loading spinner
20297
South Dakota/Wyoming

On the Road: Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Explore the iconic monuments and national parks of South Dakota and Wyoming. From Mount Rushmore to Old Faithful, from herds of bison to Mammoth Site — this adventure is big!
Rating (4.95)
Program No. 20297RJ
Length
10 days
Starts at
2,549
South Dakota/Wyoming

On the Road: Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Explore the iconic monuments and national parks of South Dakota and Wyoming. From Mount Rushmore to Old Faithful, from herds of bison to Mammoth Site — this adventure is big!
Length
10 days
Starts at
2,549
Program No. 20297 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 31 - Jun 9, 2022
Starting at
2,899
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jun 13 - Jun 21, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Jun 14 - Jun 23, 2022
Starting at
3,499
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jun 21 - Jun 30, 2022
Starting at
2,899
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jul 13 - Jul 21, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Jul 19 - Jul 28, 2022
Starting at
3,499
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Aug 15 - Aug 23, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Aug 16 - Aug 25, 2022
Starting at
3,499
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Aug 23 - Sep 1, 2022
Starting at
2,899
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Sep 5 - Sep 13, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Sep 6 - Sep 15, 2022
Starting at
3,499
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Sep 7 - Sep 15, 2022
Starting at
2,549
Sep 9 - Sep 18, 2022
Starting at
2,899
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 31 - Jun 9, 2022
Starting at
3,999
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jun 13 - Jun 21, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Jun 14 - Jun 23, 2022
Starting at
4,599
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jun 21 - Jun 30, 2022
Starting at
3,999
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Jul 13 - Jul 21, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Jul 19 - Jul 28, 2022
Starting at
4,599
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Aug 15 - Aug 23, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Aug 16 - Aug 25, 2022
Starting at
4,599
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Aug 23 - Sep 1, 2022
Starting at
3,999
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Sep 5 - Sep 13, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Sep 6 - Sep 15, 2022
Starting at
4,599
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

Sep 7 - Sep 15, 2022
Starting at
3,599
Sep 9 - Sep 18, 2022
Starting at
3,999
Itinerary Note

This date is 9-night Itinerary: Arrival Rapid City, SD, 3 nights; Cody, WY., 1 night; West Yellowstone, MT 1 night ; Grand Tetons, WY 2 nights; Casper, WY, 1 night; Rapid City, 1 night, departure. This date includes one extra day to include: Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.

