loading spinner
Colombia

Bienvenidos a Colombia: A Renaissance in South America

Program No. 20099RJ
Gain a comprehensive understanding of Colombia as you learn about paintings in Bogotá, cuisine in Manizales, coffee in Armenia and the great writings of Márquez in Cartagena.
Length
12 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
4,299
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Protecting the Environment

Through Carbonfund.org, we offset a portion of the emissions created by your travel. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 6 - Oct 17, 2023
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Dec 8 - Dec 19, 2023
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Jan 19 - Jan 30, 2024
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Feb 16 - Feb 27, 2024
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Mar 15 - Mar 26, 2024
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Oct 4 - Oct 15, 2024
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Dec 6 - Dec 17, 2024
Starting at
4,299
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 6 - Oct 17, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Dec 8 - Dec 19, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Jan 19 - Jan 30, 2024
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Feb 16 - Feb 27, 2024
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Mar 15 - Mar 26, 2024
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Oct 4 - Oct 15, 2024
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

Dec 6 - Dec 17, 2024
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

Free round-trip air from Miami is included. Ask about other cities!

At a Glance

Experience the many faces of Colombia, a country transformed from a place of turmoil to a thriving modern nation. Journey to the bustling capital of Bogotá, known for its glimmering skyscrapers and world-renowned collection at the Gold Museum. Explore the verdant hills and traditional villages of the coffee region, and discover Medellín, now one of South America’s most progressive cities. Stroll the cobblestone streets of Cartagena, the home and inspiration of Nobel Prize winner Gabriel García Márquez.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles at a time, often on dirt paths, cobblestones or other uneven terrain. Elevations up to 9,000 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Explore the world-famous Gold Museum and learn about the gold on display, its shamanic significance and how the collection was formed.
  • Discover the amazing underground construction and architecture of the Salt Cathedral.
  • Learn about Colombian coffee from production on the plantation to the delicious cup sold in the café.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Latin America in Colonial Times
by Matthew Restall
This scholarly primer considers the history of the continent from the arrival of the first Conquistadors in the 16th century to the dying embers of empire 300 years later, giving equal weight to the histories of the colonial rulers, the African slaves brought over to work in the New World and the indigenous groups whose lives and lands were forever changed by conquest.
A History of the World in 6 Glasses
by Tom Standage
A highly enjoyable chronicle of the prestige, power, politics and pleasures of key beverages through the ages. Standage argues that the drinks that have mattered, since the Stone Age, are, in chronological order: beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. Each chapter is a vivid history of politics, prestige, colonialism, commerce and society.
Living to Tell the Tale
by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Edith Grossman (Translator)
Garcia's celebrated memoir, as captivating, warm and spirited as any of his fictional tales, covering his youth in Aracataca, memorably recast as fictional Macondo on Colombia's Caribbean coast.
Liberators, Latin America's Struggle for Independence 1810-1830
by Robert Harvey
Focused on the heroism and derring-do of seven legendary men, Harvey tells the story of Simon Bolivar, General Jose de San Martin and other greats in the fight for independence.
Culture Smart! Colombia
by Kate Cathey
A concise and practical guide to local customs, etiquette and culture.
The Andes
by Jason Wilson
Starting out in Cuzco, heart of the Inca Empire, Wilson spreads north and south along the Andes, including excerpts from South American literary giants, travelers and his own impressions.
The Conquistadors, A Very Short Introduction
by Felipe Fernandez-Armesto, Matthew Restall
This provocative book by two leading historians explores who the conquistadors were and what made their adventures possible.
Miracle in the Land of Coffee
by Julian Rodriguez (Director)
Set in the 30’s, in the picturesque Colombian countryside, in a time of violence between neighboring towns over local resources. Felipe, a young man of the Franciscan order, has to choose between his faith and calling, or surrender his heart to the woman he loves.
Looking For History, Dispatches From Latin America
by Alma Guillermoprieto
A beautifully written, incisive collection of essays on contemporary Argentina, Colombia, Cuba, Peru and Mexico.
My Colombian War, A Journey Through the Country I Left Behind
by Silvana Paternostro
Now a journalist living in New York, Paternostro travels back to her homeland in a search for the roots of Colombia's bloody civil war.
News of a Kidnapping
by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
In 1990, fearing extradition to the United States, Pablo Escobar -- head of the Medellin drug cartel --kidnapped ten notable Colombians to use as bargaining chips. With the eye of a poet, Garcia Marquez describes the survivors' perilous ordeal, depicting through this story the keening ache of Colombia after nearly forty years of turmoil.
The Making of Modern Colombia, A Nation in Spite of Itself
by David Bushnell
A leading historian of the region, Bushnell traces the political history of Colombia from before the arrival of the Spaniards through independence and reform in the 19th century, then through to the 1980s in this thoroughly enjoyable, incisive portrait of a nation.
Colombia Map
by ITMB
A colorful travel map of Colombia, including an inset of Bogota, at a scale of 1:2,000,000.
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
A lucid portrait of the tropics as seen by two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists. Its 17 marvelous essays introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforest.
Our Lady of the Assassins
by Fernando Vallejo, Paul Hammond (Translator)
A vivid, cynical portrait of Medellin, Colombia's second largest city and the stronghold of ruthless drug lord Pablo Escobar. The narrator returns to the town after a long absence to find it beset by horrific violence and a chilling indifference to death.
One Hundred Years of Solitude
by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The breathtaking, life-altering, much-celebrated tale of life and love on most everyone's list of the greatest books of all time, ours included.
Love in the Time of Cholera
by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Edith Grossman (Translator)
A glorious tale of great love consummated after 50 years, nine months and four days, memorably set in a dusty 19th-century town on the Caribbean coast of Colombia.
Lonely Planet Colombia
by Lonely Planet, Lonely Planet Publications
A practical guide to Colombia featuring maps and detailed information on excursions, accommodations and sightseeing. With a few color photographs and excellent travel information.
Birds of Northern South America, Vol. 2: Field Guide
by Robin Restall, Clemencia Rodner, Roger Williams
This comprehensive field guide, featuring an astounding 6400 paintings and 2308 maps, covers all the birds from Ecuador to Guiana.
23 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 2/02/2023

