loading spinner
Galápagos Islands, Ecuador

Nature’s Laboratory: Wild Finds in the Galápagos With Your Family

Program No. 20873RJ
Alongside your family, explore volcanic landscapes, snorkel bright blue waters and learn about exotic animals (and maybe meet a few!) as you discover the Galápagos Islands together.
Length
11 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
6,199
Flights start at
700

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Ship Outside
Accommodation Details

A cabin with a window or porthole to view the outside.

Jun 21 - Jul 1, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jun 22 - Jul 2, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Galaxy I. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jun 28 - Jul 8, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 5 - Jul 15, 2023
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 12 - Jul 22, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 19 - Jul 29, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 20 - Jul 30, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Galaxy I. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 21 - Jul 31, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Coral II. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Jul 26 - Aug 5, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Aug 2 - Aug 12, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Aug 3 - Aug 13, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Galaxy I. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Aug 9 - Aug 19, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Aug 18 - Aug 28, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Coral II. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Dec 20 - Dec 30, 2023
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Dec 20 - Dec 30, 2023
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top II for 3 nights and stays at a lodge on Isabela Island for 4 nights. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Dec 23 - Jan 2, 2024
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top II for 4 nights and stays at a lodge on Isabela Island for 3 nights. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

Dec 27 - Jan 6, 2024
Ship Outside 6,199
Special Offer

Children under age 12 receive a savings of up to $500 off the price shown when you enroll (savings varies by category). Contact our Advisors to enroll today, and they will apply this discount for you!

Itinerary Note

This program date sails on the Tip Top V. Cruise Itinerary varies by date. Actual cruise itinerary and islands visited are assigned by the Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice.

At a Glance

Spread your wings to South America as you explore one of the best places for exotic wildlife spotting in the world – the Galápagos! These tiny islands off the coast of Ecuador are home to friendly flamingos, the only reptiles that can swim (marine iguanas!), giant tortoises, cute penguins and cheeky Blue-footed Boobies all just waiting for you to find them. As you explore the awesome volcanic landscapes with your family and our expert naturalists, swim in a deep caldera and search for sea lion hangouts on nature walks as you all uncover the wild secrets of the Galápagos together.
Activity Level
Let's Go!
The program begins with flying into Quito, a city at 9,600 feet elevation in the Andes Mountains. Some participants find it helpful to fly into the city a day early to acclimate to the elevation. Daily activities in the remote Galapagos Islands require wet and dry landings, walking on volcanic terrain, and optional swimming and snorkeling in strong currents.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Get up close to the exotic animals that make the islands famous, such as marine and land iguanas, Darwin finches, flamingos and giant tortoises.
  • Grab your goggles! Swim and snorkel with colorful fish, rays and playful sea lions.
  • Venture on fun hikes with an expert on the local terrain to learn first-hand about the incredible volcanic formations on the island, including lava bombs, spatter and cinder cones.

