loading spinner
California

From A to Zebra: A Sonoma Serengeti Safari With Your Grandchild

Program No. 15605RJ
Spot African animals like giraffes and zebras from an authentic safari jeep and camp in tents on a wildlife preserve in the “Sonoma Serengeti” with your grandchild.
Length
4 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
1,549 / ADULT
749 / CHILD

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Age 7 - 11
ROOMING OPTION PRICING
The figures below indicate the rooming options available.
DATES
Jun 5 - Jun 8, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jun 5 - Jun 8, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Jun 12 - Jun 15, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jun 12 - Jun 15, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Jun 19 - Jun 22, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jun 19 - Jun 22, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Jul 10 - Jul 13, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jul 10 - Jul 13, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Jul 17 - Jul 20, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jul 17 - Jul 20, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Jul 31 - Aug 3, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Jul 31 - Aug 3, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date
Aug 7 - Aug 10, 2023
Per Adult
1,549
Per Child
749
Select
Aug 7 - Aug 10, 2023
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
1,549
/ Adult
749
/ Child
2,249
/ Adult
749
/ Child
Select Date

At a Glance

Go “wild” on an adventure with your grandchild at the Safari West Wildlife Preserve. You’ll feel like you’ve been transported to the Serengeti of East Africa as you jump into a real safari jeep to search for spotted cheetahs sunbathing on a hill and neon pink flamingos wading through shallow pools of water. Trek through the inner grounds to look for giraffes towering over the grasslands and grazing gazelles. Become an expert on an animal as you put together a research project to present to your new friends. Experience the sights and sounds of the Serengeti as you learn with your grandchild about some of nature’s most majestic animals!
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking up to one mile, some uneven gravel terrain with slight incline to and from tent cabins and meal areas. Flashlights provided at night. Must be able to climb a few steps into a safari jeep and tent cabins.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Enjoy a truly immersive African experience by staying overnight in tents imported from Africa with views of grazing giraffes!
  • Get up close with a private presentation of mammals and other fun reptiles of all shapes and sizes.
  • Move to the rhythm and beat of African music during a private dance lesson.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
African Critters
by Robert Haas
The Magnificent Book of Animals
by Tom Jackson
The Tree Where Man Was Born
by Peter Matthiessen
Why Mosquitos Buzz in People's Ears: A West African Tale
by Verna Aardema
The Kindgon Pocket Guide to African Mammals
by Jonathan Kingdon
Folktales from Africa
by Dianne Stewart
11 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5) Review left 8/30/2022

A wonderful first trip for myself and 7 year old grandson. Fun and engaging for us both. I learned so much about HIM. I look forward to our next trip together.

(5) Review left 8/22/2022

This program exceeded my expectations. My grandson and I had a wonderful time. We both learned so much and he felt very comfortable at the property. He also made new friends in the short time. The staff at Safari West and Mary from Road Scholar were exceptional. I highly recommend this program to anyone who wants to have a fun experience with their grandchild.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 8/05/2022

My granddaughter and I had so. much fun! The accommodations were comfortable (a little wakeup chorus from the residents). The animals were well maintained and the food was very good. The animal park tours were great and so were the extras. We enjoyed the African drums and dancing and the exotic animal presentation. My granddaughter had a good time enjoying the animals exhibits and the other kids on the trip.

(5) Review left 8/05/2022

My grandson and I completed the Safari program for grandparents/grandchildren. The program was one of the most positive experiences of my grandson's life. He was able to engage in activities with the animals and also do games and activities with his peers. The last night he and his new friends played tag and hide and seek for hours. I've seldom seen him so happy. At the same time he is still talking about "his" animal, the one he chose to study. He got two stuffed animals at the gift shop and named them after his two new friends because they will remind him of their time together whenever he sees them.

(5) Review left 7/28/2022

A great experience with my grandchild. I would highly recommend it. Lots of fun things to do, lots of learning and and the environment was amazing. Tent cabins were perfect.

(5) Review left 6/26/2022

This is an extraordinarily well organized program in a lovely wildlife park in a safe and secure environment. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience there and so did our 7 year old granddaughter. Highly recommend. If you choose to post this in your materials please only do so anonymously. thank you

(5) Review left 6/13/2022

From-A-to-Zebra-A-Sonoma-Serengeti-Safari-With-Your-Grandchild This was a wonderful trip that we took with our granddaughter. She enjoyed seeing the animals and learning about them. She was able to use information learned on the trip to complete several of her Girl Scout Badges. After our Road Scholar trip ended, we made a short day trip into San Francisco which she enjoyed also.

(5) Review left 6/10/2022

This was an amazing and wonderful trip. I loved every minute of it and so did my 10-year-old grandson. I literally watched him blossom. His self confidence grew exponentially during the few days we were with Road Scholar. We both learned a lot and had so much fun.

(5) Review left 7/14/2019

I am a 92 year old great grandmother who went on this trip. My advice would be to be in really strong walking condition before this trip. I did a lot of walking up and down the hill from my tent to public areas.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 6/30/2019

We had a wonderful time with our 7 and 10-year-old grandchildren at Safari West. They made friends with the other campers, and we all enjoyed the many varieties of animals. The projects and hands-on meet-the-animals activities were big hits. Definitely a "glamping" experience in the tents. Very comfortable and good food.

(5) Review left 6/24/2019

African Safari if the Excellent trip. i highly recommend Safari West. RoadScholars has planned the trip very well. I have been to Africa. Safari West is very unique.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.