loading spinner
Scotland

In the Heart of the Scottish Highlands

Program No. 20321RJ
Discover what makes the Scottish Highlands one of Europe’s most unique natural wonders, as you learn the history of ancient lochs, clan lands, castles and glens.
Length
13 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
4,649
Flights start at
1,000

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 13 - Apr 25, 2023
Starting at
4,649
Apr 27 - May 9, 2023
Starting at
4,649
May 11 - May 23, 2023
Starting at
4,749
May 25 - Jun 6, 2023
Starting at
4,749
Jun 8 - Jun 20, 2023
Starting at
4,849
Jun 22 - Jul 4, 2023
Starting at
4,849
Jul 6 - Jul 18, 2023
Starting at
4,949
Jul 20 - Aug 1, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Aug 3 - Aug 15, 2023
Starting at
5,149
Aug 24 - Sep 5, 2023
Starting at
5,149
Sep 7 - Sep 19, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Sep 14 - Sep 26, 2023
Starting at
4,949
Sep 28 - Oct 10, 2023
Starting at
4,849
Oct 5 - Oct 17, 2023
Starting at
4,649
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 13 - Apr 25, 2023
Starting at
5,559
Apr 27 - May 9, 2023
Starting at
5,559
May 11 - May 23, 2023
Starting at
5,769
May 25 - Jun 6, 2023
Starting at
5,769
Jun 8 - Jun 20, 2023
Starting at
5,849
Jun 22 - Jul 4, 2023
Starting at
5,849
Jul 6 - Jul 18, 2023
Starting at
6,029
Jul 20 - Aug 1, 2023
Starting at
6,129
Aug 3 - Aug 15, 2023
Starting at
6,279
Aug 24 - Sep 5, 2023
Starting at
6,279
Sep 7 - Sep 19, 2023
Starting at
6,129
Sep 14 - Sep 26, 2023
Starting at
6,029
Sep 28 - Oct 10, 2023
Starting at
5,849
Oct 5 - Oct 17, 2023
Starting at
5,559

At a Glance

Legend blends with history in the Scottish Highlands, where soaring peaks, low-lying glens and famous lochs set a stage for discovery. Experience this unforgettable region as you venture to some of its most noted locations, including Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle, Glen Affric and the misty Isle of Skye.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Light walking of up to two miles a day; some uneven terrain and stairs at historic sites.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Join historians as they offer a view into Highland Scotland’s ancient history, the downfall of Gaelic clans, the Highland Clearances and New World emigration.
  • Discover the castles, clan lands and romance of the famous Isle of Skye.
  • Step back in time at Stirling Castle, one of the largest and most historically important castles in Scotland.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
. The Scottish Nation: 1700-2000
by T.M.Devine
The Scottish Nation examines the social, political, religious and economic factors that have shaped modern Scotland. Drawing on the latest research, Devine places Scotland firmly within an international context and provides a key focus for the ongoing debate regarding Scotland's future. This new edition brings the reader up-to-date with Scotland's recent history, from the high politics of the devolved parliament to the everyday effects of huge and growing levels of social inequality.
The Highlands (Exploring Scotland's Heritage
by Joanna Close- Brooks
Glencoe
by John Prebble
Scottish Highlanders-A People and their Place
by Jim Hunter
Concise History of Scotland
by Sir Fitzroy Maclean
Scotland's Mountains: A Lanscape Photographer's View
by Joe Cornish
Scotland: The Story of a Nation
by Magnus Magnusson
Castle and Tower Houses of the Scottish Clans
by Stuart Reid
The Highland Clearances
by John Prebble
Century of the Scottish People
by T.C.Smout
A new cover reprint of the second volume of T. C. Smout’s magnificent – and indispensable – account of the Scottish people, from 1830–1950. ‘Professor Smout’s “History of the Scottish People 1560–1830” was hailed as a classic piece of social history. If you had time to read only one book on Scotland, this was it…Unfortunately, you now have to read two…“A Century of the Scottish People” is as satisfying and enlightening as its predecessor.’ John Kenyon, Observer ‘An admirable example of how academic history may yet be written for the general reader. It is deeply enjoyable, lively, packed with interesting detail, illuminating anecdote and pithy observation.’ Allan Massie, The Times
Scotland: A New History
by Michael Lynch
This full length history of Scotland is made up of 25 chapters spanning 18 centuries, from the Picts to the 1980s and is designed for the general reader. A particular feature of the book is the attention it gives to social and cultural history, including life in towns, the changing role of the nobles, and the shifting images of Scottish identity through the ages. The landmarks of Scottish history - the Wars of Independence, the Reformation, the Union of Crowns and the Union of Parliaments, the Jacobite rebellions, the Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution, are all covered. The author is the editor of "The Innes Review", literary editor of the Scottish History Society and has written books on Edinburgh and the Reformation, Mary, Queen of Scots and the Scottish Burghs.
Scotland's Coast: A Photographer's Journey
by Joe Cornish
17 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 10/13/2022

A wonderful program for anyone interested in Scotland's history and traditions of the Highlands. So beautiful that photos don't do it justice!!

(5) Review left 9/29/2022

Incredible learning experience

(5) Review left 9/23/2022

This was an excellent tour. All of the appropriate locations in Scotland were covered. Both the instructor and leader went the extra mile to make this an outstanding experience! We learned so much about Scotland and its history while traveling to some very beautiful locations.

(5) Review left 9/07/2022

This program exceeded by expectations. The site visits, presentations, the organization and leadership were outstanding. The bus driver was a real asset. The accommodations and food were very good. Highly recommended.

(5) Review left 9/07/2022

This is the best Road Scholar trip that I have ever taken. Our guide, Robin, was knowledgeable and interesting, and made the history of the Highlands come alive. An added bonus was our wonderful bus driver, Stevie, who—besides being an incredibly competent driver—provided comic relief at unexpected times. The chemiistry between Robin, our leader Tess, and Stevie made the trip a delight. Highly recommended for anyone interested in history and beautiful scenery and even for those whose interest in the Highlands has been inspired by Outlander,.

(5) Review left 8/29/2022

This was an exceptional trip, made better by our tour guide, Kirsty, our group leader, Jenny, and our driver, Stevie. Kirsty has a PhD in Scottish history. Combine that with a delightful sense of humor and we could not have been in better hands. The scenery was magnificent, the hotels mostly charming, the itinerary stimulating and at the right pace. We were fortunate to be a very small group of twelve due to several cancellations. Thank you, Road Scholar, for the special memories!

(5) Review left 8/23/2022

As many of the other reviews mentioned, the scenery, the natural beauty of the Scottish Highlands is incredible at every turn. Our team of Mark Hamilton (group leader), David Spooner (tour guide), and Stevie (bus driver) worked together like a well oiled machine even though it was their first time together. We learned something from each of them. The itinerary put together by RS was perfect. Especially enjoyed the private bag pipe concert at the hotel in Strathpeffer. David put together some wonderful musical selections to play on the bus that fit with the sites we visited. Yes, there were a lot of castles visited and the gorgeous gardens surrounding them. Highly recommend this small group trip that takes the participants back in time. Definitely 5 star.

(5) Review left 8/03/2022

Rich history and amazing landscapes were made all the rewarding by a most expert guide and strong leader.

(5) Review left 7/21/2022

Great program and staff, so much fun would recommend to anyone, you’ll love it.

(5) Review left 7/08/2022

Seeing so many places and learning so much in a relatively short time and in such a comfortable and well-organized way is what Road Scholar does best and this trip was everything I hoped it would be and more.

(5) Review left 7/08/2022

Trip was made great by the team of Barbara Mclean, Stuart Findley, and Stevie our driver. I cannot imagine how I could have done this memorable trip and followed such a detailed itinerary on my own.

(5) Review left 6/29/2022

The Heart of the Highlands was truly an immersion in Highland history, environment and way of life from architecture to food. I was completely satisfied and left knowing there was more to learn and understand about Scotland.

(5) Review left 5/04/2022

This was a wonderful trip. The local guide Alasdair Macdonald was informative and entertaining. He was the best guide I have encountered on the number of overseas travels that I have taken. My only complaint about the tour was the Ben Wyvis Strathmore Hotel in Strathpeffer. The single bed was so narrow that I fell out of it on three occasions and the mattress was incredibly lumpy. The food there reminded me of the almost inedible fare that was the staple of the British culinary scene fifty years ago but which I had thought was long forgotten. All other accommodations were excellent. The itinerary of this trip could not have been better. The scenery was achingly beautiful. I am already recommending the trip to all who will listen. Thank you, Road Scholar,

(5) Review left 12/31/2019

Fabulous tour.

(5) Review left 6/26/2019

In the Scottish Highlands was a highly rewarding tour. For a one-time or first-time visitor to Scotland, the itinerary is very comprehensive. If you are lucky enough to get Linda Fairbairn as your education leader, the tour will be magical.

(5) Review left 6/03/2019

You will enjoy your experience with Road Scholar. The program was well planned and thoughtfully put together to be able to get the most out of our tour of the area we visited.

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

In addition to what everyone else has said, if you're an Outlander fan, this program will give you a better basis for understanding the first two books. Road Scholar didn't plan it that way, but I was very satisfied. It sure beats a whirlwind tour of filming sites!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.