General Notes

This is a Family program for participants, their adult children and grandchildren ages 8 and up. Because the ship has double-sized cabins, when two adults travel with one child, they will be accommodated in two cabins (child and one adult share a cabin and other adult has single cabin). Every effort will be made to room them in adjoining cabins, but can't be guaranteed. During land portion of program in Quito, all three participants will be in one room. Itinerary and islands visited are assigned by Galapágos National Park and can be changed without prior notice. Please refer to the website for the vessel and visitor sites included in your program. The expedition-style Galápagos vessels on this program hold 16 passengers in air-conditioned cabins with en suite facilities.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Understanding Galapagos: What You'll See and What it Means
by Sehoya Cotner, Randy Moore
An excellent introduction to the flora and fauna of the Galapagos and a stellar overview of evolutionary biography on the islands. Accessible for readers from all backgrounds.
Insight Guide Ecuador and Galapagos
by Insight Guides
Presenting the natural history, politics, culture, wildlife and attractions of Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands with style and authority.
Galapagos, A Natural History
by Michael Jackson
This comprehensive guide to the natural history of the Galapagos is practically mandatory reading -- the single best introduction to the geology and climate, habitats, plants, birds, animals, ecology and evolution.
Galapagos Islands Explorer Map
by Ocean Explorer Maps
Not just handy for keeping track of your Galapagos cruise, this detailed map (1:400,000) of the islands includes illustrated biographies of famous visitors and a wildlife guide.
Boobies, Iguanas and Other Critters
by Linda Litteral
This beautifully illustrated book provides an overview of the Galapagos for ages 10 to 14. Clear, detailed and accurate, it explains the volcanic formation of the islands, ecology, wildlife and scientific research.
Birds, Mammals and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands
by Andy Swash, Robert Stills
This strikingly compact, comprehensive field guide features 500 color photographs, distribution maps and information on status, habitat and behavior.
Galapagos Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
A fold-up, laminated card featuring color drawings and short descriptions of commonly encountered birds, mammals and reptiles of the Galapagos.
The Boy on the Back of the Turtle
by Paul Quarrington
Humorist, novelist and family man on a quest, Quarrington offers an entertaining account of a Galapagos voyage in the company of his seven-year-old daughter and 70-year-old father.
Evolution's Workshop
by Edward J. Larson
A vivid history of the Galapagos and the role of the islands as a crucible of evolutionary ideas, written by a Pulitzer Prize winner. Larson covers Darwin and the discovery of the islands, the visits of Hancock and Beebe, the influence of the United States during WWII and the establishment of the national park.
The History of Ecuador
by George Lauderbaugh
this compact book includes chapters on Ecuador today, Ecuador's indigenous and colonial past, the oil boom and other events.
Voyage of the Beagle
by Charles Darwin
The wide-eyed tale of a young man on a five-year voyage that changed his life -- and our way of thinking about the world. First published in 1839, it's still a marvelous introduction to the wildlife, nature and allure of South America.
Galapagos: The Enchanted Islands, Through Writer's Eyes
by John Hickman (Editor)
Hickman weaves original accounts by Galapagos whalers, gentleman pirates, fitful castaways, settlers and scientists, including Ambrose Crowley, Herman Melville, Charles Darwin and William Beebe, in these tales of the colorful human history of the archipelago.
The Galapagos, A Natural History
by Henry Nicholls
Editor of the Galapagos Conservation Trust magazine and author of Lonesome George, Henry Nicholls charts the human and natural history of the archipelago from its fiery origins through famous visitors and current conservation challenges.
Inside the Beagle with Charles Darwin
by Fiona MacDonald
MacDonald gives detailed accounts of daily life aboard the Beagle, animals and places encountered, as well as excellent illustrations and a balanced discussion of Darwin's ground-breaking scientific theories. Ages 8 and up.
Galapagos, The Islands That Changed the World
by Paul D. Stewart (Director)
Also available on Blu-Ray, this stunning three-part BBC documentary captures the rugged beauty, allure, wildlife and history of the archipelago like never before.
Galapagos, World's End
by William Beebe
This wry, wonderfully evocative account of a 1924 scientific expedition includes an excellent chapter on the human history of the Galapagos.
Darwin and Evolution for Kids, His Life and Ideas with 21 Activities
by Kristan Lawson
An interactive, illustrated biography of Darwin for kids ten and up (and their families). The book, which includes hands-on activities, covers Darwin's career from his youth to his mind-expanding voyage aboard the Beagle to the development of the theory of evolution through natural selection.
The Tree of Life: Charles Darwin
by Peter Sis
Sis illuminates Darwin's grand life: his travels, ideas and impact, using watercolor and pen-and-ink illustrations. The richly embellished pages feature a gorgeous gatefold spread as well as diary pages, maps and charts.
Galapagos Wildlife, A Visitor's Guide
by David Horwell, Pete Oxford
With chapters on visitor sites, history, conservation and habitats, this compact photographic guide introduces birds, reptiles, marine and other life of the archipelago.
Charles Darwin
by David King
A new addition to DK's acclaimed Biography series, this is a detailed and accessible chronicle of Darwin's life, sure to grab the interest of younger readers. With more than 100 full-color photographs and illustrations.
Galapagos, Islands Born of Fire
by Tui De Roy
A stunning celebration of the landscapes, wildlife and habitats of the Galapagos by a photographer who was raised in the archipelago. Tenth anniversary edition.
16 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 1/13/2023

Our Galapagos adventure with guide Fabrizio and the crew of the Tip Top II was highly enjoyable and educational from start to finish. We, a three generation family of six, two of whom were on a similar trip 30 years prior, believe that the adjective "life-changing" is not too strong a description for our experience.