At a Glance

Travel from the beautiful Black Hills of Western South Dakota to Wyoming’s parks and monuments on this exceptional adventure. Be mesmerized by natural and manmade wonders at Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park and the Mammoth Site in South Dakota. Experience the mystique of Devils Tower Monument, see Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone National Park and take in the majesty of Grand Teton National Park and Jackson Hole.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking up to 2 miles a day. Getting in/out of motor coach frequently. Elevations of 3,400-7,731 feet.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • At Mount Rushmore, learn how the mountain was carved by sculptor Gutzon Borglum.
  • Experience the Buffalo Bill Historical Center in Cody, Wyo., the oldest and most comprehensive museum of the American West.
  • In Yellowstone National Park, view the waterfalls at the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and travel through Hayden Valley and hope to see herds of bison and other wildlife.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less. Select departures are 9 nights long and include Badlands National Park, Wall Drug and the Minute Man Missile National Historic Visitors Center.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Paul Reed
Paul Reed was born and raised in Southern California and has always had a heart for the Old West. He and his wife Theresa have planned and provided programs for Road Scholar in Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Paul and Theresa continue to embrace their love of travel and serving people. Both also enjoy “off season” careers with Alaska Airlines. They look forward to meeting and traveling with Road Scholar participants, sharing local insights, and helping foster the spirit of the American West.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Paul Reed
Paul Reed was born and raised in Southern California and has always had a heart for the Old West. He and his wife Theresa have planned and provided programs for Road Scholar in Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Paul and Theresa continue to embrace their love of travel and serving people. Both also enjoy “off season” careers with Alaska Airlines. They look forward to meeting and traveling with Road Scholar participants, sharing local insights, and helping foster the spirit of the American West.
Profile Image of Pat Barber
Pat Barber View biography
Pat Barber is a native of South Dakota and has lived in Rapid City for more than 36 years. A graduate of the University of Sioux Falls, she has taught K-12 in subjects from French and German to Library Science. She and her husband Paul spent two years in Germany where Pat served as elementary librarian in a German-American School. They are passionate about passing on to others their wealth of knowledge about North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming’s national parks, monuments, culture, and history.
Profile Image of Paul Barber
Paul Barber View biography
Paul Barber is a native South Dakotan who has lived in Rapid City the past 37 years. A graduate of the University of Sioux Falls, Paul has been a farmer, rancher and investment advisor. During October and November pheasant hunting season, Paul becomes the hunt master on his ranch in South Dakota. He has been married for over 40 years to his wife, Pat, and both are passionate about sharing their wealth of knowledge about South Dakota and Wyoming’s national parks and monuments.
Profile Image of Joseph Singleton
Joseph Singleton View biography
Joseph is a ten-year resident of Colorado and has spent much of the past six years working at McMurdo Station in Antarctica and traveling around the world. He has also worked as an instructor and group leader in various capacities around the country. His master's is in music history, and he wrote his thesis on the music in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind," which was filmed at Devil's Tower, Wyoming.
Profile Image of Theresa Reed
Theresa Reed View biography
Theresa Reed was born in North Dakota, raised in South Dakota, and has always had a sense of adventure and a love of travel. After living in Hawaii for several years, she has enjoyed her career as a flight attendant, eventually moving back to her hometown in Rapid City, SD. Travel is second nature and a real passion for both Theresa and her husband Paul as they continue to embrace their love of travel and serving people, both on and off the job.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
History of Grand Teton National Park
by Charles Craighead
The story of the people and culture that first shaped Jackson Hole is encompassed in this great guide. From American Indians to the first person to climb the Grand Teton, this guide has essentials you'll enjoy knowing. With historic photos and correlating map, you can't go wrong if you want to know about people and places in Grand Teton and Jackson Hole. Beautiful photos by nature photographer Henry Holdsworth.
Roadside History of Yellowstone National Park
by Winfred Blevins
The "Roadside History' series charts a course to the present through carefully selected and thoroughly researched stories relating what we see today with what happened before. Through vivid anecdotes, old photographs, and maps, the "Roadside History" guides provide entertaining insight into the states and/or regions they describe. The history of Yellowstone Park is rich with tales of the diverse people who have visited this natural wonderland along with a "road log" approach that helps place modern travelers in the past.
The Carving of Mount Rushmore
by Rex Alan Smith
This work tells the story of the spectacular artistic and engineering project of carving the American presidents' portraits on Mount Rushmore. It describes how it was conceived and carried out. The author was brought up in sight of Mount Rushmore and witnessed the work in progress.
Standing Witness: Devils Tower National Monument, A History
by Jeanne Rogers
Black Elk Speaks
by John Neihardt
This book gives the reader a good background of the Northern Plains Indian Culture and Religion.
25 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.95 Average
(5)

5 stars!! Well run. When in the bus we had videos of the area we were going to and this helped us to be ready to appreciate all the beauty of our country. Paul Reed worked double overtime to be sure we could see and be part of our total program. Rob our bus driver took great care to be sure we enjoyed our time and he enjoyed driving for RS.

(5)

This program exceeded my expectations in all areas. The educational aspects coupled perfectly with the "hands-on" viewing experiences offered on a daily basis. And then add in an outstanding group of fellow learners, a near-perfect 9 days of exciting learning and viewing was created. I highly recommend this adventure!

(5)

A great trip, with fun people. The sites on this trip were 9n our bucket list.

(5)

i would highly recommend this tour, while i enjoyed visiting Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, we also visited the mammoth site, Buffalo Bill Center of the west, National Bighorn sheep center and Devil's tower.. Very interesting learning experience

(5)

WONDERFUL GROUP WONDERFUL LEADER WONDERFUL BUS DRIVER I SAID IT ALL I WOULD RECOMMEND ROAD SCHOLAR TO EVERYONE I KNOW.

(5)

Fantastic trip, well organized, covered a lot of history, being on the road. Excellent tour director, ( Janice Parks) well versed, kept the group engaged in topics and places of interest. Would highly recommend this tour, just be aware of the altitude in certain areas to pace yourself and bring layers of clothing as it was much cooler in higher elevations. Rate it a 5 *

(5)

Road Scholar is an adventure tour, depending on different physical capabilities where the adventurer is advancing on many levels, depending on the tour.

(5)

If you have never been to Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons, and Mount Rushmore, sign up for this program. You will not be disappointed.

(4)

This was an amazing trip! Road Scholar staff went above and beyond every step of the way!

(5)

Another fantastic and educational trip from Road Scholar! What first caught my attention on attending this trip was to visit Mt Rushmore and Yellowstone. Saw those to sites and so much more. Museums and parks that I didn't even know existed. Each landscape was more spectacular than expected. Our leaders Pat & Paul kept everything on tract and had so much information to share with us. A few days we had many hours on the bus but it was broken up in small increments with stop breaks and always additional info from Pat & Paul. Besides them, our bus driver Mick was the best - both his driving skills and personality. I would highly recommend this trip. On this page I'm not seeing where to rate it with 5 stars but I certainly would. Maybe I'll have the ability later.

(5)

Yet another Road Scholar program that I would enthusiastically recommend to others! This one was packed with places on my bucket list and added some I never realized were out there! Be aware that only the small group goes to the Badlands though. Yellowstone and the Tetons are most definitely worth another visit! The guides Paul and Theresa were fabulous, kind, and did their best to make this a wonderful experience!

(5)

This was an excellent trip. Covers a lot of ground visiting several national parks and monuments with many additional stops like the Crazy Horse monument, a Mammoth dig site and Cody museum. Well worth it!

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was my first trip with RS and it was spectacular. The trip director Janice was amazing. So fun and pleasant and full of history and information related to every segment of the journey. Our longer segments of bus travel were broken up with additional stops to unique visitor centers, museums and local cafes every day. She was always one step ahead in preparing for each day. Excellent preparation and execution. We also had two different local guides Candy and Mike give additional information from a local standpoint as we drove through the Badlands and then through the area of Cody Wyoming to the Buffalo Bill Dam. Our bus driver Tom not only transported us safely, he was always smiling and happy to provide greetings and to offer water at each stop. He and Janice worked great together to keep the trip interesting while staying on schedule. An amazing trip through the northwestern Unites States!

(5)

Great programme, exactly as described. As with all Road Scholar trips, it's an educational experience and a very enjoyable one. We had not been to South Dakota or Wyoming until this trip; the vistas are truly breathtaking. We traveled more than 1,600 miles on this adventure and I highly recommend it.

(5)

I did not receive email the whole time because my device had a problem. I didn't miss it a bit.

(5)

Trip shows a lot about the National Parks and out west.

(5)

Program exceeded expectations in every way. Sites visited were amazing. Paul and Theresa were probably the best leaders of any I've ever experienced.

(5)

Whatever destination you may be looking for, you can't miss by participating in a Road Scholar program. While "going it alone" may have some benefits in terms of flexibility, from my point of view, I'd never attempt something on my own, which otherwise, wouldn't be immensely magnified by the pros administering R S programs. Expenses are reasonable. Their website is easily accessible and understandable.

(5)

I expected a good experience but it was so much more. Our guides were the best possible. I thought I could drive this trip myself and save money but want I gained was worth every penny and I'm cheap by nature. Bill

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

For years I have wanted to visit this part of the country and I was not disappointed as this trip covered all of the highlights of this area. We had a delightful group that made the trip even more special. The leader was amazing and kept us all on track and I saw more than I ever thought I would. As I usually like the more active trips, there was just enough bus riding with lots of chances to stretch your legs. I love Road Scholar and talk it up whenever I have the chance!!

(5)

This trip was fabulous! We originally enrolled as a way to tour Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons while having someone else worry about the planning, driving, etc... but we were pleasantly surprised that this trip turned out to be so much more! All of it was great, but we especially loved Crazy Horse, the Badlands, the Buffalo Bill Museum, our stay at Jackson Lake Lodge (we took the dinner raft trip - fabulous!), and Devil's Tower. Everything was well thought out and organized. We greatly appreciated our program guide Joseph (awesome - knowledgeable with a great sense of humor), the various instructors (they shared their expertise without being boring), and our bus driver Mert (so friendly and attentive). The food and accommodations were great, and we were busy every day. Road Scholar thought of everything, down to the tiniest detail (snacks, rest stops, etc), to make our jam-packed trip enjoyable. There's no way we could have done it all on our own. This was our first Road Scholar experience, and we already have several trips saved on our Wish List... it'll be hard to choose what's next, but we can't wait!

(5)

Glad we had the hotel in the city. I saw the hotel in the outskirts and was not impressed.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

We saw so much in such a short time and the schedule was flawless. On board CDs highlighted the upcoming sites and there was a very collegial atmosphere on the bus created by the tour guide. Our every need was anticipated and the team representing Road Scholar did themselves proud. They were attentive to our every need providing quality service at each stop and excellent information throughout the trip..

(5)

The website clearly defined the tour! The daily activities are included but didn't prepare me for how wonderful, numerous and engaging they were for me.

(5)

For our first visit to the area, Road Scholar provide a very comprehensive program that was fun and easy to participate in. Our instructors were excellent and their energetic leadership and enthusiasm for the area was awesome.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.