loading spinner
Pennsylvania

Flower Show, Barnes Foundation & Gardens: Five Nights in Philly

Program No. 20362RJ
In Philadelphia — home to America’s first horticultural society — experience the world’s oldest and largest indoor flower show. Plus, attend a performance by the Philadelphia Orchestra!
Length
6 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,999
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Mar 3 - Mar 8, 2023
Starting at
1,999
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

The Philadelphia Orchestra will not be playing. We will go to the Victor Cafe in place of the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Mar 8 - Mar 13, 2023
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

Interested in learning more about why Philadelphia is America's Garden Capital? Come back for our popular Garden Program (21967). Consider joining our Signature City program (10238) which starts on 3/13/23.

Mar 1 - Mar 6, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

Mar 3 - Mar 8, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

Mar 6 - Mar 11, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Mar 3 - Mar 8, 2023
Starting at
2,619
Mar 5 - Mar 10, 2023
Starting at
2,619
Itinerary Note

The Philadelphia Orchestra will not be playing. We will go to the Victor Cafe in place of the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Mar 8 - Mar 13, 2023
Starting at
2,619
Itinerary Note

Interested in learning more about why Philadelphia is America's Garden Capital? Come back for our popular Garden Program (21967). Consider joining our Signature City program (10238) which starts on 3/13/23.

Mar 1 - Mar 6, 2024
Starting at
2,899
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

Mar 3 - Mar 8, 2024
Starting at
2,899
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

Mar 6 - Mar 11, 2024
Starting at
2,899
Special Offer

Enroll by Oct. 31, 2023 to take $100 off the price shown!

At a Glance

The fabulous Philadelphia Flower Show, an internationally renowned treasure, is America’s oldest and grandest indoor horticultural display. Explore breathtaking exhibits presenting the talents of designers and landscapers who “force” perennials, shrubs and trees into bloom to create full-scale gardens and floral displays. Plus, travel to the beautiful Brandywine Valley visiting the gardens of Longwood and Winterthur; visit the collections of the Barnes Foundation and for a finale, a performance by the Philadelphia Orchestra.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Moderate walking up to one mile on busy city streets. Extensive walking at the Flower Show itself; wheelchairs are available at the show if needed.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Led by an expert, enjoy privileged access to the Flower Show before the crowds arrive, with significant free time to explore on your own.
  • Explore the unique Barnes Foundation at its magnificent Philadelphia campus and attend a cultural event from current offerings.
  • In a private tour of Longwood Gardens, see what it takes to maintain its indoor and outdoor gardens, then enter another time at Winterthur, with its priceless art, antiques and 60-acre garden.