(5) Review left 1/10/2023

This was an amazing experience start to finish. I went with my granddaughter and she already wants to go back. It was fun and educational. It is not a relaxing vacation, but for those who love activity and animals, it is the best! I came home exhausted but so happy and fulfilled.

(5) Review left 1/08/2023

We are forever changed by participating in this progoram.

(5) Review left 1/04/2023

The Galapagos Island trip is magical and Road Scholar helps ensure that the magic is present every day. thank you.

(5) Review left 8/17/2022

This trip, which I shared with my teenage grandson, was our fifth and was a dream come true! I loved everything about it...the adventure, learning, participants, accomodations and food. Thank you Road Scholar!!!

(5) Review left 8/15/2022

When we asked our granddaughter what she most wanted to visit, she said the “Galapagos”. I wanted to respond positively but it took my wife to discover that there was a possibility with Roadscholar to do the trip affordability. Our granddaughter has severe food allergies. We were prepared with safe foods. Never touched. The staff was super conscientious and creative. And the experience: was life changing! Imagine your granddaughter swimming through a fever of eagle rays. It didn’t stop there. We are happy grandparents!

(5) Review left 8/14/2022

The trip to the Galapagos was amazing. My son thought it was so much fun - learning about all the animals and meeting new people. It was the trip of a lifetime.

(5) Review left 8/08/2022

What an amazing group of islands, the Galapagos. You know the history and significance of the islands and wildlife, but you need to visit to really experience the reptiles, birds, mammals, and plant life. And Road Scholar made our visit the trip of a lifetime. Guides, itinerary, transportation, and activities were top notch every minute of every day. Galapagos, Ecuador, and Road Scholar: the perfect combination.

(5) Review left 7/31/2022

A great eco learning trip in one of the world's most unique environments.

(5) Review left 7/21/2022

I have traveled widely, including several trips with Road Scholar, and I can definitely state that this was absolutely an unforgettable experience made all the more special by the grandparent-family nature of the program. To have experienced this unique part of the world with my 13-year-old, nature-loving grandson was truly a gift.

(5) Review left 7/04/2022

The grandparent/grandchild trip to the Galapagos was outstanding, creating memories that our granddaughter will have for a lifetime. Accommodations on the ship which took us around the islands was extremely clean, with a crew that bent over backwards to ensure everything was perfect. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the island and and could not have been more helpful. The only negative part of our experience was the travel agency arranging our flights. I would highly recommend making your own flight arrangements.

(5) Review left 7/03/2022

The Galapagos is a truly special place. Come with open eyes and hearts - and a walking stick - and unique experiences will be yours.

(5) Review left 1/13/2022

This was an exotic, fascinating, fun and educational trip. A once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Loved every minute of the experience.

(5) Review left 1/09/2022

If you do not end up on Tip Top V w/ Lulu as your naturalist I feel sorry for you. That crew might be the best in the world.

(5) Review left 1/22/2020

This trip is amazing! A once in a lifetime experience. But do make certain you're ready for lots of activities. This is not a relaxing vacation. This is an adventure!

(5) Review left 1/06/2019

I recently went to the Galapagos Islands with Road Scholar. The trip was fantastic, with lots of wonderful experiences. Every detail was well-planned. I really enjoyed the group of people we traveled with. Our naturalist was well-informed and fun to be around. Every member of the boat crew was great, and the food was excellent. I will not hesitate to travel with Road Scholar again.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.