loading spinner
Denmark/Sweden

The Beat of the Nordic Heart: Vibrant Copenhagen and Stockholm

Program No. 21898RJ
Lose yourself in the artistry, architecture, medieval charm and gourmet cuisine of these two magical Scandinavian cities as you explore with the experts and during plenty of free time.
Length
10 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
3,999
Flights start at
1,000

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Protecting the Environment

Through Carbonfund.org, we offset a portion of the emissions created by your travel. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 28 - Jun 6, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Jun 11 - Jun 20, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Jul 2 - Jul 11, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Jul 9 - Jul 18, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Aug 6 - Aug 15, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Sep 3 - Sep 12, 2023
Starting at
3,999
Oct 1 - Oct 10, 2023
Starting at
3,999
May 26 - Jun 4, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Jun 9 - Jun 18, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Jul 14 - Jul 23, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Aug 4 - Aug 13, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Sep 1 - Sep 10, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Sep 29 - Oct 8, 2024
Starting at
3,999
Oct 6 - Oct 15, 2024
Starting at
3,999
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 28 - Jun 6, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Jun 11 - Jun 20, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Jul 2 - Jul 11, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Jul 9 - Jul 18, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Aug 6 - Aug 15, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Sep 3 - Sep 12, 2023
Starting at
4,899
Oct 1 - Oct 10, 2023
Starting at
4,899
May 26 - Jun 4, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Jun 9 - Jun 18, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Jul 14 - Jul 23, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Aug 4 - Aug 13, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Sep 1 - Sep 10, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Sep 29 - Oct 8, 2024
Starting at
4,899
Oct 6 - Oct 15, 2024
Starting at
4,899

At a Glance

Copenhagen is the capital of the “Happiest Nation in the World,” shelters the planet’s most bicycle-crazed residents and claims author Hans Christian Andersen and “The Little Mermaid.” Stockholm is home to the 17th-century “Vasa” warship, 70 miles of kaleidoscopic art in a subway system called Europe’s most beautiful, and Alfred Nobel, founder of the prestigious prize. Join us in Denmark and Sweden on a discovery of these Scandinavian sister capitals, from vibrant neighborhoods and nautical history to modern politics, gleaning insight from local experts while enjoying plenty of time for adventures on your own.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to 4 miles daily, paved city streets with many cobbled areas; taking public transportation.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Discover Copenhagen’s bookstores, university-driven energy and cozy public square.
  • Learn about the founder of the prestigious Nobel Prize, Alfred Nobel, and join an expert for an exploration of Stockholm's City Hall, home to the Nobel ceremony.
  • Explore the proud warship of Vasa which was restored in the 1960s, and hear a lecture at the Vasa Museum.

