loading spinner
Join a local author and historian for an insider’s perspective on Québec City. You’ll hear fascinating lectures, taste regional cuisine, visit must-see icons and go off the beaten path.
Rating (5)
Program No. 19748RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,699
Quebec

Signature City Québec

Join a local author and historian for an insider’s perspective on Québec City. You’ll hear fascinating lectures, taste regional cuisine, visit must-see icons and go off the beaten path.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,699
Program No. 19748 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 3 - May 8, 2021
Small group
Starting at
1,699
Jun 14 - Jun 19, 2021
Starting at
1,849
Jul 5 - Jul 10, 2021
Small group
Starting at
1,899
Aug 16 - Aug 21, 2021
Starting at
1,849
Aug 30 - Sep 4, 2021
Starting at
1,849
Sep 20 - Sep 25, 2021
Small group
Starting at
1,899
Sep 27 - Oct 2, 2021
Starting at
1,799
Itinerary Note

Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to 1 mile, uneven ground, cobblestone, some stairs.

Oct 11 - Oct 16, 2021
Starting at
1,799
Itinerary Note

Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to 1 mile, uneven ground, cobblestone, some stairs.

Nov 1 - Nov 6, 2021
Starting at
2,049
Itinerary Note

Stay at the historic Chateau Frontenac.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 3 - May 8, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,099
Jun 14 - Jun 19, 2021
Starting at
2,399
Jul 5 - Jul 10, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,449
Aug 16 - Aug 21, 2021
Starting at
2,399
Aug 30 - Sep 4, 2021
Starting at
2,399
Sep 20 - Sep 25, 2021
Small group
Starting at
2,449
Sep 27 - Oct 2, 2021
Starting at
2,299
Itinerary Note

Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to 1 mile, uneven ground, cobblestone, some stairs.

Oct 11 - Oct 16, 2021
Starting at
2,299
Itinerary Note

Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to 1 mile, uneven ground, cobblestone, some stairs.

Nov 1 - Nov 6, 2021
Starting at
2,649
Itinerary Note

Stay at the historic Chateau Frontenac.

At a Glance

Discover the best that Québec City has to offer as locals introduce you to the food, arts and history of this fascinating region. Explore the heart of Old Québec's Upper and Lower Towns and examine the city's extensive fortification system with an expert historian. Traverse down pedestrian streets and laneways to discover its quiet residential neighborhoods. A presentation at Musée National des Beaux Arts will introduce you to paintings and sculpture by Québecois artists. Lectures are brought to life with field trips encompassing both landmark sites and less heralded aspects of the city, opening doors to historic interiors that few visitors discover. Learn about Québec's architecture and enjoy a farewell dinner at Le Château Frontenac.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Varies by date. KEEP THE PACE: Walking two miles on uneven surfaces, cobblestones; some hills and stairs. ON YOUR FEET: Activities have been adjusted to reduce amount of walking and hilly terrain. Walking up to one mile, some stairs.

Best of all, you'll ...

