loading spinner
Arizona

Ultimate Old West: The White Stallion Ranch Experience

Program No. 20193RJ
Discover your pioneer spirit on a working dude ranch as you enjoy scenic trail rides, ranching demonstrations, country western dance lessons and cowboy songs around an evening bonfire.
Length
6 days
Rating (4.8)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,649

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2023
Starting at
1,649
Feb 12 - Feb 17, 2023
Starting at
1,649
Apr 23 - Apr 28, 2023
Starting at
1,649
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
1,649
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jan 29 - Feb 3, 2023
Starting at
2,119
Feb 12 - Feb 17, 2023
Starting at
2,119
Apr 23 - Apr 28, 2023
Starting at
2,119
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
2,119

At a Glance

Experience a Wild West adventure at the renowned White Stallion Ranch, a working ranch at the foot of the ruggedly beautiful Tucson Mountains. Take easy trail rides, hear the history of the ranch from owner Russell True and lend a hand with grooming ranch animals. Cowboy songs around a bonfire complete this adventure to discover your inner cowboy or cowgirl.
Activity Level
Outdoor: No Sweat
Walking up to two miles; getting on and off of and riding a horse.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Enjoy scenic trail rides on gentle horses, a breakfast cookout, a desert nature walk and an assortment of hands-on classes.
  • Learn how to care for and communicate with horses, watch horse-roping and penning demonstrations and see how a horse is “shod.”
  • Spend evenings participating in country western dance lessons, listening to a performance by a cowboy singer and enjoying a "Wild West Show" presentation by a Western performer.

General Notes

Select dates can be taken back-to-back with a sister program, “Rancho de la Osa: Ranch Life on the Southern Border (#23771)”. Please check Dates and Prices of both programs for availability and then contact the Ranch directly to make arrangements.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Ute Vaughn
Ute Vaughan, originally hailing from Germany, is an artist and teacher who has studied art in Europe and the U.S. She is now based in Tucson, Arizona. Working primarily in watercolors and wall murals, her work is most often inspired by the colors, animals, and mysticism of the Southwest.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Ute Vaughn
Ute Vaughn View biography
Ute Vaughan, originally hailing from Germany, is an artist and teacher who has studied art in Europe and the U.S. She is now based in Tucson, Arizona. Working primarily in watercolors and wall murals, her work is most often inspired by the colors, animals, and mysticism of the Southwest.
Profile Image of Bill Ganz
Bill Ganz is a natural musician, and he’s been singing and playing western music for the last 25 years. Whether playing at campfires, guest ranches or major resorts, he always brings the authentic feel of Arizona to his music. He has performed for the last 20 years with his band, The Bill Ganz Western Band, which has appeared for a series of concerts with the Tucson Symphony Orchestra. In addition to performing, Bill teaches private lessons and has been involved in many independent recording projects.
Profile Image of Carol Moore
Carol Moore View biography
Carol Moore has lived in Arizona since 1969. She discovered her true calling when she began working with Lazy K Bar Ranch as General Manager in 1975, in charge of operations. In 2000, she began working at White Stallion Ranch where she is group sales coordinator and reservations manager. Carol oversees front desk operations, books groups, acts as logistics coordinator, does marketing, creates special programs, leads hikes, and also does horse penning and roping activities. In addition to her other interests, she writes book reviews.
Profile Image of Loop Rawlins
Loop Rawlins View biography
Loop Rawlins has been fascinated by cowboys since he was a boy, and began learning trick roping at the age of eight. At 14, he started performing at a theme park, and at 16 shocked his competitors by winning five International Wild West Arts Awards in Las Vegas. He soon found himself working at rodeos, resorts, festivals, and special events. He has also appeared on ABC, AMC Television, History Channel, the BBC and ITV (UK). Loop was the first cowboy performer in Cirque Du Soleil.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
True Tales and Amazing Legends of the Old West: From True West Magazine
by Editors of True West
Line in the Sand: A History of the Western U.S.-Mexico Border
by Rachel C. St. John
Medicine in the Old West: A History, 1850-1900
by Jeremy Agnew
Tucson: The Life and Times of an American City
by C. L. Sonnichsen
Early Tucson (Images of America)
by Anne I. Woosley and Arizona Historical Society
Cowboys & the Trappings of the Old West
by William Manns, elizabeth Clair Flood & Charlotte Berney
7 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.8 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 10/13/2022

I highly recommend this trip. I found that my body would not allow me to do as much horse riding as I expected to do; however, there are plenty of other activities to keep one busy. All personnel at the ranch are top notch, personable and knowledgeable. The food was very good and plentiful. The only downside was the "rodeo", "wild west show" was just practice for staff and other competition riders so it was not very exciting. They could have line dancing every night because the instructor was fantastic, and it was fun to dance some of the day's aches and pains out.

(5) Review left 5/01/2022

This program fulfilled a lifelong dream: visit a dude ranch. It was a great trip and I enjoyed it so much, I intend to return to the White Stallion Ranch in the future. The ranch staff was so accommodating and made adjustments for each participant's skill level riding a horse. The accommodations were roomy, private and lovely and the food was excellent, as buffets go. I highly recommend this trip!

(5) Review left 4/30/2022

A bucket list experience for me.

(4) Review left 4/30/2022

(NOTE: no option to put how many stars, but I give this 4 stars out of 5...my initial review posted with 2 stars without giving me an option, which must have been a glitch) This review is about what we wish someone had told us. You will have fun on this trip; we especially enjoyed the e-bikes, daily rides, and painting class. However, we feel it is important for people to be aware that many parts of this trip involve any/all guests on the ranch (including children), not just Road Scholars. This includes all buffet lines, wait time to load everyone on horses, and all evening activities. For this reason, this did not feel as much like a RS trip compared to the others we have done. It also does not feel like a "Small Group" trip. If you know all of that going in, you will have an enjoyable time on the ranch!

(5) Review left 2/10/2022

Have done this RS trip seven (7) times over the years and I keep coming back. It's just a perfect blend of tranquility, desert beauty, and total getaway from life in suburbia. I always meet fun new people with RS and enjoy reunions with others like myself who are "annual repeaters." Waking up in beautiful surroundings with horses, cattle and Panther Peak in view is a treat I look forward to. Not to mention the awesome Sonoran desert with its cactus and colorful wildflowers. The ranch and Road Scholar provide so many options for daily entertainment/education/exploration (and of course daily horseback riding) that it's often hard to choose how to spend one's time. Staff is wonderfully friendly and family-like. Food options are EXCELLENT and varied. A wonderful home away from home that I look forward to each year.

(5) Review left 2/07/2022

The Road Scholar Program at the White Stallion Ranch in Tucson, Arizona provided exceptional accommodations, friendly staff, numerous activities, creative and amazing educational programs and outstanding nightly happy hour and indoor and outdoor entertainment.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/08/2020

White Stallion Ranch was an amazing experience for my partner and me. I cannot think of anything I would change and my hat (cowboy) is off the RS, Carol, our coordinator, White Stallion and the wranglers and staff. Superb!! BTW, White Stallion is family owned, classic and, if you want the "real deal" Dude Ranch, this is the place and RS is the way to go!!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.