My husband and I just finished our first trip with Road Scholar which was to Colombia. We were very pleased with the overall experience and ease of travel. It was a fascinating trip, beautiful country and we made some new friends. I would strongly recommend this location as well as the Road Scholar experience.

(5) Review left 2/01/2023

We had a tremendous time i Colombia. We learnt a great deal from Omar. Daniel our director, and Edwardo in Cartagena. Our group was a lot of fun.Weahad a person fall and break he shoulder but or leader Daniel was like not only efficient and caring in taking care of her emergency. he was an angel. I am a physician, and he and I were with her so i have seen him take care of a disastrous situation wit calm abd loving efficiency.

(5) Review left 12/22/2022

This was an excellent and very educational experience. Also fun! We have been on thirteen Road Scholar trips, and both the group leader (Freddy) and our primary educator (Omar) were the best we've ever had. So lucky to have been able to experience 2022 Colombia and learn about the tremendous progress that has been made in this country.

(5) Review left 10/20/2022

The trip to Colombia was superb! I believe the Group Leader, Freddy was the best I have ever had on my 14 total Road Scholar trips! Food was spectacular and accommodations were just perfect! I loved every minute of the trip and learned so much about an area of the world previously unfamiliar to me. Thank you, Road Scholar!!!

(5) Review left 1/27/2022

This tour is a group pleaser because of the varied experiences of art, nature and culture both past and present!

(5) Review left 1/26/2022

After years of planning for this trip we were delighted that it exceeded our expectations. Andres, Carlos, Andrea, Christina, and Eduardo were exceptional guides and local educators. Even during COVID they made this travel experience delightful and nearly seamless.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/13/2020

A very disappointing experience, possibly the worst trip I have taken. The Tour leader Andres and his Associate,Yohany were not a fit for the program participoants as their experiences were limited. They offered not additional suggestions or provided insight on their country. There were no additional experts to enrich the program and the information they gave could be read in any guide book. There was an over emphasis on Pablo Escobar and Gabriel Marquez and much reiteration. The organization of the trip was poor, with hotels located in areas not conducive to seeing the "country"either high rise overly expensive hotels or decidely poor choices in smaller towns. If you have never seen a coffee plantation or an orchid farm this maybe a reasonable trip for you, but if you want to learn about Columbia and it's people this is not the trip for you.

(5) Review left 2/05/2020

This is a great program for those who want to learn more about contemporary Colombia. And please call it Colombia, not Columbia. The progress this country has made is admirable. We all need to learn more and support it in any way we can. Road Scholar offers a fantastic opportunity with this program, to discover this beautiful country.

(5) Review left 2/04/2020

This trip was outstanding and it exceeded our expectations.

(5) Review left 1/26/2020

Bienvenidos a Colombia: A Renaissance in South America was a fascinating, educational, and satisfying exposure to Colombian cities and countryside under the inspired and outstanding leadership of Andres Cubillos, our group leader.

(5) Review left 1/25/2020

Excellent program, interesting and well organized. A beautiful country with a good variety of activities. Colombia is certainly worth a visit!

(5) Review left 1/21/2020

Go to Colombia! It’s safe, welcoming, interesting, not the scary place it has been in the past, especially with Road Scholar guiding you. You will learn so much on this program, especially if you have Andres and Johanny as your guides.

(5) Review left 12/18/2019

Very fun and educational program. Great leaders. Very smart and helpful. Great variety in activities. Colombia surprised us with its forward thinking and cleanliness.

(5) Review left 12/06/2019

Two thumbs up for this trip, and If I had more thumbs they would all be up. Great trip with a good mix of rural and urban. The visit to the wax palms---surrounded by mountains and mists-- was absolutely wonderful Super guide in Freddy Ruiz Pena. Omar---the local guide in the coffee region---was outstanding.

(5) Review left 3/25/2019

Outstanding trip! Colombia is a ‘must see’ destination! The trip to Colombia thoroughly exceeded my expectations! Our guides Andre’s Cubillos and Johany were outstanding in showing us the scenic sights, cultural/historical aspects, and nuances of Colombia. Their attention to detail to keep everything moving smoothly is amazing! We were able to see and in many ways experience ‘everyday life’ in Colombia. I appreciated the opportunities in the evenings / late afternoons to wander off on my own and experience the local environments. All of my interactions with the Colombians were pleasant. A great opportunity to use / improve my Spanish. When going to Colombia I recommend that (1) you have your flight arrive early [early afternoon] so you will be able to explore/walk around the area near the hotel in Bogota’ – it’s a very interesting neighborhood, and (2) if you want to exchange US currency to Colombian pesos do so at the exchange in the Bogota’ airport since cash exchanges (cambios) are not plentiful outside of the airport. Be aware that US currency is not commonly used in Colombia. None of these items were an issue for me since I arrived in Bogota' in the early afternoon and exchanged US currency at the Bogota'airport. Colombia is a ‘must see’ destination. So much to see and learn. 5+ Stars!!! I look forward to visiting Colombia again.

(5) Review left 3/24/2019

Colombia is a not-to-be-missed destination and RS does a great job!

(5) Review left 3/16/2019

Freddy and Omar are outstanding guides and this trip exceeded my expectations. Guaranteed that you will see Colombia in a new and more informed light after attending this program. The breadth and diversity of the experiences matches the fascinating situation of Colombia - a country on the move!

(5) Review left 3/08/2019

A great way to explore a still under-visited country. And to experience it as it comes out of political and economic challenges while maintaining its rich heritages and singular beauty.. Wonderful scenery, excellent accommodations, food and beverage and group supports from the guides, drivers, other leaders and local hosts.

(5) Review left 3/05/2019

Works well for me.a

(5) Review left 2/24/2019

Colombia is a country in transition. The natural beauty and the diversity are real eye-openers. Do yourself a favor and go now - it is spectacular!

(5) Review left 2/09/2019

This tour of Colombia exceeded our expectations. Our primary guide, Freddy Ruiz, was outstanding. He was well-organized and attentive, upbeat and personable. Freddy was always readily available to tend to special needs by individual members of the group. His grasp of English is excellent. Secondary personnel, such as local area guides and bus drivers, were well-versed and competent. Our hotels were top of the line for each specific locale. Meals at the hotels and off-site were delicious and included local food sources. The sites we visited were varied and interesting. Lectures were filled with facts and no one attempted to gloss over the difficulties that Colombia has suffered over the years. We felt safe the entire trip and at no time did we feel threatened. This was an amazing adventure. Colombia is a beautiful country and we are so glad that we got to experience the hospitality that was extended to us by so many people.

(5) Review left 2/07/2019

Discover diversity, beauty and friendliness of Colombia! You will not be disappointed. The program far exceeded my expectations!

(5) Review left 2/06/2019

Colombia is amazingly diverse, both geographically and culturally. Its people are friendly. Their optimism is palpable. Medellin earned international recognition for "world's most transformative city." It's worth the trip to discover why. Moreover, the food is great!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.