  • Explore the cobblestone streets and well-preserved 17th-century architecture of Old Québec with a local expert.
  • Meet locals and experience the flavors of Québec on an expert-led culinary walk.
  • Discover the rich cultural heritage at the National Museum of Fine Arts, boasting the highest concentration of artists in the province.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Marie Legroulx
Marie is an eleventh-generation Quebecoise whose ancestors settled on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in the mid-17th century. She has a BA in history and an MA in Quebec literature from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Marie draws on both fields in her Road Scholar learning adventures as well as within her life more broadly. She taught French and Quebec literature for 25 years at the university level. Marie has been leading groups in Quebec City and the surrounding area since 2008.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Marie Legroulx
Marie Legroulx View biography
Marie is an eleventh-generation Quebecoise whose ancestors settled on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in the mid-17th century. She has a BA in history and an MA in Quebec literature from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Marie draws on both fields in her Road Scholar learning adventures as well as within her life more broadly. She taught French and Quebec literature for 25 years at the university level. Marie has been leading groups in Quebec City and the surrounding area since 2008.
Profile Image of Chantal Bellon
Chantal Bellon View biography
A retired teacher, Chantal Bellon has lead visitors around the province of Québec, to the vibrant city of Toronto and the beautiful Niagara Falls, to the nation’s capital in Ottawa. Chantal enjoys sharing the charm and beauty of her home country with guests from around the globe and always looks forward to learning something new from them too. Although as a teacher, she primarily taught math and science, she has an eclectic love for travel, music, carpentry, and animals.
Profile Image of Harry Hunkin
Harry Hunkin View biography
Harry Hunkin began teaching at the age of twenty and completed his career as a professor of education at the University of Toronto. He worked for four years with the Inuit in Northern Québec assisting with the development of their travel program. Harry’s interest in the arts grew from his time managing the Green Room at Toronto’s famed Massey Hall, where he met Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald and Duke Ellington. Harry is also a history buff with a particular fascination with military history.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Bury Your Dead
by Louise Penny
This is the sixth book in the Chief Inspector Gamache Series. A Who Done It set in present day Old Quebec. Other books in the series are set in the Quebec Eastern Townships. Series is better read in order.
Maria Chapdelaine, A Tale of French Canada
by Louis Hemon
A young woman living with her family on the frontier in Quebec, Maria endures the hardships of isolation and climate and must choose between three suitors.
Shadows on the Rock
by Willa Cather
Set at the end of the 17th century in rural Quebec, this beautifully realized novel highlights the struggles of the Parisian widower Auclair and his young daughter to adapt to their new land.
Surfacing
by Margaret Atwood
One of Atwood's earliest novels, a suspenseful yarn where a young woman becomes entangled in affairs, mysteries and the haunting draw of nature as she searches for her missing father on an island off the coast of northern Quebec.
A People's History of Quebec
by Robin Philbot, Jacques Lacoursiere
This swift overview of Quebec’s 450-year history by a leading historian covers everything from the earliest days of colonization to the province’s recent efforts to gain independence. Includes a helpful timeline.
Identities in North America, The Search for Community
by Robert Earle
David Crombie (the former mayor of Toronto) writes on Canadian cities, Mark Pachter takes on American identity, and several politicians debate the Quebec question. It is a stimulating, wonderfully uneven book.
Montcalm and Wolfe, The French and Indian War
by Francis Parkman, Caleb Carr (Editor), John Keegan (Introduction)
This volume, a reprint of the original 1884 edition by the great Francis Parkman, is an extensively researched account of the French and Indian War and of the great generals Montcalm and Wolfe.
Canada and Quebec: One Country, Two Histories
by Robert Bothwell
An in-depth look at Canada-Quebec relations through interviews with prominent Canadian figures.
Arundel
by Kenneth Roberts, N. C. Wyeth (Illustrator)
The grand historical novel of Colonel Benedict Arnold's doomed march on Quebec in 1775, told through the eyes of a soldier in the Continental Army. Rich in historical detail.
Wolfe at Quebec, The Man Who Won the French and Indian War
by Christopher Hibbert
Hibbert brings the campaigns, life at Louisborg and dramatic capture of Quebec in 1759 to life in this tale of the neurotic, complex British general.
Champlain's Dream
by David Hackett Fischer
In this stunningly researched and engaging biography, Pulitzer Prize-winner David Hackett Fischer weaves together the epic story of soldier and explorer Samuel de Champlain, a colonizer of North America who spent 30 years bringing his vision of a New France to life.
35 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

I just returned from Signature City Quebec and recommend it to everyone. The city is beautiful, historic, navigable. The guides/lecturers are well-informed and friendly. As a single woman, I always felt welcomed and safe. I keep thinking I would love to see it in each season.

(5)

Just arrived home from a delightful week on the Quebec City Signature City tour. I highly recommend it!

(5)

What a great city to explore and Chantal was wonderful!

(5)

Lovely city and friendly people !

(5)

The whole experience was such a positive one & Quebec City will always be in my heart.

(5)

The final evaluation of the programs should have the ability to go back an correct mistakes if necessary.

(5)

I couldn't have asked for a better trip. I'm glad I chose the Signature City Quebec trip. The guide was terrific and the lectures and tours were interesting and informative. The location of the accomodation was conveniant and the breakfast was perfect. You will definiately enjoy the selection of restaurants during your stay.

(5)

Do not hesitate to visit Quebec City with Road Scholar. It's a fascinating place considering its place in the history of the French colonization of America. Also, be sure to check out some of the books on the reading list!

(5)

This was a very thorough way to learn about and enjoy this historical city! The weather was perfect in September!

(5)

Website ok. Program great. Travel side of program was not good. I was able to negotiate in Quebec to change flight for connection free but your travel People wanted to charge me $400.

(5)

Chantal Bellon! Chantal Bellon! Chantal Bellon! She was ALWAYS near when needed and if she didn’t have an answer for you immediately she got back to you with one in a timely manner. Her coordination and encouragement of the other guides was excellently done. She kept the trip moving at a Goldilocks pace, not to fast and not to slow. She made sure that all of the participants were consistently accounted for and cared for. In summary, she REALLY cared about ensuring we all had a VERY positive experience and went home with more appropriate knowledge and experiences of Quebec City than we could ever have hoped for.

(5)

Do not go on this trip unless you can walk up steep inclines easily. There are many in old Quebec City.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Guess I lost the email on rating aspects of this trip . First, I had problems with air travel due to a storm in Chicago and was rerouted way out of my way and didn’t get to Quebec City until after 11 pm! Thus missing the first evening dinner and meeting . I had called the special number on my information and told a young man what was happening. He did not contact Chantel the guide so she had no idea what happened to me . I was exhausted and NOT Ready for breakfast at 7 30 Missed the first lecture. Then Chantel in her enthusiasm to keep us all together called me to hurry for beginning of the “keep the pace” marathon. It definitely was a pace setting event And the little headphones we wore were problematic . I think I needed more information on how it all worked and that it was a military history trip mostly . I loved Chantel and the others and it was fantastic to see Quebec City . On a scale of 1-5 , I’d give the whole trip a 3.5. It was a nightmare coming back through Chicago and customs!! At least a thousand people snaking their way to the computers many of us didn’t know how to use. Then having to get on a ground bus with standing room only to get to my gate where I barely made it in time I will say NEVER AGAIN on Chicago . I’ll do my own flights in the future if there is a future . All the people were nice, mostly couples that like to be with other couples, but I was always in the front of the group walking! I’m still getting over my tiredness two weeks later . Mary Helen Roper

(5)

The programs that Road Scholar offers are wonderful. I have done four and plan to do more. Be sure to check out the grandparent trips with your grandchild.

(5)

Beautiful city, excellent guide and very well organized program.

(5)

The Road Scholar tour of Old Quebec City was excellent - good communication helping to prepare for the trip, excellent accommodations, and excellent program leaders.

(5)

Generally good, except that the requirement for extra use if user names and passwords increases complications. The steps to be used for getting to and entering information for additional members of my group could be better explained.

(5)

Quebec City is a beautiful and interesting city and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. The accommodations and food were wonderful. There is a lot of walking but be prepared because the walking is up and down the hilly city streets. However, I am so glad I made the trip. The group was only 24 people and we were divided into groups of 12 for the walking tours. Everyone was very friendly and made my first Road Scolar trip very enjoyable.

(5)

This trip is a good model for diving deep into a city and its history. I will look for similar tours in other cities as a result.

(5)

We just completed a wonderful, interesting, well planned and carried out Roads Scholar adventure in Quebec City! Very enjoyable! Highly recommend!

(5)

This is an active program that provides an overview of Quebec City history, culture, and social events. It allows for free time to pursue activities on your own or after hours with the Group Leader who led walks throughout the City we might not have otherwise experienced. Chantal, our group leader, was well informed, great at problem solving, and welcoming to all participants.

(5)

This is an excellent introduction to one of my favorite cities in the world.

(5)

The “Road Scholar” tour of Quebec did not disappoint. I especially appreciated our group leader, Chantal, who was easily approachable, compassionate, and attentive to details. She made our tour even more enjoyable than we could ever have imagined.

(5)

Quebec City was my 1st Road Scholar tour and it exceeded my expectations in every way! So much to see in this historic, scenic, clean, safe, and walkable town. Such delicious food too!

(5)

Quebec city is very charming beautiful city with lots of history and culture. Walking around upper and lower town was manageable to me,nobody got hurt. Food were delicious with good service, good walking distance most of time. Our group leader Chantal was very attentive,funny and she made sure everyone had fantastic time. We had good local expert, Harry ,Francois and Marie had great knowledge and good sense of humor. I enjoyed walk while listening music everywhere. I learned that Canadians are happy people and get along well. No murder for last 5 years are very impressive to me since I am from Top Ten high crime city. I am hooked to Road Scholar and look forward another trip soon.

(5)

A very enjoyable vacation with many interesting people in a truly wonderful city.

(5)

I enjoy "travel dreaming" while looking at your website. The descriptions of the programs and destinations keep me coming back to "dream".

(5)

Chantal was outstanding and exceeded my expectations.

(5)

For those of us of a certain vintage, Road Scholar offers a unique opportunity to study in-depth interests that we may have postponed early in our lives. We have the chance to mingle with our contemporaries, explore cities, start new hobbies, or enjoy the arts, all at an activity level that meets our individual needs. As an experienced traveler, I have found no better value and no more enjoyable way to spend my vacation time.

(5)

Wonderful trip! the trip was very well organized and the history of Quebec was led by informative instructors. Accommodations were great and all food and hospitality were great. The field trips were led by knowledgeable instructors. Wonderful city to explore!! I'm looking forward to many more Road Scholar programs.

(5)

You could have no better guide to Quebec City than our leader, Chantal Bellon. She provided the zest to a most important city in both Canada's and the US's history. Staying in the city allowed us time to explore the broad spectrum of its history with Europe and First Nation People. Simply beyond all my expectations.

(5)

Road Scholar exceeded our expectation. Our tour director and guides were interesting,informative and added wonderful anecdotes along the way. Quebec City was on my list of places to visit, and I cannot imagine having done it any other way. My husband and I definitely look forward to traveling with Road Scholar again.

(5)

This program was excellent! We saw Quebec City by walking its streets and enjoying the local restaurants. And yes, it is almost like Europe. Our group was smaller, so we were able to interact with all the participants. The hotel was comfortable and centrally located. Our leader, Chantal, was excellent, always able to answer questions, give advice, and share a smile. Her evening walks were a highlight for me.

(5)

If you read Louise Penny or want to learn about Quebec City, this is the perfect program.

(5)

An outstanding program if you want to learn about Quebec and the early history of how French has remained the dominant language and culture in this province of Canada.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Click here to provide website feedback
Website Feedback