General Notes

Participants in this program receive VIP passes for early-morning private viewing before the Flower Show opens to the public. You may also be interested in attending an abbreviated three-night version of this program on "Flower Show, Barnes Foundation & Gardens: Three Nights in Philly" (#20363).
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Jenny Rose Carey
Jenny Rose is an educator, historian, author and senior director at the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s Meadowbrook Farm in Jenkintown. An avid, hands-on gardener who has worked in both England and the United States, she has lectured nationally and internationally for many years. Jenny Rose and her gardens have been featured on the PBS series 'The Victory Garden' and in the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Philadelphia Inquirer, Green Scene magazine and the Pennsylvania Gardener. Her latest book, 'Glorious Shade,' was released in 2017.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Elizabeth Anderson
Elizabeth Anderson View biography
Elizabeth earned a master’s in Art History at the University of Pennsylvania and was associated with the Philadelphia Museum of Art, where she served as curator, for 40 years. She presented lectures on art history and gallery talks at the museum and has taught at LaSalle, Drexel and Princeton Universities. Elizabeth is a former secretary of the Philadelphia chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians and the Museum Council of Philadelphia. She also serves as trustee of The Philadelphia Society for the Preservation of Landmarks.
Profile Image of Tish Byrne
Tish Byrne View biography
An artist and historian, Tish Byrne is passionate about all aspects of her native city and its environment after having lived in and led explorations at the Physick House, which belongs to Philadelphia Landmarks. She is a graduate of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts later becoming an administrative assistant to the Director of the school. Presently, she leads excursions for the mural arts program, is a docent at Historic Christ Church and leads explorations of Philadelphia landmarks.
Profile Image of Mitchell Kramer
Mitchell Kramer View biography
Mitchell Kramer has a B.A. in playwriting from Hampshire College and attended Circle in the Square acting conservatory. He has worked off-Broadway and in regional theater including the New York Theater Workshop and Dorset Theater Festival. He is a costumed Historic Interpreter portraying Benjamin Franklin in Old City Philadelphia. Mitchell has written and produced plays for children and adults and a series of historically accurate stories about 18th century Philadelphia for Historic Philadelphia, Inc. He is on the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Cemetery.
Profile Image of Warren Williams
Warren Williams View biography
Warren is a retired architect with over 30 years of experience. Much of his career was spent at the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority in Philadelphia. In his professional career, he has worked on several historic projects in the Philadelphia region. Warren is an avid photographer of historic buildings and urban streetscapes. He has led groups exploring Philadelphia’s historic architecture and city planning for over 25 years and occasionally lectures on Philadelphia’s historical development.
Profile Image of Jenny Rose Carey
Jenny Rose Carey View biography
Jenny Rose is an educator, historian, author and senior director at the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s Meadowbrook Farm in Jenkintown. An avid, hands-on gardener who has worked in both England and the United States, she has lectured nationally and internationally for many years. Jenny Rose and her gardens have been featured on the PBS series 'The Victory Garden' and in the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Philadelphia Inquirer, Green Scene magazine and the Pennsylvania Gardener. Her latest book, 'Glorious Shade,' was released in 2017.
Profile Image of Lauren Kain
Lauren Kain View biography
Lauren Biddle Kain is the site coordinator for Philadelphia Landmarks Road Scholar. She received her BS/BA from Randolph Macon College in Ashland, Virginia. After marriage and transfer to the San Diego area, she began working at EVENT NETWORK, a leading experiental retail operator, on behalf of cultural attractions such as zoos, botanical gardens, aquariums, museums, science centers and other cultural attractions. Lauren and her family now reside in the Philadelphia area. She started working with Road Scholar as a junior Group Leader for Grandparent Programs.
Profile Image of Kirk Brown
Kirk Brown View biography
Kirk Brown has won landscape design awards from the Perennial Plant Association, Association of Professional Landscape Designers, and Pennsylvania Landscape and Nursery Association. He represented Joanne Kostecky Garden Design as a leader in the design/build industry. He is a past president of www.GardenComm.com and in 2021 was inducted into their Hall of Fame. He worked as Outreach Coordinator for America’s Oldest Ornamental Garden. He has delivered hundreds of keynote addresses, guest lectures, teaching symposiums, and certified instruction over the past quarter century.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
A Guide's Guide to Philadelphia
by Curson, Julie P.
The House of Barnes: The Man, The Collection, The Controversy
by Neil L. Rudenstine
The House of Barnes: The Man, The Collection, The Controversy provides the first scholarly study on the historical, art history, and political context during which Dr. Barnes purchased masterpieces and attempted to redefine aesthetics with groundbreaking new terminology.
Masterpieces of Impressionism and Post-Impressionism, The Annenberg Collection
by Susa Stein (Editor)
Covering some of the most striking and extraordinary art to come out of the nineteenth and early-twentieth century, this handsome book presents more than fifty masterpieces by such luminaries as Monet, Van Gogh and Picasso, each work accompanied by clarifying texts and comparative illustrations.
Building the City Beautiful: The Benjamin Franklin Parkway & the Philadelphia Museum of Art
by Brownlee, David B.
9 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 3/19/2020

This is the perfect program for those who love plants and art!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/19/2020

This was my husband and my first Road Scholar trip and truly, I can't think of any way to improve it. Tish is a delight! She took us to wonderful local restaurants, provided great seats at the symphony, gave an informative city tour, arranged a fabulous early tour of the Flower Show and much more. Plus, she handled our group with great charm, brought in interesting local speakers and quickly solved any problem that arose. We just had a wonderful time - and would follow her anywhere! Bravo to Road Scholar for providing such an excellent Philadelphia experience.

(5) Review left 3/19/2020

If you are into horticulture, design and landscapes the Philadelphia needs to be on your bucket list. This program is an excellent way to experience the Flower Show along with other must see attractions in and around Philadelphia. Tish Byrne is an excellent group leader and the accommodations, meals and logistics were all top notch. Book early because it fills up quickly.

(5) Review left 3/10/2020

Five nights in Philly is a wonderful progrm with just the right mix of The Philadelphia Flower Show, Museums and field trips. I learned a great deal about an area of the country I have never visited.

(5) Review left 3/07/2020

We enjoyed the Road Scholar trip to the Flower Show and Environs. There is a lot to see and do in Philadelphia. You will not be disappointed.

(5) Review left 3/07/2020

Come for the Flower Show but stay for the amazing art museum tours. Concert tickets to the symphony were a great bonus.

(5) Review left 3/12/2019

I was concerned at first because I was traveling solo, have some mobility issues, however, guides were warm, welcoming and most participants congenial. There was ample Opportunities to rent electric carts. That’s important. I enjoyed the education immensely. We weren’t cattle herded from one spot to another too fast. I’m encouraged to take on the world in small kindred companions. I look forward to taking grandchildren on trips as well.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

Wonderful program--a great mix of culture and art and the flower show was as spectacular as promised. Loved Tish Byrne as a group leader. We had a wonderful time in spite of the cold weather.

(5) Review left 3/07/2019

This was our first Road Scholar trip, but it won't be our last! This was an excellent mix of flower show and garden visits, with alternating museum visits. Wonderful local guide (Tish), great included restaurants, informative lectures and local tours, and sufficient time to see the city on our own. The early-entry to the flower show is worth the price of admission itself!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.