loading spinner
20774
Costa Rica

Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Learn the story of Costa Rica’s natural wonders as you explore cloud forest reserves, the Savegre River and world-class Manuel Antonio National Park with plenty of time on your own.
Rating (4.97)
Program No. 20774RJ
Length
9 days
Starts at
1,999
Flights start at
500
Costa Rica

Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Learn the story of Costa Rica’s natural wonders as you explore cloud forest reserves, the Savegre River and world-class Manuel Antonio National Park with plenty of time on your own.
Length
9 days
Starts at
1,999
Length
9 days
Rating (4.97)
Starts at
1,999
Flights start at
500
Program No. 20774RJ

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 26 - Oct 4, 2022
Starting at
1,999
Oct 15 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 23 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Oct 29 - Nov 6, 2022
Starting at
1,999
Nov 4 - Nov 12, 2022
Starting at
2,329
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 25 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure

Nov 28 - Dec 6, 2022
Starting at
2,329
Dec 2 - Dec 10, 2022
Starting at
2,329
Dec 6 - Dec 14, 2022
Starting at
2,329
Jan 10 - Jan 18, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 18 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Jan 14 - Jan 22, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 3 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Jan 19 - Jan 27, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 8 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Jan. 11 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Jan 28 - Feb 5, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 17 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Jan. 18 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Feb 4 - Feb 12, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 24 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders, Feb. 12 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica & the Jan. 25 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Feb 16 - Feb 24, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 5 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 8 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Feb 24 - Mar 4, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 13 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Mar 2 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 19 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 22 and Mar. 10 dates of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Mar 9 - Mar 17, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 26 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 27 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Mar 22 - Mar 30, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 11 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

May 3 - May 11, 2023
Starting at
2,299
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Apr. 25 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Oct 12 - Oct 20, 2023
Starting at
2,299
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 4 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Nov 11 - Nov 19, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Nov. 3 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Dec 9 - Dec 17, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 1 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Dec 13 - Dec 21, 2023
Starting at
2,599
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 2 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 26 - Oct 4, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Oct 15 - Oct 23, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 23 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Oct 29 - Nov 6, 2022
Starting at
2,449
Nov 4 - Nov 12, 2022
Starting at
2,929
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 25 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure

Nov 28 - Dec 6, 2022
Starting at
2,929
Dec 2 - Dec 10, 2022
Starting at
2,929
Dec 6 - Dec 14, 2022
Starting at
2,929
Jan 10 - Jan 18, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 18 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Jan 14 - Jan 22, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 3 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Jan 19 - Jan 27, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 8 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Jan. 11 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Jan 28 - Feb 5, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 17 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Jan. 18 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Feb 4 - Feb 12, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 24 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders, Feb. 12 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica & the Jan. 25 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Feb 16 - Feb 24, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 5 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 8 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Feb 24 - Mar 4, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 13 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

Mar 2 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 19 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 22 and Mar. 10 dates of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Mar 9 - Mar 17, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 26 date of program #11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders and the Feb. 27 date of program #19243- Rim to Shore: Costa Rica Multi-Sport Adventure.

Mar 22 - Mar 30, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 11 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

May 3 - May 11, 2023
Starting at
2,719
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Apr. 25 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Oct 12 - Oct 20, 2023
Starting at
2,719
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 4 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Nov 11 - Nov 19, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Nov. 3 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Dec 9 - Dec 17, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 1 date of program #8577- A Taste of Costa Rica.

Dec 13 - Dec 21, 2023
Starting at
3,229
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Dec. 2 date of program 11586- The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders.

At a Glance

Absorb the brilliant natural beauty of Costa Rica on this journey that combines special access with plenty of time for independent exploration. Discover Manuel Antonio National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica’s renowned environmental protection efforts. Then experience two lesser-known jewels: a private cloud forest reserve protected by a Costa Rican family for decades and a lush rainforest where a South African family welcomes you to their safari lodge.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles daily on city streets and forest paths. River rafting, swimming and snorkeling. Elevations up to 7,200 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Experience Costa Rica’s incredible biodiversity at Manuel Antonio National Park, in a private cloud forest reserve and in the Pacific rainforest.
  • Learn about gourmet coffee production in one of the world’s best places to grow coffee beans.
  • Raft down the lower reaches of the Savegre River and boat and snorkel on the spectacular Pacific coast.

General Notes

Program includes independent time to explore the city and several meals on your own. Group Leaders will provide directions for self-directed excursions. Suggestions for free-time activities provided in preparatory materials.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Erick Guzman
Costa Rica’s tropical rainforest with its glorious biodiversity was the childhood playground of Erick Guzman, who grew up in the country’s Caribbean lowlands. He enjoyed accompanying travelers on boat excursions during his post-high school years, assisting his father, and went on to work in the field of adventure travel, leading rafting, kayaking, horseback riding and hiking trips. Erick then worked at the La Selva field station of the Organization for Tropical Studies, interacting with scientists and deepening his knowledge of Costa Rica’s natural habitats.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Erick Guzman
Erick Guzman View biography
Costa Rica’s tropical rainforest with its glorious biodiversity was the childhood playground of Erick Guzman, who grew up in the country’s Caribbean lowlands. He enjoyed accompanying travelers on boat excursions during his post-high school years, assisting his father, and went on to work in the field of adventure travel, leading rafting, kayaking, horseback riding and hiking trips. Erick then worked at the La Selva field station of the Organization for Tropical Studies, interacting with scientists and deepening his knowledge of Costa Rica’s natural habitats.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Costa Rica Reader: History, Culture, Politics
by Steven Palmer (Editor), Ivan Molina (Editor)
A lively, literate sourcebook on the politics, economy and society of Costa Rica
Culture Smart! Costa Rica
by Jane Koutnik
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Costa Rican customs, etiquette and culture.
Costa Rica, The Complete Guide
by James Kaiser
From pristine beaches and jungle waterfalls to high-altitude coffee plantations, award-winning author and photographer Kaiser shows readers the best of Costa Rica, including the country's stunning collection of national parks.
Costa Rican Spanish
by Lonely Planet
A pocket guide to understanding idioms, slang and Spanish as it is spoken by the Ticos.
Costa Rican Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
Put it in your pocket! This handy, fold-up card includes color illustrations of dozens of typical birds, mammals and reptiles. We also carry plastic cards for Costa Rica Birds (Item CRC56) and Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths (Item CRC57), $5.95 each.
The World Atlas of Coffee, From Beans to Brewing
by James Hoffmann
A global history of the addictive brown bean organized by country, with a look at regional techniques and traits, fair trade efforts and the role of colonialism. Includes colorful maps and photos.
Costa Rica Birds
by James Kavanagh
A handy, laminated fold-up card with full-color illustrations of birds commonly found in Costa Rica. Great for kids, too.
The Monkey's Bridge, Mysteries of Evolution in Central America
by David Rains Wallace
Opening this absorbing account of the history and biogeography of the Central American isthmus with the tale of Columbus, Wallace often weaves his own travels in the region with a crisp overview of exploration, nature and evolution. Natural history buffs and ecologically minded travelers will appreciate this valuable resource.
The Ticos
by Richard Biesanz
This insightful, fact-filled portrait of the Costa Rican people details their culture, history and society.
Costa Rica, A Traveler's Literary Companion
by Barbara Ras
These 26 well-chosen stories by Costa Rican writers introduce the people, culture and land.
The Wildlife of Costa Rica, A Field Guide
by Twan Leenders, Robert Dean, Jim Zook, Fiona Reid
This guide includes 450 of the most common, interesting and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and arthropods that you are likely to encounter. Each has exquisite full-color illustrations.
A Brief History of Central America
by Hector Perez-Brignoll
A good overview of the region’s economic, political and social history through the 1980s by a professor at the University of Costa Rica. Well-written, informative and concise.
The Birds of Costa Rica
by Richard Garrigues, Robert Dean (Illustrator)
This new edition covers 903 species of birds with hundreds of new, supplemental or revised color illustrations by Robert Dean and revised color-coded range maps.
Costa Rica, A Journey Through Nature
by Adrian Hepworth
Dividing the book by ecosystem and geographic area, BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year Hepworth's color photographs showcase the diversity of Costa Rica's wildlife and habitats.
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
Two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists offer a lucid portrait of the tropics through 17 marvelous essays that introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforests.
Costa Rica Adventure Map
by National Geographic
A double-sided map at a scale of 1:500,000.
National Geographic Costa Rica
by Christopher P. Baker
This stylish and informative travel resource features 200 photographs, many maps and good information on the country's history, nature and culture.
Aroma of the World: A Journey into the Mysteries and Delights of Coffee
by Santo Versace (Foreword), Elisabetta Illy
A beautiful book for the coffee lover, this heavily illustrated compendium is equal parts history and travel journal, detailing the passage of the coffee bean from origination to current status as an icon of modern living.
Nature of the Rainforest, Costa Rica and Beyond
by Adrian Forsyth, E.O. Wilson (Introduction), Michael Fogden (Photographer)
Our favorite biologist-writer returns to the Neotropics in this beautifully illustrated, oversized overview of the rainforest. With chapters on Monteverde and Guanacaste, plants, frogs and snakes, birds, monkeys and jaguars, the sloth, peculiar insects and biodioversity; A marvelous, anecdotal introduction to ecology, evolution and conservation.
Wild Costa Rica
by Adrian Hepworth
This beautiful, informative survey of the habitats, wildlife and protected areas of Costa Rica features 200 color photographs and chapters on natural history and conservation.
33 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.97 Average
(5)

Three Jewels in Paradise is an excellent program. This was my third trip to Costa Rica with Road Scholar and they have all been excellent. William was a very good leader. He kept us on time and he was flexible too. He told many interesting stories, which held our attention. I would strongly recommend this program.

(5)

do it its great

(5)

We toured three beautiful ecosystems on this tour: the cloud forest, the tropical rain forest, and the beach and estuary ecosystems. In each one, we met and listened to fascinating lectures by key people who were working on land conservation, endangered species preservation, and the development of ecotourism for sustainability of these programs. Our guide generously enriched our experience with his broad knowledge and stories of life and the history of Costa Rica. All accommodations were lovely and we were well taken care of.

(5)

“Pura Vida”- I get it!! 3 Jewels is a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica.

(5)

Wonderful trip in three different but rich areas of this beautiful country . Good variety of activities, excellent guide AND driver! Highlight for us - the hike in the cloud forest, night walk at Rifiki and of course the fabulous white water rafting trip!

(5)

This was a great trip to see three different and unique areas of Costa Rica. I felt the passion and pride of the locals that shared their part of Costa Rica with us. Marcelo was a superb trip leader

(5)

This program is a good introduction to Costa Rica, taking you to the mountains, the rain forest, and the Pacific coast. Our guide, Jorge Mario, was excellent--very knowledgeable and passionate about his country. Road Scholar did a terrific job in following Covid protocols and keeping us all Covid-free.

(5)

Enjoyable balance of travel stops (5 lodging locations) over 9 days via travel van, seeing the beautiful fauna, flora and natural sights of western Costa Rica - which speak for themselves. There is something for everyone! Ultimate Glamping at Rafiki Safari Lodge, river rafting, birding (everywhere),Pacific Ocean sunset catamaran cruise. You will not go hungry with well planned 3 meals a day.

(5)

It was a well-crafted itinerary with an excellent tour guide. We saw wildlife in varieties & numbers we hadn't even imagined. We have found the people attracted to Road Scholar trips to be educated, interested in learning, well rounded in world view and just generally nice folks to travel with. We highly recommend Road Scholar and this tour.

(5)

What a wonderful experience! This trip is well-planned and so educational and fun!! The Rafiki Safari Lodge is incredible!! Bring warm clothes for the Savegre portion of the trip!

(5)

I can't say enough about how our group gelled despite our different backgrounds. Our love of nature and for new learning opportunities connected us as we all shared our concerns for the environment.

(5)

It was great until canceled mid stream............Christian was a great guide.........we plan on going on another RoadScholar Trip!........5 out of 5 Stars!

(5)

Just completed the small group tour Three Jewels of Costa Rica. Excellent experience. Organization was great from beginning to end. A great way to see the variety of environments that Costa Rica has to offer. Mountains to Mangroves, Birds to Beaches, with monkeys and sloths thrown in!

(5)

We absolutely loved this trip! We got to experience 3 very different ecosystems in a relatively small part of Costa Rica - amazing! Our guides (Pedro and Tomas) were warm, friendly, and knowledgeable and our driver (Rodrigo) was awesome and took such good care of us. Along with all the flora and fauna, we learned Costa Rican history and about conservation efforts.The food was so healthy and delicious. We are inspired to keep up this good eating at home. Overall, a wonderful experience!

(5)

What an incredible experience. We visited places off the beaten path. Met local families that are bringing Eco Tourism to life. Lots of action but also plenty of relaxation time. Saw unique and interesting wildlife. An amazing adventure.

(5)

An outstanding trip, an amazing guide, a beautiful country. Impossible to improve upon. Pura Vida!

(5)

Good combination of ecosystems visits. 2 day stays were good to relax & then move on.

(5)

Three Jewels in Paradise far exceeded my expectations. Our wonderful group leader, Jorge Mario Carballo, was enthusiastic, very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of his native Costa Rica, and attentive throughout the trip. This was my first ever Road Scholar trip and will not be the last. I loved experiencing ver different areas in the country, from urban San Jose to the mountains and jungle to the Pacific coast. We had the opportunity for excellent briding and hiking and enjoyed many great meals.

(5)

Could not get to the program eval questionaire sent via email. The link did not open.

(5)

This was our first trip with Road Scholar. I highly recommend Three Jewels in Paradise if you want to experience some variety in Costa Rica. I expect to use Road Scholar again in the future.

(5)

I just returned from my first Road Scholar trip. It was 3 Jewels in Paradise. Paradise is Costa Rica. I highly recommend this program. There are a variety of adventures, unusual locations, knowledgeable staff, excellent accommodations and it was a wonderful experience overall.

(4)

A very ionteresting p[rogram, too short if anything.

(5)

Three Jewels Costa Rica was the first group tour I have ever taken. It exceeded my expectations. The group was small (18 people) the schedule was flexible, the country was beautiful, the group leader was great and my girlfriend and I had a wonderful time.

(5)

Wonderful overview of Coast Rica, a great program with lots of variety, loved staying in the Safari Tents, this is my seventh Road Scholar trip and I highly recommend it. The speakers were all excellent, our leader made the whole experience great. The small group with one great bus driver the whole time was a plus.

(5)

Three Jewels in Paradise - A very interesting, educational trip with group leader Edwin Ramirez. Edwin has been a leadler for many years but his enthusiasm remains making this a very special trip for all. Thank you Edwin.

(5)

I definitely recommend Road Scholar tours. Very organized and educational!

(5)

Website was ok but we needed to phone RS to get account set up properly for both of us.. That should have been an easier process considering most of your travelers are couples...

(5)

“THREE JEWELS IN PARADISE” was a wonderful adventure in the beautiful country of Costa Rica! The lectures, the participants, and the Trogon and Rafiki Safari Lodge were awesome, our Guide was absolutely sensational! We definitely got a great taste of the history and people of Costa Rica! We were reminded on a daily basis to enjoy life! PURA VIDA! Highly recommended!!!

(5)

Flora and fauna galore! A great variety of topography and biomes. Bring your binoculars for excellent bird/animal watching, and dramamine for the twisty roads. Get ready to learn a LOT from Pedro, our Fearless Leader with encyclopedic knowledge of the natural world of Costa Rica.

(5)

Enjoyed Rafiki Lodge and Manuel Antonio. Lots of wildlife to see and few surprises along the way. Jorge our guide very knowledgeable and organized. Our driver Carlos the best we ever had! Would have liked a little more active days

(5)

Perfect intro to Costa Rica! Our guide Cristian was smart, funny, knowledgeable and candid on a wide variety of subjects and his ability to spot and get his scope on wildlife was uncanny. The 3 main locations we visited (Upper and Lower Savegre, Manuel Antonio) were all exceptional. The environmental, historical, social, and political information provided by Cristian and the other instructors was invaluable. This was our first RS trip, and we were pleasantly surprised by the camaraderie and compatibility of our group of 16.

(5)

This was my third road scholar trip and each one has far exceeded my expectations. I cannot wait for my next road scholar adventure!

(5)

The Three Jewels in Paradise is a wonderful Road Scholar trip. Oodles of birds and exotic animals and glorious scenery. Hiking, rafting, and even staying in a safari tent made this trip a once in a lifetime for me!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.