loading spinner
Pennsylvania

Signature City Pittsburgh

Program No. 19287RJ
Learn how Pittsburgh grew from its humble origins to the great city of today, discovering neoclassical architecture, renowned museums, unique cuisine and the stunning Duquesne Incline.
Length
6 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,599

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 23 - Apr 28, 2023
Starting at
1,599
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
1,699
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
1,699
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
1,699
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
1,699
Apr 21 - Apr 26, 2024
Starting at
1,799
May 12 - May 17, 2024
Starting at
1,849
Jun 2 - Jun 7, 2024
Starting at
1,849
Sep 8 - Sep 13, 2024
Starting at
1,849
Sep 15 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
1,849
Oct 6 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
1,849
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 23 - Apr 28, 2023
Starting at
1,879
May 14 - May 19, 2023
Starting at
1,979
Jun 4 - Jun 9, 2023
Starting at
1,979
Sep 17 - Sep 22, 2023
Starting at
1,979
Oct 1 - Oct 6, 2023
Starting at
1,979
Apr 21 - Apr 26, 2024
Starting at
2,199
May 12 - May 17, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Jun 2 - Jun 7, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Sep 8 - Sep 13, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Sep 15 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
2,249
Oct 6 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
2,249

At a Glance

Experience Pittsburgh’s revitalized urban landscape and bustling local economy and find out what makes it “America’s Most Livable City.” A city once known for its rough edges is now revered for its world-class museums, rich historical narrative and spirited cultural scene. Follow the paths of history as you stroll through the Botanical Gardens and examine brushstrokes from Italian Renaissance Masterpieces.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking 1-2 miles a day and 60-90 minutes of standing for museum visits; stairs.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Take an uphill ride on the storied Duquesne Incline and discover Pittsburgh from atop Mount Washington.
  • Absorb the history of the Steel City by studying noblemen like Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Frick and John Heinz.
  • Gain a thorough understanding of the city’s vibrant past and promising future with experts at the Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Museum of Art, Frick Art and Historical Center and Rivers of Steel National Heritage Center.

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Alan Irvine
Alan Irvine is a well-known storyteller in Pittsburgh. He is an outreach performer for the Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh. For libraries, he creates Summer Reading Club programs for kids, ghost stories for teens, and tales of Pennsylvania history and current events for adults. In addition to performing, Alan teaches workshops and classes on storytelling. In 1988, he helped found the storytelling group StorySwap. He has produced numerous storytelling shows, and was the chair of the 2006 National Storytellers Conference, held in Pittsburgh.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Alan Irvine
Alan Irvine View biography
Alan Irvine is a well-known storyteller in Pittsburgh. He is an outreach performer for the Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh. For libraries, he creates Summer Reading Club programs for kids, ghost stories for teens, and tales of Pennsylvania history and current events for adults. In addition to performing, Alan teaches workshops and classes on storytelling. In 1988, he helped found the storytelling group StorySwap. He has produced numerous storytelling shows, and was the chair of the 2006 National Storytellers Conference, held in Pittsburgh.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Pittsburgh: The Story of an American City
by Stefan Lorant
Pittsburgh: The Story of an American City follows Pittsburgh from its frontier beginnings through its evolution into the most heavily industrialized city in the world, to the city's renewal of itself as "America's Most Livable City." This beautiful volume though, is much more than the story of a single city; it is the history of the United States. This book is based on years of research and includes contributions by such noted American historians as Henry Steele Commager and Oscar Handlin. More than 1100 pictures recreate the city's dramatic 200+year history. Featured are photographs by W. Eugene Smith, Margaret Bourke-White, Norman W. Schumm, Lorant himself and others. A chronology of events from 1717 offers historical snapshots in the day to day life of the archetypical American city.
Meet You in Hell: Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Frick, and the Bitter Partnership That Changed America
by Les Standiford
Two founding fathers of American industry. One desire to dominate business at any price. The author of Last Train to Paradise tells the riveting story of Andrew Carnegie, Henry Clay Frick, and the bloody steelworkers’ strike that transformed their fabled partnership into a furious rivalry. Set against the backdrop of the Gilded Age, Meet You in Hell captures the majesty and danger of steel manufacturing, the rough-and-tumble of the business world, and the fraught relationship between “the world’s richest man” and the ruthless coke magnate to whom he entrusted his companies. The result is an extraordinary work of popular history.
And the Wolf Finally Came: The Decline and Fall of the American Steel Industry (Pittsburgh Series in Social and Labor History)
by John P. Hoerr
A veteran reporter of American labor analyzes the spectacular and tragic collapse of the steel industry in the 1980s. John Hoerr’s account of these events stretches from the industrywide barganing failures of 1982 to the crippling work stoppage at USX (U.S. Steel) in 1986-87. He interviewed scores of steelworkers, company managers at all levels, and union officials, and was present at many of the crucial events he describes. Using historical flashbacks to the origins of the steel industry, particularly in the Monongahela Valley of southwestern Pennsylvania, he shows how an obsolete and adversarial relationship between management and labor made it impossible for the industry to adapt to shattering changes in the global economy.
Steel: Diary of a Furnace Worker
by Charles Rumford Walker
"In the summer of 1919, a few weeks before the Great Steel Strike, I bought some second-hand clothes and went to work on an open-hearth furnace near Pittsburgh to learn the steel business. I was a graduate of Yale, and a few weeks before had resigned a commission as first-lieutenant in the regular army...In these chapters I have put down what I saw, felt, and thought as a steel-worker in 1919." --from the Foreword
H. J. Heinz: A Biography
by Quentin R Skrabec
Though Heinz Ketchup is one of the most recognized corporate symbols in the world, few people know anything at all about H. J. Heinz. Industrial giants Rockefeller, Carnegie, Westinghouse, and Mellon became household names, and Heinz slipped into obscurity. Yet during a time of great transfers of wealth brought about in part by these famous robber barons, Heinz was well known for his humane treatment of his employees, customers, and suppliers. At the same time Heinz built a commercial empire by his use of industrialized food processing before Henry Ford. This book includes 45 photographs many of which are being published for the first time.
6 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 10/17/2022

I had little knowledge about the history of Pittsburgh or its place in today's world. This is a very informative program. I recommend.

(5) Review left 10/24/2021

This is a very enjoyable and informative Road Scholar trip to take. One will have a greater appreciation of the city of Pittsburgh after taking this trip. Woody Cunningham is an excellent group leader.

(5) Review left 10/28/2019

Signature City Pittsburgh was fun and informative. The variety of activities in this program kept my interest level very high. I appreciated having a suggested reading list ahead of time so that I could start to understand the importance that Pittsburgh and its people have played in our American history. I was fascinated by the Carrie Furnace tour and the docents who made the steel and iron stories come to life. Our tour guide, Woody Cunningham, has extensive knowledge and deep passion for Pittsburgh which I found to be contagious as I fell in love with Pittsburgh. This is a story of a moribund city that reinvented itself and I am deeply satisfied for experiencing it through this Signature City adventure.

(5) Review left 5/12/2019

VERY worthwhile program.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 4/23/2019

Enjoyed the trip and tour Woody was enjoyable. For me the sack lunch is a pain the lunches I could enjoy were also lunches that others wanted so by the time I got to the table they were gone. The hotel the females that worked as wait staff should find other jobs, they were irritated most of the time, (bar tender after I looked at the short wine list and setting it down, I asked her if she knew the wines, instead of saying yes or no, she nicely pointed out that it was on the menu I had just looked at). would like to have had glass ware in the room instead of to-go cups

(5) Review left 4/19/2019

Woody Cunningham went over and above in sharing his time with participants.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.