and the Elbow Twist to help you target your weaker spots and increase your overall flexibility -The unique benefits of Yoga for alleviating chronic health conditions ranging from arthritis to depression -A six-week program to get you started and to help you develop a basic understanding of essential movements -Specially designed sequences to boost energy or bring calm, depending on your specific needs -Strategies to incorporate the yoga lifestyle into your daily routine, not only with exercise, but also with tips on creating a healthy diet and ways to develop a more peaceful, positive mental attitude Regardless of your age or physical condition, The American Yoga Association's Easy Does It® Yoga will inspire you to awaken your body and mind and experience the well-being and fulfillment that yoga brings.
13 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

Totally enjoyed the class. I have never tried yoga and have managed to practice at least 5 days per week. Joined a chair yoga class at the Y near me. Martha did an outstanding job!!

(5)

it works!

(5)

great experience

(5)

A restorative and challenging program in a gorgeous setting. The yoga program was appropriate for many levels of ability and the teacher is excellent. I loved the people I met and enjoyed hiking and exploring the area.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The yoga activity was at the perfect level for me as a beginner. I got to experience and learn a lot without being pushed past my limits. Great participants in the course and wonderful leadership provided. Montreat is located in a great location in the Smokey Mountains, lots of hiking opportunities and Asheville is nearby. The only somewhat negative was the food. All meals were served buffet style at the facility. The quality of the food offering seemed to diminish as the week went on. At several meals, they ran out of entrees. The food was OK but not up to the standard I've experienced on most other Road Scholar trips (I've done 16).

(5)

I would highly recommend this program to anyone who is interested in starting yoga. Options were given regardless of skill level that everyone could manage.

(5)

I would encourage anyone who is even slightly interested in yoga, meditation or general fitness to try this yoga program. The teachers were very caring, knowledgeable & personable. Both seemed to genuinely care about all the participants & helped each of us to grown in our ability, understanding & knowledge of yoga & how it helps us maintain good mental attitudes as well as physical health.

(5)

Beautiful setting, fresh mountain air, good healthy food, wonderful walking trails, excellent instructor, comfortable accommodations, very nice people. Plenty of places of interest to visit during free time. I'll be back.

(5)

I would highly recommend Yoga for Beginning and Intermediate and Wellness for anyone one that has an interest or presently attends Yoga classes.

(5)

Once again I enjoyed another great Road Scholar program at Montreat, NC. The Road Scholar programs continue to be one of the best organizations I have ever found. They really are committed to providing outstanding, enjoyable experiences that are wonderfully cost effective. Every facet of the organization I have dealt with are so helpful and sincerely interested in providing an outstanding experience. I always feel safe, meet interesting people, & thoroughly enjoy myself as a single lady.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Beautiful setting

(5)

I will leave my suggestions up for review and comments of other road Scholar participants thank you

(5)

This beginners' yoga program was everything I wanted -- an introduction to Hatha yoga that included knowledge and practice geared to my age and capabilities. While it was somewhat physically challenging, the instructor made allowances for individuals' needs. Great program!






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback