loading spinner
Quebec

Signature City Québec

Program No. 19748RJ
Join a local historian for an insider’s perspective on Québec City. You’ll hear fascinating lectures, taste regional cuisine, visit must-see icons and go off the beaten path.
Length
6 days
Rating (4.88)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,899

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 24 - Apr 29, 2023
Starting at
1,899
May 8 - May 13, 2023
Starting at
2,099
May 15 - May 20, 2023
Starting at
2,549
Jun 5 - Jun 10, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Jun 12 - Jun 17, 2023
Starting at
1,999
Jul 10 - Jul 15, 2023
Starting at
2,349
Jul 17 - Jul 22, 2023
Starting at
2,199
Aug 14 - Aug 19, 2023
Starting at
2,349
Aug 28 - Sep 2, 2023
Starting at
2,349
Sep 11 - Sep 16, 2023
Starting at
2,249
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2023
Starting at
2,249
Itinerary Note

Private Group - RS Women on Facebook

Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2023
Starting at
2,249
Nov 13 - Nov 18, 2023
Starting at
2,549
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 24 - Apr 29, 2023
Starting at
2,309
May 8 - May 13, 2023
Starting at
2,569
May 15 - May 20, 2023
Starting at
3,279
Jun 5 - Jun 10, 2023
Starting at
2,569
Jun 12 - Jun 17, 2023
Starting at
2,469
Jul 10 - Jul 15, 2023
Starting at
2,999
Jul 17 - Jul 22, 2023
Starting at
2,729
Aug 14 - Aug 19, 2023
Starting at
2,999
Aug 28 - Sep 2, 2023
Starting at
2,999
Sep 11 - Sep 16, 2023
Starting at
2,899
Sep 18 - Sep 23, 2023
Starting at
2,899
Itinerary Note

Private Group - RS Women on Facebook

Oct 2 - Oct 7, 2023
Starting at
2,899
Nov 13 - Nov 18, 2023
Starting at
3,279

At a Glance

Discover the best that Québec City has to offer as locals introduce you to the food, arts and history of this fascinating region. Explore the heart of Old Québec's Upper and Lower Towns and examine the city's extensive fortification system with an expert historian. Traverse down pedestrian streets and laneways to discover its quiet residential neighborhoods. A visit to Musée National des Beaux Arts will introduce you to paintings and sculpture by Québecois artists. Lectures are brought to life with field trips encompassing both landmark sites and less heralded aspects of the city, opening doors to historic interiors that few visitors discover. Learn about Québec’s architecture and enjoy a farewell dinner at Le Château Frontenac.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Varies by date. KEEP THE PACE: Walking two miles on uneven surfaces, cobblestones; some hills and stairs. ON YOUR FEET: Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to one mile, some stairs.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Explore the Plains of Abraham, site of many clashes between the French and British Empires, and walk the cobblestone streets and well-preserved 17th-century architecture of Old Québec with local experts.
  • Visit Montmorency Falls and discover one of the most beautiful natural jewels of Quebec.
  • Discover the rich cultural heritage at the National Museum of Fine Arts, boasting the highest concentration of artists in the province.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Marie Legroulx
Marie is an eleventh-generation Quebecoise whose ancestors settled on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in the mid-17th century. She has a BA in history and an MA in Quebec literature from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Marie draws on both fields in her Road Scholar learning adventures as well as within her life more broadly. She taught French and Quebec literature for 25 years at the university level. Marie has been leading groups in Quebec City and the surrounding area since 2008.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Harry Hunkin
Harry Hunkin View biography
Harry Hunkin began teaching at the age of twenty and completed his career as a professor of education at the University of Toronto. He worked for four years with the Inuit in Northern Québec assisting with the development of their travel program. Harry’s interest in the arts grew from his time managing the Green Room at Toronto’s famed Massey Hall, where he met Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald and Duke Ellington. Harry is also a history buff with a particular fascination with military history.
Profile Image of Chantal Bellon
Chantal Bellon View biography
A retired teacher, Chantal Bellon has lead visitors around the province of Québec, to the vibrant city of Toronto and the beautiful Niagara Falls, to the nation’s capital in Ottawa. Chantal enjoys sharing the charm and beauty of her home country with guests from around the globe and always looks forward to learning something new from them too. Although as a teacher, she primarily taught math and science, she has an eclectic love for travel, music, carpentry, and animals.
Profile Image of Clarisse Fréchette
Clarisse Fréchette View biography
Clarisse Frechette’s family arrived in Québec back in 1677 as shipbuilders. She has a bachelor’s degree in sociology and worked as a research agent for Québec’s Department of Education before taking on the role of a field manager for Statistics Quebec. Becoming an educational interpreter was second nature for Clarisse, with her love of history and certainly her love of Québec! She has explored the old streets of Québec for over 20 years. It is always her pleasure to help people discover this area.
Profile Image of Marie Legroulx
Marie Legroulx View biography
Marie is an eleventh-generation Quebecoise whose ancestors settled on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in the mid-17th century. She has a BA in history and an MA in Quebec literature from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Marie draws on both fields in her Road Scholar learning adventures as well as within her life more broadly. She taught French and Quebec literature for 25 years at the university level. Marie has been leading groups in Quebec City and the surrounding area since 2008.
Profile Image of Francois Vidal
Francois Vidal View biography
François Vidal was born in Québec City, where he spent years studying theatre and travel. He frequently combines his education with his love for Québec City and its rich history, performing in numerous educational theatrical productions. François has been an educational interpreter in Québec City since 2009 and is well-known for his personification of historical figures including a recent production in which he portrayed General Montcalm from the French-Indian War. François displays a keen interest in the architecture, culture and lifestyle in Québec City.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Shadows on the Rock
by Willa Cather
Set at the end of the 17th century in rural Quebec, this beautifully realized novel highlights the struggles of the Parisian widower Auclair and his young daughter to adapt to their new land.
Arundel
by Kenneth Roberts, N. C. Wyeth (Illustrator)
The grand historical novel of Colonel Benedict Arnold's doomed march on Quebec in 1775, told through the eyes of a soldier in the Continental Army. Rich in historical detail.
Wolfe at Quebec, The Man Who Won the French and Indian War
by Christopher Hibbert
Hibbert brings the campaigns, life at Louisborg and dramatic capture of Quebec in 1759 to life in this tale of the neurotic, complex British general.
Surfacing
by Margaret Atwood
One of Atwood's earliest novels, a suspenseful yarn where a young woman becomes entangled in affairs, mysteries and the haunting draw of nature as she searches for her missing father on an island off the coast of northern Quebec.
Canada and Quebec: One Country, Two Histories
by Robert Bothwell
An in-depth look at Canada-Quebec relations through interviews with prominent Canadian figures.
Champlain's Dream
by David Hackett Fischer
In this stunningly researched and engaging biography, Pulitzer Prize-winner David Hackett Fischer weaves together the epic story of soldier and explorer Samuel de Champlain, a colonizer of North America who spent 30 years bringing his vision of a New France to life.
Identities in North America, The Search for Community
by Robert Earle
David Crombie (the former mayor of Toronto) writes on Canadian cities, Mark Pachter takes on American identity, and several politicians debate the Quebec question. It is a stimulating, wonderfully uneven book.
Montcalm and Wolfe, The French and Indian War
by Francis Parkman, Caleb Carr (Editor), John Keegan (Introduction)
This volume, a reprint of the original 1884 edition by the great Francis Parkman, is an extensively researched account of the French and Indian War and of the great generals Montcalm and Wolfe.
Maria Chapdelaine, A Tale of French Canada
by Louis Hemon
A young woman living with her family on the frontier in Quebec, Maria endures the hardships of isolation and climate and must choose between three suitors.
A People's History of Quebec
by Robin Philbot, Jacques Lacoursiere
This swift overview of Quebec’s 450-year history by a leading historian covers everything from the earliest days of colonization to the province’s recent efforts to gain independence. Includes a helpful timeline.
Bury Your Dead
by Louise Penny
This is the sixth book in the Chief Inspector Gamache Series. A Who Done It set in present day Old Quebec. Other books in the series are set in the Quebec Eastern Townships. Series is better read in order.
42 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.88 Average
(5) Review left 11/28/2022

This is a Wonderful program. Going to Quebec is like being in Europe except you were in the same time zone and were able to drive to the hotel. The instructor, Chantel was fabulous!!!!

(5) Review left 10/17/2022

The Quebec Signature City tour was just the level of activity we needed to get out of the pandemic doldrums. The tour leader, Chantal Bellon, was amazing for her energy, knowledge of Quebec's locales and history, and ability to satisfy our curiosity. The activities were ideally paced. Clarisse Frechette's history lessons revealed the layers of European, American settler, and Indigenous influences. The museum tours added further depth to the art, culture, and drama of the city and province. And the food was delicious.

(5) Review left 10/08/2022

A great program highlighting the history of Quebec City, taught by expert guides. Lots of walking uphill and up outdoor staircases can be challenging. But we did it!

(5) Review left 10/08/2022

Signature City Quebec was an informative and enjoyable program. Our group had multiple opportunities to not only learn about Quebec’s history but also how Quebec had progressed and flourished because of it’s history. It was well rounded and presented in a variety of ways. We walked away with new friends and new experiences.

(5) Review left 10/01/2022

I love the signature city programs as they really let me explore a contained area in greater depth.Every city has its unique charm and history.

(5) Review left 9/18/2022

Walking through the city was a wonderful way to experience the culture, language and history of Quebec. Loved it.

(5) Review left 9/06/2022

I loved my tour of Quebec City and would have stayed longer if I had had the time. I highly recommend the Group Leader, Chantal Bellon.

(5) Review left 8/23/2022

Easy walking around town, lots to see and a close international trip from the East Coast make for a great Signature City experience. Chantal is the perfect hostess during your week of activities. Lots of history, spectacular views at Montmorency Falls and the stellar Museum of Fine Arts field trip, capped off by dinner at the iconic Chateau Frontenac are the perfect taste of Quebec. This sampler will have you returning again!

(5) Review left 8/22/2022

This trip met all of our expectations, was one of the best RoadScholar trips we have taken. So much to learn in beautiful Quebec City

(5) Review left 8/21/2022

In this rather divisive time, it is essential we observe cultural, religious & political systems that have risen from even more diverse backgrounds and progressed to a harmonious, inclusive, prosperous society and world class City. Québec has much to teach us, if we are willing to open our hearts & minds and take the opportunity to learn.

(5) Review left 8/18/2022

This tour is a very nice way to experience the highlights of this beautiful city.

(5) Review left 8/17/2022

Get ready for a comprehensive experience in beautiful and charming Quebec. Also, read some of the suggested literature especially "Bury Your Dead" by Louise Penny and "Champlain's Dream" by David Hackett Fischer. It will greatly enhance your visit!

(5) Review left 8/15/2022

I cannot say enough good things about my signature Quebec trip. Don't miss this wonderful experience.

(5) Review left 8/13/2022

If you want an informative and fun city exploration in a beautiful setting, please consider the Quebec City Signature City Tour. The group leader and instructors are superb, and the setting, history and cuisine are first-rate.

(5) Review left 7/24/2022

The Signature City Quebec is fabulous & our Group Leader , Chantal Bellon went above & beyond to make this one of the best Road Scholar trip ever. Thank you.Maureen Caunitz

(5) Review left 7/24/2022

Just do it!

(5) Review left 7/22/2022

A great experience with Chantal who was very enthusiastic and passionate about her city. Learned a lot about Quebec and you too will love Quebec after your Road Scholar tour.

(4) Review left 7/17/2022

If you want to understand French culture in Canada and why it needs to be preserved, this is the trip for you.

(1) Review left 7/17/2022

I just returned from the Signature City Quebec program. I was a first time participant with Road Scholar and it was the first time I had taken a tour on my own. It was a great experience, the other participants were friendly and inclusive. The tour leader, Chantal Bellon, was fantastic, so knowledgeable and enthusiast about her city of Quebec. S.

(5) Review left 7/17/2022

This was a 5 star trip!!!!!! This was an excellent trip. Chantal Bellon is an outstanding group leader. She truly loves sharing her city with visitors, her infectious laugh made her a joy to be around. She was willing to go above and beyond to make the trip memorable for all. She ensured everyone was included and set a good pace during the walking tours. Charisse Frechette and Jocelyn Belleau were engaging and shared many stories about the history of Quebec that helped make the past come alive once again. We were fortunate to be there during their festival so the city was filled with music and lively entertainment which just added to the experience. The hotel staff at Manoir Victoria were thoughtful and willing to meet anyone's requests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec. The restaurants were all excellent choices, even with many being short staffed due to the pandemic they answered all our questions about the selections. My only comment would be that the choices at the Museum of Fine Arts were not my favorite. The ground duck salad did not meet the high standards previously set Quebec is an amazing city and I would highly recommend this tour.

(5) Review left 6/21/2022

Signature City Quebec was a wonderful week of learning and fun. The things I learned about Quebec City were interesting and our hosts were very knowledgeable. June was a pretty time of year to be there. Lots of flowers everywhere.

(5) Review left 6/20/2022

If you ever wanted to learn about Quebec City, the Road Scholar Signature City Quebec City is the Tour and Program to take. Everything about Quebec from architecture to history, the streets, the Churches, to the different people, French (Bonjour), and the wonderful places to eat and enjoy some great food.

(5) Review left 6/19/2022

Quebec City is a fabulous destination. It is romantic, historic, beautiful, and interesting. Unless visiting Carnival, go in the summer months when the snow is gone. If travelling with Road Scholar, ask for Chantal Bellon to be your program leader. She will go way beyond your expectations to ensure your trip is unforgetable!

(5) Review left 6/19/2022

Well organized tour of a historically important city. Happy to learn history in such an engaging way and to experience the culture with local experts.

(5) Review left 5/11/2022

Quebec is a beautiful European-looking town. Lots of French food and interesting history. Learn about "the other side" of the French and Indian War.

(5) Review left 5/02/2022

It's been a long time since I experienced the joy of a Road Scholar trip. Our group leader, Chantal, and the others on her team, including the local experts, guides and drivers, were all great. The love they showed for Québec City and its surroundings was apparent every step of the way, as was their knowledge of the area and beyond. Marie, the main lecturer, had such in-depth and detailed expertise on whatever subject we learned about from her. A few of my favorites: The Ursuline Museum, The Museum of Civilization, The Morrin Center (formerly prison), The Museum of Fine Arts. The food? Splendid, from the moment we arrived to the morning we left. Chantal made sure we sampled every type of cuisine, from an order-your-own boulangerie named Paillard that offered soups, sandwiches, salads and quiches as well as a beautiful assortment of cakes and pastries -- inexpensive, delicious and fast -- to an excellent steak house, to a classic Québecois bistro that specialized in local fare, to a farewell dinner at Château Frontenac on our final night. Spectacular! In my opinion, no visit to Canada would be complete without sampling a poutine, and our fearless leader told us the little place next door to our hotel had some of the best in the city. She was right. My favorite though? the breakfasts at our hotel. It houses one of the best restaurants in the city. It's called Chez Boulay and the chef-owner himself cooked for us the first few days. This is what happens if you're a small group and when a place is short-staffed and still in pandemic mode. We were treated to glorious offerings each morning, much more than most of us normally ate, but the eggs, for instance, were irresistible, especially served alongside crispy potatoes and sausages. I wondered what would happen when large groups appeared. Nothing, except we served ourselves from a buffet. Same fluffy scrambled eggs and all the sides too. I'm running out of space here, so I'll just add that RS has done it again.

(5) Review left 5/02/2022

The website is very well organized and informative.

(5) Review left 11/14/2021

Great trip! Chantal was an outstanding guide, and the city is fascinating!

(5) Review left 11/10/2021

This is a FANTASTIC city to visit. So much to see and so much history.

(5) Review left 11/09/2021

This was a wonderful opportunity to experience another side of life.

(5) Review left 10/18/2021

Signature City Quebec was everything I wished for history, culture, cuisine...and the great weather and beautiful fall foliage an added bonus!

(5) Review left 10/18/2021

Wonderful introduction to Canada and Quebec City history. Our hotel was well located in easy walking distance of upper town and we could easily walk to meals and a couple of our tours. Tour guides and tour leader were excellent. Our food was delicious, too.

(5) Review left 10/27/2019

I just returned from Signature City Quebec and recommend it to everyone. The city is beautiful, historic, navigable. The guides/lecturers are well-informed and friendly. As a single woman, I always felt welcomed and safe. I keep thinking I would love to see it in each season.

(5) Review left 10/06/2019

The whole experience was such a positive one & Quebec City will always be in my heart.

(5) Review left 9/23/2019

Do not hesitate to visit Quebec City with Road Scholar. It's a fascinating place considering its place in the history of the French colonization of America. Also, be sure to check out some of the books on the reading list!

(5) Review left 9/08/2019

The programs that Road Scholar offers are wonderful. I have done four and plan to do more. Be sure to check out the grandparent trips with your grandchild.

(5) Review left 7/13/2019

This is an active program that provides an overview of Quebec City history, culture, and social events. It allows for free time to pursue activities on your own or after hours with the Group Leader who led walks throughout the City we might not have otherwise experienced. Chantal, our group leader, was well informed, great at problem solving, and welcoming to all participants.

(5) Review left 7/10/2019

This is an excellent introduction to one of my favorite cities in the world.

(5) Review left 6/29/2019

The “Road Scholar” tour of Quebec did not disappoint. I especially appreciated our group leader, Chantal, who was easily approachable, compassionate, and attentive to details. She made our tour even more enjoyable than we could ever have imagined.

(5) Review left 6/19/2019

Quebec City was my 1st Road Scholar tour and it exceeded my expectations in every way! So much to see in this historic, scenic, clean, safe, and walkable town. Such delicious food too!

(5) Review left 6/10/2019

Quebec city is very charming beautiful city with lots of history and culture. Walking around upper and lower town was manageable to me,nobody got hurt. Food were delicious with good service, good walking distance most of time. Our group leader Chantal was very attentive,funny and she made sure everyone had fantastic time. We had good local expert, Harry ,Francois and Marie had great knowledge and good sense of humor. I enjoyed walk while listening music everywhere. I learned that Canadians are happy people and get along well. No murder for last 5 years are very impressive to me since I am from Top Ten high crime city. I am hooked to Road Scholar and look forward another trip soon.

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

A very enjoyable vacation with many interesting people in a truly wonderful city.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.