loading spinner
22004
Pennsylvania

Maryland & Penn.: A Bike Trek in the Great Allegheny Passage

Get ready for a week of bicycling, trail towns and outdoor adventure as you join local experts to cycle the Great Allegheny Passage, learning the story of the Laurel Highlands.
Rating (5)
Program No. 22004RJ
Length
7 days
Starts at
1,299
Pennsylvania

Maryland & Penn.: A Bike Trek in the Great Allegheny Passage

Get ready for a week of bicycling, trail towns and outdoor adventure as you join local experts to cycle the Great Allegheny Passage, learning the story of the Laurel Highlands.
Length
7 days
Starts at
1,299
Program No. 22004 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Bike Not Included
Details
Accommodation Details
Bring your own bicycle.
Bike Included
Details
Accommodation Details
A bicycle will be provided.
May 16 - May 22, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,299
Bike Included 1,479
Jun 6 - Jun 12, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,299
Bike Included 1,479
Aug 22 - Aug 28, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,299
Bike Included 1,479
Sep 12 - Sep 18, 2021
SOLD OUT
Bike Not Included 1,299
Bike Included 1,479

DATES & PRICES

Bike Not Included
Details
Accommodation Details
Bring your own bicycle.
Bike Included
Details
Accommodation Details
A bicycle will be provided.
May 16 - May 22, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,659
Bike Included 1,839
Jun 6 - Jun 12, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,659
Bike Included 1,839
Aug 22 - Aug 28, 2021
Bike Not Included 1,659
Bike Included 1,839
Sep 12 - Sep 18, 2021
SOLD OUT
Bike Not Included 1,659
Bike Included 1,839

At a Glance

The Great Allegheny Passage stretches 150 miles across some of the most beautiful scenery in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Join us for a biking adventure along this famed route as you cross the Mason-Dixon line with local experts who share their knowledge of the rich history and natural resources of the Laurel Highlands. Over the course of a week, cover the passage from Meyersdale to Pittsburgh, and discover the region’s flowing rivers, noted landmarks and historic small towns.
Activity Level
Outdoor: Spirited
Biking up to 32 miles a day on flat, packed limestone trails.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Join a local environmental educator for an introduction to the flora, fauna and history of the Laurel Highlands.
  • Ride through Ohiopyle State Park, the historic coal patch town of Whitsett and the 3,294’ long Big Savage Tunnel.
  • In Pittsburgh, ride the Duquesne incline to the top of Mount Washington for a spectacular view of one of the country’s most beautiful skylines.

General Notes

The Retreat Difference: This unique, often basic and no-frills experience at a Road Scholar Retreat includes opportunities for early morning exercise, interaction with the local community for insight into local life, an authentic farm-to-table or locally sourced meal, a live performance or event, and a value-priced single room.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Gabi Hughes
Gabi Hughes has been an environmental educator with Audubon Society of Western Pennsylvania for 19 years where she has worked with all ages, both indoors and out. She finds great wonder in everything from bugs to birds, and especially loves the intricate ways in which ecosystems function. Through her work with Audubon, she gets to share the idea that it is good to get dirty, that scientists say “Oh, interesting” instead of “Eww, gross,” and that there is always one more fascinating thing to learn.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Gabi Hughes
Gabi Hughes View biography
Gabi Hughes has been an environmental educator with Audubon Society of Western Pennsylvania for 19 years where she has worked with all ages, both indoors and out. She finds great wonder in everything from bugs to birds, and especially loves the intricate ways in which ecosystems function. Through her work with Audubon, she gets to share the idea that it is good to get dirty, that scientists say “Oh, interesting” instead of “Eww, gross,” and that there is always one more fascinating thing to learn.
Profile Image of Kimmie Stradling
Kimmie Stradling View biography
Kimmie Stradling has a background in hospitality and is Laurelville's new program director. Kimmie graduated from Northern Arizona University with a degree in hotel and restaurant management. She has worked at Marriott and has been a youth director at a church for four years. Some of her favorite things to do are traveling and taking her paddle board out on the water. She is excited to join in on the Road Scholar adventures that she has the privilege of hosting.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Great Allegheny Passage Companion: Guide to History & Heritage Along the Trail
by William Metzger
A mile-by-mile guide with maps, illustrations, and historical photos. The most comprehensive guide to the rail-trail on the market. Available at www.amazon.com.
An Uncommon Passage: Traveling through History on the Great Allegheny Passage
by Edward K. Muller and Paul G. Wiegman
An Uncommon Passage guides readers through the fascinating story of this trail, as a critical link in the western expansion of colonial America, and a pathway to the development of the Southwestern Pennsylvania region. The book explores the British outposts and forts, early settlers and frontier life, developing towns and cities, rise and predominance of industry, later environmentalism and preservation, natural resources, rivers, flora and geological features that comprise the trail and its environs. The engaging narrative is complemented by an extensive selection of historical illustrations and the contemporary photography of Paul g. Wiegman, all of which reveal the stunning scenery and pictorial history of the region. An Uncommon Passage offers a journey through both time and space to capture the heritage and surroundings of a region that would grow to prosper and help build a nation.
TrailBook 10th Edition
by Allegheny Trail Alliance
TrailBook is the only authorized guide for the Great Allegheny Passage. The official guide to the C&O Canal Towpath and Great Allegheny Passage, 335 miles from Washington, D.C. to Pittsburgh, PA. Includes Linking Up! planning guide; weatherproof, full-color map is folded into the back pocket; contains 232 pages of trail information; plus maps and information on 15 key trail towns. It's loaded with pictures of what you will see as you experience what the National Geographic Adventure calls an American Classic.
13 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

