loading spinner
20349
California

Magical Yosemite With Your Grandchild: Trains, Gold & Robots

Create lasting memories on a uniquely Californian adventure with your grandchild as you ride a steam engine, pan for gold, construct robots and learn the story of Yosemite.
Rating (5)
Program No. 20349RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,299 / ADULT
999 / CHILD
California

Magical Yosemite With Your Grandchild: Trains, Gold & Robots

Create lasting memories on a uniquely Californian adventure with your grandchild as you ride a steam engine, pan for gold, construct robots and learn the story of Yosemite.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,299 / ADULT
999 / CHILD
Program No. 20349 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Age 8 - 12
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jun 20 – Jun 25, 2021
Per Adult
1,299
Per Child
999
Select
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jun 20 - Jun 25, 2021
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,599
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Limited Space
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jun 27 – Jul 2, 2021
Per Adult
1,299
Per Child
999
Select
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jun 27 - Jul 2, 2021
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,599
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Select Date
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jul 11 – Jul 16, 2021
Per Adult
1,299
Per Child
999
Select
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jul 11 - Jul 16, 2021
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,599
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Limited Space
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jul 18 – Jul 23, 2021
Per Adult
1,299
Per Child
999
Select
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More
Jul 18 - Jul 23, 2021
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,299
/ Adult
999
/ Child
1,599
/ Adult
999
/ Child
Select Date
Itinerary Note

Glacier Point is scheduled to close from Spring of 2021 through the Fall of 2022 for road repairs and restoration, alternate field trip and hike destinations will be offered during this closure.

+ More

At a Glance

The best stories are the ones told around a camp fire – roast a marshmallow beside your grandchild and hear stories of Yosemite National Park and the pioneers who first explored this great wilderness. On this epic adventure, you’ll use your imagination to become a park ranger, prospector, train conductor and engineer as you pan for gold, ride a steam engine and build an underwater robot. Plus, hike through the magnificent domes, granite cliffs, meadows and Sequoia groves of Yosemite as you get to know this beautiful national park.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walk up to two miles daily on varied terrain. Elevations of 3,100-7,000 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Board a steam engine train for a ride through the sugar pine forest to learn about the gold rush and the area’s logging history.
  • Explore Yosemite from the spectacular cascading waters of Bridalveil Fall to the giant sequoia trees — the oldest and largest species on earth!
  • Head to the Baker Swim Complex to learn to create and manipulate a real underwater robot, and spend some swim time in the pool yourself!

General Notes

Program is for grandchildren ages 8-12.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Steven Riley
Steven Riley is married and has two daughters. He has spent 7 years of his adult life living inside Yosemite Valley. He has authored and illustrated 3 children’s books about the National Parks. His very first book was written about Yosemite, and is titled “Little Ty Cooney and the Big Yosemite Race.” He now lives in Oakhurst, Calif. and works as a Youth Director at his church. He travels around the United States visiting Elementary schools teaching kids about the joy and fun of writing. He spends his summers guiding tours and presenting his books to the guests of Yosemite National Park.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Steven Riley
Steven Riley View biography
Steven Riley is married and has two daughters. He has spent 7 years of his adult life living inside Yosemite Valley. He has authored and illustrated 3 children’s books about the National Parks. His very first book was written about Yosemite, and is titled “Little Ty Cooney and the Big Yosemite Race.” He now lives in Oakhurst, Calif. and works as a Youth Director at his church. He travels around the United States visiting Elementary schools teaching kids about the joy and fun of writing. He spends his summers guiding tours and presenting his books to the guests of Yosemite National Park.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Galen Clark: Yosemite Guardian
by Shirley Sargent
My Yosemite: A Guite for Young Adventurers
by Mike Graf
Camping With The President
by Ginger Wadsworth
History of the Sierra Nevada
by Francis Farqhar
My First Summer in the Sierra
by Muir, John.
The first of John Muir's books. This inspirational book allows the reader to understand John Muir's desire to protect and preserve Yosemite.
Yosemite: The Complete Guide: Yosemite National Park
by James Kaiser
Sierra Nevada Natural History: An Illustrated Handbook.
by Tracy I Storer
Little Ty Cooney and the Big Yosemite Race
by Steven Riley
Who Pooped in the Park? Yosemite Scat and Tracks for Kids
by Gary D Robson
A Sierra Club Naturalist's Guide to the Sierra Nevada
by Stephen Whitney
Gloryland: A Novel
by Shelton Johnson
The Geologic Story of Yosemite National Park
by King N Huber
6 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

There was a lot of walking and climbing on uneven ground. Everyone in our group was able bodied and willing to participate. We had a great time.

(5)

Accommodations were wonderful; good food; swimming; learning about painting a watercolor, having Steve draw my granddaughter's caricature all added to the fun. Occasionally the van ride got a little long; but I highly recommend the program. Linda

(5)

The Road Scholar Intergenerational program, "Magical Yosemite with your Grandchild: Trains, Gold and Robots," was indeed magical! We took our two granddaughters, ages 8 and 11, and they loved it. We all saw parts of Yosemite we had not previously visited and experienced many other educational and fun activities. As the only Californians participating, we particularly enjoyed getting to know the other children and adults from all over the country. We look forward to our next RS Intergenerational Program!

(5)

An unforgettable experience! The children and Grandparents were busy most of the time. Hiking, panning for gold, "big trees", swiming, evening talks, painting, large birds brought in, gold and miner talks. Yosemite. Fun packing our own lunches to have during the day. One night box dinner, fire pit w smores. accommodations very nice, clean, good food. The instructor Steven Riley -amazing! Group leader/program Coordinator-right there not only handling our needs at ECCO but also working closely with Steve. Her grasp of dealing with grandparents and children was commendable. The children followed her guidance, enjoying her cheery nature. Difficult task! Sadie Beling, group leader. A joy. Smart, intuitive. Very persuasive. The children followed along, took directions without knowing they were guided. I'd take my other grandson to this next year. So worth it.

(5)

Very active program with educational hikes, hands on learning experiences plus fun interactive activities for both grandparents and grandchildren. Very knowledgeable leaders/instructor that made learning fun for all. The kids loved the opportunity to demonstrate their learning and cooperation by earning "chance" tickets for rewards.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

I took my two twelve year old grandsons (first cousins) on this trip and it was indeed MAGICAL! Yosemite is a breathtakingly beautiful place and my kids were mature enough to appreciate it Our lodge was 15 miles from the entrance to the park so not a lot of time was spent on bus rides. A real plus. In the park we hiked to the base of a waterfall, we walked up 8000+ feet for a forever-memorable view of Yosemite Valley, we swam in a huge pool with a view of waterfalls in the background. Our days were full with robot-building and racing , with a ride on a historic train, with a hike through an ancient forest whose trees were growing when Jesus lived on earth. All the while our guides who genuinely liked kids were talking and educating. Our lodge was comfortable and near a lake. At night the grandparents sat on the shore in wooden lawn chairs and chatted while the kids ran and played and talked to each other, just as kids used to do before electronics. It was exciting to watch them. . Grandparents were friendly and interesting, kids learned a lot and made friends with other children from all over the country. Their worlds expanded mightily this week. I wish we could do it all over again. One of my grandsons told me that this had been the best week of his life. Does it get any better than that?






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback