loading spinner
Tennessee

Magic, Music & Nature: The Great Smokies With Your Grandchild

Program No. 21737RJ
Learn about show biz from local musicians and become a storyteller, magician and passenger on the Titanic as you discover the wonders of the Great Smokies with your grandchild.

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Protecting the Environment

We offset a portion of the emissions created by your travel. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Age 8 - 12
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jun 25 - Jun 30, 2023
Per Adult
1,649
Per Child
999
Select
Jun 25 - Jun 30, 2023
1,649
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,649
/ Adult
999
/ Child
2,349
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Select Date
Jul 16 - Jul 21, 2023
Per Adult
1,649
Per Child
999
Select
Jul 16 - Jul 21, 2023
1,649
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,649
/ Adult
999
/ Child
2,349
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Select Date

At a Glance

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to be in show biz? Have you dreamed of performing magic tricks? Come join us for a fun-filled discovery of the music, culture and entertainment of the Great Smoky Mountains. Pigeon Forge started as a quiet mill town, but today it’s the “Entertainment Capital of the Great Smokies” and your grandchild’s learning playground for a week of theater performances, storytelling, theme parks and nature hikes. Meet magicians, musicians and a local artisan. Go behind the scenes in a professional theater and get up close and personal with the natural world on hikes and drives through Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking two miles on varied terrain. Elevations up to 5,500 feet.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Explore the history of Dollywood, one of the most unique theme parks, packed with rides, concert venues and mountain crafts.
  • Meet a stage magician to learn about show-biz life, and laugh, listen and eat your fill at Dolly Parton's Pirate's Voyage Dinner Show.
  • Explore Great Smoky Mountains National Park on a light, refreshing hike.

General Notes

Program is for grandchildren ages 8-12.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Mike Gwinn
Mike Gwinn has made Pigeon Forge his home since 1995, and has never regretted a moment. He is a charter member of the bluegrass group, Pine Mountain Railroad, and has been singing and playing musical instruments since he was a young boy. He plays a variety of instruments during presentations including the guitar, “clawhammer” banjo, banjola, and dojo. His love for music and this area are clearly evident as he shares bluegrass, old-time and mountain music.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Mike Gwinn
Mike Gwinn View biography
Mike Gwinn has made Pigeon Forge his home since 1995, and has never regretted a moment. He is a charter member of the bluegrass group, Pine Mountain Railroad, and has been singing and playing musical instruments since he was a young boy. He plays a variety of instruments during presentations including the guitar, “clawhammer” banjo, banjola, and dojo. His love for music and this area are clearly evident as he shares bluegrass, old-time and mountain music.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Smoky Mountain Memories: Stories from the Heart of the Parton Family
by Willadeene & Dolly Parton
Book written by Dolly on their lives in the Smokies.
Great Smokies Myths and Legends: The True Stories behind History's Mysteries
by Michael R. Bradley
Is it possible that the woman who raised Abraham Lincoln was actually his half-sister, and that the man he knew as his grandfather had conducted a scandalous affair with a servant girl? Was Nancy Dude really a murderous witch, or the victim of relentless calamities that would stretch anyone beyond the bounds of sanity? Should Horace Kephart be considered a hero for his work to protect the area of the Great Smokies, where a moutain was named in his honor, or a drunken scoundrel who uprooted families from the homes and farms they’d had for generations? From Sam Houston’s childhood among the Cherokee to the mysterious “road to nowhere”, Great SmokiesMyths and Legends makes history fun and pulls back the curtain on some of this national park’s most fascinating and compelling stories.
Smart Blonde: Dolly Parton
by Stephen Miller
Paperback book about Dolly Parton
Pigeon Forge
by Veta Wilson King
Collection of photo's and postcards of the towns past history.
4 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 7/08/2022

My husband and I chose this program for us and our 4 grandchildren to introduce them to the East Tennessee area where my husband grew up and we spent much of our young adult life. Music, Magic, and Nature did not disappoint! Full of information, fun activities, great shows, amazing scenery, and meaningful interactions with other kids their ages and their grandparents, this program was awesome and exceeded our expectations !

(5) Review left 6/28/2022

We had a wonderful time on this adventure with our 8-year-old granddaughter, Megan. She made new friends on the first evening and spent one-on-one time with a number of them throughout the trip. She picked this program because of the magic, Titanic, and pizza buffet - all of which she enjoyed. She also loved making and learning how to play the canjo. Dollywood and the Gazillion Bubble Show were definite hits too. Our leader, Kathy, was well-informed and kept us laughing and learning. The three of us had a wonderful trip!

(5) Review left 6/28/2022

This program was absolutely wonderful. It was fun and educational. Kathy, our leader, led us through the week very successfully. I highly recommended this program Music, Magic and Nature.

(5) Review left 6/25/2022

This was our first grandparents trip and we couldn't have been more pleased. Every day was filled with fun and informative experiences. Too many to list. I wouldn't have changed anything. Our leader, Kathy, was amazing. Always enthusiastic, inclusive and a smile on her face at all times. Our accommodations were perfect. Many swimming pools and the kids used them all! We are looking forward to our next grandparents trip.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.