General Notes

Program includes independent time to explore the city and several meals on your own. Group Leaders will provide directions for self-directed excursions. Suggestions for free-time activities provided in preparatory materials.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Stockholm, City of My Dreams
by Pers Anders Fogelstrom
Young Henning Nilsson arrives in Stockholm on the eve of the Industrial Revolution, eager for success, love and a fully experienced life in this Swedish classic of historical realist fiction, happily now available in an English translation.
The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living
by Meik Wiking
Why are the Danes so happy? Some contribute it to the emphasis on the sense of comfort and community known as Hygge (pronounced hoo-ga). Wiking teaches readers about this national philosophy with practical, attainable suggestions of how to incorporate hygge into everyday life.
Letters on Sweden, Norway, and Denmark
by Mary Wollstonecraft, William Godwin
Groundbreaking feminist Wollstonecraft records her observations of a late 18th-century journey through Scandinavia in this small masterpiece, rich in detail of people and place.
Smilla's Sense of Snow
by Peter Hoeg
Set in Denmark and Greenland and aboard a secret ship, this page-turner, out in a 20th anniversary edition, includes an excellent portrait of modern-day Copenhagen. Beneath its eerie surface, the novel wrestles with racism and the tangled relations between Denmark and Greenland.
The Almost Nearly Perfect People, Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia
by Michael Booth
Guardian journalist Booth writes with laugh-out-loud humor and brutal candor about the Scandinavians, mixing history and his own experiences in Nordic regions in this searing cultural portrait.
The Cathedral Builders of the Middle Ages
by Alain Erlande-Brandenburg
This pocket-size encyclopedia of the art, architecture and culture of the Middle Ages features hundreds of drawings, color illustrations and a chronology.
The Saga of the Volsungs
by Jesse Byock (Translator)
A piece full of traditional lore, including runic knowledge, jealousies of princes, betrayals, unrequited love, the vengeance of a Barbarian queen, the greed of Attila the Hun and the mythic deeds of a dragon-slayer.
DK Eyewitness Top Ten Copenhagen
by DK Publishing
A compact, illustrated guide in the popular series, featuring favorite attractions in Copenhagen and a pull-out map.
Birds of Europe
by Lars Svensson
Featuring 3,500 glorious paintings by Killian Mullarney and Dan Zetterstrom, the second edition of this exquisite guide features updated text and maps.
Stockholm, A Cultural History
by Tony Griffiths
A literary, cultural guide to the art, architecture, traditions and history of Stockholm.
DK Eyewitness Top Ten Stockholm
by Eyewitness Guides
A compact, illustrated guide in the popular series, featuring favorite attractions.
The Stories of Hans Christian Andersen
by Hans Christian Andersen, Diana Crone Frank, Jeffrey Frank
A newly refurbished collection of 22 tales, adroitly retranslated by Diana and Jeffrey Frank and with the original illustrations.
The Messiah of Stockholm, A Novel
by Cynthia Ozick
Set in the dark of Stockholm's winter, this atmospheric short novel follows the peregrinations of Lars Andemeing -- and his search for his father Bruno Schulz.
Penguin Historical Atlas of the Vikings
by John Haywood
This history of the Vikings tells their story through a series of innovative maps and excellent photographs. It traces the routes of 9th-century Viking merchants and explorers throughout Europe and the New World.
The Vikings, Lords of the Seas
by Yves Cohat
An indispensable reference that fits in your pocket, this slim volume is packed with maps, archival photos and illustrations.
Missing
by Karin Alvtegen
Set in contemporary Stockholm, this tautly constructed tale marks the U.S. debut of Karin Alvtegen -- Sweden's Queen of Crime. Intricately plotted and emotionally complex.
The Vikings
by Else Roesdahl
This well-written look at Norse civilization goes beyond the limited view of the ruthless Viking invaders, creating a full picture of the vibrant, artistic, agricultural and exploratory culture
Stockholm Map
by itmb
A convenient, detailed map of Stockholm and surroundings at a scale of 1:12,000.
How to Be Danish, A Journey to the Cultural Heart of Denmark
by Patrick Kingsley
Patrick Kingsley interviews Danes, from Copenhagen to a variety of places, including the so-called "happiest town in the world," introducing a homogenized yet highly intricate Danish culture.
A History of Scandinavia: Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Iceland
by T.K Derry
The story of Scandinavia from prehistory to the present with chapters on the Viking and Lutheran kingdoms, medieval times, monarchies, the World Wars and modern period, emphasizing the common cultural, political and social backgrounds.
Winter's Tales
by Isak Dinesen
A collection of 11 haunting short stories by the Danish writer most famous as Karen Blixen. With their Nordic settings, the Gothic tales draw upon the folk tradition and myths of Denmark. Originally published in 1942.
Copenhagen Map
by Berndtson & Berndtson
A handy laminated street map of Copenhagen in full color at a scale of 1:11,000.
9 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 10/01/2022

I loved this trip. Our guides were wonderful. The accommodations were in the middle of everything, great locations. I enjoyed the extra free time to explore and expand my horizons. We had an evening in a Danish home, an architectural tour of new, contemporary and green, buildings and a morning in a neighborhood of young families with a young mother as our guide. I think this adventure was exactly as advertised. We knew what was included. There was a lot of walking (which I enjoyed) and the lectures and the sights were informative. I would highly recommend this trip.

(5) Review left 9/29/2022

I thoroughly enjoyed my first adventure to Scandinavia. I would never have been able to experience Denmark and Sweden the same way had I tried to plan this on my own.

(5) Review left 9/24/2022

I thoroughly enjoyed my first experience with Road Scholar. As a solo traveler, I was a bit concerned about feeling out of place but that was definitely not the case. I plan to travel with Road Scholar again very soon.

(5) Review left 8/31/2022

The Beat of the Nordic Heart exceeded our expectations! Accommodations in both Copenhagen and Stockholm were in central, safe locations and the service there was exceptional. The lectures, tours, meals, and overall experience gets an A+. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the other 14 participants, just the right group size. Our tour guides, Hanne and Gabriella, went above and beyond throughout the trip. My husband is blind and while we are quite mobile, group members readily stepped up to assist whenever needed. Also of note is the exemplary care we received when my sister became quite ill. Hanne proved to be a compassionate, problem solving, and comforting friend - not "just a tour guide" - but a trusted friend, for which we are ever grateful. Gabriella provided the same care by assisting w/ logistics and even providing for a birthday cake at our farewell gathering. We definitely recommend this trip and look forward to our next Road Scholar adventure!

(5) Review left 8/31/2022

I really enjoyed our trip to Denmark and Sweden. I am a blind individual and had no trouble negotiating any of the tours or transportation. I found the lectures to be very beneficial and were presented such that I could consume the information without any issues. The tour guides and other participants were very willing to assist me in any way needed, which I truly appreciated. I would certainly attend another Road Scholar tour in the future.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 8/02/2022

This trip was EXCELLENT! A perfect mix of museums, city overviews, meals, free time; the two hotels were superb. Our Copenhagen experience was slightly better overall than Stockholm, mainly because of the leaders. Hanne Thomsen (Copenhagen) was the best guide I've had on all my nine RS trips -- engaging, caring, funny, knowledgeable, enthusiastic, helpful.... On the other hand, our leader in Stockholm, Annika Swahn, was rather aloof and less engaged. I felt like we were commodities to her and she was simply doing a job of checklists. We were not a "needy" group, but she was only slightly interested in learning our names or sharing the beauties and unique life of Stockholm with us. She seemed to forget that we had not been to her city before and often hurried over information or directions. This, in contrast to all the other guides I've had with RS trips. But, after a wait of two years, I'm SO GLAD I stayed on the list and took the trip. To make it all even better, my son and adult granddaughter flew to Stockholm from Colorado and we spent 4 days in Stockholm, and then rode the train back to Copenhagen for another 5 days. I was able to be our cities guide! Thank you, Road Scholar, for yet another exciting, well-designed foreign experience!!

(5) Review left 7/26/2022

Road Scholars is an organization that knows what it is doing. You can feel confident that your wellbeing is foremost in their planning and execution. If you want to avoid thee heat of summer, the Nordic adventure is a winner.

(5) Review left 7/21/2022

This is an excellent tour with great tour leaders. Our Copenhagen leader was knowledgeable and passionate about her country. She was able to learn a bit about each of us over our 4 day stay. She made us feel welcomed and almost like we were visiting her personally. Likewise, our leader in Stockholm was knowledgeable and passionate about the city. She made sure that we understood how to navigate all of the public transportation options to travel around. However I have to comment about Road Scholar Travel department. I have traveled for years using many corporate travel services. Road Scholar Travel is the ABSOLUTE WORST TRAVEL SERVICE that I have ever encountered. Their customer service is poor. When trying to get ahold of them, you get put on indefinite hold if by phone and you can expect a canned email response a week later. Their message to us is effectively, “sorry, we’re too busy taking care of new customer bookings and can’t accommodate you.” It is clear that revenue is priority #1, not customer service and satisfaction. We’re still waiting for a response about how to get a refund for our return flight home that was canceled by the airline. When calling Travel, the operator doesn’t know the answer. Road Scholar Travel has provided such a bad experience, that we will think long and hard before booking another trip.

(5) Review left 7/10/2019

Excellent group leaders. Both of the leaders we had on this program were very knowledgeable about their country and did a great job organizing the outings and interacting with the participants.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.