This is an excellent program, one of the best that I have attended. The GAP trail is beautiful – 150 miles of scenic riding, nearly all of it car-free. Laurelville provided a very scenic setting, very comfortable accommodations, and excellent food. The trail lunches were the best that I have ever had on any RS bicycling or hiking program. The 20 participants were a mix of very experienced and more casual riders, but all were able to complete the full 150 miles. The entire staff – Kimmie, Steve, Gene, Mae, George, Nelson, and Grace – were encouraging, positive, flexible, and amazingly helpful. A week of perfect weather contributed to this outstanding experience. As always, the participants were friendly, welcoming, and fun to be with. As a single participant, I always felt welcomed as part of the group. If you would enjoy biking for 5 days in a beautiful setting, this is the program for you! I have posted some pictures from the week at ellieknesper.smugmug.com.

(5)

What a worthwhile trip! The trail is beautiful and the folks at Laurelville took such good care of us!

(5)

I was delighted with this trip. The trail organizers redesigned the route so we did not made a direct path from Cumberland to Pittsburgh, but they selected the best possible GAP route for each day. I have taken several Road Scholar trips and this was the first with volunteers. Mae and George, Nelson and Grace were friendly, so very helpful and so needed to make this trip a success. Many, many thanks to them for their efforts. If you are a beginning rider like me, this ride is perfect. Our beautiful September weather was wonderful, too.

(5)

This was a wonderful bicycle trip for people with various bicycle riding skills. The leaders were great, the volunteers were great and the lodgings and food was great. The ride itself was interesting and well paced. Well worth the cost of the trip

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a great trip. Riding was not too difficult, good scenery, comfortable accomidations

(5)

Very well organized program in an idyllic setting. The bikes provided were in excellent condition. The leaders took great pains to ensure safety and enjoyment.

(5)

This was my 11th Road Scholar trip, and I plan to continue traveling with Road Scholar. This trip is excellent, very well done, organized and interesting. Riding the GAP was something I wanted to do after riding the C and O Canal with Road Scholar 2 years ago. Road Scholar enabled me to ride from Washington DC to Pittsburgh PA, quite an experience. The Laurelville Center is great! Kimmie, Gene, Steve, LaVern, Janie, Bruce and Norma were awesome leaders and volunteers. If you are thinking about signing up for this trip, DO IT!!! You won't be disappointed!!!

(5)

Outstanding trip. Great Leaders and Staff. All aspects of the trip exceeded our expectations (no rain and all down hills) Will So this again and again

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a wonderful trip! The area is beautiful and the riding very manageable along a well maintained trail. Our guide,Gene Cline, was very knowledgeable, funny,and well organized. I highly recommend this trip. Mary

(5)

This is a fantastic trip! The scenery is beautiful and the trails are enjoyable to bike on. Our guide, Gene Cline, was very personable, encouraging, and entertained us with his many jokes!! The lodging is in a peaceful retreat center and the staff makes sure you are well cared for. Biking 30 miles each day is possible even when you're not a seasoned biker. Each participant is encouraged to ride at their own pace and to enjoy the trails. I encourage you to sign up for this trip!

(5)

This is a great cycling program. If you have some experience riding and are in decent shape, this may be a program for you. For much of the trail you are able to ride at your own pace. The thirty miles each day was easier to accomplish that I, and moderately experienced rider, had anticipated.

(5)

Good program! Accommodations were clean and comfortable, not luxurious, but that’s what we expected for a bike trip centered at a church camp.. The mountains of western Pennsylvania are beautiful, and being a rail-trail, the climbs were not strenuous. The tunnels were fun. I would recommend this trip for anyone interested in bicycle touring.

(5)

The Great Allegheny Passage bike trail ride was an amazing experience- beautiful and challenging without being impossible. We had a very diverse group ranging from avid bicyclists to casual bikers. We all made it through! I think we all had a great time. I know I certainly did. The team leader was very well organized, the place where we stayed was both beautiful and responsive to any of our needs, and the support team did a stellar job. Highly recommend it.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback